It looked healthy otherwise.

DSC_0031

It is quite nice outside today, not warm perhaps but warmish πŸ™‚ I’ve worn a fleece jacket both times we’ve been out walking and it was needed. The weak wind we have makes it a bit colder than it really is but then again most flies stayed calm even in the forest. I’m thinking of mowing the lawn today but we will have rather nice weather the coming days, sunny and sort of warmish they say. I can do it tomorrow after I’ve been to FalkΓΆping to pick up a tripod I bought. I have no idea if it is steady enough for my old cameras but it is older and sort of fits well to my older cameras when it comes to how it looks πŸ™‚ The one I have is no good for heavier cameras and I doubt this will be any worse.

 

DSC_0032

These lambs wouldn't have noticed anything if a wolf had been nearby, We were so close to them when they finally understood we were there that a wolf had killed them all before the sheep in the pasture would have warned them. They are cute though :-)

These lambs wouldn’t have noticed anything if a wolf had been nearby, We were so close to them when they finally understood we were there that a wolf had killed them all before the sheep in the pasture would have warned them. They are cute though πŸ™‚

DSC_0034

We went out for our second walk quite early, it can’t have passed more than an hour and a half after we came in from the first one. I just got the feeling we should so we walked out to the bog and it was nice since the flies stayed reasonable calm. For some reason, I’m not sure why, we took the exact same road back again and that is unusual but it turned out to be a good thing. We had almost reached the field where the beekeeper lives when I saw what I first thought was a deer. I stopped and thought I would take a photo like I always do.

DSC_0035

I guess this is what we'll see of the sun today.

I guess this is what we’ll see of the sun today.

DSC_0037

It was no deer at all, it was a fox πŸ™‚ I think it is a male fox since it was rather big, almost as high as Nova. The fox males are dedicated fathers so I’m pretty sure he was out hunting for the cubs but I did think he walked bad an it turns out he was limping rather badly. Otherwise he looked fine though and I couldn’t see any swelling in his leg so I hope he just have sprained it. He did see Nova quite early but didn’t seem to care too much about her, he just kept on searching for mice and voles.

DSC_0039

The rose in the hedge.

The rose in the hedge.

DSC_0024 Β 

He didn’t bother much when he saw Sune too but I think it was a bit too much when he saw Orvar and me too πŸ™‚ He was in no hurry but slowly disappeared into the high grass and stayed there. The first thing I thought of when seeing him limping was that I wanted to go home and see if I had any pork chops to give him πŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure he will manage to cope anyway though. I am gad however that he went away because we met the hunters on our way home, they are building new hunting towers and a sort of hunting lodge just beside that field. They would not want to feed the fox, they would want to shoot it so it wouldn’t suffer. I can understand how they feel but since the fox seemed fine otherwise I think it’s best to live and continue to catch moles, voles and mice πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

I remembered when Orvar and Hector were puppies and Hector became friends with a fox cub πŸ™‚ They played every time they met and the other dogs just wondered why πŸ™‚ It lasted for quite some time but one day the fox wasn’t there any more, perhaps it had moved or perhaps it had learned that dogs and humans could be rather nasty? Hector would have loved to see this fox and he would most likely have run down to it no matter what that fox would have thought about it πŸ™‚

I just saw something brownish move in the field.

I just saw something brownish move in the field.

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

He jumped up as they do when hunting but I couldn't see if he caught anything. He might have swallowed it directly.

He jumped up as they do when hunting but I couldn’t see if he caught anything. He might have swallowed it directly. It looks like he has no front legs at all πŸ™‚

It is time for me to have some breakfast, I’ve been up since 4:30 and still haven’t had any and right now the clock is 9:21 so I do feel a bit hungry πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0031

Here he sees Nova but I guess he thought she was no threat,

Here he sees Nova but I guess he thought she was no threat,

DSC_0033

Here he saw the rest of us.

Here he saw the rest of us.

Have a great day!

 

I guess that three dogs and one human just was too much for him.

I guess that three dogs and one human just was too much for him.

DSC_0036

10 responses

  1. jaz

    i am surprised that the fox didn’t run off directly. i grew up in a town called fox chapel. it is pouring here with thunder and lightening right now. i wonder if it will be a no show day for my workers.

    July 14, 2015 at 10:48 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      They rarely hunt fox around here so I guess they don’t see us as that dangerous and it must have seen us plenty of times before even though we rarely see it at all πŸ™‚ What a nice name for a town!

      I hope they came after the thunder had passed! I just looked at the real time lightning map site and saw that the thunder had left You by now. We got a much nicer day than predicted here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 14, 2015 at 2:21 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    That was cool seeing a fox and getting to take so many photos before it took off. I hope it isn’t permanently injured and will be allowed time to heal.

    You’re wearing fleece out for a walk and I’m trying to figure out how to wear as little as possible out for a walk while still remaining presentable to the neighbors. πŸ™‚ I’m jealous. It’s not that it is unusually hot but the humidity is so bad. It’s like a steam bath outside.
    It’s time for our first walk of the day and I’m not looking forward to it.

    Enjoy the day.

