They trust us that much now!

DSC_0022

I didn’t wake up until 5:30 this morning, unusually late for being me and I woke up with a sore throat and stuffed nose. It isn’t fun to get a cold in the middle of the summer, they usually stay much longer than the ones we get in winter. But then again, it isn’t much of a summer when it comes to the weather so this might be over in a day or two πŸ™‚ We’re having strong winds and sunshine between the clouds and it isn’t that bad to be honest πŸ™‚ I know I tend to complain when we get weather like this but I think I’ve gotten so used to it now that this feels like normal summer weather, never above 20C (68F) that is πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0032

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

I wasn’t able to pick ripe tomatoes this early last year and they do say that this July is warmer than normal?! I guess that’s because nights have been slightly warmer and sort of evens up and a bit more the slightly chillier days. I really can’t compare to how it is here since I live in a hollow, it’s either colder or warmer here than it is elsewhere. That shows especially on hot summer days when it is a couple of degrees warmer down here or on cold winter days when it is just the opposite.

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

My neighbor the beekeeper Β might have huge problems with his hives, the queens seems to have left the hives! The old hive could have swarmed when he wasn’t at home but they don’t usually do that unless there are more than one queen. Our best guess to this is that the old queen in the old hive got killed by a new queen and that the new queen went out to find a drone. That is most likely the case in the new hive and if this is tha case for both hives the queens should be back after a week. The hives still functioning well so we can just hope for the best. It has gone a week now so we’ll know soon enough.

 

The Deerstalkerand the doe waited for us but I think they got  a bit surprised since we came from the other direction this time :-)

The Deerstalkerand the doe waited for us but I think they got a bit surprised since we came from the other direction this time πŸ™‚

Suddenly this little one showed up. I normally never see the younglings since I have my dogs with me.

Suddenly this little one showed up. I normally never see the younglings since I have my dogs with me.

But as You can see they aren't stressed at all and are most likely trusting us totally.

But as You can see they aren’t stressed at all and are most likely trusting us totally.

It is a nothing much to do day today. I could mow the lawn since the grass is dry and the wind most likely will keep the flies away but then again, one shouldn’t do anything exhausting while having a cold πŸ™‚ Instead I think I’ll nap a lot and have lots of tea with ginger πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

They got tired of us after a while and started to slowly walk away.

They got tired of us after a while and started to slowly walk away.

DSC_0047

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    My friend who keeps bees had a similar thing happen. Her old queen died but the bees carried on doing their bee thing. She waited to see if they would make a new queen but no new queen appeared. I said she must have republican bees and they didn’t need no stinkin’ queens. πŸ™‚
    She finally had to buy a new queen and introduce her to the hive.
    Here’s a fact that will make you so “Hmm”. Drone bees have interesting genealogy. Technically they have only one parent; the mother. So the number of parents in a drone’s ancestral tree going backwards is 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8… The Fibonacci Sequence. Hmm. πŸ™‚

    Cute deer family. Nice that they trust you enough to hang around for photo ops. πŸ™‚

    I’ve decided the bunnies in my neighborhood are just as oblivious as your lambs. They let Piki Dog get far too close before they see him and then they don’t move. He’s on a long lead so he can’t get them but that’s what he’s trying for.

    Looks like my weather is going to be hot and humid for a few days. Guess I’ll be closing the windows and sitting in the AC again.

    Enjoy the day.

    July 19, 2015 at 1:32 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ve read that if a queen doesn’t show up one of the other bees then cane take over the queen part but will remain sterile. The hive will work for as long the bees can make it without new ones growing up.
      Republican bees don’t work that well πŸ™‚ Perhaps that’s why the bees die out faster and faster on the American continent πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I haven’t heard from my neighbor if he has to buy new queens. I think that when it comes to the new hive the queen will return though, she was a new one and really needs to meet a drone now.

