Not far from frost.

DSC_0035

I have a few big flies flying around in my kitchen, all they want to do is to get out and leave me alone so I have tried to help them out. As soon as they fly to the windows I’ve opened them but it seems they just don’t get it. I leave the window open with the risk of getting in more flies, they fly to it and then in panic it seems turn around and fly away again. Why? I mean they must feel the wind so they must understand it i open. After all they have tried their best to fly out through the mosquito net because they can feel the wind blowing through it!

 

Really chilly mornings usually means lots of mist but I was a bit disappointed with only this little of it and it was even less by the bog.

Really chilly mornings usually means lots of mist but I was a bit disappointed with only this little of it and it was even less by the bog.

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0042

I have occasionally managed to scare them out through the open window by chasing them with a news paper but really! I don’t think it should be up to me to do that for them πŸ™‚ They don’t care about me at all but I’m getting tired of their sound now, so if they don’t leave by their own choise I will scare try to scare them to fly into the spider webs in the hall πŸ™‚ After all, my spiders need something to eat too πŸ™‚

 

I did bring one of the older cameras with me and I'm looking forward to see if I managed to adjust it so the photos look like this, more or less anyway :-)

I did bring one of the older cameras with me and I’m looking forward to see if I managed to adjust it so the photos look like this, more or less anyway πŸ™‚

DSC_0048

DSC_0050

DSC_0052

It was a rather chilly morning, the temperature dropped to 4,5C (40,1F) but the sky was clear and the sun was on its way up so I only wore a fleece sweater when we went out. I noticed that there was one big cloud up in the sky and naturally it flew so it came in the way for the sun! and it also had the direction so that it would continue to cover the sun for quite some time since it flew very slowly. It is so typical and it annoyed me so much since I wanted to get some photographs taken towards the early morning sunrise.

 

DSC_0054

DSC_0055

This was more or less the only mist I could see out on the bog.

This was more or less the only mist I could see out on the bog.

DSC_0057

We walked in to the forest and out to the bog since it was as chilly as it was and when we reached the bog the sun finally got rid of that cloud πŸ™‚ We did see some mist but not as much as I had hoped, I love walking out there in the cold mist when the sun rise and the flies still stays calm. Still it was quite wonderful out there and I did get some photos by the fields too even if it was a bit late. Well, late is perhaps a bit wrong because I don’t think it was 5:30 am yet when we came home again πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0058

DSC_0059

DSC_0060

DSC_0062

I went to the super market too, not that I really needed to but I figured out that if I didn’t go today I would have to go on Sunday and I really don’t likeΒ going there on weekends. It doesn’t matter that I have vacation, a weekend is a weekend πŸ™‚ I might as well have waited because we’ll get at least ten more days with low pressures coming in so perhaps I just should have stayed at home to enjoy this day to the fullest. But then again, I had to mow outside my garden today so they day got sort of destroyed anyway πŸ™‚

 

So out to the fields we went again. The dogs did look confused when we went out there again :-)

So out to the fields we went again. The dogs did look confused when we went out there again πŸ™‚

DSC_0064

DSC_0065

DSC_0068

Β  Β I’ve just downloaded windowsΒ 8,1, I just did that because I need to if I later on will download windows 10 which is supposed to look very much like windows 7 which is the one we all want back πŸ™‚ It took a very long time to do it and so far I can’t say I see any difference. It did however change what site I want to open up when I start the internet and now I can’t find where I can change that back again πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Well, life isn’t supposed to be easy I’ve heard πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0070

DSC_0071

DSC_0073

DSC_0074

It is time to see if I can find out how my computer works now and I think I’ll need a big pot of coffee while doing that πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0076

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

Even I could hear the mice in that high grass. I thought they were more careful since they are eaten by most predators.

Even I could hear the mice in that high grass. I thought they were more careful since they are eaten by most predators.

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Your description of that cloud made me laugh. Right away I remembered a cartoon character that was always drawn with a cloud over his head. I had to google it because I couldn’t remember the name. It was Joe Bltsplk (pronounced as if you were blowing a raspberry).

    The bicycle photo is lovely. It looks like it would be a lovely bike if restored. I’ve been doing a series of photographs of my mother’s bike which has been out in my back yard for a lot of years now. It gets moved around to different places depending on what’s going on out there. At the moment it’s leaning up against the old black walnut tree. Maybe I will plant some flowers around it. It looks good there. πŸ™‚

    You have inspired me to order a battery and some film rolls for my old Minolta. They should be here on Monday or Tuesday.

    Perhaps you could borrow some of the neighbor’s sheep to mow the grass outside your garden. They give a nice short cut and don’t pull up the roots. Or so I’m told. πŸ™‚

    Today is cool, sunny and dry like yesterday. Yay! The heat is coming back, though. As long as the humidity stays low, it’s okay.

    Enjoy the day.

