The hot weather doesn’t allow much action.

DSC_0030

 

I had planned to mow my lawn today but I’m not sure it is such a good idea when it is way over 24C (75,2F) already at 7:30 am πŸ™‚ It was so warm in my cottage last night that it actually feels chilly with 24C πŸ™‚ I have to say that I slept rather well though, despite the heat and woke up as I always do around 4am not feeling tired. I do now though so I’ll take a small nap after writing here.

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

DSC_0043

DSC_0049 Β 

It was so warm outside though that lots ofΒ flies already were up and about and one big cloud covered the sun most of the time sort of destroying my morning walk because it was a bit tricky to get those towards the sun photos I like to take πŸ™‚ I’ve gotten a few mosquito bites by now so the immunity to the itching has started to set in, too bad it doesn’t work on the horse flies, it hurts so bad when they bite and after it itches like crazy.

DSC_0037

Suddenly he just looked up above the high grass, my old stalker πŸ™‚

DSC_0042

DSC_0046

He still hung around when we walked back the same way we came.

DSC_0051

My first single-lens reflex camera was a Minolta XG1. I was around 20 and asked my friends to follow me down to the camera store (I don’t think kids today know that they actually existed once upon a time, today they buy their cameras via the web or in any electronics store), they were so much more experienced than I was and I didn’t want to be fooled by the clerks in the store to buy something I really didn’t want or need. We went down and the first camera I looked at was this Minolta. My friends explained the pros and cons with the camera and was ready to check some others when I said I wanted it πŸ™‚

 

I was just about to take one of those grumpy Bertil photographs when a horse fly suddenly bit him bad on his leg.

I was just about to take one of those grumpy Bertil photographs when a horse fly suddenly bit him bad on his leg.

DSC_0048

Still a few dew drops haning on to the grass.

Still a few dew drops hanging on to the grass.

DSC_0054

These two were my very best friends and both should know how I was thinking and how I would react when they followed me to the store, one did but my other friend got really angry at me πŸ™‚ You can’t just say that this is the camera You want when You haven’t looked at any others he said πŸ™‚ Up to this day I think he’s mad at me for not looking at other cameras πŸ™‚ The other one whom I spent almost every day with since we met at school just smiled as I remember it, he most likely knew this would happen πŸ™‚ He was/ is a Nikon guy and so am I too today since they don’t make Minolta cameras any longer.

 

Rosa nitida, a really small rose rarely higher than 30 cm (14 inches). This one is a bit paler in its colors than they usually are.

Rosa nitida, a really small rose rarely higher than 30 cm (14 inches). This one is a bit paler in its colors than they usually are.

Filled Rosa majalis.

Filled Rosa majalis.

Jacob's ladder, the blue one.

Jacob’s ladder, the blue one.

Astrantia major.

Astrantia major.

The pure white Foxglove. It is rare that they don't have those spots inside but many of my ones are whithout any spots.

The pure white Foxglove. It is rare that they don’t have those spots inside but many of my ones are without any spots.

Anyhow, I used that camera for years and liked it a lot (I never say I love things, after all they are just things) but after having it in a garden center for several years and the rise of the digital cameras I sort of forgot about it and moved on to the digital side in life πŸ™‚ One day I found it again and after cleaning it up as good as I could I still had one big problem, there a rather thick line of algae in the viewfinderΒ πŸ™‚ It covers about a third of it and it makes it hard to focus on what I want to photograph. So I thought I would open it up and clean it out but I was worried that I might not get it together again so I wanted a similar camera that I could use if I wanted to if this one never would become a working camera again.

Here are the first photos in years taken with myn old Minolta XG1. It was difficult to focus because of the algae. The film also gives nature slightly different colors than a digital camera would.

Here are the first photos in years taken with my old Minolta XG1. It was difficult to focus because of the algae. The film also gives nature slightly different colors than a digital camera would.

A101023_2

A101023_3

A101023_4Β 

So what to do? Well I took a look at the Swedish eBay, called Tradera. I couldn’t find that camera at the moment but I did find the one coming after mine, the XGM. They work very much the same but the m variant had one thing that made it even better than my old camera, when using it in manual mode I still could see what time the camera would use if it could choose. Both cameras are half automatic, one chose the aperture and the camera chose how fast it would be. In my old camera I would have to check what the camera would choose and then change it to what I would like it to do, with the xgm I can see that already in the viewfinder while having it in manual mode and quickly just adjust the time to what I want it to be.

 

A101023_5

A101023_7

A101023_9

I really like this one! My favorite for today!

I really like this one! My favorite for today!

The only problem was that the seller had put in two more different Minolta camera bodies and I thought that would rise the price and I really didn’t want any of the other two πŸ™‚ But the beginning price was really low so I placed a bid and won, once again the package fee was almost as big as what I bought the cameras for πŸ™‚ It stood in the add that the person didn’t know if any of the cameras worked so it was a gambling to buy them. I have only checked the XGM and the only thing that one needed was new batteries, it works perfectly! So now I can pick my first camera apart to clean it up and even if it would be sad if I couldn’t put it together again I still would have an almost similar camera left and my old one would look nice as an ornament πŸ™‚

 

A101023_25

A101023_26

A101023_27

A101023_28

So what about the two other cameras? I’ll most likely just put them away since I didn’t want them in the first place, I feel that I have enough cameras now πŸ™‚ I know some may wonder why bother with these old cameras, are they better? NO, the digital cameras are better in all ways to be honest but I like that I have to think before taking a photo because I can’t just delete a photo when it is taken when using film. So I really need to get it right immediately. Much also depends on the film, like how colors shows in the photo, the film doesn’t always give the correct colors and that gives the photos an old-time charm no digital taken photo does unless it is heavily edited.

