He wasn’t too happy about us :-)

A weak wind had dried up most dew this early morning, only the one close to the ground was still around.

A weak wind had dried up most dew this early morning, only the one close to the ground was still around.

We should have sunshine here right now but the fog clouds that covered the mountain earlier this morning has decided to rise and cover the entire sky. Too bad it just didn’t roll down to the valley and up on our side instead, it would have given me a chance to get some really nice fog photos πŸ™‚ But I must admit that the morning si quite nice, warm enough to just wear a fleece sweater but cool enough to keep most annoying flies calm.

 

I think that there's no electricity in the fence around one of the cow pastures. It took me a while to understand that three calves stood outside the pasture this morning :-) I was so surprised that I forgot to take any photos until two of them had passed throw the fence again, between two electric cables without getting stung.

I think that there’s no electricity in the fence around one of the cow pastures. It took me a while to understand that three calves stood outside the pasture this morning πŸ™‚ I was so surprised that I forgot to take any photos until two of them had passed throw the fence again, between two electric cables without getting stung.

DSC_0023

Not much of a web but the best I could get this morning.

Not much of a web but the best I could get this morning.

DSC_0025

The kitchen door is open so the dogs and cats walk in and out as they please, I think that annoys at least the cats because then they don’t get the chance to sit and shout until I open it for them πŸ™‚ I think they enjoy making me walk to the door opening it for them so they just can turn around and refuse to go outside until two minutes later when they once again will sit in front of the door shouting πŸ™‚ Β The dogs run outside and when nothing fun happens outside they come in again and fall asleep somewhere instead πŸ™‚

 

My Rosa glauca finally opens up.

My Rosa glauca finally opens up.

DSC_0030

This flowerbed almost only have weeds in it :-)

This flowerbed almost only have weeds in it πŸ™‚

Two different geraniums grwoing in it.

Two different geraniums growing in it.

My neighbors cats, Sally and Salmiak meet the dogs every day more or less but have a different opinion about how they feel about dogs. Sally doesn’t mind my dogs at all as long as she’s the one that goes to them, she isn’t that happy if the dogs run to her even though she accepts it. Salmiak however isn’t a big fan of them πŸ™‚ He doesn’t run away but arches his back and hisses a lot. So he wasn’t to pleased to see us coming down the road yesterday evening. He could just have walked out into the field but instead he walked down the road and just happened to take the same turns we had to do to be able to get home again.Β 

 

Salmiak.

Salmiak.

Orvar still hasn't realised that Salmiak is on the other side of the high grass :-)

Orvar still hasn’t realised that Salmiak is on the other side of the high grass πŸ™‚

DSC_0029

Not a happy camper :-)

Not a happy camper πŸ™‚

Finally he accepted that if he wouldn’t go out on the field we would sooner or later close in on him and try to pass him πŸ™‚ So he stopped and waited for us. Orvar who was walking in front of us didn’t realise that Salmiak was there until he had passed him and turned around to see that we followed him πŸ™‚ Salmiak however was very aware of how close Orvar was πŸ™‚ What might have annoyed Salmiak even more was that Bertil was with us πŸ™‚ He played it cool though and just passed without even glancing at Salmiak πŸ™‚

 

And as if the dogs weren't bad enough, here comes Bertil!

And as if the dogs weren’t bad enough, here comes Bertil!

Bertil plays it cool though and won't even look at Salmiak :-)

Bertil plays it cool though and won’t even look at Salmiak πŸ™‚

Laughing gulls are very common here, we have the biggest colony in Scandinavia here in the lake.

Laughing gulls are very common here, we have the biggest colony in Scandinavia here in the lake.

Not easy to photograph though when the autofocus doesn't work on the lens :-)

Not easy to photograph though when the autofocus doesn’t work on the lens πŸ™‚

Today I’ll need to do the laundry like I always do on Sundays, I’ll also mow the lawn if the grass dries up as it should be according to the predictions. I’ll just mow the garden today, the outside grass can wait another week to be mowed.

 

DSC_0024

Some kind of Valeriana.

Some kind of Valeriana.

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Love the photos! Cute kitty.

    June 21, 2015 at 8:03 am

    • Hi Midwestern Plant Girl and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      He is and he is also a very kind cat. He doesn’t worry that much about my dogs even if it looks like that in the photos πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back!
      Christer.

