The laziest thunder ever.

I often find Bertil and Orvar sleeping close together.

I often find Bertil and Orvar sleeping close together.

I went to the doctor again today with my aching shoulder and he took a look at it and fetched that nasty long syringe. It looked like it would go through my entire arm πŸ™‚ Now my shoulder really hurts, a lot! The other doctor gave me another shot first that numbed the shoulder, this doctor must not have known one could do such a thing πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0022

The clouds were so dark they almost became dark blue.

The clouds were so dark they almost became dark blue.

DSC_0025

Fuinally they'll build a bridge down by the creek (where I fell down that sink hole :-) ).

Finally they’ll build a bridge down by the creek (where I fell down that sink hole πŸ™‚ ).

He did manage to go in to the joint and hit a few nerves on the way, I could feel it down to my thumb and he sounded surprised when I told him how much it ached πŸ™‚ Before I could find a sort of pain-free way to hold my arm, now that seems impossible. I really can’t work having this pain so I went home for the rest of the day, I do hope this will be over by tomorrow.

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

I drove to the garage on my way home to pay the bill, it wasn’t that bad to be honest. Yes I would rather have had that money for something else but it could have been worse. It costed 1600 Swedish kronor and that would be something like $ 178 US. I wouldn’t have been surprised if it had been much worse so this was sort of a good bill :-)’

 

The White Rose of Finland.

The White Rose of Finland.

Mock orange.

Mock orange.

Clematis integrifolia.

Clematis integrifolia.

My tomatos need sunshine and lots of it!

My tomatoes need sunshine and lots of it!

I went out with the dogs as soon as I came home and half way to the bog I heard the thunder. It isn’t nice to be outside in a forest when thunder arrives so we walked home rather quickly. It turns out it was the only time, so far, the thunder could be heard and that’s over an hour ago πŸ™‚ It is raining though so I’m glad we went home anyway.

 

The rest of todays photos are from yesterday.

The rest of todays photos are from yesterday.

DSC_0052

The mist is said to be fairies dansing.

The mist is said to be fairies dansing.

DSC_0054

We had thunder here yesterday too and it must have been the laziest thunder we’ve ever had here. I looked at the same spot in the sky for almost half an hour and the cloud almost didn’t move at all during that time. It almost didn’t manage to send any flashes either, one every twenty minutes or so but the closest one was just outside the village.

 

DSC_0058

Lots of them dansing around yesterday.

Lots of them dansing around yesterday.

DSC_0060

DSC_0063

It is time for something to eat, I haven’t had anything since 5 am and now it’s 1:36 pm. I’ll call the physiotherapist tomorrow, the doctor said that it would be my best chance to get rid of the pain in my shoulder for good since I can’t take any pills. It’s just to call and then we’ll agree on a day I can go there. It’s nice when it’s easy for once.

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0031

DSC_0035

DSC_0037

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0046

14 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Bills that are way less than you think they are going to be are always the best kind of bills to have. πŸ™‚

    Those clouds with low angle light always make everything just jump out so clearly. I love that kind of sky. Your photos are brilliant today. The flower ones especially so. The light is fabulous. But my favorite is the water with rain drop ripples. I think it’s because the colors are so subtle.

    I’m glad you explained about the fairies dancing because when I saw the first photo I thought there was something wrong with the camera. πŸ™‚

    It was a wall of fairies dancing here this morning. All that rain from yesterday is evaporating in a great misty ground hugging cloud. And it was very humid on our morning walk. Even though it was cool, it still felt like I was trying to breathe under water. πŸ™‚ Every so often I see a peek of the sun that is supposed to be shining but it’s still murky.

    Great long needles creep me out. I remember having to hold a horse by its upper lip while a veterinarian tapped it’s elbow capsule looking for a reason why the poor thing was lame. A horse’s elbow is way up inside what we think of as its shoulder. Well, the vet brought out this humongous long needle and proceeded to plunge it into that part of the horse. I was silently screaming Aaaaaaahhhh!!! Noooo!
    The horse was a sweetheart, though, and took all of this rather more calmly than I did. πŸ™‚
    Anyway, I hope the PT works on your shoulder and you won’t have to have any more long, painful needles plunged into it. It almost sounds like the
    second doctor didn’t do it right but I’m not a doctor so what do I know?

    Enjoy the day.