The rest of the photos comes from my "new" Minolta XGM.

The rest of the photos comes from my “new” Minolta XGM.

A101024_3

A101024_4

A101024_5

It is impossible to have too many photos showing that root cellar πŸ™‚

Also, one more thing! How many of us actually print out or order photo copies of our digital photographs now days? Most save them in an extra hard drive and almost never look at them again. I miss the old days when we bought a good-looking album to put our photographs in, I still open up my old ones and look then through every now and again. I almost always delete my digital photos, I only order them as paper copies when I use them to make Christmas cards. Even if I don’t order paper copies of my film photographs I still have the negatives so I can do it whenever I want to.

 

A101024_30

A101024_31

A101024_32

A101024_33

It is time for a short nap before it gets too hot, this will be a day of watering tomato and passionfruit plants and relaxation. The hot weather doesn’t allow us to do much more to be honest. It is vacation and I love it πŸ™‚

 

A101024_35

A101024_36

There was an unsused roll of film in the camera when it arrived and of course I used it but it looks as if it was damaged by something and I've picked out the two I like most from that roll of film. This and the next one, I might show more from that roll later on.

There was a unsused roll of film in the camera when it arrived and of course I used it but it looks as if it was damaged by something and I’ve picked out the two I like most from that roll of film. This and the next one, I might show more from that roll later on.

A101022_5

Have a great day!

4 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    You need a fan. Definitely. A tower fan with oscillation and variable speed is best but any fan is better than no fan. If the sun shines in your house in the afternoon to evening hours, put shades on those windows and block the sun. It helps to keep the house cooler. Welcome to my world. πŸ™‚

    That was great seeing photos from several old cameras. I didn’t know cameras could get algae inside. Ew. But the photos are lovely.

    I still have my old Minolta SLR. It had through the lens metering but that’s all it did for me. Fully manual. πŸ™‚ You have inspired me to find a new battery and some film for it so I can play with it.
    I also have an old bellows camera from the early part of the 20th century. It originally used glass negatives but will also take 4×5 inch cut film that has to be loaded into those old-fashioned frames. I’d love to try it but I’d need a dark room to load the film and a dark bag to keep the plates in before and after exposure. And a sturdy tripod, too as it’s rather heavy. I have the tripod that was allegedly used with this camera. It’s handmade of wood and is beautifully done. I mounted the bellows camera on it but it was too heavy for the tripod to hold the height adjustment. I might try my Sony on it though. I think it would work and it has the advantage of being very very lightweight.

    This morning I saw a couple of bees on the milkweed. They were probably carpenter bees although one of them was very large and could have been a bumble beed. It’s good to know there’s something out there besides cabbage moths, mosquitoes and little flies that hover in front of my face just to annoy me.

    The mystery mulberries are turning a color other than greenish white. They are turning pale pinkish purple. All of the ones that are the most ripe looking are out of reach. I’ve tried some of the reachable ones that have more pink/purple color and they are sweet and juicy. They don’t have a particular taste other than sugar. The owners don’t pick them and the birds don’t seem to be after them either. Maybe the squirrels will get them.

    Enjoy the day.

    July 4, 2015 at 3:19 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes I do and I’ll go searching for one on Monday, the heatwave will be over by tomorrow evening they say. The cooling wind we had is gone and clouds have arrived and the flies are insane out there so I’m pretty sure thunder is on its way, I’ll know for sure when the wind starts blowing really hard again.

      It was so fun that the old camera worked πŸ™‚ but that algae is hard to see through πŸ™‚ It took me two rolls of film to remember how I used to adjust that camera to get the photos I wanted πŸ™‚ What kind of Minolta is it? Perhaps one of the other cameras that followed is that kind πŸ™‚ It is fun to use these old cameras because one really needs to think things through and I like the look of these film photos even if the digital ones are better in every way πŸ™‚ I have that old Kodak camera, with a bellow and that one worked rather well with my light weight tripod. It is actually the onlky camera that works well with it πŸ™‚ All other cameras are too heavy. My kodak however use 120 film and is much lighter than Yours.

      I hope more bees return! I couldn’t find anything about us having carpenter bees but we have Mason bees instead. We have lots of species here so even before my neighbor got honey bees we always got lots of fruit here. But I have to say that I’ll get more blueberries than ever and I guess I can thank the honey bees for that, no other bee seems to care about those flowers?! I don’t care if bees hover in front of me as long as they don’t try to land in my ears or nostrils πŸ™‚

      My guess is stillthat it is white mulberries but I guess it can be the red one too since that grows wild in America. It is the black one that Β΄gives delicious berries and one species aclled Morus accidosa. I had one at my garden center and those berries were soo tasty!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      July 4, 2015 at 3:56 pm

      • Caryn

        It’s a Minolta SLT200. I’m older than you and I got my camera when I was in my 20’s so this model most likely came before yours. I have to go online and see if I can find out what battery it used because there isn’t one in the camera anymore. It’s one of those button batteries. I forgot how to open the camera body for a bit and thought I would have to research that too. But I remembered. πŸ™‚

        Maybe you should get a fan that also has a heater in it. That way you will be prepared for all varieties of Swedish summers. πŸ™‚

        July 4, 2015 at 6:01 pm

      • Yes, I think that one is the model before the XG’s came. I found some reviews on it and it is very much liked. It has another name outside the USA and Canada though, here it is called MINOLTA SRT 100X.

        I did find a manual for it too so I could have helped You with how to open it up πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Are there fans with heaters πŸ™‚ Had no idea but I think I’ll just get a normal one but thanks for the tip πŸ™‚

        July 4, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Leave a Reply

