I can not say I have not rested this vacation.

Growing on the beekeepers root cellar.

Growing on the beekeepers root cellar.

I had hoped I would be able to do a lot of things while being on a blog vacation but the weather hasn’t allowed any outside work and I didn’t receive the phone call I wanted either, I need new rims to my car so I don’t have to get the summer tires taken off so the winter tires can be put on. It is so much easier to have separate rims to them. I still hope for that call (from my work friend who has those rims and will help me to put on my summer tires on them) though because I don’t start working again until Monday.

 

Growing in my garden. The Siberian Hollyhock.

Growing in my garden. The Siberian Hollyhock.

Day lily.

Day lily.

Honeysuckle.

Honeysuckle.

I never remember the name on this one. Likes to grow where the ground is wet and spreads nicely if allowed.

I never remember the name on this one. Likes to grow where the ground is wet and spreads nicely if allowed.

It has been raining a lot here and thunder has been close even if it hasn’t been above my cottage. they believe that we’ll have much the same weather through August and that September might be warmer. Statistically it should be like that they say but I’m not sure statistics works any longer, the climate change sort of put all the old statistic in the garbage bin. Well I can’t say that I haven’t gotten enough rest this summer πŸ™‚ It is more or less the only thing I’ve been doing πŸ™‚

 

Bladder senna (Colutea arborescens).

Bladder senna (Colutea arborescens).

Cercis canadensis (eastern redbud). I've sown it myself and it is quite tiny yet.

Cercis canadensis (eastern redbud). I’ve sown it myself and it is quite tiny yet.

Autumn phlox.

Autumn phlox.

A honey bee visits my Aron's rod (verbascum chaxii )

A honey bee visits my Aron’s rod (verbascum chaxii )

We didn’t take any morning walk today, I was in no mood of walking in clouds of flies even if most of the biting ones are gone by now I still don’t like the others either πŸ™‚ I do wear my mosquito hat most of the time while being out on walks but I’m still rather tired of them now. The dogs didn’t seem to mind that we didn’t take any walk either, the kitchen door is open all day so they can always go out into the garden whenever they like to.

 

We actually got sun for almost an hour the other day.

We actually got sun for almost an hour the other day.

DSC_0087

DSC_0088

The colors on mushrooms aren't always water proof. This one was red before the rain started.

The colors on mushrooms aren’t always water proof. This one was red before the rain started.

My neighbor the farmer believes that I might have a badger’s set in my garden πŸ™‚ I have seen the paths it has made here and it has tried to dig a hole just beside my patio but gave up that idea rather quickly. I guess three dogs is a bit too much to have that close even if they wouldn’t harm it in any way πŸ™‚ I do have a lot of bushes covering those places it might choose as a new home so it is hard to see if it has dug a hole elsewhere in the garden. I’ll know better when winter comes.

 

DSC_0115

DSC_0116

DSC_0117

DSC_0118

I wouldn’t mind if it did chose my garden as a home as long as it doesn’t try to dig down beneath the cottage. So if I find that is has dug a hole in an appropriate place I’ll leave it alone, I’m pretty sure we’ll get along nicely as long as I can teach the dogs not to try to play with it πŸ™‚ Orvar tried that once and I can say the badger wasn’t happy at all πŸ™‚ It didn’t try to hurt Orvar because all it wanted to do was to get away from that crazy dog πŸ™‚ I’ll let You know if I find anything.

 

I would never have seen it if it hadn't landed on the pind while I was looking.

I would never have seen it if it hadn’t landed on the pind while I was looking.

DSC_0113

DSC_0119

DSC_0120

Himalayan Balsm (Impatiens glandulifera). It’s a beautiful weed that will suffocate any other plant trying to grow there it grows. It is an annual which would make it easy to get rid of one would think but it isn’t. It’s actually a road You’re looking at πŸ™‚

We think that my neighbor the Bee keeper’s bee hives will survive. The queens haven’t come back as far as I know but he thought he could see that new queens were growing so he moved some of those cells to the second bee hive. There will however be no honey produced this year, they barely have enough to survive a mild winter to be honest. He will of course give them food during the winter so they aren’t dependent on what they can scrape together thankfully. Still, I don’t think we’ve had such a good berry summer for ages. I’ll get more blueberries on one bush than I’ve gotten in total all three years I’ve had blueberry bushes in my garden πŸ™‚

 

This is the weather we mostly had this week.

This is the weather we mostly had this week.

DSC_0095

DSC_0097

It's a good year for thistles.

It’s a good year for thistles.

It is time to make a pot of tea and after that a nap I think. I’m hoping that they today have developed the four film rolls I mailed last Friday but it is vacation time so it might take some time more.

 

DSC_0101

DSC_0104

DSC_0106

DSC_0108

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. jaz

    that is a big troll spindle! we are still really hot and no rain in sight. i just watered again and i am really sick of it. when do you go back to work? do you think you will be adding to the pack anytime soon?

    July 31, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it is a big one but I just can’t find what it is called. It is one of our bigger though not the biggest.

      I haven’t had to water anything here for over a week now πŸ™‚

      I’ll start working on Monday even if I would win the big lottery this weekend, I have to work a month after giving notice πŸ™‚ No big chanse of that though πŸ™‚

      No I don’t think I’ll be adding to the pack anytime soon. It feels just fine having only three at the moment and I think Orvar need a bit of calm now when he’s getting old πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 31, 2015 at 2:53 pm

  2. Hi, Christer – After rain every single day in May, we are now in the throes of deep summer, with less than 1″ all of July, and 100 plus degrees. No end in sight. It’s also the hurricane season, and though it’s been predicted to be a mild one, we seem to always, here on the Texas Gulf Coast, get our worst in September and October. Fingers crossed it stays quiet.
    Love your photos – many of your flower pics have become the backgrounds for my computer … Thanks for those.

