I really hope they taste something wonderful :-)

DSC_0028

So I went to the pharmacy after work to get Orvar’s medicine and some heat plasters for my shoulder, the heat plasters are supposed to sit on the shoulder for around eight hours so they are easier to use than my electric heat pad. I’ll just put it on tonight when I go to bed and then let it do its miracles during the night. The medicine Orvar takes is a fluid so guess if I got surprised when it turns out the vet had changed it to pills, chewing pills it says. I really hope they taste like liver or something otherwise there’s no chance in hell Orvar will chew anything πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

DSC_0026

But she did write the prescription so I can use it five times! That has never happened before and unfortunately (but really good to be honest) she also wrote down that I should get a huge package each time, they didn’t have that at the pharmacy so instead I got loads of smaller packages instead this time πŸ™‚ There’s now an order on that big package in my name so I’ll bring it home next Friday after work, when my vacation starts πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

DSC_0032

I also went to the pet store since I never came around to fish for any fish to have in my big water barrels. I had planned not to use the aquarium this coming winter but I really need to since I bought six small goldfish. I’ll put it in my cool cellar during winter instead. There’s plenty of light and just enough cool for the fish to have a nice winter. Goldfish are cold water fish and likes a cold winter to calm down, warm water all year round is not especially good for them. Fantails however likes it a bit warmer so I decided not to buy any of those. Β So now there’s three in each water barrel and I’m hoping they’ll eat any insect larvae that tries to grow up there.

 

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

We now have a new disease spread by tick in this country. I can’t remember the name on it but it behaves much like malaria. The good thing is that one won’t die from it unless the immune system is extremely weak πŸ™‚ It is the small things we must appreciate πŸ™‚ Lots of ticks around this year but it comes and goes in waves. Some weeks none of the dogs have any and other weeks they have plenty on them. Some just walking around but some already drinking their blood. So far I’ve had two that bit me and two just walking around on me. I truly hate those nasty animals!

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

The day has been rather lovely with sunshine and almost warm temperatures. Now clouds cover the sky though but it is still almost warm. They say we’ll get really warm weather next week so we’ll most likely think it is way to hot since it has been so cold until now πŸ™‚ It is time to get something to eat, all dogs and cats have already had their dinners πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0044

DSC_0046

DSC_0023

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Good luck with Orvar and the pills. I hope they taste good. Although you could always shove the pill into meat or fish.
    Piki Dog gets a chewable heart worm “treat”. It’s a huge rectangular thing and he scarfs it down. Rocky wouldn’t eat things that big (because he’s a prince) so he buried them instead. Not good for medicine. He has to get a different heart worm med that is a tiny, flavored pill. He swallows that happily. For any other pills, I assume that my dogs will allow me to push them down their throats. They assume that I mean business so they let me. I’ve medicated 1,000 pound horses. Don’t mess with me. πŸ™‚

    What are those blue flowers in the photo that is third from the bottom?

    The morning was so cloudy and dark, I was sure that was the weather for the day but the sun has appeared. It’s cool outside and almost chilly in the house. I’d put on a sweater and some socks but I’d have to take them off to go outside. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    June 26, 2015 at 4:36 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Thanks! I think I’ll need all luck I can get or lots of liver pΓ’tΓ© πŸ™‚ He’ll eat anything hidden in liver pΓ’tΓ© πŸ™‚ My dogs rather choke than refuseing anything they want or at least believe the others want πŸ™‚ Orvar does allow me to open his mouth to give him the medicine he takes now even if he really dislikes it so I think I wouldn’t have to big troubles to give him a pill if he doesn’t want to eat it.

      Those blue flowers are Veronica chamaedrys. We call them Tea Veronica or Grannus spectables here πŸ™‚ I have no idea if it is any good in tea though and I’ve never seen a granny wear that odd spectables πŸ™‚ Very common here and seen as a weed if it starts growing in the garden.

      The sun came back here and the evening is quite nice! They have cut down all grass by the fields so our evening walk was almost fly free πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 26, 2015 at 6:35 pm

      • Caryn

        Grannies spectacles? I don’t see how they look like spectacles of any kind.
        I googled them. Wikipedia says they are commonly called bird’s eye speedwell and are European. The USDA says they are native to Alaska, Canada and the lower 48 states of which California is one but California insists that they are not native to California.
        In the process of googling Veronica chamaedrys, I also discovered the United States Minor Outlying Islands which I didn’t even know we owned. πŸ™‚
        Funny what you learn when you’re trying to learn something else. πŸ™‚

        June 27, 2015 at 3:04 am

      • Hi Caryn!

