They will come to empty an empty bin, twice a month.

Yesterday evening outside my gate.

Yesterday evening outside my gate.

I’ve learned one important lesson today. If You use Your hands to put on liniment on Your body, it doesn’t matter how much You wash Your hands, there will still be some on Your hands and You will know that if you eat a cracker when the mouth starts to burn πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ You will also, after a while feel the odd taste from that liniment but it is too late by then πŸ™‚

 

This morning on our walk.

This morning on our walk.

DSC_0038

I've seen very few cranes this summer, this is the first one since late spring.

I’ve seen very few cranes this summer, this is the first one since late spring.

DSC_0040

I got a letter about collection of wasted food yesterday. They will now put up another bin outside my home and I’m supposed to put all the food I won’t eat in it. I don’t have any food left over like that, I plan carefully how much I make and if I should have any food left closing in to be too old I have three dogs that gladly eat it. I can call them and say I don’t want that bin because I don’t have and food I want to throw away but if I do they’ll charge me 520 Swedish kronor ($ 60 US) more every year!

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

DSC_0047

They will empty this empty bin every second week and they will empty the old one every fourth week, they one I usually fill in two weeks πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ This will cost me 1630 Swedish kronor every year (around $ 181 US). It is always impossible to even try to discuss with these people so I’ll just do as they wish and let them empty this empty bin as often as they wish πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ If they should start complaining about the empty bin being empty I’ll just buy a loaf of bread and toss it in every now and again, it will be cheaper than paying that extra fee for not having that extra bin πŸ™‚

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

DSC_0052

DSC_0022

This is what happens when environmentalists goes haywire, they will now send this garbage truck all over the county so many more times spewing out fumes and carbon dioxide and help the greenhouse effect even more. I guess they care more about emptying empty barrels than the climate in the long run πŸ™‚ But I guess at least some people won’t lose their jobs when they do like this and that’s a good thing after all πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

I’ll get Orvar his medicine tomorrow. I bought the horse version when Hector was still around but that isn’t necessary any longer. So I called the vet station and unfortunately another vet than the one I’ve usually talked to answered my call. I told her why I suddenly wanted the dog version of the medicine and that another vet already had checked my dogs. I thought that was it but oh no πŸ™‚ She had checked the journals and it said nothing about Orvar getting any medicine. I explained to her that it was written on the other dog, who no longer is around and she would be able to find the medicine in his journal.

DSC_0021

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

So I thought that it was it but oh no πŸ™‚ She then called me again and said she had found the medicine but not that any other vet had checked them. I then told her that the other vet didn’t think it was necessary to take a lot of blood tests and other tests when she clearly could see that both dogs were fine. I could hear that this vet wasn’t happy about that at all, I guess she really wanted to bring in more money to the vet station πŸ™‚ But I could also hear that since she knew who the other vet was that it was a lost battle for her πŸ™‚ So finally she agreed to write a prescription for the medicine, this only took two days and guess if I’m happy I still have a week left of the old medicine πŸ™‚

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

They were supposed to build a bridge over the creek this time, so the beavers won't be able to do what they did the last time. So what did they do? It's exactly the same as it was before :-)

They were supposed to build a bridge over the creek this time, so the beavers won’t be able to do what they did the last time. So what did they do? It’s exactly the same as it was before πŸ™‚

It is time for something to eat and then some tv watching before going to bed. My shoulder is so so now. It doesn’t ache in the places it did before, it aches in a new place now πŸ™‚ Tomorrow is a short day though and then I’ll have the weekend to rest before the last week before vacation starts πŸ™‚

 

A few Edixa photos.

A few Edixa photos.

24

25

26

 

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I’ve never had that happen with normal liniment. The only time that happened was when I was using DMSO on a horse and didn’t have the proper chemical resistant rubber gloves. DMSO goes through the skin and carries whatever drug is in it along with it. You can tell that this has happened because within a few minutes your mouth tastes like you ate lots of garlic and haven’t brushed your teeth in a week. πŸ˜› Yuck.
    The liniment I use comes in a spray bottle that works even when it’s upside down. Much easier than trying to rub it on unreachable places. πŸ™‚

    Ah Bureaucracy. Fix the creek problem by making it look like it did before the problem happened even though you know the problem will happen again. The beavers will be happy, though.

