It is cooling down.

DSC_0039

The temperature outdoors never dropped below 18C (64,4F) and that is very rare here, they say we have tropical nights if it doesn’t fall below 20C (68F) during the night so we were close this time. But then the heavy rainfall started and now it’s so cool and nice outside that my head ache is gone and life feels fine again πŸ™‚ I refuse to complain about the heat but yesterday wasn’t nice at all, we reached 31,4C (88,5F) before the sun hit my thermometer on the north side of my cottage so I can’t say how hot it finally became.

 

This rose grwos in the Lilac hedge and I've dug it up several times and given roots too people who wanted that roise, still it grows up every year :-) I need to give it support when I cut down the hedge.

This rose grows in the Lilac hedge and I’ve dug it up several times and given roots too people who wanted that rose, still it grows up again every timeΒ πŸ™‚ I need to give it support when I cut down the hedge.

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

 

We did get thunder in the evening but I can’t say that it was much of a thunderstorm and it didn’t cool down much either to be honest but the humidity rose πŸ™‚ I know some of You have had much higher temperatures for a long time and I understand better and better why You all have ac units in Your homes πŸ™‚ It isn’t common to have anywhere in Europe, especially not here way up north but perhaps we must start having that if these higher temperatures will be more common. At least the older ones should have it.

 

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

DSC_0052

Our weather will stay unsteady for quite some time they say and You’ll soon read about me complaining about how cold and rainy it is again but for now this is just what I like, even if it is impossible to mow the lawn while the grass is so wet. The biting flies however will most likely calm down some with this cooler weather and that is something I really like πŸ™‚ I have two photos here below that shows one of the nasty biters, it’s almost 1,5cm (0,6 inches) longΒ and You can see those two razor-sharp fangs it has, it cuts through most anything we wear and in to our flesh. Hurts like h… and itches even worse afterwards πŸ™‚ If the sun hits the eyes in the right angle they can shine in all kinds of colors, green and orange is most common and it all depends on the species.

 

Nasty fly! These flies aren't just blood thirsty they are also the fastest flies there is, I've read they can reach 60km/ h (37,2 mph) and keep that speed for a long time!

Nasty fly! These flies aren’t just blood thirsty they are also the fastest flies there is, I’ve read they can reach 60km/ h (37,2 mph) and keep that speed for a long time!

Nice fangs, aren't they :-)

Nice fangs, aren’t they πŸ™‚

DSC_0055

DSC_0058

I went to the super market at 7 am and I did buy all I needed and some that I wanted but forgot to check a few other things, like a grass trimmer and hedge shears. Well I need to go there later this week anyway so that really doesn’t matter. To be honest I just wanted to go home again because the rain started pouring down heavily on my way there and it felt like thunder might be nearby and I’d rather be at home with my dogs if it started. Turns out when I came home none of that rain seems to have fallen here πŸ™‚ The bog creates a kind of pressure during a heat wave and that actually press the worst rain away from this area. We can see how it rains all around us but not a single drop falls here πŸ™‚ Only happens during the summer months and hot autumns though.

DSC_0059

This is the rose the birds refuse to eat the rose hip seeds from. It flowers for long and this one still have over two thirds of its buds still unopen.

This is the rose the birds refuse to eat the rose hip seeds from. It flowers for long and this one still have over two thirds of its buds still unopened.

DSC_0063

I think this white Foxglove look much more beautiful than the completely white one.

I think this white Foxglove look much more beautiful than the completely white one.

Time to get something to eat and then see if there’s anything on tv. We’ll get sunshine later today they say so if it stays cool we’ll take a long walk in the forest. I will bring a mosquito hat though, the flies usually stay calm if it is cool but one never knows.

 

Scarlet flax, Linum grandiflorum flowers in my garden now.

Scarlet flax, Linum grandiflorum flowers in my garden now.

Nepeta sibirica. It starts out nice and gentle untilk You relax and then it hits! I've dug it up several times all over the garden butr it still just keep on showing up :-) LIke it a lot anyway and bees of all kinds love it. Smells a bit strange if You touch the leafs though.

Nepeta sibirica. It starts out nice and gentle until You relax and then it hits! I’ve dug it up several times all over the garden but it still just keep on showing up πŸ™‚ LIke it a lot anyway and bees of all kinds love it. Smells a bit strange if You touch the leafs though.

This peony hasn't flowered in years so I guess I shouldn't be surprised that it looks a bit like it just woke up :-)

This peony hasn’t flowered in years so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that it looks a bit like it just woke up πŸ™‚

Looks like tansy (but with white flowers), smells like it and spreads like it too :-) This is a Tanacetum macrophyllum, also called white flowered tansy or rayed tansy.

Looks like tansy (but with white flowers), smells like it and spreads like it too πŸ™‚ This is a Tanacetum macrophyllum, also called white-flowered tansy or rayed tansy.

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. jaz

    glad to hear you cooled of a bit. our humidity today is like a wall of water. teddy and i go out at 3:00 am now because the workmen come at 7 and we are locked in the house for the day. it was 70 degrees when we went out this morning. this is why i hate summer. i don’t think it should be 70 degrees in the middle of the night. i would not be functional without A/C.

