We’re having a warm, sunny and nice evening today.

The Blue hour. To be honest, the blue hour is when the sun sets and the darkness comes and this was to be honest taken when the sun was about to rise.

The Blue hour. To be honest, the blue hour is when the sun sets and the darkness comes and this was to be honest taken when the sun was about to rise.

We woke up early as always and went out for a walk, before the sunrise! I can actually already now see the changing to shorter days. Ok, most people won’t since they aren’t up and out walking at 4 am πŸ™‚ But it was a nice morning, wind free and fly free and any fly free morning is a good one πŸ™‚ Ok they are usually calm at that time anyway so I guess it was the sunrise I liked most.

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

They have now cut even more grass on the fields so it was almost fly free this afternoon too πŸ™‚ The day had been cloudy (except for the early morning) but the clouds went away just when I came home. It is getting warmer now so all sheep were sleeping up at Stone Circle Hill as I call it since it looks like there’s a circle of stones up on the top of that small hill. This week will be really warm and sunny they say but it will turn next week to more unsteady weather with some rain as well. Who is surprised? after al it is next week my vacation starts πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

I normally don’t do anything the first week anyway but this year I had planned it a bit different. I was thinking of going to the lumber yard to get most of what I need to fix the roof at the entrance and the rest of what I need to finally get started onΒ that greenhouse of mine πŸ™‚ The predictions areΒ after all long-term predictions so who knows what the weather will be like, after all they seems to have problems predicting even an hour ahead πŸ™‚ I can’t be too lazy this year though, after all four weeks pass faster than the light when it comes to vacations πŸ™‚

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

DSC_0044

It is time for something to eat. It feels like I’ll miss this cold after all but I will keep on putting ginger in my tea just in case and I think I’ll have a cup now too even if I risk staying awake the entire night because of that but I am almost as tired as yesterday and I could have had an entire pot of coffee yesterday evening without having sleeping problems πŸ™‚

 

Even big crows have younglings that still scream for food :-) The photos are a bit blurry but it isn't easy to focus when they don't stand still :-)

Even big crows have younglings that still scream for food πŸ™‚ The photos are a bit blurry but it isn’t easy to focus when they don’t stand still πŸ™‚

DSC_0054

This is the same crow as the black one (ours is a sunΒ΄b species) it's just the colors that are a bit different.

This is the same crow as the black one (ours is a sunΒ΄b species) it’s just the colors that are a bit different.

DSC_0065

Have a great day!

 

Blackberry flowers. I doubt that any berries will ripe this year since they are so late.

Blackberry flowers. I doubt that any berries will ripe this year since they are so late.

Raspberry flowers.

Raspberry flowers.

DSC_0066

DSC_0067

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It looks like the blue hour happens on both ends of the day. πŸ™‚ I haven’t noticed the days getting shorter yet. It’s still light quite late and light quite early.

    Your photos today are especially lovely. I like the one with the insect that looks like a mosquito or crane fly but probably isn’t either of them. I love the patterns on its wings.
    The butterfly looks like the ones we call skippers. (Hesperiidae family.)They’re all over the place so it might be. Nice shot. I can never get close enough and even if I do, they flit all over the place practically non-stop and it’s hard to focus. I might have to become a bug whisperer or something. πŸ™‚

    The town sprayed for mosquitoes a few days ago. There were plenty of mosquitoes afterwards and they seemed really angry about having been sprayed. They always are and they bite harder and more frequently, too.
    Someone in another part of town posted on FB that they found lots of dead bumble bees in their yard in the days after the sprayer went through. This happened last summer, too. The mosquito control board says it uses something that is only supposed to effect the mosquitoes but obviously something isn’t right. I noticed that although the milkweed is in bloom and smelling very nectary, there was not one bee of any kind on any of the blossoms. Usually there are many wild bees and syrphid flies all over them. Nothing. Sad.

    Glad to read the cold is keeping at bay. Keep consuming that ginger.
    Enjoy the evening

    June 30, 2015 at 8:28 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it does but it’s only the one in the evening that is called the blue hour, why I don’t know πŸ™‚ I’m up so early so I was bound to notice it fast πŸ™‚

      I’m pretty sure it is some kind of crane fly, that was what I thought when I saw it anyway and I’ll stick to that πŸ™‚ I think You are very right about that butterfly too because I found one looking just like this when I looked in wikipedia πŸ™‚ Didn’t catch its name though πŸ™‚ I rarely get close either, that’s why I almost always have the tele-photo lens on my cameras πŸ™‚ This one landed just a few yards away and started to warm up in a small spot of sunlight, normally I rarely see that much of the wings from these ones.