    June 22, 2015 at 1:30 pm

    • Hi caryn!

      So true πŸ™‚ it could have been much worse so therefore this was cheap πŸ™‚

      I agree and the trees inthe forest (by the road get an almost wierd green color by that dark sky :-)That is my favorite photo too πŸ™‚

      I thought it best to explain that already in the beginjning, it does look strange otherwise πŸ™‚ Too bad it didn’t happen on the field close to my cottage, when it hgappens there it actually looks like fairies dansing πŸ™‚ High humidity here now but it is so cold that it doesn’t give that feeling here πŸ™‚

      They do creep me out too, especially when I know I’m the one receiving it πŸ™‚
      I just learned that about horses in a program about bobΒ΄nes on tv πŸ™‚ I must admit I had no idea it was like that πŸ™‚ I guess the horse only felt the relief of getting that stuff out of there. I rarely react at all if it isn’t about me though πŸ™‚

      I know that it is easy to hit nerves when gicing these shots since they must inside the joint. Some people feel nothing others feel way more than I did πŸ™‚ It is better but it sin’t good. I’ve used my electric heatpad for an hour now and I’ll use it more the rest of bthe day too!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 22, 2015 at 2:03 pm

      • Caryn

        I’m usually great if it’s not about me. πŸ™‚ But this one was kind of about me because I was the one twisting her upper lip so she would stand still enough to let the vet do is job. If she was going to blow up, I was first in the line of fire. πŸ™‚
        But the horse was calm because her leg had been ring blocked with injected anesthetics at every joint from the hoof up one after the other as we tried to find out where she was hurting by process of elimination. She was a race horse and belonged to an older couple who treated her like their baby. She was very sweet and very well behaved.
        Turned out some race track vet or trainer had tapped the elbow joint capsule and drained the synovial fluid that is supposed to be there to cushion and protect the joint. It was replaced with cortisone. Once the joint has been tapped, the cortisone doesn’t stay in there either which leaves the horse with a dry joint which is painful. Very sad.

        June 22, 2015 at 3:59 pm

      • What idiots! Why did they think that would work?? I hope the horse got better after a while, I’m not sure if synovial fluid comes back again?

        June 22, 2015 at 5:44 pm

  2. jaz

    ouch! that sure sounds painful. i wish doctors would think more about how to not cause pain! bertil and orvar are so cute together!

    June 22, 2015 at 2:14 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It was but it is slightly better now. I’ll use my heat pad all evening to make it better. The other doctor thought about it but this one couldn’t care less πŸ™‚

      They are best of friends πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 22, 2015 at 2:23 pm

  3. Caryn

    Re: horse’s elbow. I’m not sure if synovial fluid regenerates. The synovial tissue might but I’m not sure about that either. Draining the synovial fluid from the joint is done to people and animals if they have an injury or condition that produces excessive fluid. It’s also done to replace the fluid with cortisone in cases of arthritis etc. In this horse’s case it was done so she wouldn’t feel any pain and would run as if nothing was wrong. With cheap race horses, trainers and owners often don’t care if the horse runs on an injury. It has to earn its keep.
    The diagnosis was a shock to the owners and they were very upset. I don’t know what they decided to do and the horse was gone from the barn after a few days. The vet they had was not the sort to encourage euthanasia on the grounds that the animal was no longer economically profitable. At the time the price per pound for horse meat was very high and sending a possibly permanently unsound horse to the auction usually meant the horse ended up at the knackers. I hoped that her owners didn’t do that but they were hobby race people so who knows?

    June 22, 2015 at 6:19 pm

    • My previous neighbor had two trotting horses and he just couldn’t bare selling them when he had to just because he wouldn’t know if they would come to someone that would take good care of them or sell them to a slaughter house. He had them put down in the stable where they loved to be.

      June 22, 2015 at 6:28 pm

  4. I LOVE your cat so much.

    June 22, 2015 at 11:37 pm

    • Hi Guillaume!

