And now back to cooler weather again.

DSC_0088

It’s quite nice today, as long as the sun isn’t stopped to shine by any clouds. It has been raining all night so once again the water barrels are filled and even though it only was warm for a few days it’s possible to see how much the plants liked this rain and cooler weather. Not as if we even was remotely close to anything that could be seen as an almost dry period but they still seems to enjoy this.

 

My second tree peony opens up now. It doesn't smell like lemon any longer but it does smell nice. I rarely get seeds from my peonies but I will do my best to get from this one even if it means I'll have to sacrifise one flower on the white one.

My second tree peony opens up now. It doesn’t smell like lemon any longer but it does smell nice. I rarely get seeds from my peonies but I will do my best to get from this one even if it means I’ll have to sacrifice one flower on the white one.

We tend to call allflowers looking like this one for Hundkex (dog bisquits) but to be honest, it can be any of several species including wild carrot :-)

We tend to call all flowers looking like this one for Hundkex (dog biscuits) but to be honest, it can be any of several species including wild carrot πŸ™‚

DSC_0096

Raindrops show webs a bit different because of the bigger drops.

Raindrops show webs a bit different because of the bigger drops.

I’m not sure how they do it, the plants that is but they can feel the difference between a shower and I if I have been watering them, perhaps it’s the difference in temperature that always follows a shower but never when they are watered by a hose? We went out much later than we have been these last few days, we didn’t get out until 7 am, one could think it wouldn’t make much difference but it does when it comes to the angle of the sunlight and I could actually hear a car driving down the big road πŸ™‚

 

The sun is warming up the water on the ground and it rise like fog up on the mountain.

The sun is warming up the water on the ground and it rise like fog up on the mountain.

DSC_0105

DSC_0107

DSC_0108

I was sitting watching tv yesterday, thinking about making a pie when my phone suddenly rang. It was my neighbor calling to ask if I wanted some strawberry cake πŸ™‚ She was standing just outside my door πŸ™‚ It was delicious! I do have the best neighbors one could ask for πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0110

DSC_0111

DSC_0116

DSC_0120

Today is laundry day and I’ll do it just after posting this. I don’t have much today because I did wash a few things during the week, I am a bit messy sometimes and I always drop something on my clothes especially if they just have been washed πŸ™‚ I’ll also replant some of the seedlings I have, I could plant them directly in the flower beds but then I must remember to water them every morning because sandy soil dries up as soon as the sun hits. So it is better to have them in pots in the shadows at first so they’ll get a bigger root system and therefore will get an easier start in the flower beds.

 

DSC_0122

DSC_0124

DSC_0125

DSC_0126

Well, it is time to do that laundry. It will most likely dry fast because the wind will blow and we’ll have lots of sunshine today, northern winds will keep it cooler here for some time now but at the moment I’m happy as long as the sun shines πŸ™‚

 

and now a few photos from yesterday. My tomatoes are growing fine :-)

and now a few photos from yesterday. My tomatoes are growing fine πŸ™‚

Lots of squirrels this year, I guess that means we don't have any martens here this summer.

Lots of squirrels this year, I guess that means we don’t have any martens here this summer.

DSC_0069

DSC_0072

DSC_0073

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0082

DSC_0083

DSC_0084

Do You know the difference between a moth and a butterfly? Butterflies have tiny knobs at the end of their antennas, moths don't, so this is a moth.

Do You know the difference between a moth and a butterfly? Butterflies have tiny knobs at the end of their antennas, moths don’t, so this is a moth.

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Moths sit with their wings open and butterflies close them up. πŸ™‚ I love the moth photo in the green light.

    I wish I had neighbors that baked strawberry cake. That sounds delicious.

    When I was out with the dogs this morning, I noticed that some of the white mulberries were dropping to the ground. I don’t know how to tell if they are ripe but if they’re dropping off the tree, they’re probably on the way out. I’ve never eaten a mulberry so I picked the whitest looking one I could find and tasted it. It was sweet but no particular flavor. Maybe a faint hint of not sour lemon and some vague berry aftertaste. It was crisp and juicy though. I have to confess an aversion to the idea of white berries because the plants I know with white berries are all poisonous. So I didn’t swallow the mulberry. πŸ™‚

    It’s cooler here today as well. The wind is out of the northeast which means a cooling sea breeze. Yay!

    Enjoy the day.

    June 14, 2015 at 1:00 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Not always though, there are some butterflies that don’t close them up and those are the ones I like because they are so easy to photograph πŸ™‚

      Yes I have the best of neighbors πŸ™‚ It was delicious! The filling was one layer of vanilla pudding and one layer of strawberry jam. the cake was covered in whipped cream and loads of cut in half strawberries πŸ™‚ A typical Swedish summer cake πŸ™‚

      So they were ripe then! The ones I’ve seen have always been more yellowish but I guess there are varieties. The white mullberry taste less than the black one and the black one is rather delicous. I’ve never tried the Red mullberry though, I’ve read that some say it is delicious others that it doesn’t taste anything πŸ™‚ There are however no poisonous mullberries πŸ™‚ Haven’t You ever had white currants? taste just like the red ones, perhaps a bit sweeter.