    July 31, 2015 at 1:52 pm

    • Hi Hermit’s sis!

      We haven’t even been close to any draught here this year, that’s why we have so many flies this summer. I can take a rainy summer if we at least didn’t have all these flies πŸ™‚ So a good draught in spring is the beat present we can get here πŸ™‚

      Your bad weather are so much nastier than ours! Yes we have storms every now and again but compared to what You can get ours is nothing. Our two worst storms just barely reached 1 on Your storm scale πŸ™‚ They created havoc here and You would most likely just have seen it as a windy day πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I holΓΆd my thumbs (as we do here for good luck) so You won’t get any nasty storms later this year.

      I’m glad You like my photos πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 31, 2015 at 2:59 pm

  3. I really really enjoyed your photos today, the mossy forest photos are my favorites if I had to choose, lol, but I do not,, I also love to see the dogs,, I wondered if a Badger would be viscous,,if they are something like our Martins, or our,Fisher, they are mean mean mean, lol,

    July 31, 2015 at 2:01 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m glad You like my photos ande I too like the forest ones best, I always do πŸ™‚

      The European badger is quite calm and the ones on the British isles is said to be even calmer and more social animals. In fact, badgers were until just recently the only wild animals that were allowed to have as pets.

      Our martins are too shy to get close to us humans but those who do come close can be a nuisance because they can just like raccoons get the idea to build homes in our attics and chimneys πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 31, 2015 at 3:03 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It’s been nothing but sun here. Sun, heat, humidity, more heat and humidity. Bleh. It finally rained a little last night and there was some thunder. The temperatures will be a little cooler and a little drier today but not by much. I’m kind of tired of being inside most of the time but it really is uncomfortably hot and wet out there. Even the dogs are not happy with it.

    Lovely troll spindle.

    Definitely republican bees.

    Vacations are for resting up. Sounds as though you have had a very good one. I hope you hear from your rims and your film before the vacation ends.

    Enjoy the day.

    July 31, 2015 at 2:09 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I envy You Your sunshine but not the rest πŸ™‚ We actually have a thunderstorm passing by to the west of us right now. It doesn’t move especially much so I can hear it all the time but not see it. No rain today though, feels strange πŸ™‚

      I was luckyto see where it landed! I wonder how many of them I miss every day when out walking? I do look everywhere but never see any πŸ™‚

      Yes I lean towards that too πŸ™‚ If something goes wrong now the beekeeper will try to buy at least one new queen.

      I would have said that I’ve had a rather good vacation if it hadn’t been for the flies, they tend to destroy even the best of days here. We need a good draught here every spring to keep the numbers down and we haven’t even been close to that this year.

      I hear the thunder is moving closer now and I have the real time lightning site open and can see how the lightning hits the bog now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      July 31, 2015 at 3:10 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Good to hear you’ve had a restful vacation – that’s what they are all about! πŸ™‚ Great pictures today – my favorite is the one of the mushroom laying on its side. Really good!! We have had an outstanding crop for raspberries this year – I think this is the best year for us for them. They are pretty much done now – the birds have discovered them and picked away here and there. But that’s ok, I fed ourselves and my good neighbors so I am happy! Its a long weekend for us here with Monday off. We are heading out to our cottage tomorrow so I shall be off the grid for the weekend. I like that!!! πŸ™‚ We have been having a couple of decent days of weather, I was even able to shut our air conditioning off which makes me more happy! I hate wasting electricity and having fake cold air all the time, but I sure do appreciate it when it hits 40 celcius! I am a walking contradiction most of the time anyway! πŸ™‚ Have a good evening!!!!

    July 31, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes they are but I did need some good weather this year so I could fix some things while I had lots of time. Well I still have lots of time until winter hits, I hope πŸ™‚

      The raspberries are just starting to ripe here now. I actually have plenty on the bushes growing in my garden, too bad they don’t taste that nice πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but there are plenty of wild ones everywhere here so I can pick as much as I want if I want to.

      I still need to have at least one radiator going to keep the humidity out of my cottage. Can’t remember when I had to have that the last time. I can fully understand why You have the AC unit going when it is that hot πŸ™‚

      Have a great time at the cottage!

      Christer.

      July 31, 2015 at 3:15 pm

  6. suz

    wow. this is an extra-fabulous bunch of photos today – the color saturation is always so good, and i melt for orange tabbies. is your yellow-flowering plant that doesn’t mind damp feet a ligularia? that’s what it looks like here, a large-leaf clumping plant that shoots up yellow spires like that in late summer. it has “the rocket” for a nickname.
    suz in ohio

    July 31, 2015 at 9:29 pm

    • Hi Suz!

      I’m glad You like my photos πŸ™‚ and it is something special with orange cats πŸ™‚

      Yes You are absolutely right about the flower, it is a Ligularia przewalskii. For some reason that name always slip out of my mind πŸ™‚ It’s really too dry here so that is one of the few plants I actually water when we have a dry spell here. Both I and the bees like it a lot. Thanks!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 1, 2015 at 5:32 am

Leave a Reply