      He is a cool cat πŸ™‚ and now days he has started to be reasonable nice towards me too πŸ™‚

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 23, 2015 at 6:12 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Sorry to hear of your shoulder troubles – not to mention that nasty needle! Yikes! I hope its starting to feel better already. Love the pic of Bertil and Orvar. πŸ™‚ They must love each other and the heat they each provide! Great pictures today, my favorite is the one of the dark sky. I like it when the sky gets like that, but please Mother Nature, no more weak thunder. If you are going to thunder, do it with gusto! πŸ™‚ We had rain for most of the morning, right now I am sitting in my chair, and the sun is blazing away. They are threatening more rain and possible storms for tomorrow but to be honest, when they predict a 30% chance versus a 60 or higher % chance, its always the 30% chance that comes through. Go figure. I wonder if you sat really quiet in the forest with the mists, you might just see or hear a fairy? I would love that! Have a good Tuesday!!

    June 23, 2015 at 2:12 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      It was pretty bad yesterday but today is much, much better. I still feel a bit sour in the shoulder and have worked mostly with my left arm and hand today. I’m so lucky tro be naturally ambidexter πŸ™‚

      Bertil loves his dogs and has also become nicer towards me too! Feels very odd, as if he is planning to do something nasty later on πŸ™‚

      es this lazy thunder was mostly just annoying! I couldn’t plug in anything electric just in case and it kept onb for hours πŸ™‚ We’ll have this kind of weather for at least two weeks they say, possibly longer but perhaps without thunder.

      I’ve seen strange things out on that bog but not any fairies, just as well since they are kind of nasty most of the time πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 23, 2015 at 6:17 pm

  6. Hi Christer –

    I can empathize with your painful shoulder. When I have gotten steroid injections into the joint they usually become more painful for a day or two and then the pain is significantly improved. Hitting a nerve is so painful it makes me nervous to think about it. Ice or heat packs may help relieve your pain until the medications takes effect. I completely tore 2 muscles in my rotator cuff last fall and am waiting to have the surgeon repair it to see if I get any of the strength/function back, but the steroid injection has helped control the pain. I hope the physical therapy & medication helps with your problem. It must be especially hard in light of how much you depend on your shoulder for your work.

    The photos of all the different flowers are beautiful. You have such a large variety of flowers that we do not normally see in the US. I also loved seeing the photo of Bertil sleeping with Ovar. Is the sleeping together a new behavior or has Beril always been that cozy with the dogs? You were fortunate that your car repair bill was so reasonable. It is rare these days to be able to get anything done to your car for under $200 other than an oil change.

    We are expecting a very hot and humid week here. The weather gurus say that we will reach 103 degrees by Saturday with lots of humidity. It is rare that we get a much humidity and I am not looking forward to the sweltering heat. The humidity will make it feel even warmer than it actually is which is not a good thing. My plants are not not doing well at all because of the 90+ days we have already had alternating with days were the high is only 65 degrees. The continuing drought out West has left many of the lakes & rivers too low for boating & now the large river that runs through downtown Portland is so warm that the spawning salmon are dying before they can lay their eggs upstream. Everything is tinder dry and warnings about fire safety are on the TV all the time. Just what a few crazy arsonists need to hear to motivate them to start a few forest fires. I suspect this summer to feel extra long and even hotter than last year. I wished I lived were the climate was Fall year round. The only good thing I can say about Summer is that it eventually ends. You are lucky that Summer is a relatively short & cool season in Sweden.

    I really hope your shoulder starts feeling better soon.

    Take care – Ellen

    June 23, 2015 at 4:50 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      It was really bad yesterday but I used my heat pad most of the evening. It is much better today but the shoulder is still quite sore so I’ve been working with my left hand and arm most of the day, I’m so happy I’m ambidexter πŸ™‚ I’ll call the physical therapist this week and I guess I won’t get any appointment until after the vacation weeks that are ahead of us here now.

      Still, I have very few flowers here in my garden πŸ™‚

      Bertil has always loved his dogs so he usually sleep beside them. Nova isn’t too happy about it but she accpets Bertil near her but not Teodor.

      Yes I actually felt lucky getting that reasonable low bill πŸ™‚ but there are a few other repairs I need to get done this summer so It will get worse πŸ™‚

      I would most likely feel just the same as You do when it comes to summer if we had Your kind of summer πŸ™‚ I would be happy if it at least reached 68F here but it doiesn’t seem to reach even near that any time close, perhaps not during the entire summer they say. No risk of low lakes or rivers here, it rains a lot almost every day now, I guess we can be happy if we don’t have floodings here any time soon

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 23, 2015 at 6:26 pm

Leave a Reply

