New Neighbors.

My new neighbors :-) The cows moved out from the pasture a few days ago and yesterday the sheep moved in. None of them seemed happy about it, both cows and sheep made quite a lot of noise all day :-)

My new neighbors πŸ™‚ The cows moved out from the pasture a few days ago and yesterday the sheep moved in. Neither of them seemed happy about it, both cows and sheep made quite a lot of noise all day πŸ™‚

It looks like it is the Norwegian weather site that once again is right about today’s weather. The Swedish one said sunshine all morning and cloudy for the rest of the day, The Norwegian said cloudy this morning and lots of sunshine for the rest of the day. The morning has been cloudy but the sun is now starting to look through the clouds. You might think that I’m a bit obsessed by weather and yes I might be because I’m Swedish. A survey shows that the only people talking more about the weather than the Swedes are the Chinese πŸ™‚

 

My wild roses are now all opening up.

My wild roses are now all opening up.

I have no idea where the other two horses were.

I have no idea where the other two horses were.

My neighbors cat, I think it is a Maine Coon. He came running towards us, not looking too happy to see us when he suddenly stopped. Bertil came around a corner and it looks like that little cat of mine is the ruler of the area :-)

My neighbors cat, I think it is a Maine Coon. He came running towards us, not looking too happy to see us when he suddenly stopped. Bertil came around a corner and it looks like that little cat of mine is the ruler of the area πŸ™‚

DSC_0027

It has been a nice cool morning though and we walked by the fields and since they have cut the grass in most parts of them there’s very few flies around. You might think I am a bit obsessed by flies too and yes I truly am, that is how one becomes by living by a bog πŸ™‚ I love this place but if I had known how much flies there are here during summer I most likely wouldn’t have moved here πŸ™‚ Now I can’t even think the thought to move, I hope to live here until the day I die (despite all nasty flies πŸ™‚ ).

 

DSC_0029

People allergic to grass pollen have problems now.

DSC_0032

Tragopogon pratensis. It has edible roots and I've read that young stems can be used as asparagus. It grows everywhere here so perhaps I should try it.

Tragopogon pratensis. It has edible roots and I’ve read that young stems can be used as asparagus. It grows everywhere here so perhaps I should try it.

DSC_0049

My neighbor the bee keeper now have two hives! The bees were swarming yesterday and he was lucky to have a box to place them in. He then bought new parts so now he has two hives πŸ™‚ I have to say I am a bit envious but still, I know my limitations and I know that I have enough with the animals living with me as it is but still πŸ™‚ I think they will have to wait until I retire and then I’ll also have chickens πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0042

I have no idea what kind of bird this is but his song is more interesting than beautiful though. Hard to come close to as well.

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

He did let me come a bit closer but it is a good thing I had my tele-photo lens πŸ™‚ Quite beautiful don’t You think?

The bee keeper. Well he doesn't have any bees in there but I thought this would be a good photo :-)

The bee keeper. Well he doesn’t have any bees in there but I thought this would be a good photo πŸ™‚

The only thing I’ll do today is the laundry. I don’t have that much since I’ve washed some things during the week, something I normally don’t do. After all it is only I who lives here so there’s never really much laundry as it is πŸ™‚ Tomorrow starts the last week before my vacation starts πŸ™‚ Four weeks and I’ll save one week to use around christmas. I think this christmas will be the last for a while when it is enough to use five days of vacation and a few compensation hours to get at least two weeks off from work πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0052

DSC_0055

DSC_0057

DSC_0068

 

Have a great day!

 

Some photos from my garden.

Some photos from my garden.

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

Lots of irises flower now.

Lots of irises flower now.

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0037

Clematis tangutica.

Clematis tangutica.

DSC_0040

Rhododendron catawbiense.

Rhododendron catawbiense.

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

8 responses

  1. Hi Christer,

    Your photos are always fantastic but this collection,for me,exceeds that they are all beautiful,so defined. i love photographs of flowers and never tire of them.

    I am so glad I found your blog.I show a lot of your photos to my husband and he likes your landscape photos a lot:)

    Hope you have a great day too.

    June 28, 2015 at 8:57 am

    • Hi Lesley!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      I think landscape photos are the hardest ones to take, they so easily just becomes flat and lifeless so to be honest I avoid taking them as much as possible πŸ™‚ I am glad that he likes those I’ve taken πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 28, 2015 at 11:33 am

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Haha, I could see the sheeps’ mouths open in that photo. All that baa-ing all day. That’s life in the country. πŸ™‚

    I think your bird is a female or juvenile whinchat (Saxicola rubetra). Hard to say because I can’t see the back and don’t know the size but it looks on the small size.

