He started to follow us :-)

DSC_0020

I’m waiting for the grass to dry up some so I can start mowing the lawn, I still get soaking wet on my feet if I walk around int it now. It is however a rather wonderful morning, just enough warm to say it is summer bit still cool enough to keep most flies calm. Lots of them are sitting on my wall facing the sun, they need to warm up a bit too before starting the chores of the day πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

The flies move away when they have cut down the grass so now I love to walk there.

The flies move away when they have cut down the grass so now I love to walk there.

DSC_0025

I didn’t have to worry about Orvar not eating those pills, I have absolutely no idea what they can taste like since they don’t even smell anything but he gulped them down. To say they are chewable is perhaps wrong, he didn’t have the time to chew at all πŸ™‚ The only problem is that the two others believes he’s getting a treat πŸ™‚ So I better find something to give to them too πŸ™‚ Β I’ll give him these pills tomorrow as well but after that I must give him the last of the old one, I refuse to throw anything away that isn’t bad.

 

Somethimg didn't look like it usually does when I looked towards the trees.

Something didn’t look like it usually does when I looked towards the trees.

A Roe deer buck was resting in the early morning sunlight.

A Roe deer buck was resting in the early morning sunlight.

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

I must by a new hedge trimmer, The hedge has become very high, which I by the way like a lot but it will soon be too big to handle. I like how it makes it impossible for people to see what I’m doing or not doing in my garden πŸ™‚ and I also like how it slows down the eventual wind that reach my home during storms. I don’t like how it is a safe heaven for mosquitoes and flies though πŸ™‚ I was thinking of cutting away most of what is towards the garden but leaving the parts closest to the road and cut down that next spring. Then I still will have some protection during the winter winds. I also need to chop down a lot of the Hungarian lilacs, I like them (the flowers don’t smell that much) but they are just way too big as they are now.

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0036

They are good protection for smaller birds though so I won’t thin them out too much. Today however is a do very little day, besides the lawn mowing that is. It will be a fairly nice day with temperatures up to almost 20C (68F). To be honest, I would be happy if the temperature stayed around that temperature all summer long, it is not too hot and not too cold, it is just perfect. I say this Knowing that next week most likely will give us temperatures up to 30C (86F). I know I really can’t complain if that would become true, not after all the whining I’ve done about it being so cold πŸ™‚

I noticed that the buck we just had passed started to follow us from a distance :-) Suddenly he ran across a filed, over the gravel road and stopped in another field. He stood there just watching us while we passed :-)

I noticed that the buck we just had passed started to follow us from a distance πŸ™‚ Suddenly he ran across a filed, over the gravel road and stopped in another field. He stood there just watching us while we passed πŸ™‚

DSC_0039

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

It is time for a pot of coffee and then some playing time with the dogs, sooner or later the grass will have dried up enough to be cut.

 

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

DSC_0048

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Great that the pills were eagerly accepted. Yes, you do have to give the others a treat when you’re giving one of the group a pill. Especially if the pill taker looks like he’s enjoying it. πŸ™‚

    I love the photo of the shining grass and the one of the dog biscuit (?) flowers. The roe buck gave you some great photos, too. It looks like a lovely day there.

    What are the pinkish red spikes growing with the dog biscuits? They look a bit like loosestrife.

    It is Swedish summer weather here today. Chilly but sunny. Big rainstorms are on the way for later tonight and tomorrow. I suppose I should mow the little patch of grass that I won’t let the lawn service touch. Whatever grass that is back there doesn’t grow very fast. Benefits of being in the shade, I guess. Unfortunately, the other things that are growing there do grow fast and have to be knocked back. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    June 27, 2015 at 1:34 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes I must say I’m very happy about that πŸ™‚ I have just a few treats at home right now but they love hard bread so they’ll get that for a while πŸ™‚

      The photo with the grass came out much better than I hoped for πŸ™‚ and I must say I was surprised by being followed, almost stalked by a roe deer buck πŸ™‚ He must be one of the young ones that came to eat in my garden when winters were tough.I call all those white flowers dog bisquits but it could just as well be wild carrot or a few really poisunous plants too πŸ™‚ They all look more or less the same but the wild carrot really smell like carrot if one pulls it up.