    I’m glad I live alone and don’t have much trash. It’s complicated here. All the regular trash has to fit in one special barrel and the lid has to close. If the lid is not closed, they won’t take your trash. If you have more trash than will fit, you have to buy a special trash bag or ask your neighbor if there’s room in their trash barrel. After reading all the complaint threads on the town FB page, I commented that someone should set up a trash barrel sharing hub where people could let others know that they have room in their barrels for a bag or two. Nobody took me seriously. Complaining about something is much more satisfying than doing something to fix it.
    Generally, it isn’t haywire environmentalists, at least here. It’s town government trying to save money. Food waste can be composted and reused. What doesn’t go into the regular trash doesn’t cost them money at the landfill.
    When my town tells me food waste has to go into a special barrel, I shall laugh and laugh because that’s just the way they did it when I was a little kid. What goes around, comes around and everything old is new again. I still have the cement-lined hole in the ground where the garbage collection pail lived. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    It’s lovely, breezy and mostly sunny here. Rain is predicted. When, I don’t know. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    June 25, 2015 at 7:34 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      This one is called Tiger balm and is a fat cream that one spreads on the skin and it is truly impossible to get rid of πŸ™‚ Smells wonderful but tastes quite the opposite πŸ™‚

      I guess the land owners couldn’t agrre on what they wanted to pay and just made it like it was before. We all have a good laugh about it and wonders for how long it will take for the beavers to stop the water from flowing again πŸ™‚

      We have much the same rules here but thankfully all of us are willing to let anyone put trash in our bins as long as there’s space πŸ™‚ But our lids must be sort of closed πŸ™‚ We must show that we at least tried to shut it but weren’t successful πŸ™‚ We pay for the volume of the bin and not the wifΒ΄ght of our trash as they do inother places, so just put in trash as long as it is possible πŸ™‚ They don’t however like it if we really push it down hard in the bin so it stucks πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Unfortunately the municipality officials here are the environmentalists and they are just impossible to reason with and to be honest each and every one of them have their own idea in how to interpret the laws so everything depens on whom one is speaking to πŸ™‚ We don’t have landfills in Sweden any longer, we even import garbage to fill our huge burners so to make district heating.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 26, 2015 at 2:28 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! You know, nothing makes sense when the government is involved with decisions!! I fully support recycling of any kind, but like you said, to have a big truck drive around and spew fumes into the air and ozone, well that just makes my blood boil! πŸ™‚ Like you, we do not waste food and whatever is left over, our dogs (and cats) get. We don’t have a food recycle bin yet, but I think there is something in the works with that. We have yard waste, garbage and recycling. Photos are great today! Such a difference from one camera to the next! My son just bought a new camera last night, so he was happy outside last night taking pictures all over the place. I am not exactly sure what kind it is, but the pictures it takes are really vibrant and crisp! πŸ™‚ I hope your shoulder continues to heal once you get on vacation, which I am sure will be just the medicine it needs! πŸ™‚ Have a good evening!

    June 25, 2015 at 7:39 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I support recycling too but this is just stupid πŸ™‚ It is no use in talking top them either because they all have their own way to interpret the law so it all depends on whom one speaking to and if one is lucky to speak to the same person every time πŸ™‚ Well, let them come and empty that empty bin πŸ™‚

      We really don’t have any recycling here at home but there are lots of recycling stations we can go to for almost anything. It is always a hazard though since there’s always glass spread on the ground and I really don’t want a flat tire or several πŸ™‚

      OH! What kind? You must find out and tell me πŸ™‚ It is a huge difference between the cameras, the digital ones get better and better very fast. My Nikon D5100 is an old timer by now and way behind even the simpler cheaper new ones πŸ™‚

      One more week and then four weeks of vacation πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 26, 2015 at 2:44 pm

  3. Hi Christer,

    Sounds like you’ve really been through it with the bureaucracy and the vet. Congratulations for your persistence in dealing with the vet’s office!

    I love your first photo of the sunrise. Also the last photo of your cat! And by the way, all the photos in between! As for the cranes, perhaps they are like our barn swallows. We didn’t have as many of them arriving this past April as we usually do, and I didn’t see very many this past spring. But for the last couple of days, there have been great numbers of them flying around. I guess they started nesting right away when they arrived, so by now their babies have fledged. Some of the adults might still have second broods because it is not too late for that yet. So by August, when they are preparing to migrate south for the winter, we may well have more.

    Wishing you the best!

    Adele

    June 25, 2015 at 7:54 pm

    • Hi Adele!