      It is hard to get permits for mosquito fighting here but when they do they use a bacteria that only kills the memebers of one mosquito family, the worst blood sucking ones. It would be really bad if they used something that also killed bees! Can You get the name on the thing they use to spray the mosquitoes with? It would be fairly easy to find out if it kill other insects too if You only got the name on it.

      Do You have any Lime trees where You live? The nectar from those trees can actually kill bees, no one knows why but it does. Not all trees though and not always. Some years thousands of bees can lay dead on the ground under the Lime trees here.

      Yes I think I can keep the cold away and my work friend will come back tomorrow to work they say. But I know that with my luck it will hit hard on Friday evening πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 1, 2015 at 5:56 pm

      • Caryn

        The mosquito control board says it uses a bacteria that kills only the mosquitoes.
        I had to google lime trees because I couldn’t remember what other name they have but figured you didn’t mean trees that grow limes. πŸ™‚
        There is an American linden tree on my street but what I read says those aren’t poisonous to bees. It’s the only linden I’ve noticed in my wanderings around town but there must be others somewhere.

        July 1, 2015 at 6:36 pm

      • So You call them Linden also, we call them Lind πŸ™‚

        No one knows why the lindens suddenly kill bees but they do and they have checked it for any kind of toxins but can’t find any. Still, the bees die?!

        I guess they use the same bacteria as they do here then but our bees surevive that.

        July 1, 2015 at 6:44 pm

  2. we just talked last night about how the days are changing already,, not soon enough for me, I hate the heat of summer ,,, not that I want to wish my days away but I do not like heat,,beautiful beauitful photos, the sheep, the spider webs, oh how I love the spider web shots, amazing!!!

    June 30, 2015 at 11:42 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I think that if I had that heat every summer I too would long for autumn but so far we’ve only had summer here for a few days, someparts of Sweden still only have spring temperatures!

      I was close to miss those spider webs, the dew had already started to dry up πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 1, 2015 at 5:58 pm

  3. Christer,
    Today was a really good day until the afternoon when it got really hot. Now, with the sun disappearing, there is a breeze but only a slight one. I have turned on the air conditioning in my bedroom.

    Your birds reminded me of the chickadees today. There were many of them at all the feeders. Tow of them got especially aggressive. One was at the feeder when the other came and they both flew at each other until one finally gave up and flew away.

    The deck was great this morning and I really enjoyed being outside in the cool morning. Gracie slept in the corner of the deck in the shade. It is her favorite spot.

    I’m hoping that you can keep that cold at bay.

    Have a great evening!

    June 30, 2015 at 11:47 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      We’ll have really hot (well Swedish summer hot, not Your hot πŸ™‚ ) for a few days from today but it will cool down considerable already next Monday they say. Of course it will, my vacation starts then πŸ™‚

      All tits seems to be angry birds πŸ™‚ Especially the tiny Blue tit, it can scare away even really biog birds πŸ™‚

      We were out at 4 am and it was really nice outside, not even 50F but the sun shone and made it feel wonderful.

      It feels like the cold has given up but I know that with my luck it will hit hard on Friday evening πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 1, 2015 at 6:02 pm

  4. Christer, great shots of the grasses with the dew on them and of course, the spiderwebs. Of course, if I wanted to even attempt to capture anything similar, I would have to get up as early as you do. There is a walking trail near the apt we are living in, but most likely I will not venture out before mid morning or late evening. However, once the fall colors come to New England, it might be easier to get up early.
    Glad you are feeling better. I smiled when reading that you plan to work on the greenhouse and hope you enjoy doing so on your vacation. It seems you have mentioned this project before πŸ™‚

    July 1, 2015 at 10:04 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      All my projects take at least five years πŸ™‚ So I think I’m one year late now πŸ™‚

      Yes there must be morning dew on the webs otherwise they are too hard to find and even harder to focus on :-)The autumn makes it much easier πŸ™‚

      I’m so glad that the cold seems to have missed me because today would have been nasty to have a cold, it’s really hot here now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 2, 2015 at 6:26 pm

  5. Gorgeous pictures, Christer. Just beautiful. How nice it would be if our color for homes here was red. The barns are often painted red..but…there are almost no barns anymore. Only supermarkets. πŸ™‚ Our crows here are black. No white on them. And large…and get picked on by the smaller birds.
    A green house? Oh..wow…that’s wonderful! What a great project that will be!
    Mona

    July 2, 2015 at 2:18 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I do like our red houses and cottages πŸ™‚ I really can’t see myself having a cottage in another color, unless it is a stone cottage because then I would like it to be white πŸ™‚

      Crows are much bigger than one think πŸ™‚ and I do like our grey-black ones. The ravens are even bigger and just as black as Your crows though and those we have plenty of here, not so many crows though.

      Yes sooner or later there will be a green house in my garden πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 2, 2015 at 6:29 pm

Leave a Reply

