Getting back in old habits again.

You thought there were lots of flies around Sune the other day. That was a good day, this is how it usually is like on bad days :-)

You thought there were lots of flies around Sune the other day. That was a good day, this is how it usually is like on bad days πŸ™‚

Last day before going back to work again so I started to go back in to old habits too. The laundry is done and the dinner for next week is done as well. It’ll be something like pulled pork (it’s ham though πŸ™‚ ) and this time I could use some of my own grown vegetables, like red onions and small squash’s πŸ™‚ I could have taken a few broccoli buds too but I still have very few of them and I want my carrots to grow some more before I start using them.

 

I didn't takje especially many photos this morning, so lots of them are from yesterday afternoon.

I didn’t takje especially many photos this morning, so lots of them are from yesterday afternoon.

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

We’ll have a semi sunny day here today but a bit chilly perhaps, the warm weather will arrive tomorrow (is anyone surprised πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ) It’ll only last for two days though but it does feel like the weather is mocking me πŸ™‚ I really dislike starting up the workplace after our vacations because there’s always something that goes wrong. Last summer someone had shut down a few things that isn’t supposed to be shut down, ever. So it took almost half a day to get things running again πŸ™‚ This year I’m not even sure how many of us that is supposed to come back after the vacation, some have still one week left before they have to start working.

 

DSC_0026

This flag has something to do with the region I'm living in and the EU. I've only seen it around here to be honest and I found out it had something to do with the EU.

This flag has something to do with the region I’m living in and the EU. I’ve only seen it around here to be honest and I found out it had something to do with the EU.

DSC_0043

But I still have today and today I’ll go to the annual plant swapping day. I have fewer plants that usual with me because so much that I’ve sown are late because of the rather chilly weather we’ve had this July. The strange thing is that I this year will get lots more ripe tomatoes than last year even if the days are cooler and less sunny. I guess our relatively warm nights might have helped me with that. I’m pretty sure I won’t get any pumpkins though, none of the four plants I have haven’t even started to flower yet.

 

DSC_0020

Autumn is on ts way, red elderberry berries.

Autumn is on ts way, red elderberry berries.

DSC_0022

Nova is sleeping in the sunshine on the kitchen stairs and sounds as if she was suffering bad πŸ™‚ She sounds like thatΒ when she’s enjoying life but it did scare me the first time I heard it because I couldn’t figure out what was wrong πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Old Erna had just the exact same sound, otherwise all my dogs have been quiet if they enjoyed a moment in the sun or what ever it was they liked at the moment. Cats are easier that way, the purring sort of shows pretty clear what they feel πŸ™‚ (ok, I know they can do that when they are really afraid too but if they are it’s easy to see as well πŸ™‚ ).

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

I could mow the lawn today but it won’t run away if I don’t πŸ™‚ if the predictions are right the grass will have dried up rather well until tomorrow afternoon and perhaps even better until the day after and it is always easier to mow dry grass. The last days raining is still caught in the grass and the morning dew just made it even wetter. I better wait another day I think πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

It is time for a pot of tea and after that a walk I think. The plant swapping day won’t start until later this afternoon.

 

DSC_0037

This is one of those potted roses one can buy everyb winter. They are much hardier than one might think and this one has been growing in my garden for years.

This is one of those potted roses one can buy everyb winter. They are much hardier than one might think and this one has been growing in my garden for years.

DSC_0045

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. jaz

    i would have to move out of the country if i had flies like that! so, it is back to work? it seems like you have been off forever. we still have had no rain here. my peppers are doing great but other things, not so much. my workmen knocked one of my 2 apples off of my tree….grrrrrr!!! i will be happy for this summer to be over for more than one reason!

    August 2, 2015 at 1:06 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’s nothing like this in the bigger villages, towns and cities though but this is the price one has to pay when loving to live close to a bog πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ This never happens if we get a dryspell or draught in spring though. Unfortunately this will mean we’ll have an awful lot of moose flies if it hasn’t been to chilly for those to develop into flies, that’s what I am hoping for because it has been too cold for the mosquitoes πŸ™‚

      I’m surprised over how ell things grow here! and I too would be rather angry if they had knocked of half my apples.

      Have a great day despite it all!

      Christer.

      August 2, 2015 at 5:21 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I agree that it would be much better, on your last day of vacation, if you left the lawn for a day or two. If you’re going to have to work, you may as well wait until you’re back at work officially. πŸ™‚

    That’s a lot of flies. Especially if they are the biting variety. In spring, there are often swarms of small midges or gnats that congregate around the lake shore. I feel as though I should hold my breathe when I walk through them because they certainly are small enough to be inhaled without any problem. Yet I see people walking right through the clouds of bugs without hesitating as if they don’t believe the bugs are actually there. More likely the people just don’t notice them. Too busy staring at their phones or Fitbit watches. πŸ™‚

    Maybe the EU flag says your regional cow pastures can have trees in them. πŸ™‚

    I just purchased another orchid. It’s a tan striped one. Very tiny. They planted it in a small votive candle holder which they then suspended in a large glass hurricane lantern which has sand and sea shells decoratively placed in the bottom. Quite nice for 9 dollars American. πŸ™‚ Of course, since the shells and sand are not glued down, my moving has screwed the decorative placement of same. πŸ™‚ The orchid is cute, though. It says to put one ice cube in it every week. There’s not enough room for the ice cube. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the plant swap.

