It is a hot cocoa day!

Β DSC_0034

It is 13C (55,4F) this morning and this is as warm as it will be, from now on it will only go downwards. We can be happy if it doesn’t get colder than 9C (48,2F). It will rain all day but I hope it won’t be like those heavy showers we got yesterday, we happened to be on a walk when it suddenly started pouring down so heavily that I had to hang all my clothes to dry because they were dripping of water when we came home. We were a bit too far from the old stable this time that has rescued us so many times before.

 

There he stood again, our stalker :-) WE had to wait for quite some time before he finally walked in to the forest and we could pass. The dogs are so used to him now that they find the sheep in the pasture beside the road far more interesting :-)

There he stood again, our stalker πŸ™‚ WE had to wait for quite some time before he finally walked in to the forest and we could pass. The dogs are so used to him now that they find the sheep in the pasture beside the road far more interesting πŸ™‚

DSC_0029

DSC_0033

I went to the super market early this morning, they open up at 7 so I thought I better do it early so I could stay at home for the rest of the day. I chose between the one in Skara and the one in FalkΓΆping and unfortunately went to FalkΓΆping. Well it wasn’t such a bad decision to be honest but I had planned to renew me lottery tickets but it showed I would have to wait for over half an hour before they opened that part of the store, that would not have happened in Skara. But instead I got the chance to buy new wiper blades for my car, both the ones in the front and the one in the back. I’ve needed to change those for quite some time but haven’t come close to any petrol stations that weren’t unmanned.

 

DSC_0035

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

So now I need to go again to get those renewed, next time I’ll chose Skara so I know it’ll be done. We went out for a short walk as soon as I came home again and it felt quite nasty even if there was very little wind but it rained and it was that kind of rain that gets in everywhere and since it isn’t especially warm it chilled us down considerable. I’ll stray indoors for the rest of the day and I have turned on my radiators again to keep the humidity outside. It will get warmer again already tomorrow though so they won’t be turned on for especially long.

 

I wish I could say it was a foggy morning but that is rain.

I wish I could say it was a foggy morning but that is rain.

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

It is time to make some breakfast and today I’ll make some cocoa, hot cocoa because it really feels like a cold autumn day now. Thankfully I managed to mow the lawn before the heavy raining started but that only means that the dogs and cats bring in lots of cut grass πŸ™‚ But there are worse things in life than cut grass on the floors πŸ™‚

 

We did get some sunshine between the showers yesterday. This is the first strawberry in the forest and it was delicious.

We did get some sunshine between the showers yesterday. This is the first strawberry in the forest and it was delicious.

DSC_0051

DSC_0053

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0047

DSC_0042

DSC_0026

DSC_0043

14 responses

  1. Hi Christer,

    The months of your seasons are quite a bit different from ours.Do you have a shorter summer and longer winter or is it that your summer months start in an ealier month than ours?
    Does the weather pattern in your country vary depending on how far north you are? question time over πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Here in the northwest of England there is usually only a three to four week difference in the warmth.Our spring daffodils usually start flowering as my late father’s daffodils in the Southwest were just finishing.

    Our seasons are definitely changing,gradually.

    Looks like you are enjoying your vaccation,lovely photos as always.

    Lesley

    July 9, 2015 at 1:05 pm

    • Hi Lesley!

      This year is not normal, much colder than usual. Normally we have summer from early June to mid August, at least here some distance away from the ocean. Even if this isn’t far from the ocean to be honest (100km) it still is a bit different. The summer continues for longer closer to the ocean but then again it starts later there just because of the same reason, the ocean cools down for quite some time. I think the winters are longer here because the gulf stream isn’t as effective here and the cold winds from the arctic reaches us easier too, the Scandinavian mountains makes it easy for the winds to just keep on going south.

      Yes there are huge differences in the weather patterns since Sweden is thin but very long. For some reason they usually have fantastic summers up north and with the help from the sun never going down for a long time it’s just fantastic up there! They do have plenty more mosquitoes though and they are really blood thirsty too, not forgetting the midges πŸ™‚ Temperature wise this year however they still haven’t had any summer way up north, they still have only spring temperatures and that is very unusual. It’s just an odd year I guess.

      But it varies a lot just around here too, spring arrives two weeks later in my garden than it does at my neighbors up the slope πŸ™‚ But then again, it’s always a few degrees warmer down here during summer and a few degrees colder during winter πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I always anjoy my vacation πŸ™‚ Normally however I would go slightly insane if this kind of weather comes but I’ve napped a lot today and the ice cream truck came so today I’m not bothered at all πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 9, 2015 at 4:06 pm

  2. jaz

    i wish we would get an occasional cool day. it would make summer tolerable. we rarely go below 68 at night now and the humidity makes it feel like it is in the 70’s. those rain pics look like jewelry!

    July 9, 2015 at 3:02 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Today I’m not especially annoyed about this cold weather and I fully understand You since You have nasty high temperatures all summer long! We’ll reach 67 tomorrow with a bit of luck so I guess that’s why I don’t care about how cold it is today. I can’t stand hot nights any longer, used to love them when I was younger though.