      At least I managed to get through to the vet πŸ™‚ It was so much easier when we had the old vet, before he sold it to a big vet hospital! They only think of money first and thge animal after.But I have to admit that she wrote a prescription that I can use five times πŸ™‚

      We had more cranes here than ever this spring but they didn’t sow anything here this spring so the cranes found fields where they did sow and went there instead. I’m pretty sure we’ll have them around again before they move south again. At least I hope so πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 26, 2015 at 2:48 pm

  4. We have garbage bins here that you can put anything in but grass clippings or yard waste.
    I don’t understand that since that would eventually break down.
    It’s a BIG bin and it can hold up to 350lbs it is said.
    So first I drop a bag of a weeks worth of dog poo in the bottom.
    The I put in yard clipping etc.
    The I put in a couple of bags of USED kitty litter and top it all off with 2-3 bags of regular trash.

    and about the vet? that happens to me too.
    MY old cat has a nasty pus ear infection, it’s obviously not mites.
    If I asked either of the 2 newer vets they would get annoyed and tell me to bring my old cat in.
    Then they would take a smear and test it
    and then they would give me ear cleaner and medication drops to be administered twice daily….
    Instead I asked the vet that owns the place and I described the stuff that’s in the ear.
    the sour smell and the pus and he gave me this waxy medication that I insert into the ear and leave it in there.
    After two weeks, I do that again and after that, it should be all cleared up!
    So much easier than dragging my old cat in there (and cheaper) thank god.

    Maybe you could drop a bag of poo in the empty container?
    What do they do with the old decaying food anyway?

    June 25, 2015 at 8:59 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      We meassure our bins in liters so I can’t say if I have a bigger or smaller one πŸ™‚ but it is the biggest I have. Dog poo and grass goes into the composts, so does the cat litter too. Glass, paper cartons and metals must be brought to any of the small recycling centers we have around so there isn’t much left to put in the regular bin any longer πŸ™‚ I’m cleaning out the wood shed and garage so I still have plenty to put in my bin though πŸ™‚

      Yes it was so much easier with the old vet (and this new young woman who seems to have common sence, something many don’t have any longer. They think of money first and the animals after. She did however write a prescription that I can use five times πŸ™‚

      They compost the food waste but they don’t like us to do it since rats tends to move where there’s easy food πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 26, 2015 at 2:54 pm

  5. Christer,
    Here they have only private trash pick-up. The town runs the refuse center (aka the dump) for which I pay $150.00 a year for the right to dump my trash. There are plenty of recycle parts so all the cans, papers, plastic and such are recycled. It would be more expensive for a private firm to collect my trash every week.

    When I was a kid, we had garbage men who collected the thrown away peels, skin and garbage from an underground bin in the backyard. I don’t know if my old town still does that.

    It seems so silly to charge you more for less.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    June 25, 2015 at 10:25 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      We’re not allowed to do like You, we must have a bin that they come and empty and it is the municipal company that does it. The rules for taking care of ones own trash are so tough that if anyone actually manages to get rid of that bin we all believe he or she must have bribed someone high up πŸ™‚

      It is quite odd to charge more for less πŸ™‚ but this is Sweden πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 26, 2015 at 2:57 pm

  6. glad to hear your shoulder is better,,
    l wonder why we humans make life so complicated, it makes no sense what they do with your bins but as they say in the movies,
    ” resistance is futile! ”
    your photos are so very very beautiful today, just the medicine I needed,,,

    June 26, 2015 at 12:52 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m trying to keep it as still as possble and I hope this weekend will help it to get better.

      Yes resistance is futile and the sooner one accepts that the easier life gets πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I’m glad You liked them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 26, 2015 at 2:59 pm

  7. Hi Christer,

    I have been catching up with your photos,in the peace and quiet of our rural home,having been visiting our younger son in London.

    Here in East Cheshire we have three bins, collected on a fortnightly rota one for general rubbish,and put out together one for garden waste and one for paper, plastic and glass.We all pay for this service in our annual council tax.I do not always need to put the bins out for collection and there is no penalty for that.
    Fortunately we have somewhere to put three big wheelie bins,not everyone does and the neighbouring council authority supplies four bins!!

    I hope your shoulder continues to improve and you have a great weekend.

    P.S looks like we are getting a heat wave next week..might make its way to you:)

    June 26, 2015 at 1:33 pm

    • Hi Lesley!

      I’ve always wanted to go to London! I have actually been there once, when I was one year old, so no memories I’m afraid πŸ™‚

      So far we who lives at the outskirts of the world have just had the one bin for general rubbish, the rest we’ve had to go to any of the small recycling centers we have here and there. We are still, thankfully, allowed to take care of our own garden waste and we all have composts in our gardens. Before we were allowed to take care of wasted food as well as long as we had an approved compost but I guess that isn’t the case any longer since they are starting with this. I don’t mind if they put up these new bins, if people have wasted food why not recycle it. What I don’t like is that if I don’t have any food to waste I shouldn’t be forced to have this extra bin or pay extra because I actually make sure I don’t have any food to waste πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Yes they say it will get warmer here too next week πŸ™‚ I just hope it doesn’t get too warm since we now are used to this rather cold weather πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 26, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Leave a Reply