    July 17, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Would You be surprised if I said I actually knows who Joe Btfsplk is πŸ™‚ or was, does that cpmic still excist? It wasn’t especally popular here but I think it was my older brother who used to buy it for as long as it was sold here πŸ™‚ I wonder if I don’t have one of those magazines still somewhere in my cottage? and yes, it actually felt like that the entire time that cloud hung around πŸ™‚

      I do likethat photo too. The bike has only been standing there since this spring if I remember right but I doubt that it ever has been used πŸ™‚ That series of photos sounds interesting and fun πŸ™‚ Bikes and flowers always look good together, I don’t know why, they just do πŸ™‚

      How fun that You ordered batteries! I’ve been lucky to find replacement batteries to my two Minoltas, they don’t make the original any longer if I understood the photo sites I’ve looked at. The replacement batteries are also said to be better than the original from what I’ve been reading :-)I’m looking forward to see the results, I can’Γ€t remember that it was so tricky to get good photos when I used to use my old Minolta πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Today I put a film in my Edixa, no batteries needed for that one though. I have several film rolls ready to be developed now, I’ve had plenty of time this vacation πŸ™‚

      Too much work to keep those sheep in one place πŸ™‚ Some of them don’t understand on what side of the fence they should stay on so I would have to build fences, high ones to keep them where they are supposed to stay πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Sheep only eat what’s above the soil, goats however eat everything and anything πŸ™‚

      We’ve had a really nice day here and now clouds cover the sky again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 17, 2015 at 5:45 pm

      • Caryn

        Yes, I am surprised that you know who Joe Btfsplk was. He was in Li’l Abner which hasn’t been around for quite some time. The creator, Al Capp, died in 1979 so probably since then.

        The battery and film came today. They were on the doorstep when I came back from dropping the dogs off at the groomer. I haven’t tried to load them yet.

        July 17, 2015 at 8:12 pm

      • We called that comic Knallhatten, knallhatt is either bowler hat, detonator or brat πŸ™‚

        Thankfully all my old cameras are easy to load even the Hasselblad thankfully.

        July 17, 2015 at 8:30 pm

  2. jaz

    i try to never go to the grocery store on weekends either. you are cooler and we are sweltering. the window work is all on hold because they forgot to order parts for them. so, they took down all the scaffolding and ladders and are leaving until who knows when. workmen frustrate me to no end. they should be getting this work done while there is no rain and it is sunny. i have been waiting for hours for someone to show up to inspect something. it’s almost noon here and he was supposed to arrive first thing this morning.

    July 17, 2015 at 4:25 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I don’t know why I dislike it so much, after all I’m there so early that I’m almost the only one there πŸ™‚ Still, I rather be without what ever it is I want than have to gothere on a weekend.
      Yes the morning was quite chilly and even if we reached 38 today it still felt rather cold.

      How annoying! Didn’t they realise that until today?? I mean they must have seen that things were missing! I so understand how frustrating that must be! We make windows at my work place and they also put them up in the beginning. But they realised there were people who knew better how to do it so they stopped that part, now they ship all windows too late to the customers instead, not good at all!

      Thirst thing in the morning is very different for workmen than for us normal humans πŸ™‚ I hope the person has arrived by now!

      have a great day despite it all!

      Christer.

      July 17, 2015 at 5:53 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Your pictures today, especially the first batch look incredibly surreal! The 6th picture down is fantastic – almost like a space ship is hiding behind the trees making the tips look like they are on fire. I love the pics today! Well, we are having another 35+ celcius day again. Its the humidity – its not leaving and making everything and everyone in its wake miserable. You can’t stay outside for more than 10 minutes because you either drip with moisture or it makes you weary. I need to move to Sweden! πŸ™‚ Have a lovely evening!

    July 17, 2015 at 6:38 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It does look like a big fire behind those trees πŸ™‚ Well, the sun is after all burning πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We’ve had a rather pleasant day here, lots of sunshine but it has been feeling chilly even if it did reach 20C, northern winds helped with that. We’ll get high humidity tomorrow but it will drop down low already un Sunday thankfully.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      July 17, 2015 at 8:26 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    I loved your pictures today. The ones of the morning sun were my favorites, liked the bike too. That is just too cold for me at this time of the summer. We still have the ugly humidity of August to deal with. We’ll then have good weather starting sometime in September through October.

    My camera is loaded with pictures, since last October. I’m going to have to get around to uploading them to my computer. If I put them on a list, then I’ll have to do it. I am always faithful to my lists.

    Ugly weekend coming, but we’re having a movie tomorrow night. The last time was freezing. This time will be warm.

    Have a great morning!

    Kat

    July 18, 2015 at 3:36 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I do like the bike photo too and I really like taking photos in the early morning sunshine but I’ve been unlucky with that lately since it has been cloudy many times.

      That was a bit too chilly for me as well but not especially uncommon here, that’s the way it is living this far north on this little planet of ours. The first night with frost will be here the first week in September.

      It does sound as if it is time to download all Your photos now πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I do it every day, otherwise I would have to haver a huge amount of gigabytes in the memory card πŸ™‚

      It won’t be especially nice here either, the humidity is already sky high here but we are saved by a strong wind thankfully.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      July 18, 2015 at 8:38 am

  5. Hi Christer,

    I do not always comment on your daily posts but I always look at your pictures and the word tranquility springs to mind.
    I like the photo of the red poppy and the bicycle. it’s a reminder that we cannot stop nature when it is given a chance to re establish.

    Hope you have a great weekend.

    Lesley

    July 18, 2015 at 9:30 am

    • Hi Lesley!

      I’m glad You like my photos πŸ™‚

      Nothing much happens here except for when one of the farmers blew up his garage πŸ™‚ No one got injured but the fire pillar reached over 100 meter uo in the air πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It seems we all like that photo πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 18, 2015 at 9:54 am

Leave a Reply

