Lots of napping now.

DSC_0035

It’s slightly warmer today but not much, just enough to wake up the flies so they can annoy us again. Β We had big clouds arround us when we went out to the bog an hour ago but I wore my mosquito hat so they didn’t bother me that much, the morning walk, when we walked in to the village however was quite nice. I think the horse fly season is over now even if there still will be a few around for a while more.

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

Besides being to the super market this morning I’ve done very little. I’ve napped for quite some time, watch some tv and thought about making some tea πŸ™‚ The weather isn’t allowing much else to be done to be honest. It drizzles at the moment but I think we’ll get showers later on tonight. Tomorrow will be an all rainy day and so will Wednesday too.

For a while I thought both of them were dead but then the brown one moved his legs some :-)

For a while I thought both of them were dead but then the brown one moved his legs some πŸ™‚

The old tombs.

The old tombs.

DSC_0047

Where goes the line bewteen tombs and graves? I guess these ones should be called graves.

Where goes the line bewteen tombs and graves? I guess these ones should be called graves.

Normally I take a blog vacation on my first week of vacation but this time I thought that as long as I don’t do much else I might as well continue to write. I will however take a short break until Friday. I doubt much will happen here since the weather is like it is.

DSC_0054

DSC_0055

DSC_0058

DSC_0059

It is time to feed the dogs and later on I might make some pancakes again. Or perhaps I should make some warm sandwiches, I have a few ripe tomatoes that I can pick and put on them πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

There were only a few flies around us when wew were out walking yesterday.

There were only a few flies around us when wew were out walking yesterday.

DSC_0029

Have a great day and see You on Friday!

 

DSC_0065

16 responses

  1. Hi Christer,

    Beautiful photos:) a bright spot in a very grey day here.It was so misty and damp this morning,still da,p but the mist has evaporated.

    Enjoy your blog break πŸ™‚

    Lesley

    July 27, 2015 at 3:18 pm

    • Hi Lesley!

      At least You had mist πŸ™‚ We have all the rest now and will get Your weather today tomorrow πŸ™‚

      I will πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 27, 2015 at 5:09 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    When I got to the photo of the recumbent horses I said, “I bet he thought they were dead.” πŸ™‚ One of my horse vets tole me whenever he saw horses lying down like that, he would stop and watch for awhile to make sure they weren’t dead. Horses only sleep like that when they feel very, very safe.

    Interesting structures in those first few photos. I haven’t figured out what the thing is in the third photo. It looks like an old travel trailer that was converted to a spare bedroom and then into a gardening shed.

    There were a few faint claps of thunder yesterday. Later on there was one loud clap of thunder and some actual rain. After that the sky cleared up and the moon came out. This morning is very humid and mostly cloudy. Thunderstorms are predicted for later. Maybe. I guess I’ll do laundry.

    Enjoy your internet vacation.

    July 27, 2015 at 3:19 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I was so sure they were dead so I was thinking of going to the owner but then the brown horse suddenly moved his legs πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’ll see if I can see them tomorrow because even if one of them moved it didn’t feel right seeing them lying down like that. But then again, one of the black horses did just that a week ago and it’s the one You can see further down in the post πŸ™‚

      It is an old travel trailer and I guess they once might have used it as a spare room. Long time since that though, the house is in an even worse state now, the roof is slowly caving in. It is the one with all garfden ornaments, lions and god knows what πŸ™‚

      We never got any thunder but lots of rain. very high humidity here today too and this is the weather we’ll have this week they say, jippie πŸ™‚

      I will πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 27, 2015 at 5:15 pm

  3. jaz

    even those few flies are too many for me. we really need rain and there is none anywhere in the forecast. have a good break!

    July 27, 2015 at 4:28 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I wish we had that few flies all summer πŸ™‚ We had big black clouds of flies around us today so I was glad I brought the mosquito hat πŸ™‚

      We would need Your weather for a while, do You want to swap πŸ™‚

      I will πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 27, 2015 at 5:16 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Love it when horses have a proper lay down! They are enjoying their security and love the grass I am sure! When they roll is great fun watching them. That usually happens after you give them a shower and they find the biggest patch of dirt to roll in. Hilarious! Just look at those flies – UGH!!!! I hate flies and we are coming up to the season where they are annoying. I was so annoyed with the flies yesterday – every time the door opened and bunch came in. Grrrrr! πŸ™‚ I love your pictures today – especially the horses! πŸ™‚ I hope your sandwiches were good and enjoy your break!!