      June 21, 2015 at 9:58 am

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Wasn’t this weather supposed to be yesterday’s weather? Looks like your forecasters get the weather right but they put it on the wrong day. πŸ™‚

    Salmiak is a fine looking cat. He looks like a forest cat of some kind. Of course Bertil would not deign to look at Salmiak. Bertil possesses more gravitas than Salmiak so it would be beneath him to notice. πŸ™‚

    All of my flower beds are weeds. The lawn mowing guys once spent a few hours clearing up the fallen leaves in the autumn. One man said it was difficult because the beds were so overgrown. I laughed and said “I don’t have beds. I have places where The Wild has settled in.” πŸ™‚
    This year I have a lovely crop of pokeweed growing behind a screen of vicious roses. Usually that space has a lot of jewelweed, skunk cabbage and jacks-in-the boxes. Those are still around but pokeweed seems to be the flavor of the summer. It’s okay. I love pokeweed.

    Today (and the next few days) the remnants of Hurricane Bill will be passing over here. It drizzled a bit overnight but the heavier rain started in a couple of hours ago. I woke to the sound of it beating against the windows. It’s still raining but it’s calmer. No grass mowing for me for awhile. Oh, darn. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    June 21, 2015 at 10:59 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      You’re up early today πŸ™‚

      Well almost anyway πŸ™‚ We suddenly had quite wonderful weather here, sunshine, almost no wind and 68F, then the thunder arrived. I’m not surprised, it was a bit too good to be true this weather πŸ™‚ It moves to the north of us at the moment, looks like it is going nortwest to south east and we’re at the edges of it. Well, thne grass was still to weat to mow anyway πŸ™‚

      He is and he’s very kind too. We’ve figured out that Bertil is the king of the area and both Salmiak and sally are sort of duke and dutchess in his kingdom πŸ™‚ Teodor might be the one destroying it all because he has fights with all three of them, he’s the revolutionary one πŸ™‚

      I once had a beautiful flower bed there but then the lilacs took over. As soon as I removed those the weeds came in and killed what was left of the flowers in there πŸ™‚ It is beautiful and every now and again I remove a lot of the ones that dominates too much πŸ™‚ It’s fun because here people try their best to get pokeweed to thrive in their gardens πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It’s even more so with Jack’s-in-the boxes! They are highly loved here and so nasty expensive that it’s no use I try anyone more than the absolute hardiest of them. It usually survives a few years and then it dies out πŸ™‚

      Still no rain here though and the thunder is rather calm to be honest.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 21, 2015 at 12:01 pm

      • Caryn

        Jack-in-the-pulpit (I got it wrong before) likes really heavy wet soil and full shade. It was originally only growing down in my swampy woods on a low mucky bank next to a slow moving bit of water. It’s managed to find it’s way up to the shady lawn just behind the house. It will only does where it’s growing underneath other things. Here they are happily tucked under the vicious roses so I guess those thorny things are good for something.

        As you can probably tell, I’m letting nature take its course in a large part of my yard. I plant a few things here and there and I clear a bunch of weeds in other places but mostly I just let it be. A close look at the sunny side lawn will show four inch tall vicious roses and junipers that are just waiting for me to stop mowing that bit so they can spring forth and grow uncontrollably. Until then, they are content to remain bonsai and plot their evil takeover. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The vicious roses will, of course, defeat the junipers.

        Pokeweed is poisonous to practically everything except birds. They love it. I love the color on the berries.
        I never thought of it as a perennial because the stalk dries out every fall and I never noticed if the new stalks were growing in the same place.

        June 21, 2015 at 4:30 pm

      • The fun thing is that I found it under that name too πŸ™‚
        Up here we mostoy have to plant it a bit dryer to make it more hardy, odd but that’s the way it is with many plants growing in swampy areas naturally. I have had my jack in the pulpits in my woodland but as I said, they never last for long πŸ™‚

        The vicious rose doesn’t spread here at all, this is on the border to what it can take, unless winters keep on being mild. II often let the wild find a place here but redberried elderberry bushes must be removed and lots og tiny birches and rowans too πŸ™‚

        I know but still lots of people like them in their gardens but then again, most plants are πŸ™‚ Very few are actually not poisonous to us πŸ™‚
        Christer.

