Vacation time.

I'm not happy with my photos today, it was just too hot and too many flies around to concentrate enough. This is Rosa glauca.

I’m not happy with my photos today, it was just too hot and too many flies around to concentrate enough. This is Rosa glauca.

I think it might be even hotter today but it is impossible to say since the thermometer just now shows how warm it is in the sunshine on the north side of the cottage πŸ™‚ We’re all rather calm and most sleep on the spot they find coolest, well not all because Sune sit in the sunlight out in the garden πŸ™‚ He had a bath in the creek to be honest so I guess the remaining dampness in his fur might cool him down still. Either that or something must be really wrong in his head πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

I have several wild roses in my garden and most of them look very much alike.

I have several wild roses in my garden and most of them look very much alike.

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

 

But then again, I saw a neighbor mowing grass when I came home after work, he didn’t have any shirt on and was slightly brighter than the sun πŸ™‚ I guess he’ll have some problems tonight when it starts to hurt in his skin because he must have burned himself rather badly in this heat and sunshine. We walked out to the forest on our walk because there’s much more shade there but not only that, there are also one zillion flies, so many that even the dogs just wanted to get out of there as fast as possible. Very few biters though thankfully.

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

We heard the most strange sound out on the bog while we were there. Have You ever heard a Harrier plane take off? It sounded just like that but quieter. Both the dogs and I tried to see what it could be but saw nothing. Bertil refused to follow us to the bog at all which is even just as odd. We couldn’t stay to investigate what it was because of the flies, I’ve seen strange things out there but this was the first time I’ve heard something strange.

 

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

I mailed three films to get developed on Thursday and today I got the photos on their website. I used my old Minolta XG-1 and another Minolta which I will tell You more about tomorrow, I’m just too tired and too warm to write all that today πŸ™‚ But most photos actually turned out quite well this time, I have missed my old Minolta πŸ™‚ So I’ll sit down later to make those photos smaller and edit them some if needed, I might turn down the highlights some since some are over exposed.

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

 

I brought home Hector today and he came in a very nice looking wooden urn. I thought he would come in a paper box or something like that. So he is at the moment standing on the linen cabinet and I’ll give him a better place when I have cleaned up my sitting room properly.

 

My neighbors two hives :-)

My neighbors two hives πŸ™‚

DSC_0045

My Bladder senna ( Colutea arborescens) flowers now.

My Bladder senna ( Colutea arborescens) flowers now.

DSC_0048

It is time to feed the dogs and to give me something too. Today was the last working days before vacation starts on Monday but to be honest, it does feel like vacation started today πŸ™‚

 

It is more pink than it shows here, the shadow made it look strange in the colors.

It is more pink than it shows here, the shadow made it look strange in the colors.

Rosa rugosa.

Rosa rugosa.

Big betony, Stachys macrantha. Many relatives to this one are terrible weeds, this is just very much a weed :-)

Big betony, Stachys macrantha. Many relatives to this one are terrible weeds, this is just very much a weed πŸ™‚

Mock orange.

Mock orange.

Seed sown Iris.

Seed sown Iris.

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. jaz

    hi christer! your garden looks gorgeous. i am swooning over those foxgloves. mine bloomed for the first time this year and they did not look too great so i am hopping they will do better in the future. i would hate those flies. i wouldn’t leave the house! we are having a bilbug problem this year. they don’t bother me but they are putting holes in all the leaves on my plants. sorry to hear you are so warm. what a winter and spring you had! it must be a rare occurrence for your area. we keep going up to 90 degrees and then storm roll in and knock the temps back down. i hope we don’t see too many more 90 degree days this year! i’m glad hector is home. joyce

    July 3, 2015 at 5:37 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It looks better in photos than in real πŸ™‚ So much weeds and grass in the flowerbeds now so I need to dig it all up this autumn to remove most of the weeds, otherwise there will only be weeds in a near future πŸ™‚

      Foxgloves are usually biennal, so they might not show up nect year but You will get lots of seedlings that flowers the year after that. It evens out after a while so You always have flowering foxgloves.
      I must admit that had I known about thes eflies at the beginning I most likely wouldn’t have moved here πŸ™‚ Now I love this place too much so I better get used to them because moving isn’t on my list πŸ™‚

      It has been a strange year, such a warm winter and such a cold spring and suddenly BAM, hot as hell πŸ™‚ I can’t even imagine how hot the 90’s and 100’s is like πŸ™‚

      It is nice to have him back home again.

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 3, 2015 at 7:47 pm

  2. Gorgeous flower photos Christer.I love the Iris and all the other ‘purple family’flowers in your pictures because any shades of purple in nature are my favorite colours.

    Hope you have a relaxing vaccation πŸ™‚

    July 4, 2015 at 10:02 am

    • Hi Lesley!

      I do like purple flowers too but have too few of them here.

      So far so good, can’t do anything but relaxing today πŸ™‚ It willturn to cooler soon so I better enjoy this weather while we have it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 4, 2015 at 10:58 am

  3. your photos are amazing! That sound, in the bog, very interesting!!!

    July 4, 2015 at 1:54 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It was such an odd sound coming from a bog! The dogs and I tried to see what it was but couldn’t find anything.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 4, 2015 at 3:38 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    A Harrier plane taking off sounds like a googolplex of angry mosquitoes amplified a bajillion times. If the bog is as buggy as you say, it could be that. πŸ™‚
    Happy Vacation.

    July 4, 2015 at 3:29 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was the most odd sound coming from a bog! Not as loud as a harrier plane though but very loud anyway πŸ™‚ The bog is even worse now so I wouldn’t be surprised if it was what You describe πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 4, 2015 at 3:57 pm

  5. Beautiful photos.
    That was nice to read about the wooden box rather than cardboard.
    Very respectful of them to do.

    July 4, 2015 at 9:43 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes I was surprised when they gave me that wooden box instead for a cardboard one!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 5, 2015 at 5:56 am

Leave a Reply