    August 2, 2015 at 5:33 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes why destroy the last day with boring work πŸ™‚ I’m back from the plant swapping day and we were all sitting outside enjoying the day when the heaven suddenly opened up. It was just a nice drizzle at first but I got quite wet in the end. Just as we were going tonstart the plant swapping the clouds broke up and the sun started to shine πŸ™‚

      We’ve had even more flies really bad years πŸ™‚ Most biting ones are gone now though but the moose fly serason will start soon I’m afraid. Midges here are noticed no matter what one concentrates on, they bite a lot. They are so tiny though that it feels like one is getting burned and then the blood starts running becaus they do bite. Now days they don’t bite me but I can feel how they crawl in my hair and on my forehead πŸ™‚

      A friend of mine said that they either have changed the rules or will about how many trees we are allowed to have in our pastures πŸ™‚ I guess they found out how well orchids grow in our pastures and it is forbidden to destroy any orchid habitat πŸ™‚

      Ice cube on a orchid?? Never heard of that but I understand what they mean, one ice cube will be enough water for the plant as it slowly melts away. But what kind of orchid likes that? Ice cubes are usually the same size everywhere so I wonder what ice cubes they are thinking of πŸ™‚ You must post a photo so I can see it πŸ™‚ I sort of have problems visualizing how it all looks like πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 2, 2015 at 5:50 pm

      • Caryn

        It’s a new fad for easy care orchids. We can buy them for cheap in the grocery store now. The easy care part is the ice cube and they reckon one ice cube is about a teaspoon and a half of water. I guess someone figured out that putting an ice cube on there once a week is much better for the orchid than having dummies watering it to death. The purple dyed one I have says to put the pot in a bowl of water for 5 minutes once a week, drain it and put it back in its place. Someone else told me to put three ice cubes in that one and it will be happy. I noticed today that I hadn’t watered it at all in a few weeks and it had dropped a leaf. I gave it three ice cubes from my iced coffee. I’m sure it was grateful. πŸ™‚
        I’ll try to take a photo of that little orchid before it goes belly up. πŸ™‚

        August 2, 2015 at 8:24 pm

      • I looked at the link You posted and it is odd that it can manage that cold water. It’s a phalaenopsis hybrid and even if they are the easiest plants one can have they usually don’t like cold water at all. But it isn’t dyed, it actually looks like that πŸ™‚ I guess it is because it is so small that it needs water that often, my yellow one only get water once a month πŸ™‚
        Don’t cut of the stalk after the last flower is gone if it still is green and give it lukewarm water because it might give plenty more flowers on that stalk later on.

        August 3, 2015 at 5:07 pm

      • Caryn

        Here are some pictures of the little orchid. Hope the link works. It’s Flickr. Not always a guarantee.

        DSC09793

        August 3, 2015 at 3:57 pm

      • Beautiful little orchid and as I wrote earlier it isn’t dyed, it actually looks like that πŸ™‚

        August 3, 2015 at 5:15 pm

  3. I would not want to live near a bog if those flies are part of the price to pay, Christer. I have enough problems with mosquitoes biting whenever I am outside as we have been several evenings this week. I agree that the grass cutting can definitely wait until later in the week and that you took the time to enjoy your final vacation day. Please do show us any plants you got at the plant swap. If those were raspberries in the last photo, I am so envious as they are quite costly in the grocery store. But today we went to the farmers market and bought fresh blueberries, so I have some consolation and we also bought several ripe peaches.

    August 3, 2015 at 1:47 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It has probably been to chilly for the mosquitoes because we have almost no around this summer πŸ™‚ Too bad it wasn’t too cold for the flies πŸ™‚

      I’ll take photos of what I brought home later this week but I did take a few of the garden I visited. Not as many as I had hoped because the weather suddenly turned rather bad for a while πŸ™‚

      Those are wild raspberries and it’s a long time since there were so many. I could easily pick a few gallons if I wanted too and that’s only on one of the raods I always walk on πŸ™‚ They are a bit small but delicious! The blueberries are ripe in the forests they say but the ones on my own bushes still have at least a week until I can pick those.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 3, 2015 at 5:11 pm

  4. Christer,
    I would never leave my house if we had flies like that. I guess I’d have to screen my deck.

    It is still hot and humid. I have the AC cranking for the fifth or sixth day in a row. I did try not to need it, but my house got warm very quickly: up 5 degrees in less than an hour. Later in the week is supposed to be cooler. I hope so.

    We still have no rain. It has been weeks since we had a decent amount of rain. I think maybe at the end of the week but I’m skeptical. The breeze was nice today but it was quite humid again. This has been a bad week.

    I hope you are not too traumatized by going back to work!

    August 3, 2015 at 1:55 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It is worse where the ground is more wet though so there are less flies in my garden that what You see in that photo thankfully. Still plenty more than what You would like I think πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Sunny and warm today so I turned off the radiators this morning and tonight I’ll have the windows open again πŸ™‚ Heavy showers and thunder is supposed to roll in on Wednesday though.

      It was better than I thought going back to work again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 3, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Leave a Reply