      The world would have sparkled like diamonds if the sun had shown while I was photographing this morning πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 9, 2015 at 4:09 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I can’t believe you are getting autumn temps already! We are heading into a 7 day stretch of disgustingly hot weather, so says the weather experts. That makes me mad!! We had such a good couple of days the past few days, but today we had to turn the air conditioning on again. Not happy about that!!! I can’t wait for August for things to start cooling down. I am hoping to go strawberry picking Saturday, before it heats up. I’d like to freeze some for the winter. This means a road trip to the country, which I don’t mind at all! πŸ™‚ Your last picture of the flower is incredible, the colors are just perfect! Enjoy your evening!

    July 9, 2015 at 3:18 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Thankfully it will be warmer again already tomorrow, otherwise I would have gone mad πŸ™‚ Normal summers we have at least one warm month buit this isn’t a normal summer. I can’t remember when May, June and July were this cold before.

      It has been so cold here that strawberries are very late and there’s not many around to pick. They aren’t as sweet as they usually are either, the lack of sunshine make them a bit sour. I bought a box today and I have had better πŸ™‚

      That Larkspur does have a nice color πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 9, 2015 at 4:14 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    You can name that buck The Deerstalker. πŸ™‚

    I love the wet dog biscuit (?) photos. They look crystallized.

    Yesterday it was muggy and hot hot hot here. I gave up and turned the AC on. While it was cooling the house, I went outside with the dogs and sat under the stunted black walnut tree beside the house. It gives some nice shade even if it is small and it has its first ever walnut this year, too. I got out the hose and sprayed the undersides of the branches. Then I sat on the grass, turned the hose to mist setting and held it over my head. So cool and lovely. Even the sparrows were happy to join me under the drippy, misty tree. πŸ™‚ The dogs sat out on the hot sunny asphalt sidewalk and looked at me as if I were crazy.
    Today is totally different. Cool, dry and cloudy. It’s not cool enough to be a hot cocoa day but I could do hot soup for lunch. It would be a pleasant change from ice water and not a lot else because it was too hot to chew. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day and the cocoa.

    July 9, 2015 at 3:43 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      πŸ™‚ That is a good name on him πŸ™‚

      Yes that flower falls into the category dog bisquits πŸ™‚ I like those two too.

      I do like that on hot days before thuinder arrives, keeps me calm and the flies stays away πŸ™‚ No dog near here either πŸ™‚ not even Sune who loves taking baths. Never had any birds as company though πŸ™‚

      The ice cream truck came today, a bit confusing since it usually is here on Fridays. So I bought some ice creams and am enjoying them here in the cottage sitting close to the radiators πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The cocoa was quite nice πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 9, 2015 at 4:19 pm

  5. Good photos of your stalker!
    I haven’t seen the fawn for several days. I hope she/he is OK.
    It’s been very cool here the last 2 days but it’s supposed to get in the 90’s this weekend.
    😦
    I like cooler weather.
    And it rained again last night.
    I haven’t had to water my plants much. In fact some have died from too much water standing in their big planters.
    I’m posting a post on my blog today and I’m mentioning you!
    πŸ˜‰

    July 9, 2015 at 4:51 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      He isn’t especially hard to photograph to be honest πŸ™‚ I wonder what it is that makes us so interesting in his mind?

      She’s probably around but more careful now when she’s getting older, they learn very fast that the human surrounding can be very dangerous even if it is safe too since many predators avoid thopse areas until they are really hungry.

      I don’t mind the occasional coold day but not too many in a row, it will get a bit warmer from tomorrow but the low pressures are standing in line to fly over us πŸ™‚

      It is important to have holes in the planters so the water can run out, something we Swedes learn quickly since it rains so much here πŸ™‚

      I’ll get over there now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 9, 2015 at 6:15 pm

  6. Christer,
    Yesterday I had the AC on as it was horribly muggy and hot. I loved the cool house for sleeping. Today is a delight. The morning was dry and cool form last night’s rain I think, and it is a pleasant night, no AC.

    It was around 72˚ today, about my favorite summer temperature. With the window open behind me I can feel a chill in the air. We have a lot of summer to go so I’m happy for a daily today.

    Enjoy your vacation despite the cold.

    July 10, 2015 at 1:19 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Today is already a bit warmer than it was yesterday anf it isn’t even 6 am yet πŸ™‚ But I sort of liked yesterday anyway, it forced me to do just nothing at all and I have to admit that it was nice being outside without even a singly fly flying around my head. Well it would have drowned in the rain if it had tried πŸ™‚

      68-72 are perfect summer temperatures, too bad that it usually is colder or warmer πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 10, 2015 at 4:56 am

  7. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Christer, if it’s warmer weather you want, then we could send you some. We are in VA doing some projects on our still unsold home. The realtor emailed us that the yard could use some attention as well as some paint on the outbuildings. It has been very warm and humid working outdoors and no hot cocoa for us, but iced coffee in the afternoon and cold water during the rest of the day! And, to think we moved to an apt to escape all these not-so-much fun projects! The rain on the flower stalks looked so beautiful. Thankfully, we have not had any rain here and that is OK with us as we have another week here before we head back to New England. While you are trying to stay warm, we are trying to keep cool!

    July 10, 2015 at 1:27 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I wouldn’t mind if You did πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I guess people are afraid to commit to a house and all the costs after this awful period, because Your house is so beautiful that it should have been sold long ago otherwise. I still hold my thumbs for good luck!

      Working in humid heat is awful! but working in cold rain isn’t fun either πŸ™‚ I have a few things I need to do here too but I guess it has to wait till autumn comes becauyse it seems we either get it nasty hot or freezing cold here this summer πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      July 10, 2015 at 5:02 am

Leave a Reply

