Joy to the world!

DSC_0022

Yes that it how it feels when looking at the thermometer in the morning and it shows 10C (50F) and when looking out the window one see that mist is covering the ground. Yes that is how one feel when walking in that cool air, in the mist and no horse flies bite and no forest flies annoys πŸ™‚ Today might be the hottest day for this time and tonight a cold front from north will reach us and give us both rain and thunder. I won’t however say the same thing on Thursday when all weather sites predicts we only will get 14C (57,2F) but it will only last for a day they say, with my luck it will last longer though πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

 

Yesterday we had a weak wind helping us through most of the day but today the Norwegian weather site says we most likely will have no wind at all big parts of the day. I did the mistake to take a walk yesterday when the wind suddenly stopped to blow and it took hours for Orvar to get back to normal after that. Well we all were quite beaten after that walk and none of us moved for a very long timeΒ πŸ™‚ I refuse to complain about the heat though, the spring and early summer was so cold that this was what I longed for and finally my vegetables have started to grow and the first tomatoes have started to change color from green towards something yellowish πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

 

The birds don’t sing as much any longer and soon the mornings will be totally quiet again, except for the twitter they always have during the rest of the year. I saw the first formationΒ of geese this morning, they won’t head south yet but it is a sign that times have changed and autumn slowly will come closer. I also heard a lot of cranes in a field not far from here so now they too gather in groups to eat as much as possible before the move south. Today I also heard the funniest sound from a bird, at first I thought it was a cat fight going on but suddenly I heard the most beautiful song strophe and it was the same bird making both sounds. Normally my guess would have been a starling but this was a lonely bird (starlings are never alone) way up in a tree and it was impossible to see it. I do wonder what it was!

 

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

 

It is a semi bad year when it comes to horse flies and their relatives. I’ve been through much worse but this is bad enough. I’ve read that dark clothes will keep those nasty flies away (and white clothes to avoid mosquitoes but they don’t bother me that much) I can say that it isn’t fully true, I got bitten several times yesterday so here it is thick clothes that keeps them away, so thick they can’t get through it that is πŸ™‚ Several of those nasty buggers have found their way in to my cottage as well but so far I’ve managed to kill them all without anyone of us getting bitten by them. I know they are great food for birds but I really don’t care πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0043

I have way over 100 photos I could show You today but that’s not gonna happen πŸ™‚ But I’ll save the left overs for a rainy or perhaps a snowy day. It is time to have some breakfast, as always all the others have already gotten theirs. I’ve done the laundry so now I have no chores to do when the heat hits properly, it is still only 23C (73,4F) and quite lovely outside, even the flies are reasonable calm right now. They will get insane the closer we get to that eventual thunder though, they always do.

 

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

 

Looks like this spider got lots to eat during the night.

Looks like this spider got lots to eat during the night.

DSC_0050

DSC_0053

Have a great day!

 

She took a look at us when we passed and she wasn’t an especially stressed mother to be honest. This is I guess one of our deers πŸ™‚

DSC_0059

A few flowers, a bird and a katydid from my garden right now. This is the flower of the rose the birds refuse to eat the rose hips from.

DSC_0060

I think this is Delphinium oxysepalum.

I think this is Delphinium oxysepalum.

DSC_0063

My red leafed elderberry bush flowers now with pink flowers. Too few to make any lemonade from I'm afraid.

My red leafed elderberry bush flowers now with pink flowers. Too few to make any lemonade from I’m afraid.

Red leafed Ninebark.

Red leafed Ninebark.

Californian poppy, self sows good here which I like a lot.

Californian poppy, self sows good here which I like a lot.

Peony of some kind, smells wonderful. Not all of them do, some smell just awful :-)

Peony of some kind, smells wonderful. Not all of them do, some smell just awful πŸ™‚

A young Katydid, this one was tiny and these grow rather big and can bite really bad.

A young Katydid, this one was tiny and these grow rather big and can bite really bad.

This is bought as an Alstroemeria litgu but it might actually be a A. aurea. In milder climates than here this can be a terrible weed, beautiful weed though :-)

This is bought as an Alstroemeria litgu but it might actually be a A. aurea. In milder climates than here this can be a terrible weed, beautiful weed though πŸ™‚

8 responses

  1. jaz

    finally the 4th is over and now i can enjoy each change towards fall. i can see the little signs already. we will still have lots of hot weather but i can enjoy the harvest and look forward to pumpkins, apples and apple cider. and fall festivals!!! those flies sound horrible!