        June 21, 2015 at 4:49 pm

  3. that made me laugh about the cats not happy unless you have to get up to let them in, are Betril and Salmiak related, they look similar . That last photo is so beautiful, reminds me of home,

    June 21, 2015 at 12:18 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m pretty sure that’s a fact about my cats πŸ™‚ They really love to make me go to the door, open it so they just can turn around and walΓΆk in to the kitchen again πŸ™‚

      No they aren’t but they do look very simiular, especially from a distance. Teodor and Bertil however are broithers and not like each other at all πŸ™‚

      I’m not surprise it reminds You of home, You live almost as far north as I do and nature look very much alike too.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 21, 2015 at 12:24 pm

  4. jaz

    don’t our pet train us well. teddy loves having me open the door for her 100 times each day! salmiak is a cool cat.

    June 21, 2015 at 1:03 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      They sure do πŸ™‚ It drives me crazy when they keep on doing like that πŸ™‚

      He is a cool cat but Bertil think he’s the coolest cat around πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 21, 2015 at 2:28 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Oh my your post cracked me up today. The look on Salmiak’s face is rather priceless. I loved it too when Bertil passed right by, not even glancing in his direction! πŸ™‚ Too funny!! Today has gone by in a flash, hence my last visit here. We are batting down the hatches, due for more rain starting tonight and all day tomorrow. Just enough to breed more mosquitoes. Blah. They are getting bad now, too much water standing everywhere. Which is what they love. We dug up one of our diablo ninebarks today. It had some sort of aphid problem and there were also ants which herded the aphids into a cluster and then they ate them. But the ninebarks was looking mighty unhealthy, so up it came. In its place we planted a siberian dogwood, an abbotswood potentilla and in the shade (I found a wee spot) a bleeding heart. I am on the lookout still for more peonies. I am waiting until they start dropping prices on things. We got the shrubs for 20% off today which is not too bad. We planted them so they can take advantage of the rain that’s coming. πŸ™‚ I am also taking full advantage of our rain barrel we made out of a garbage can. It works wonderfully!! πŸ™‚ Happy Monday!

    June 22, 2015 at 1:46 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      He sure shows what he think about us πŸ™‚ I wonder why he just didn’t get out into the field or forest instead of waiting for us on the road?

      We had thunder here yesterday and now we’re having some again. not much rain though and very little thunder to be honest. My red ninebark grows very slowly and never seems to have any problems at all, it is a seedling from a Diabolo. I did have a yellow one once too but it grew something insanely and spread it seeds everywhere so I had to chop it down with my ax πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Here ants protect the aphids, they eat the sugary poop the aphids give away so one can say the ants use them as milking cows and will protect them against anything, even us humans πŸ™‚

      I’ve sown peony seeds this winter and if I’m lucky they will show next spring and then it will take at least one more year until I dare moving them out of the pots πŸ™‚ These seeds came from Molly the witch but will most likely become orangey to redish-pinkish πŸ™‚ I’ve never been successful with peony seedfs though, the only seeds I’ve never been successful with!

      I have two filled barrels with water, 400 liters πŸ™‚ I have two more barrels I can use if I want and get more of them at work πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 22, 2015 at 11:59 am

  6. Christer,
    The saga of the cat with your pets gave me a laugh. That same story unfolds here. Fear and Maddis have been together for 16 years but they still hiss at each other. Fern harasses Gracie by standing on the stairs knowing Gracie won’t dare go by her as Fern has been known to swat Gracie.

    The plants and flowers are just so lovely!

    June 22, 2015 at 3:23 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I do wonder why he just didn’t go out into the forest or into the fields? Instead he waited for us even if he really doesn’t like us πŸ™‚

      Bertil and Teodor can have big fights here and still be best of friends seconds after πŸ™‚ They love their dogs though, never hising at them, only me πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 22, 2015 at 12:01 pm

  7. I’m so tired.
    But I had to stop by here before going to sleep and tell you that I saw the fawn again!!!!
    maybe only 8-10 ft from me!
    I left you questions on Facebook.
    does the phrase “neener neener” translate? LOL!
    anyway, I was so surprised and happy.

    this post with Bertil and Salmiak plays out in my head like a little story.
    A childrens book story.
    Bertil ignoring Salmiak.
    I love it.

    June 22, 2015 at 4:38 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’m not surprised πŸ™‚ Having a djungle in the garden make it perfectr for it and the smell of Your dogs makes it a rather safe pklace to be, predators think twice before entering there πŸ™‚

      I had to check the urban dictionary for neener neener πŸ™‚

      The story about the dogs and cats that always hated each other πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 22, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Leave a Reply