    July 6, 2015 at 12:19 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is so nice outside now! The wind has also started to blow so most flies blow away from us when being outside πŸ™‚

      So You are up and outside even before I am in the mornings now πŸ™‚

      I agree! It shouldn’t be that warm in the middle of the night! Normally we have around 50 and that’s what I like.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 6, 2015 at 1:03 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Shall we take bets on that rose giving up the ghost as soon as you take away the lilacs? πŸ™‚
    The peony does look like it has bed head.
    Linum grandiflorum is going on the list of plants I’d like to have in the yard.
    Reading your captions reminded me that my orange mint has never flowered. It has grown some tepid runners and this year’s new leaves taste a bit better than last year’s though I’d still not use them in anything. It remains pretty much the same size as it always was but it hasn’t died yet.

    On our walk this morning, we passed the house on the corner of the next street up from mine. Out of the corner of my eye I saw a turkey feeding underneath the bird feeder. This neighbor keeps a bunch of feeders right beside her front door. Rocky spotted the turkey and started growling. Piki Dog started yelling just because but then he saw it too and went crazy. The turkey just stood there and watched and then went on eating. She knew the dogs were attached. Pffft!
    No, of course I did not bring my camera.

    It’s sunny here and heading for the mid 80’sF. The whole week is supposed to be warm with increasing humidity. I should put the AC unit in the window but I will probably wait until I can’t stand it anymore. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    July 6, 2015 at 2:05 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Not this time, it wouldn’t be fair to You because I’ve done it before πŸ™‚ The only thing that happens is that it lays down on top of the hedge and then the hedge grows over and around it so it can’t be seen in a few years πŸ™‚ It is probably much larger than it looks in the photo and it does look rather big in the photo. The hedge is almost 4 yards high now πŸ™‚

      The Flax is an annual and I sowed it just after the ssnow had melted, we had no ground frost this year. Just toss the seeds where You want the plants to grow and cover them lightly so the birds at least need to work to find any seeds πŸ™‚ I was thinking I should buy seeds for this one next year too and a big box of those flax seeds one can buy at any grocery store, the ones one can put in bread that will help keep the stomach good πŸ™‚ and toss those at the same place. It will look very nice with both red and blue flax in bloom at the same time!

      Perhaps the mint needs a colder winter to show its right taste?

      It would be cool to see a turkey by the feeders here πŸ™‚ I would be very surprised though since we don’t have them here πŸ™‚ Sune would probably go mad, he does when ever he sees a bird on the ground πŸ™‚ I so understnd that You didn’t bring a camera, if You had that turkey would have been elsewhere πŸ™‚

      They said sunshine today but so far it’s cloudy, rainy and very windy. Today I like that πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 6, 2015 at 3:33 pm

  3. Christer,
    We have uncomfortable humidity and hot days. It is strange as Saturday was so cold we needed sweatshirts while watching the movie. The heat will be here for 3 or 4 days. I turned on the central AC, not just the one in my bedroom. Gracie was really hot sitting on the couch, and that’s always sign it is too hot inside the house.

    I just went outside and the difference between in and out is amazing. I am so happy to have the air.

    Your flowers always make me jealous!!

    Have a wonderful evening!!

    July 7, 2015 at 2:14 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I can’t say I envy You Your weather, this morning is very windy and cool. I hate those hot, sticky nights!

      It is amazing how fast the weather can change, now it’s just annoying but when I had my sailing boat it could be dangerous. I always listened to the shipping forecast before leaving harbour.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 7, 2015 at 5:07 am

  4. Hi Christer! πŸ™‚ It sounds like everything is fine with you. Those pink little roses are just beautiful! My rose arbors look terrible..no water and it’s sad to watch things wilt. I am so afraid of losing all the work I’ve put into the yard. I go out very early and water and hope for the best.
    Your flowers are all so pretty. The fly..I…don’t like any fly..none and that one with it’s fangs is horrible looking. That’s one good thing about living here…we really don’t have a lot of bugs. We don’t have the water you do either..but I do have the fountains and I have to make sure they are running. I do have to spray though. Still…you live in such a beautiful green place. It looks like it hasn’t change in a century though I’m sure it probably has. We are holding at 85 degree’s which beats the heck out of 105! πŸ™‚

    July 7, 2015 at 3:59 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I do like my wild roses and especially the one that flowers for so long and the birds refuse to eat the seeds from.

      So it is that dry now! One could of course always wash some delicate clothes by hand and use the rinsing water to water the roses without breaking any restrictions I guess? Or perhaps pour out some left over tea/ coffee too I guess πŸ™‚ It would be sad if all Your work has been for nothing because I really like Your rose arbors!

      This fly is still not the biggest πŸ™‚ and we have a smaller one that ius so quiet it is impossible to ehar it at all, even the wings are sort of camoflague colored πŸ™‚

      It isn’t fare that we get soo much water all year round and You almost nothing! I have fish in my rainwater barrels so no need for any spraying, which isn’t legal anyway but I sure would if I hadn’t those fish πŸ™‚

      Yes here things have changed a lot, towards the more wild actually πŸ™‚ This was once a village full of life and lots of small cottages. Now thgere’s only around twenty cottages left and nature takes over more and more πŸ™‚

      Have a great day despite the heat!
      Christer.

      July 7, 2015 at 5:15 am

Leave a Reply