    If my vicious roses were the color of your wild ones, I wouldn’t mind them quite so much.

    Your neighbor the beekeeper has two things that you would like to have; bee hives AND a greenhouse. πŸ™‚ Any progress on that last one?

    It’s nice that the Norwegian weather forecast was the correct one and you are getting some extra sun. I was going to hang my towels out yesterday and forgot. Good thing because it is raining steadily here and has been all night. And it’s cold, too. 57ΒΊF.
    Getting the dogs out the door for their morning walk is going to be difficult.

    Enjoy the day.

    June 28, 2015 at 1:18 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      They are very quiet today though, I guess they like their new neighborhood after all πŸ™‚

      I doubt that it is a female bird since it sang like that but it can be a young male, sometimes it takes some time until they get the right colors. It is a house sparrow big bird.

      I do like my woΓ­ld roses, even the vicious one since it doesn’t have any thorns πŸ™‚

      Well I have almost all things I need to start building is so now I only have to pull ot my thumbs from my ass and start πŸ™‚

      Both forecast sites are a bit wrong, we do have some sun and some clouds, it drizzles every now and again and it is much warmer than any of them predicted πŸ™‚ High humidity as well so it felt like walking in a steam bath when we went out an hour ago πŸ™‚ Still, we finally have some warm weather so I refuse to complain πŸ™‚

      The door is open so all animals can come and go as they please so naturally all of them are indoors sleeping. I bet all of them would want to go outside if I closed the door though πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 28, 2015 at 1:40 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I thought is was the Canadians who are obsessed with talking about the weather πŸ™‚ !!! I guess really we only moan about it when winter arrives. Then its nonstop moaning about the bitter cold! πŸ™‚ We are hot as blazes today, last night we got quite the storms and fantastic skies. I will send you a picture I got in the school field across the road from us. Will send under separate email. I hope the other horses show up, horses need company and one on its own does not do well. Maybe they went on a ride? What great new neighbors you got! Wish my neighbors looked like that! πŸ™‚ That is a beautiful bird, not sure what kind tho. Sparrow family perhaps? I have 2 loaves of bread rising in the oven, those are going with the family to the cottage. Nothing like homemade bread for toast Your pictures of all your flowers today are very lovely. My peonies are opened except for one bush. Last night’s rain made the petals fall. I just love my peonies! Have a great Sunday evening!!

    June 28, 2015 at 4:52 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Nope. it’s us Swedes and the Chinese who are most obsessed πŸ™‚ We always complasin about bothn the weather and the predictions πŸ™‚

      We’ve had a really nice day here with lots of sunhsine and a reasonable weak wind. I’ll check my mail after this!

      I’m pretty sure the two other horses just were in another part of the rather big paddock, I just couldn’t see them today. It is illegal to have only a horse here in Sweden, it must have company of preferable another horse but donkeys, goats and sheep is ok too.

      Yes I do have nice neighbors, much quieter today though πŸ™‚

      I rarely bake bread in the summer but it happens if it isn’t too hot and to be honest the bread get so much tastier in the fire heated oven than in the electric one.

      I still have a few peonies that need more time to open up, I guess it’ll take another week or so

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 28, 2015 at 6:25 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    I love all the flowers. I have clematis growing on my front fence. Last year I had only one plants and it looked like a white blanket had been placed on the fence. At the end of the summer I added two more to the other side of the fence. They have grown quite a bit so I can barely wait until they bloom. My irises are now long gone. They were beautiful when they were blooming. My wild roses are also done. Now I can have the trees pruned.

    One of my neighbors put a book in my little free library. It was a children’s book so I think it was my neighbor with the 4 kids. That book got me moving so I put about 15 or 16 books in it today. I wrote a sign that said take one, leave one. I have sent for wooden signs for it but my sheet should work in the meantime. I have to go on line and register my library so people can find it.

    Have a great evening!

    June 28, 2015 at 11:27 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I would like to have one of those clematises You have but none of those strong growing ones are hardy enough to grow here, I’ve tried several of them without any luck.

      Everything are just starting here, I still have a few peonies that haven’t flowered and the irises are just in the beginning πŸ™‚

      How fun!
      Working already! Did You have any book in it at all? I’m pretty sure that little library of Yours will be a success!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 29, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