      I was so surprised when they allowed the young one to show up too! We met another deer this afternoon and he didn’t trust us at all, he ran away rapidly even if we were over a hundred yards away πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      No wonder bunnies are the staple food for so many predators πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Don’t sit too close to that AC unit so You’ll get a cold too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 19, 2015 at 3:53 pm

      • Caryn

        Too late. I already have the cold. πŸ™‚

        Since individual worker bees only live about 30 days a republican hive is necessarily going to be a short term experiment. πŸ™‚
        Actually, my friends bees did okay both with and without their clueless virgin queen. If the winter hadn’t been so horrendously cold that they decided they’d rather starve than leave the warmth of the bee ball to eat, they might have gone on to greater things the next year.

        July 19, 2015 at 5:51 pm

      • Well, don’t make it worse then πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        30 days is more or less how long the republican part can keep a budget, isn’t it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        I haven’t talked to my neighbor yet but last time we spoke he was talking about buying new queens. I wonder if we have hardier bees here because it would be so typical if he bought new ones and the winter got so tough that they too rather would starve to death πŸ™‚ I think he put isolation around the hive during the winters he have had them.

        July 19, 2015 at 8:13 pm

  2. what beautiful deer photos! Hope that cold doesn’t last long!

    July 19, 2015 at 1:33 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      They looked so beautiful out there on the field.

      I do hope it will be over soon!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 19, 2015 at 3:56 pm

  3. jaz

    oh no….a summer cold? i hope it leaves you quickly. those deer sure are trusting! today we are in the 90’s again with high humidity. i hope we are closing in on the last of these days.

    July 19, 2015 at 1:54 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      My nose is still stuffed and my throat is a bit sore but it is better than it was this morning. I do hope this one pass fast!

      I was surprised that they allowed the little one to show up too πŸ™‚

      I might not think our summer is especially good but I’m very happy we don’t have Your temperatures!

      Have a great day despite the heat!

      Christer.

      July 19, 2015 at 3:58 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Sorry to hear you have come down with a summer cold. I don’t like those at all! We are having a cloudy and coolish day here today – which is nice. I am able to turn off the air conditioning and have fresh air in the house again. I am glad for the air conditioning but it gets a bit much after awhile. Today I am making a pulled pork in the crock pot and chocolate chip cookies for my son who is going to a friend’s after work for dinner. πŸ™‚ I think that’s the greatest picture of the family of deer! That baby one is just cute – love the way it moves to the mum when he or she saw you! πŸ™‚ Hope you feel better soon, have a good evening!

    July 19, 2015 at 3:43 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I hope it does go away fast! My nose is still stuffed and my throat is still sore but it is much better than it was this morning.

      I just took out some pork from the freezer right now πŸ™‚ I too will put it in my crok pot but tomorrow πŸ™‚ I’m so glad I bought that crok pot, it is perfect to use during the time I don’t have any fire in the stove.

      I was lucky to see them this morning and got really surprised when the young one was allowed to show up too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 19, 2015 at 4:02 pm

  5. Christer,
    Living on the cape means we have temperatures different from Boston’s because of the ocean. Sometimes we are several degrees warmer or cold depending on the season.

    Today stayed humid all day so I turned on the air conditioner. It feels so much better now. I wish it had rained today, but I’ll have to be patient until tomorrow. Everything is quote dry as we haven’t had much rain this summer.

    I hope you feel better. Nothing is worse that a cold no matte the season.

    Have a good evening,
    Kat

    July 19, 2015 at 11:17 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes living by the ocean does that, cooloer in spring but warmer in autumn when the ocean stays warm for quite some time.

      It must have rained quite a lot during the night here, the water barrels are full again. The humidity is nasty high and I can see that they have fog up on the mountain. We aren’t having a nice morning I’m afraid.

      It isn’t worse anyway πŸ™‚

      Havbe a great day!
      Christer.

      July 20, 2015 at 3:28 am

Leave a Reply

