I see the sun!

DSC_0060

The sun is shining and it feels so strange, today should be cloudy and rainy too, it always is these two days of midsummer ๐Ÿ™‚ We will actually have lots of sunshine today according to the Norwegian weather site yr.no (I think You can use that one on the American continent too and it is the most accurate of all weather sites we have here). The Swedish one however show almost no sun until late afternoon so it looks like the Norwegian is the one giving the prediction closer to the truth today.

 

The dogs and I fled to this place several times yesterday when the rain started and we were too var from home :-)

The dogs and I fled to this place several times yesterday when the rain started and we were too var from home ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0058

Rowan flowers.

Rowan flowers.

I wasn’t up especially early today, I watched a movie on channel Six yesterday and it didn’t end until 11pm. I woke up as always around 4 but went back to bed and slept until 7:30. I can’t remember when I slept until then before and not being sick ๐Ÿ™‚ The film was Android Apocalypse and was it worth staying up for so long? No not really but I had high hopes for a very long time ๐Ÿ™‚ It didn’t matter much that I did sleep for so long since the weather still was rather lousy when we went out for our morning walk.

 

DSC_0063ย  DSC_0067ย  DSC_0068

We have quite a lot of mosquitos now but still rather few but very annoying forest flies. We also have lots of midges, our black flies. They don’t seem to like me especially much but I have been bitten a few times now. It’s worse for the animals though and bad years there are so many midges around that they actually can kill a moose! Thankfully they normally stay close to running water and there’s not a lot of that around my cottage.

 

In my garden right now: Iris pseudacorus, The Yellow flag. We call it Sword lily.

In my garden right now: Iris pseudacorus, The Yellow flag. We call it Sword lily.

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0052

Rosa majalis.

Rosa majalis.

Laburnum ร—watereri, Golden Chain tree. We call it Golden rain.

Laburnum ร—watereri, Golden Chain tree. We call it Golden rain.

I’ve boiled the minced meat and rice to Orvars food, I’ll keep on giving him that even if his stomach now is much better. He’s getting a third of his normal dog food, a third of boiled minced meat and a third ofย rice. He likes it and it isn’t especially hard to make for him so why not ๐Ÿ™‚

 

These are the four last from the Hasselblad for this time.

These are the four last from the Hasselblad for this time.

6

7

8

Today is a do very little day, the lawn is too wet to mow and I don’t feel like doing the laundry today. There’s nothing to watch on tv since the last episode of the season of Grimm was showed last Saturday and that was what I’ve been watching on Saturdays. I will most likely take a nap or two though ๐Ÿ™‚

 

And these four are from the Edixa. This shows blue White wood anemones.

And these four are from the Edixa. This shows blue White wood anemones.

Lamium maculatum, spotted deadnettle.

Lamium maculatum, spotted deadnettle.

17

Hector was still around when these were taken.

18

Have a great day!

4 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    US weather forecasters lost an important weather satellite a few years ago and had to switch to a couple of European ones that covered those areas. Our weather reports are usually fairly accurate and we’re using the same data. If the accuracy switches back and forth between the Swedish bureau and the Norwegian bureau, it might indicate that they are throwing probable forecasts into a hat and having a blind drawing. Weather lottery! ๐Ÿ™‚

    In my garden now the vicious roses are finishing up blooming and the privet hedge is just beginning. Since they grow together in clumps it looks sort of the same from a distance. The vicious roses will win out over the privet, eventually. They grow faster and their horrid thorns discourage me from going in and chopping them down though I have done that in some places. I found that if I chop them right down to the ground, they don’t come back. I get very shredded, though.
    The buttercups are also still blooming as are some columbines.

    Today is supposed to be lovely, sunny and seasonably warm.

    Enjoy the day.

    June 20, 2015 at 12:34 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I guess You’re right about that ๐Ÿ™‚ The Norwegians are just more lucky in picking the better ones ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve read however that the Norwegian now is so popular around the world that they might have to stop showing big parts of the world since the system is close to a breakdown ๐Ÿ™‚ No such risk with the Swedish one ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      My vicious roses haven’t started to flower yet, so far only my Cinnamon rose and the White Rose of Finland have buds that now slowly open up. This spring has just been too chilly so almost everything is behind now. I still have a few tiny trees that just now starts to show some leafs and my black walnut only has tiny leafs yet.

      I’ll cut down most columbines as soon as they show signs of stop flowering, then I’ll get a second one later this summer. All flowers that doesn’t get the chance to produce seeds will do that, at least try to do so before winter arrives. My Holyhocks have big buds now so a few days with warmth and sunshine will make them flower too. I don’t have privet but a neighbor on the other side of the field has but I think they use them as a cut hedge so no flower on those.

      It is actually quite nice here even if the humidity is a bit too high, mostly cloudy but the sun peeks through every now and again.

      Hasve a great day!
      Christer.

      June 20, 2015 at 12:53 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We woke up to cloud and humidity, but the sun it doing his very best to try to shine. Its pleasant enough but the rains yesterday made for lots of humidity and us too, cannot cut the grass just yet. Maybe tomorrow! Its Fathers Day here tomorrow, so we are heading to my brother’s to do brunch for my dad. Then if the weather suits, I will plant my dragon’s blood sedum I found last night at the garden centre ๐Ÿ™‚ and I bought another mixed sedum and an iris which is called Dangerous Mood. I like it because its purple! ๐Ÿ™‚ My favorite color. Today we are off to a funeral for my great aunt. She is the last to pass, she was my grandmother’s sister and my grandmother was one of 22 children. They had big families back then!! Lovely photos today – nice to see the one with Hector in it too. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope your day was pleasant enough and that you get more sun than anything!

    June 20, 2015 at 6:26 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      The sun has been shining rather much now in the afternoon and now there’s almost no clouds around. It looks like the Norwegians actually know how to do predictions ๐Ÿ™‚

      Fathers Day is in late October or is it early November here, I have never had a chance to selebrate it so I’m not quite sure ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope the brunch will be a success!

      I’ll check those plants after writing here ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes they were many back in the days ๐Ÿ™‚ My grandmother had 16 siblings who reached adulthood and a few who didn’t. They are all gone now too so I think my mother is the oldest one around now. I’m so glad I haven’t had to go to any funeral for years now.

      It was a very pleasant day ๐Ÿ™‚

      I hope Your day will be a good one despite the funeral!
      Christer.

      June 20, 2015 at 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

