What goes in must come out :-)

DSC_0021

I woke up in the middle of the night, yesterday was quite hot so I kept on drinking lots of water and drinking lots of water means one must let lots of it out too 🙂 It was actually quite dark and I was surprised to see that the moon was full, so naturally I had to bring out the camera. Needless to say, I didn’t sleep well after that, I rarely do if I wake up like that. The morning was quite wonderful though, no clouds and only 4,6C (47,5F), they had said it would be a warm night but I’m glad it wasn’t, our cool mornings are the only time we are fly free now 🙂

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

The temperature had risen to almost 20C (68F) when I drove to work and it just kept on rising, it was 30C (86F) by the time I drove homewards. I really can’t complain about it finally getting warm but it is quite b´nasty to work beside a hot oven and a huge hot washing machine all day when it is as warm as it is now. The humidity itself is so nasty that we try to go to other places in the factory where it isn’t so warm. I suddenly remembered that the AC unit in our office is working all day long, so I sneaked in there a couple of times to cool down some. Too bad that one must go out to the heat again 🙂

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

I did worry a´bit about the dogs because they never drink any water when they are in the doghouse/ yard. I don’t know why, they have two big bowls and it is the same water as we have here in the cottage, they drink a lot of water here but never in the doghouse/ yard. Well, they were all fine when I came home so I guess they drink just enough here in the morning before I leave for work.

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0037

DSC_0039

There’s really no need to water anything in the garden just because we’ve had a few days with warm weather but I have some annuals that grows fine and thought that since I still had to water the tomato plants I might as well water them too. I also have a few passionfruit plants that should love this heat and I better water them today when I actually think of it than tomorrow morning when I most likely will forget about it 🙂 I was hoping to see some flower buds by now but I guess it hasn’t been warm long enough for that to happen. Even the squash and pumpkin plants refuse to grow.

 

DSC_0042

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

DSC_0047

We’ll have this wonderful weather until Sunday but on Monday it will cool down again, it won’t be cold though, around 20C (68F) and that’s more my kind of temperatures 🙂 We’ll get some rain too they say but it is still too long into the future to believe 🙂 The evening is quite wonderful now, warm with a weak wind. The sheep calls to each other but the cows are quiet. This is how summers always should be 🙂

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

Tomorrow I’ll go to the vet station to bring home Hector, after that I’ll go the opposite direction to get Orvar’s medicine in Falköping and as soon as I come home it will feel like vacation time even if it doesn’t start until Monday to be honest 🙂 I might go to the tea and coffee shop to buy some tea and a big ice cream :-)They don’t have many flavors but the ice cream is so delicious and the cone is sooo big 🙂

 

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

DSC_0056

DSC_0058

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    The bathtub is in the field to be a water tank for the horses, right? At least that’s what it would be doing on this side of the Atlantic. I can’t tell you how many old bathtubs I’ve seen out in the middle of fields. It looks very romantic in your photo. A lovely place for a nice long soak on a hot summer day. Assuming there are no horses to wander over and stick their noses into what you’re doing. 🙂

    I saw recently that Europe was going to be locked in very warm weather for quite awhile. Something about an Omega weather pattern that’s blocking the normal wind patterns. The map showed big blue wavy things going across central Europe. On another forum someone from Germany was asking people from the US who live in hot places how they cope. Mostly the answers were stay inside in the AC which was not useful to her because there’s not a lot of AC in Europe. Another idea was to freeze grapes and eat them as snacks. I liked that one. Frozen grapes are even better if you drop them in a flute of cold champagne. It’s how I survived the heat on the sunny side of the polo field during matches. 🙂

    Lovely spider shots. I like the one with the upside down spider levitating in space with no visible means of support.

    Today is sunny and nice with low humidity and a light breeze. It was supposed to be 80ºF but I think it didn’t make it that high. It’s only 77ºF right now and the sun is heading down.

    Enjoy the day. Vacation is almost here.

    July 2, 2015 at 9:15 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      This time the bathtub is there for cows though 🙂 But the horses at my neighbor have just one like it 🙂 But it was quite popular for a while to buy really old bathtubs, repaint them and use them to bathe in at warm summer nights 🙂 Just as it got popular the big bath tubs made from wood with a heater attached to them (usually fire heated) came around and those could of course be used in winter time so they all forgot about the old bathtubs again 🙂

      Ac units in homes aren’t common at all in Europe and those who actualy have one can most likely not afford to let them go now, if You think the US was hit hard by the economy that’s nothing compared to the south Europan countries. We here up in the north could afford having them work all summer but usually don’t need one 🙂 I like the frosen grapes idea though! I used to do so with cherries when I lived in my previous home 🙂 I skipped the champagne though 🙂

      It really looked as if it was defying gravity and it is almost impossible to seee the thread it is walking on 🙂 I posted a similar one in my NG album.