      The wind is a bit too strong but it is very nice here today, cooler than before but nice.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 14, 2015 at 1:53 pm

      • Caryn

        No, I’ve never had white currants. When I grew up the only things around that had white berries were an ornamental shrub called Snowberry, I think, and poison sumac.
        I tried another one today. I’m not sure if the middle part is supposed to come out like blackberries but these don’t. And they don’t exactly come off the branch easily like ripe raspberries. I had to tug and the stems come off with the berry. I nibbled on the bumpy bits because I don’t know if you’re supposed to eat the core. They aren’t really white but more like ecru or pale cream. The unripe ones are more greenish white and hard. The presumably ripe ones are softer. I’ve decided that they are sweet in the same way that coconut flesh is sweet but without the coconut flavor and they have no tangy quality. I think they are probably more work than the taste is worth. πŸ™‚

        I just googled white mulberry. The fruits are supposed to be reddish purple or lavender or maybe white. And the color of the berry doesn’t necessarily identify the species of mulberry tree. But I can get dried white mulberries on Amazon. Why am I not surprised. πŸ˜€

        June 14, 2015 at 11:28 pm

      • Ah, the snowberries πŸ™‚ We have them here too but we also call them smΓ€llbΓ€r, popp berries because they pop loud when squeesed πŸ™‚ Poison sumac is thankfully nothing we have here πŸ™‚

        I know the black mulberry berries look almost exactly like rather big black berries and it is impossible to pick them without breaking them when they’re ripe. Anything hit by the juice get colored and that color is almost impossible to get rid of πŸ™‚

        The white mulberry is mostmoy used to feed the silkworm, the berries isn’t the primary thing even if they are edible too. I wish You could taste the black one because they are delicious!

        I wonder if it is any use to buy dried ones? I’ve realised that one can buy just anything on Amazon πŸ™‚

        June 15, 2015 at 6:10 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Well, so far another weekend is a bust for us. Yesterday started off well, but then thunderstorms and lots of wind happened. Then the skies cleared, just in time for bed! πŸ™‚ Today is a cloudy start but no rain in the forecast. I hope this won’t be the norm for the whole summer. You have a nice neighbor!! I do that for our neighbors next door. I have known they over 40 years and they are getting elderly so when I bake, I also bake for them. They sure do appreciate it! Great photos today, I have never seen a yellow peony – what a beauty! I am now on a mission for a yellow peony. We had a birthday/retirement party last night for my cousin and then we brought my brother’s kids home for a sleepover. I have been up early! πŸ™‚ They are happy now, I made them waffles for breakfast. Have a good Sunday!

    June 14, 2015 at 3:40 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It’s so typical! As soon as the weekend comes so does the bad weather πŸ™‚ I can’t complain too much today though, we’ve had mostly sunshine but strong winds and fairly warm.

      My neighbors are around my age and have only lived here for a year or two, so I feel very lucky when ever they bake too much πŸ™‚

      There are one yellow peony You can have, it is called Molly the witch πŸ™‚ Its real name is Paeonia mlokosewitschii. Can be a bit expensive though. There are a few others that are yellow or yellowish that survives in Your climate too. We have a (in the plant growing world) a world famous peony grower not far from here where I live (Herman Krupke) and I know that he has grown a few yelow ones that can now be bought all over the world.

      Waffles for breakfast πŸ™‚ Not bad at all πŸ™‚

      Have a greta day!
      Christer.

      June 14, 2015 at 3:50 pm

      • Dianna

        Hiya! I need to find that peony!! I have never seen a yellow one here, they are either white or pink or red. I need to do some research, thanks for the information!

        June 16, 2015 at 2:26 am

      • Molly the witch isn’t that uncommon so You should be able to get it. Many of the peonies that aren’t tree peonies loves a really cold winter and always look much finer in places with really hard winter.

        June 16, 2015 at 3:12 pm

  3. Between my visit to Joyce’s lovely grounds and then to yours…I’ve had a great morning! A forest primeval! Just beautiful. Your little squirrels are so different than ours. Not little tufts on our squirrels ears. Those little tufts make them look so…elfish. Sweden is the stuff of childrens story books. I remember living in a world of stories and most were scary. Kids love that..but I’m not so sure I did, however I notice I’m still drawn to dark woods and thick greenery, mysterious places. The spider? A beautiful creature..but not fond of them..
    Have a wonderful Sunday, Christer. Though it’s probably Monday where you are now.
    Mona

    June 14, 2015 at 3:59 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      Still 5,5 hours until it is Monday here πŸ™‚

      Joyce have such a fantastic garden! I wouldn’t mind having my garden on a mountain like that but I wouldn’t like to drive up that mountain when winter comes with icy roads πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I do like our little squirrels! The ones living here are so shy but the ones liuving in towns and cities aren’t πŸ™‚

      Yes we do have a vivid folklore here and some are actually quite positive but most aren’t πŸ™‚ Our fairies are nasty creatures spreading diseases and death πŸ™‚ Trolls however is quite often kind unless they are mountain trolls, they are shrewd and nasty. Very rich though so if one can foo, them one can become very rich πŸ™‚

      I lost my fear of spiders when I moved to the countryside, it would be impossible to live here otherwise πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 14, 2015 at 5:36 pm

  4. Hi Christer,

    I just love, LOVE your photos! And the ones showing the raindrops are especially superb! Thanks so much for sharing them.

    Have a wonderful week!

    Adele

    June 15, 2015 at 4:50 am

    • Hi Adele!

      I’m glad You do πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 15, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