      The pΓ₯inbkish plant is some kind of Rumex, I’m pretty sure it is the Rumex acetosa. It can be used as spinach or lettuce and put on wounds so they heal faster. But the plant is so full of oxalic acid that it is considered to be toxic. Well so far I’ve never heard of anyone even get sick by eating it so I do doubt that a bit πŸ™‚

      I mowed the lawn and that is just a perfect way to destroy a day, isn’t it πŸ™‚ It took some time and the lawn look a bit odd, badly cut as the grass rather just folded since it was so wet πŸ™‚ I can also tell You that the horse flies have hatched, can’t say I’m happy about that πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 27, 2015 at 2:37 pm

      • Caryn

        I mowed my little patch. It looks rather nice now that all the violet leaves are chopped off. It looks like an actual grass lawn instead of a patch of random greenery, πŸ™‚ It grows slowly so I won’t have to mow it for two or three weeks even if it rains. Afterwards I sat outside and enjoyed my handiwork. Until the mosquitoes came. πŸ™‚

        June 27, 2015 at 11:55 pm

      • I like it when there’s no need to mow more than every third week πŸ™‚

        The mosquitoes are still mostly in the forest and they don’t show up here untilit gets dark and that doesn’t happen until midnight now πŸ™‚

        June 28, 2015 at 7:35 am

  2. what a beautiful deer, the antlers look like out of a fairy tale,, hope your feet stay dry and lucky you he took his pills so happily!!

    June 27, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      This one has beautiful antlers and there’s another one with even more beautiful antlers around. I’m so glad there’s no trophy hunter amongst those hunting in this part of the forest.

      I’m so glad he ,iked them, up till now I know he has disliked to take his medicine every morning, no such problems any longer πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 27, 2015 at 6:08 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I guess you have a new pet now? Wonder if your cottage would fit a deer? πŸ™‚ Wouldn’t that be interesting. We are currently having a thunderstorm, rain off and on. Welcome to the weekend! Its going to be hot as blazes tomorrow and Monday. My husband and son are heading up to the cottage tomorrow, returning next Saturday. I will be heading out Tuesday. I am looking forward to getting away! We went and bought a portable air conditioner because its going to be 32 on Tuesday. I need to keep cool!!! πŸ™‚ Good thing Orvar took his pill wonderfully, I think that’s amazing! Ours would never do that on their own. They are spoiled just a bit and would need some peanut butter. Or cheese. Spoiled!!! πŸ™‚ I hope your Saturday evening is going well!

    June 27, 2015 at 8:29 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I sure don’t hope so πŸ™‚ Bucks can be dangerous if becoming tame even if they are quite small. The doe stays nice if she’s tame but a buck sees humans as competitors when getting adult and will attack to keep us away from their domains. But I don’t mind if he just stalkes us πŸ™‚

      We’ll get a sunny morning and a cloudy afternoon tomorrow, Monday will be rainy and after that the heat will arrive with up to 29 degrees. It looks like it will be as hottest when my vacation starts though. It is very uncommon to have any AC in Swedish homes, we normally only get that hot for a week or so every summer. The only portable I’ve ever seen is in the office at work and we love to go in to that office to cool down on hot days πŸ™‚ But seeing what kind of temperatures You get on the American continent I sure understand why You need tem πŸ™‚

      I actually miss going to the cottage πŸ™‚ It was a very special feeling to go tothe cottage when I lived in the city πŸ™‚ I will never return to the city but I do miss that feeling πŸ™‚

      I think that pill must taste rather wondereful since he just gulped them down! I’ve never seen any dog do that with pills before πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 27, 2015 at 10:02 pm

  4. Hi Christer,

    So glad Orvar liked his medicine! Interesting about the Roe Buck following you. Sometimes animals are just as curious about us as we are about them.

    As for the temperature, my mother always considered 68 F to be “room temperature”. I prefer it a little warmer myself.

    Hope you enjoy the rest of the weekend!

    Adele

    June 27, 2015 at 8:42 pm

    • Hi Adele!

      I’m surprised over how easy it was πŸ™‚ They must taste delicious for dogs, like poop I guess πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Swedish summers never used to get warmer than 77F so 68 is rather nice. Now however we’ve had summers with heatwaves lasting for a month or more, very strange but something we must expect now days because of the greenhouse effect. But I do love my 68F days πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 27, 2015 at 10:05 pm

  5. jaz

    hi christer! it is always so good when pets accept their medicine easily though that rarely happens here! it poured all day and tomorrow we will only reach 65 degrees but then we soar right back up…ugh! i guess this is global warming. i can see the change in so many of my plants. they are about to give up their fruit and be done with their job. nature sure is amazing isn’t it?

    June 27, 2015 at 10:41 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It does make life so much easier, now he actually looks forward to get his medicine πŸ™‚

      You better enjoy tomorrow to the fullest then πŸ™‚ Yes this is most likely happening because of the global warming and it won’t get better for as long as we live I’m afraid.

      Yes nature is amazing and does what it can to survive these climate changes and I hope they are tougher than we think.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 28, 2015 at 7:34 am

Leave a Reply