        Well, if Dame Edna Everage was a granny she would have had spectables looking like those flopwers πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I have no idea how they came up with these old names πŸ™‚ I’ve never heard that English name on them though.

        I didn’t know You still had those islands, I guess it is a remain from WW2.

        That’s the best way to learn something πŸ™‚

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

        June 27, 2015 at 5:43 am

  2. Love ALL the photos but especially that first one with the green, red and black. Just gorgeous!
    That was very nice of that vet to do!
    πŸ˜€
    If he doesn’t like the taste, here at work we will put it in peanut butter or some cheese wiz.
    Is it Lyme disease that you are talking about??? If so, that’s bad news.
    Hope not. πŸ˜•

    June 26, 2015 at 7:17 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      Poppies are always beautiful πŸ™‚

      It was and it turns out he gulps those pills down πŸ™‚

      No, we’ve had lyme disease here for a long time, this is a “new” one and now I can’t find the name on it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 27, 2015 at 5:30 am

  3. jaz

    it is next to impossible to sneak anything into teddy. the only thing that works is limburger. it smells so bad that she gobbles it. she does love anything that smells like poop!

    June 27, 2015 at 1:09 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      I guess Orvar would love me to put his medicine in some limburger πŸ™‚ but it turns out that he gulped down these pills. I’m glad because they are pretty big even for him πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 27, 2015 at 5:32 am

  4. Christer,
    Gracie takes a small pill every day for her heart. I hide it her food. I push it into meat so she doesn’t see it. Most times that pill disappears quickly. When she has to take bigger pills, I usually just open her mouth and push it down. She hates me doing that and so do I.

    Lyme disease is just one of the diseases tick can give to people and animals, including dogs. I have found two ticks on Grace this year, her first ever. I found one on myself too. Luckily none of them had imbedded yet. I get Gracie a Lyme shot every year. It won’t 100% protect her but it will help.

    Chilly night tonight, in the high 50’s. I’m liking it!

    I wish my hair dried as fast as a dog’s.

    Hope you had a great evening!

    June 27, 2015 at 2:13 am

    • Hi Kat!

      He is usually no problem but when he is he’s a big problem πŸ™‚ It is impossible to force a 105 pound dog to do something he doesn’t want to πŸ™‚ But it turns out he gulped them down πŸ™‚

      It isn’t lyme disease, that one has been around for quite some time here in Sweden (not around here where I live though, we’re strangely enough free from that one so far). Now I can’t find the name on this one but it is supposed to give the same symptoms as malaria.

      Sune’s fur dries very fast, he’s dry after 15 minutes but the smell of bog water stays though πŸ™‚ Our nights are almost always just around 50F, it is rare that it gets any higher even on hot summers. I like it because that’s when I know even the most annoying flies will stay calm when we’re out walking πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 27, 2015 at 5:37 am

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Hope that Orvar took his medicine okay! I have to hide pills in a piece of bread with peanut butter, otherwise we get them spit right out! Currently one of our cats, Abbey the Manx, is suffering from a cold. She’s on eye medicine and Lysine. I hope she gets better soon! She and our Luna get colds and usually I can get rid of it with just Lysine but this time around no joy. I hope your shoulder works well with those heat pads work for you!! We are having a horrid heat wave, so hot. Supposed to get to 31 celcius on Monday. I hope not! I have had to cave and turn on the air conditioning. I hate it, I like fresh air! We have a tick here called the deer tick and they carry Lyme Disease which humans can contract. Its a terrible autoimmune disease and can really make a person ill. Have a good Saturday!! πŸ™‚

    June 27, 2015 at 3:18 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I tried them this morning and he gulped them down πŸ™‚ The problem now is that the two others think he get treats and they don’t πŸ™‚

      I’m surprised that my cats so rarely get sick since they are outside all day long no matter what kind of weather we’re having. I do hope Abbey gets better soon!

      It will be much warmer here next week they say and I’ll believe it if it happens. We might reach 30C here too but I sure hope it will stay a bit cooler. It’s never a good thing to go from 16C to 30C over a night πŸ™‚

      I’m not sure what kind of tick it is we have who carries lyme disease but I guess there might be more than one species. We also have the moose fly which also can spread it. We hgave thankfully no case of lyme disease in this area but I guess it’s just a matter of time. This new one however will give much the same symptoms as malaria. Nast animals even if they wouldn’t spread all these diseases!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 27, 2015 at 5:49 am

Leave a Reply

