The weather is always bad at midsummer.

No this is not how it looked here this morning, this is from yesterday morning.

No this is not how it looked here this morning, this is from yesterday morning.

 

The rain started falling already yesterday and kept on falling almost all night, it did however keep calm when we went out on our morning walk, very odd πŸ™‚ I had borrowed the pickup truck at work so I would be able to get to work today, I’m glad I don’t get easily seasick because one will be if sitting in that one for too long πŸ™‚ But I got to work so who am I to complain. You might think that I now will complain about the weather and about how cold it is ( I had to start my radiators yesterday because of the cold weather and the high humidity) but not this week. The weather is always! bad around midsummer here πŸ™‚

 

This is how it looked here this morning.

This is how it looked here this morning.

DSC_0072

DSC_0074

DSC_0075

I called the garage rather early in the morning and they told me that it was the sensor on the cam shaft that had more or less broken down and the car was already fixed, they did warn me however that when that one breaks there will most likely be another sensor malfunctioning rather soon but we could always hope for the best πŸ™‚ So there I was at work with my car not far from home ready to be taken home again. They would most likely close early at the garage but that in itself was no problem, I could just go there and pick it up when I wanted to. The key would of course be hidden somewhere only I would knew where it was. I’ll pay the bill next week, so I have no idea what this might have costed πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0077

DSC_0079

DSC_0082

DSC_0083

I work at a place that thankfully always tries to make it easy for us if our cars (or pets or what ever) breaks down so we agreed that I would take the bus from the village where I work, change bus twice, get my car and then go back to work just in time to when the other painter would go home for the day. It sounds easy, doesn’t it πŸ™‚ The first bus only went down to the highway and the next one would come after 25 minutes. That in itself would be no problem if it hadn’t been for what week it is, the week when the weather always is bad πŸ™‚

 

From now on the photos can come from any day this week or earlier if it is the Edixa or Hasselblad cameras.

From now on the photos can come from any day this week or earlier if it is the Edixa or Hasselblad cameras.

DSC_0067

DSC_0069

DSC_0070

I stood there by the road, not far from a petrol station waiting for the bus when the wind started to blow really hard and the rain started to pour down and the fun thing is that here’s no shelter against the wrath of the weather. It was too far to go to the petrol station because if the bus would come early I would have no chance to jump in because they don’t stop if no one stands by the bust stop πŸ™‚ The sun started to shine as soon as I jumped in to the bus πŸ™‚ The rest of the trip was rather uneventful though. Another and child came in to the bus and now days we have to wear a seat belt if the bus is equipped with those. A flashing light kept on telling her that she needed to put it on and she got so annoyed that she changed seats to one that didn’t have that flash near the seat πŸ™‚

From my garden this week. This is Geum urbanum ,  St. Benedict's herb. Spreads like crazy and I have it everywhere in my garden.

From my garden this week. This is Geum urbanum , St. Benedict’s herb. Spreads like crazy and I have it everywhere in my garden.

DSC_0052

The first Iris to show.

The first Iris to show.

Cinnamon rose.

Cinnamon rose.

DSC_0056

DSC_0060

DSC_0064

So I took my car and drove back to work and I must say my soul cried when I had to pass my own village to get back to work, I would rather have driven straight back home instead but a promise is a promise so I had to pass and keep on driving to work. I must say that very few have such a good place to work as I have and I wouldn’t change to any other place even if I would get a bigger salary. Colonel Hati, as I call my car, behaved exemplary all the way to work and home again and I do hope he continues to do so πŸ™‚

 

From the Edixa.

From the Edixa.

32

33

34

35

Tomorrow is midsummer’s eve and even though it isn’t a holiday very few work and it is a paid day off from work. It is almost or just as big as christmas but all pagan. All magical and mythical beings will be out and about tomorrow since the night is especially magical. They are of course out and about now too but they will most likely be easiest to see tomorrow if one so wishes. I’ll tell You more about it all tomorrow. Today I’ll start showing photos from both the Hasselblad camera and the Edixa. I bought a tele-photo lens for the Edixa so it was mostly because of that I used that camera. Almost all photos were over exposed but rather easily edited.

 

These are from the Hasselblad.

These are from the Hasselblad.

3

4

5

It is time for something to eat and then I’ll see if I can find anything interesting to watch on tv, I doubt it though πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I know how you felt having to drive by your village to return to work. It’s surprising that Colonel Hati’s autopilot didn’t take over and bring you home. πŸ™‚ My jeep has done that in the past. Several times.

    Your dreary days look like the days I just got through. Yesterday was great and today was as well. The sun was shining. The temperatures were comfortable. The humidity was low. Perfect. Maybe my weather will trip on over to you later in the week. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    June 18, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think Colonel Hati just was happy to be able to drive around at all and just forgot πŸ™‚

      We’ll get it a bit warmer here after midsummer and even some sunshine thay say but lots and lots of showers too. It will be the kind of weather when it is impossible to do anything but stay indoors and just jump out for those few seconds it doesn’t rain πŸ™‚ More or less a typical Swedish summer πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 19, 2015 at 3:13 am

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I wish we had midsummer eve off but no joy here with that. They work us hard all year long to be sure! Sorry to hear about the weather, we have one good day, one bad. I don’t know what kind of weather we are going to have for the rest of summer, but I will take what Mother Nature gives me. Especially if she’s kind enough to send water our way. Got my water bill the other day – needless to say I am not impressed and we haven’t really started watering yet!!! 😦 I was off today to attend a funeral, I have another on Saturday. Seems that’s how it goes some years. Lovely photos today – love the one of the stick being chewed! πŸ™‚ I have managed to clean out all our gardens of weeds and the unwanteds – what a long job that was! Took me just about 2 weeks. But its done. Now I am on the hunt for Dragon’s Blood sedum. Apparently it chokes out weeds and is a nice low ground cover. I just hope its good for my zone! Have a happy midsummer’s eve and a lovely Friday!

    June 19, 2015 at 1:59 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      This is the last holiday until christmas here, so we have nothing to look forward to in six months now.

      This is typical weather for this week πŸ™‚ Even during the hottest summers, this one around midsummer is always miserable πŸ™‚

      I’m so glad I have my own water, the ones that got municipal water here in the village have just realised that it cost more than it taste πŸ™‚ (Swedish saying). It seems they never thought of those bills that from now on will arrive in their mailbox every month. My watger isn’t free either, I need to buy things for the filter but it is still much cheaper.

      I’ve been lucky for several years now, no funerals. I know I won’t be that lucky for much longer though.

      I’m just trying to keep the weed level as low as possible πŸ™‚ and plant plants that can outgrow them πŸ™‚ The Dragon’s blood sedum is so so when it comes to choking out weeds πŸ™‚ it works best where it is as driest. Beautiful though and very hardy.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 19, 2015 at 3:23 am

  3. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Hi Christer, I hope that the Colonel continues to work well and perhaps just wanted some attention! The weather did look dreary in the first photos, but the flowers were lovely, especially the iris and bleeding hearts. Sometimes I miss not having a flower garden due to living in an apt now…but ai quickly get over that.

    June 19, 2015 at 2:40 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I do hope so too but I am prepared that something else might give up too now.

      No matter how hot and dry the summer is, this week is always cold and rainy πŸ™‚ Can’t remember when we had a sunny and warm midsummer the last time πŸ™‚

      Yes the irises love this weather πŸ™‚ Lots of them on the way now. The grass and all the othger weeds love this too I’m afraid πŸ™‚

      Now You can enjoy all gardens around You without having to think about the weeding πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 19, 2015 at 3:26 am

Leave a Reply