    July 14, 2015 at 12:28 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I was so surprised to see it and so close too πŸ™‚ I do hope it isn’t permanently injured and I think it managed to get away before the hunters arrived, they didn’t say anything when we passed them.

      It was a bit chilly but the day became much nicer than predicted, no need for any fleece now πŸ™‚ Well, perhaps just to avoid getting bitten by the flies but it would be way to warm to wear it though πŸ™‚ I decided to mow the lawn anyway since it was chilly, windy and cloudy and the predictions for tyomorrow says sunny. Just as I started to mow the wind stopped, the sun shone through the clouds and it got really warm and nice πŸ™‚ Ten zillion biting flies attacked and it seems as if one can get immune to the pain and itching from their bite because I saw several sitting on my arms dtrinking my blood but I felt nothing??!! They don’t feel anything any longer either, so easy to kill when they drink blood because they can’t just fly away when they do πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day despite the heat!

      Christer.

      July 14, 2015 at 2:27 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! That is so cool to see the fox. I sometimes see one in the winter on my drive to work – he/she is walking down this long path that runs along a golf course. I guess they are out for a walk! I remember once when I was in my early 20’s and I went on a road trip with a friend and their dog. One morning I woke up early to go to the washroom (we were tenting) and when I opened the tent to get out, there was a fox right there; eating the dog food! I was in awe watching it. Beautiful creatures! We are (once again) under storm alerts, its hot and muggy and I fear this will be like this for the rest of July for sure. Yuck. So far from my garden I have harvested cucumbers, beans, peas, tomatoes, green onion, raspberries and saskatoons. Peppers are growing but no where near red yet. Everything else is just moving happily along, which makes me happy! πŸ™‚ What a beautiful picture of the rose. I wish I could grow roses, but the rabbits are so bad here, they would just get eaten. Have a good evening!!

    July 14, 2015 at 5:24 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It was a long time since I was that close to a fox so it was really fun. I’m pretty sure that if it had seen us all at the saame time it would have walked away earΓΆier πŸ™‚ Foxes are always out on walks looking for food πŸ™‚ Perhaps I should put out some doog food for him as long as he has a bad leg πŸ™‚

      We went out for a short walk but had to turn around fairly early because of the flies, they were totally insane so I wasn’t surprised when I heard that we had thinder nearby πŸ™‚ I guess that they are much calmer now when the thunbder has passed. I’ve had my first tomato and it was delicious πŸ™‚ I’ve also eaten those carrots that had to be removed because they grew too close to each other, they are semis weet and really tasty πŸ™‚

      So the saskatoons are ripe already?! Not even close here and it looks like most of the trees have gotten mildew so the berries will be unedible I’m afraid. You are way ahead of us when it comes to the berries, only the strawberries are ripe here yet.

      Too bad climate for rabbits and the hares stays away from gardens filled with dogs πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      July 14, 2015 at 7:22 pm

  4. Christer,
    I haven’t seen a fox yet this summer, but I haven’t been out early enough to see one. They are red and smaller than the fox you saw. One summer the female had her babies in a rock cave at the beach. The world was down there taking pictures when the babies came out to play. My sister had a fox den under her stairs. The male hunted while the female stayed with her babies. At first my sister liked it but then it started to smell from all the dead animals brought back. When the foxes left, my brother-in-law cleaned it out and found parts of rabbits and cats and lots of bones. They sealed the opening under the stairs.

    We got the rain then it got sunny again. Now it is back to cloudy. The weather today can’t seem to make up its mind.

    I like today overall-it is cooler than it has been. It is supposed to stay that way for a few more days.

    Have a great evening!

    July 14, 2015 at 8:11 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      This one is actually quite red but I had to photograph it towards the sun so it looks more brownish than it is. But there is a totally brown one living here too, many foxes with different colors have escaped from fur farms back in the days and those colors still shows here. I guess ours are as big as they are just because no one has hunted them here for quite some time, the people around here has realised what a great job they’re doing by keeping the voles and mice under conmtroll.

      Foxes dp smell bad as it is so I can imagine how bad that den must have smelled πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We were supposed to get sunshine all day today but they have changed that during the night to: be happy if You can see the sun when it rise in the early morning. They are truly bad at their job!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 15, 2015 at 3:14 am

  5. They don’t eat fox, do they? Why would they shoot it then? I hope they don’t do senseless killing of animals. That’s one thing I find deplorable!
    It’s HOT here..but nothing like we’ve had in July in the past.
    What is the bright red coloring on his head. At first I thought he was injured but you would have mentioned it if it were blood. Is that real read his coloring? I enlarged the photo to get a closer view but still couldn’t tell.
    No rain for us. 😦

    July 15, 2015 at 6:16 am

    • Hi Mona!

      No they don’t eat fox but they hate when animals suffer and are perhaps a bit too quick to decide id it has a chance or not to survive any injury. These hunters are way in to wildlife management so they will have discussions on what animals to hunt and which ones to leave alone, just to keep the wildlife as healthy as possible for the future πŸ™‚

      Do You mean the fox? No injuries on the head so it is tha natural color inhansed by the sun πŸ™‚

      We got a thunder shower here yesterday and they say we will get that today as well. I wish we could send our rain to You who really need it!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 15, 2015 at 9:21 am

Leave a Reply