      Hot as hell here today, so I’m so glad I stop working at noon on Fridays 🙂

      Vacation is here now 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 3, 2015 at 2:36 pm

  2. Sounds like you will need an early night to catch upon sleep!! Beautiful photos! As always,

    July 2, 2015 at 9:40 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I sure do or a very long nap during these hot days 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 3, 2015 at 2:37 pm

  3. jaz

    beautiful photos christer! the 4th of july weekend is coming which means thousands of people in front of my house and beer cans everywhere…ugh! i really hate this holiday. it’s all about getting drunk which is really stupid! i wish i had your weather. we are going to be in the 90’s next week again. my gardens are not doing well. my pepper plants are huge with tons of blossoms but no peppers. what am i doing wrong!

    July 2, 2015 at 11:46 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Thank You!

      I wonder why people just cvan’t pick up their garbage??? It’s the same here in Sweden during midsummer. Do they actually believe the beer cans will vanish by themselves??? and it is all about getting drunk too! I wonder why because I always have so much more fun when being sober.

      To be honest, I think it just is too hot for Your plants! I mean 90’s every day, it isn’t good for any living thing, not even peppers. I would try placing some of them in the shadows until any peppers starts to show, it is too hot even for the pollinators. Tomatoes are easier since one only needs to shake the flowers to make them pollinate themselves so as long as it is warm enough they’ll give us tomatoes. So You aren’t doing anything wrong, it’s the weather.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 3, 2015 at 2:42 pm

  4. Härliga bilder! Visst är det skönt att det ÄNTLIGEN är sommar, även om jag inte direkt har någon glädje av den. Jag har fortfarande massor av sårvätska i operationsområdet och det är naturligtvis inte bra att sitta med magen i solen då. Det är alldeles för varmt och jag saknar poolbadandet något otroligt, men den är inte avtäckt efter vintern och lär inte bli det i år. 😦
    Varje dag blir min mage först uppackad, sen sköljd och därefter omlagd, men tyvärr läcker jag ibland och då vaknar man i en pöl – inte kul! Förra fredagen började det dessutom bli lite mycket blod och jag hade haft lite feber några eftermiddagar, så då blev det akuten och så las jag in över hela helgen. Inte heller kul, men man blir väldigt bra ompysslad….. 😦 🙂
    Idag har jag sovit lite framför TV´n en stund efter en underbar matjesillunch på altanen och snart börjar Formula One´s 2:a träning, då kommer Rolle in och så ska vi titta på det tillsammans. Han jobbar och sliter i trädgården så jag nästan blir orolig. Han är visserligen jättepigg, men ingen ungdom längre – fyller 75 i höst – och så gillar han inte trädgårdsjobb. Men han gillar att ha det fint och prydligt omkring sig och när jag inte kan göra något alls så….. 🙂
    Men det tar tid att hålla 5000 kvm i skick, så i höst ska jag lägga ner den 50 m lång rabatten mot vägen utanför. Ska ha en s.k.”perenndag”. Det betyder att jag ska bjuda in mina trädgårdsvänner som är intresserade på en lunch. Sen får dom en bit av rabatten att gräva upp. Perennerna får dom göra vad dom vill med, spara alla, byta eller kasta men stora perenner, buskar och små träd ska vara kvar. Sen får dom rensa sin bit av rabatten och så ska jag så i gräs där. Det får räcka med alla andra rabatter jag har…… 🙂 🙂 🙂
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    July 3, 2015 at 1:17 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Visst är det kul att den äntligen kom, även om det är varmt som i helvetet just nu 🙂

      Men jag kan inte förstå varför du fortfarande har de problemen!!! Har du fått någon infektion i operationssåret? Inte hjälper det att det är extra varm heller. Viss bli man ompysslad bra men det är ju trots allt skönare hemma! Hoppas nu inte Rolle sliter för mycket i solen och värmen! Det kan ta knäcken på den starkaste. Fast är man 75 så vet man redan om det, hoppas jag 🙂

      Ingen dum ide det där och det är ju inte mer än rätt att man snyggar till det efter sig om man får perenner 🙂

      Försök att njuta av din ledighet även om du inte vill ha den 🙂 och ta hand om dig och se till att Rolle tar hand om sig!

      Christer.

      July 3, 2015 at 2:46 pm

  5. I leave water down for my little ones in the laundry room. They have potty pads in case what goes in must come out.
    The 3 bigger ones are in the upstairs bedroom and they wait until I get home for water but they are always fine.
    Besides, if Blue had to go, it would flood the house.
    😉

    July 4, 2015 at 9:39 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      I know what You mean about Blue 🙂 Orvar is almost as big and yes, the house get flooded 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 5, 2015 at 5:55 am

Leave a Reply