    July 27, 2015 at 6:37 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      They must have because today they were up and walking like usual πŸ™‚

      Still those flies are nothing compared to how it usually is here, that show a good fly day πŸ™‚

      The sandwiches were fine but it’ll be pancakes today πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 28, 2015 at 12:23 pm

  5. Christer, every time I read your blog and see the photo’s of the red buildings, I want our home painted in that exact color of red and trimmed in white. One day, I hope it will happen..but I won’t have all that many years to enjoy it so ..I feel in a rush to have it happen. Right now the home is white trimmed in red..but the red isn’t deep enough to suit me.
    I always thought that horses only lay down when they were ill..and I know there was always a rush to get them on their feet. But..these must have been only resting.. πŸ™‚
    I’m still taking a break from blogging..I need to get back in the saddle..(as they say) but so far am putting it off. See you on Friday!
    Mona

    July 27, 2015 at 9:22 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      That red color is called Falu red and it is as You know very common here πŸ™‚

      I thought so too! It is apparently the opposite πŸ™‚ They were up walking around this morning thankfully, I would have been worried if they had behaved the same way today too πŸ™‚

      One should never force blogging, it must feel fun to do it so take Your time!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 28, 2015 at 12:27 pm

  6. Hi Christer,

    I admire you so much for blogging as often as you do! You certainly deserve a break! When I saw the photo of the travel trailer, the first thing it reminded me of was a cold frame, a place to put seedlings and baby plants in during the spring to avoid having the frost kill them.

    I live next to a horse farm in the eastern US, and there is a pasture adjacent to this property where there are many old horses. Sometimes I have seen them lying down and thought they were dead or sick, but I think they just need to rest a lot because they are so old.

    Our baby Bluebirds have now left the nest. Yes, you were very intuitive about the timing of when they hatched. At first I was keeping their hatching a secret for fear of any of my neighbors disturbing the babies. Thank you for commenting on my blog, and I’m sorry I haven’t had a chance to respond to it yet.

    Have a great break from blogging and a wonderful remainder of your vacation!

    Adele

    July 29, 2015 at 8:40 am

    • Hi Adele!

      It’s no problem as long as it still is funny πŸ™‚ But it is important to take breaks every now and again.
      I doubt that they ever used that old trailer for that though πŸ™‚ I’m not sure I’ve ever met the owner of that property to be honest, from what I know they moved away not long after I moved here.

      I have seen the horses lying down before but not like this, they did look very dead πŸ™‚ Normally these horses come running to the fence when we pass by but this time they didn’t even look towards us πŸ™‚ They are up and walking around now though πŸ™‚

      I follow tYour Blue Birds with great interest! I am even thinking of putting up at least one nest the way You have too! The catsd here wouldn’t have any chance of getting even close to the nest if it is placed on a pole like that!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 30, 2015 at 10:05 am

  7. Love the photo of the sulky carriage and horse trough! One depends on the other, and both show they are used, not just for show.
    I’ve never seen horses lie down much. As kids in Texas, we were told that the only times were for giving birth and dying – glad to see your neighbors are doing well. Must be very peaceful ~

    July 29, 2015 at 2:06 pm

    • Hi Hermit’s sis!

      They do use that carriage and I hope I’ll be lucky enough to catch it all with my camera one day. They also have a big sled and that would be even cooler to photograph on a cold winters day πŸ™‚ I can’t pretend I long for a cold winters day but still πŸ™‚

      I’ve always been told horses only lay down like that if they are dying but it is nice to know that’s wrong πŸ™‚

      This place is so peacful that I sometimes wonder if I’m the only one alive here πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 30, 2015 at 10:09 am

  8. Christer,
    God! I could see all the flies and the poor dogs don’t have hats to wear. I remember them attacking one of my boxers and me shooing the flies away with the leash. They attacked me instead. I was in tears before I made it back to my car.

    Those two horses did look dead to me. They could be extras in just about any zombie movie.

    Taking a bit of a vacation from blogging is aways a good idea. I sometimes totally run out of things to talk about. My life isn’t really very exciting.

    The humidity continues. The weather is stifling, strangling. It never rains to break up the weather though it does in other parts of the state. All I want is one giant thunderstorm.

    Enjoy your vacation!

    July 30, 2015 at 11:04 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Still, that was a realtively fly free day πŸ™‚ These don’t bite though they just annoy me to insanity by trying to get inside my ears and nostrils πŸ™‚

      Thankfully both horses were up and walking the next time I passed by πŸ™‚ but I was sure they both had died when I saw them πŸ™‚

      Yes a vacation is needed every now and again. I had planned to do some thing but we’ve mostly had rain and some thunder here so nothing was done. High humidity here too but chilly and that is better than when it is hot πŸ™‚

      I’ll be back again later today πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 31, 2015 at 10:05 am

Leave a Reply