    July 5, 2015 at 10:02 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      yes the signs can be seen even if it is a long time until autumn arrives. It looks like this will be a good berry and fruit year, I’ve never seen so many cherries in the forest, too bad the birds eat them before they ripe πŸ™‚

      They are truly nasty those flies, some are stealthy and can’t be noticed until they bite, others can be heard from quite a long distance but they are the fastest flies there are so it is hard to defend against them.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 5, 2015 at 10:22 am

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Sheep in the mist. πŸ™‚ Lovely fog photos today. And sunrise photos, too.

    The Peony of Some Kind grows in my yard, too. πŸ™‚ They were originally planted by the people who owned my house before my parents so it was probably planted around 1920-ish. It smells nice. It’s gone to seed now but two months ago it was very pretty and I look forward to seeing them every spring.

    I’m going to make a list of every plant you say can become a terrible weed and plant them all in my yard. I can kill mint (or at least I can frighten it into obedience) so I figure those “weeds” will behave just perfectly here and I will have lovely flowers that plant themselves. My favorite kind. πŸ™‚

    Today looks like it will be sunny and warm enough. 84ΒΊF for a high. Its summer.

    Enjoy the day.

    July 5, 2015 at 12:26 pm

    • Hi caryn!
      Yes both sunrise and mist today πŸ™‚

      I think the peony is rather old too so I wouldn’t be surprised if it was the same kind but many of the varieties look so similar that only experts can tell them apart πŸ™‚

      Well, write any kind of geranium on that list, they are all more or less weeds πŸ™‚ You’ll get some more names this summer πŸ™‚

      It is the warmest day here so far, the thermometer hit 88,4F just before the sunshine hit it so now I have no idea how hot it is in the shadows πŸ™‚ I guess the expected thunderstorm will be spectacular tonight. The flies are already insane so we are mostly indoors now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 5, 2015 at 2:26 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    I love your mist pictures. They are always my favorites. I really liked all your pictures today and the sun streaming pictures were lovely. It seems strange to be thinking of summer ending as it has barely begun here. August is the worst of it with lots of humidity. The summer, though, is starting out strangely with hot days followed by nights in the high 50’s like last night. Usually we have warm nights in July.

    I am always envious of your flowers and how much you know about them. I’m still at the red one, yellow one stage.

    I’m glad the flies are coming less frequently. The green ones here are also biters and they are awful.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    July 5, 2015 at 10:38 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I do love this mist we often get on summer mornings, thick enough to look nice in photos but light enough to rise as soon as te sun has shone for a while πŸ™‚

      Early August can still be summer here but it quickly turns towards Autmn the further we get into the month. If we’re lucky we’ll get a warm and long autumn and that’s not bad either, except for the early nights it gives.

      Well I come from a family of gardeners πŸ™‚ They would all urn in their graves if they could see how my garden look πŸ™‚ They were more towards the hard core strict ones and I’m more towards the wild side of gardening πŸ™‚ My mormor on the other hand would love it here, she did what she could to destroy my morfar’s strict flower beds by planting all kinds of flowers in between his ones πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      WE have relatives to Your green ones here and I know what You mean πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      July 6, 2015 at 8:02 am

  4. Hi Christer, I was enjoying all the morning fog and mist photos and the. WOW came that sun streaming through the trees. It was so beautiful, my friend. And, don’t get me wrong I do enjoy the flower photos and especially the identification of each, but those outdoor shots are my favorites. Yiu can keep those nasty looking flies. I am not missing the mosquitoes we had at our VA hiuse, but we will be there for up to a week and a half doing some projects, so they may find me 😦 Our house remains unsild (still) so we are going to do some small projects and talk to the realtors (once again) to see what else can be done to attract some interest. Meanwhile, we have not had very hot weather while living in Nashua, NH but we are used to more hot and humid weather. The fall weather will be out favorite season there.

    July 6, 2015 at 12:52 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I love mornings like that! We have only had this one so far unfortunately, last year almost all mornings had some mist to use while photographing πŸ™‚

      So You don’t like the cuddly fly πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ They are truly nasty! Now days I don’t even react when mosquitoes fly around me, I only look out and listen after these fast giants.

      I can’t understand that a house so beautiful isn’t sold already! I wouldn’t hesitate for a second if I needed a house in that area!

      My favorite season is always spring but autumn isn’t so bad either, other nasty flies around though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 6, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Leave a Reply

