I won’t complain about the weather today :-)

DSC_0021

The temperature took a giant leap upwards today and it didn’t stop until it reached 27C (80,6F) 🙂 It’s always a bit shocking when it jumps up high like that when it has been autumn cold for such a long time. But I must admit I love it 🙂 I think I do because I know that it already tomorrow afternoon will turn towards cooler again 🙂 It is a bit much for old Orvar though, his legs wobbled even more when we were walking in the sunlight but got calmer when we reached the shadows and he could rest some.

Some kind of Allium growing at my neighbors.

Some kind of Allium growing at my neighbors.

DSC_0024

Wild hog fence, those wires will give a truly nasty surprise for those hogs :-)

Wild hog fence, those wires will give a truly nasty surprise for those hogs 🙂

DSC_0026

He’s fine now though after resting for a long time indoors and his appetite is as good as always. I have to keep an eye on him and his food though because Nova was quite nasty towards him this morning growling until she could steal it from him. Sune isn’t much better but more easily scared if I yell 🙂 They did it again so this time I gave Orvar a treat but not Nova and Sune, missing treats can be a good help when telling dogs that they are very wrong in what they’re doing 🙂

 

This must be the last willow to flower now.

This must be the last willow to flower now.

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

I decided they day was too good to waste on mowing the lawn, so I repotted some plants instead and realised I have loads of seedlings that need new homes, either in the flower beds or in pots until I find a spot for them. Too hot to do anything about those now anyway so I’m thinking of doing tat tomorrow evening since they have predicted some rain tomorrow night. I’ve also managed to take a short nap and it was quite nice but I doubt it will help me staying up tonight 🙂 I’ll most likely fall asleep shortly after 9:30 tonight like always 🙂

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

 

The forest flies are back, can’t say I’ve missed them but at least they’re just annoying, not biting. I’ve seen plenty of dragonflies, very many hornets and several butterflies too today. None sat still long enough to get photographed though so You’ll have to trust me on that one 🙂 My tomato plants are doing fine and I have several small tomatoes growing already, photo will come tomorrow. So today has been rather nice so far, especially since I only work till noon on Fridays 🙂

 

DSC_0035

A white Jacob's ladder. It grows in a bush so the light was very green in there :-)

A white Jacob’s ladder. It grows in a bush so the light was very green in there 🙂

DSC_0038

Haberlea rhodopensis.

Haberlea rhodopensis.

 

It is not an eat a lot food day today, I think I’ll just have some yoghurt and granola.

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. I really enjoy spider web photos and the Jacob Ladder photo is amazing,,, your dogs sound like naughty children,

    June 12, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I do like spider webs too!

      They certainly are 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 12, 2015 at 6:55 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! I missed yesterday, so I will go back and read on what happened then too! 🙂 Poor Orvar! I hope his legs settle down. Do you think it gets worse in the heat? Its hot here today too, we are at about 28 or so but the humidity makes it a bit warmer. Tomorrow is supposed to rain, but of course it will rain its the weekend!!! 🙂 We have those same green bugs here too! I recognized the shimmery green shell on it. Strange looking but a nice color! The Jacob’s ladder picture is amazing! Love the green hue in the back ground. You are like me, I can’t stay up past 9:30 on any day, weekend or not. 🙂 That’s what happens when you have to get up so early for work! Have a nice evening!

    June 12, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes the heat seems to affect him rather bad, especially since he refuses to drink the water they have in there. I have no idea why none of them do that? It is the same water we have in the cottage and that they gulp down 🙂 Low humidity here though, it would have been nasty with this temperature and high humidity!

      I don’t think You have this green bug but some that look very similar. There’s one japanese beetle that I know lives on the American continent that destroys all kinds of plants. Ours is harmless and so beautiful when the sunlight hits from the right direction 🙂

      I’m just about to go to bed now, 9:20 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 12, 2015 at 8:20 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    That’s warm weather for you. It’s been warm and humid here for a couple of days. Not my favorite weather. I don’t blame Orvar for wobbly legs in the heat. I have them, too. 🙂
    The dogs and I went out early this morning for a long walk but we’ve only gone out to the back yard during the heat of the day. It’s shady and cooler in the back but it’s also full of mosquitoes. I can’t stay out there for very long or I’ll end up covered in bites. I don’t get immune to the itch and there is also the danger of West Nile Virus and Encephalitis. When the sun gets a little lower in the sky and the temperature drops a bit, we’ll have another longish walk.

    I love the Jacobs Ladder photo. The green light is fabulous. 🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    June 12, 2015 at 10:04 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it is and it was impossible to sleep during the night 🙂 I went up at 4am so I guess I’ll need a long nap later today 🙂 Poor Orvar, I hope for his sake that this was the warmest day of this summer, I don’t mind if it stays around 70 🙂

      So You have the West Nile Virus! We still are free from it, the mosquito that spreads it doesn’t like our long winters thankfully but that can change with the climate. I hate those first days when the itching almost drives me insane 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 13, 2015 at 3:40 am

  4. Hi Christer,

    Your Ladybird picture is beautiful,such a rich red againgt the white flowers. We had a high of 24 degrees today and 23 deg yesterday. Rain and possible thunder is on its way here from the Continent..a glimpse of summer and then it’s gone.I hope its not forgood.

    Hope you have a good weekend.

    June 12, 2015 at 10:41 pm

    • Hi Lesley!

      I was lucky to see that Ladybird, I was just taking a test photo to see what kinds of adjustments I would need to do 🙂

      We’ll have much the same weather here too, one day after You 🙂 We should be used to those glimpses by now 🙂 🙂 I do hope summer stays longer next time 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 13, 2015 at 3:43 am

  5. Nej, ,just nu kan man verkligen inte klaga på vädret! 🙂 Fast vi har inte haft lika hett som ni, vi hade c:a 22 grader igår vilket är perfekt. 🙂 🙂 Orkade dock inte mer än att gå ett litet försiktigt varv på innertomten och sen sitta på altanen för en sillunch. Sen var det sängen och en liten siesta som gällde igen. 😦 Och på kvällen efter lagat mat var jag helt slut och la mig redan klockan nio. Man känner inte riktigt igen sig själv….. 😦 😦
    Idag bär det av till Visby om en liten stund, sen ska vi försöka ta en omväg hem så man får se lite annat än det vanliga. Santos vill säkert ha en lång prommis, men den får Rolle ta i Visby när jag behandlas. 🙂
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    June 13, 2015 at 6:47 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ta det nu lugnt och återhämta dig efter operationen! Du får se varje litet steg som en framgång, det är trots allt ingen liten sak du gått igenom 🙂 Du kommer snart tillbaks till ditt gamla jag ändå 🙂

      Det blir svalare redan idag och sedan återgår vi till det lite kyligare vädret igen, men med solsken om prognoserna stämmer. Idag blir det till att klippa gräsmattan, gräset växer konstigt nog inte långsammare bara för att det är kyligt 🙂

      Ha det gott och njut av omvägen hemåt!

      Christer.

      June 13, 2015 at 6:57 am

Leave a Reply

