A bit too warm :-)

We had a really nice morning here but no fog as we had yesterday.

We had a really nice morning here but no fog as we had yesterday.

It is hot today! Two days ago it barely reached 18C (64,4F), today it reached 29C (84,2F). It isn’t nice at all but thankfully the humidity still is rather low and a breeze helps us to manage this temperature swing. They have predicted thunder for tonight so I thought the flies would be more nasty than usual but they didn’t even care about me in those places the wind didn’t reach. I wonder if it is too early to hope that their season is over now?

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0038

 

The morning walk took a bit longer than usual because it grows raspberry bushes all the way down and I had to try the berries on each and every bush we passed. This part ofbthe road is over 200 meters (much the same in yards).

The morning walk took a bit longer than usual because it grows raspberry bushes all the way down and I had to try the berries on each and every bush we passed. This part of the road is over 200 meters (much the same in yards).

DSC_0029

 

The temperature will drop down to 20C (68F) already tomorrow and it will stay around that for the rest of the week but we all know how well they predict the weather here so who knows what it really will be like πŸ™‚ I was thinking about making a peach cobbler after work today but it’s just too warm to start the oven now, so I’ll make it tomorrow instead.

 

DSC_0032

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

The dogs prefer to stay where the wind reach them so Nova and Sune have been sleeping in the shadow on the south side of the cottage since they had their dinner and Orvar indoors where the wind blows from upstairs down to the kitchen door. I have no idea where the cats are but they are most likely sleeping under a bush or something, they didn’t even have the energy to eat anything this afternoon πŸ™‚

DSC_0040

I couldn't see any but it smelled lots of moose here.

I couldn’t see any but it smelled lots of moose here.

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

It is time to harvest broccoli now, there isn’t much to harvest to be honest but I have waited too long some years so they instead of producing more flowered. I wonder if I can do anything with the broccoli leafs? There are lots of them and I guess they can be edible too, the stem is so why not the leafs? Do anyone of You know?

 

The last photos from the plant swapping day.

The last photos from the plant swapping day.

DSC_0040

DSC_0045

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

I work different hours this week, we’re only four people working in my department this week so we now work from 7 am to 4 pm except for Friday when I start a bit earlier to clean the painting box and stop working around 2 pm. It feels like I’m going home an hour earlier every day now but I think those two hours I will work longer on Friday will feel like an entire week πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0050

The pond is huge and I think it is full with cray fish, something we Swedes love.

The pond is huge and I think it is full with cray fish, something we Swedes love.

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

It is time to make something to eat and after that I think I’ll fall asleep in front of the tv πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0047

10 responses

  1. Hi Christer,

    We are having very un July weather,cool,windy overcast and to tease us all here in my neck of the woods,the sun appears briefly at around 5pm and goes again. This time last year it was hot and wall to wall sunshine here for over two weeks.

    Love your photos as ever.

    I hope Friday goes quicker than you think it will.

    Lesley

    August 4, 2015 at 6:05 pm

    • Hi Lesley!

      Yes, we’re having just the same odd weather here but the sun seems to stay longer when it finally shows πŸ™‚
      I’m not sure I want it as warm as it was last year though πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I hope that Friday will pass fast too but I doubt it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 4, 2015 at 8:04 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We have turned the coin totally and are now cool and cloudy. Such strange weather. One week we are boiling, the next under sweaters! But I am certainly not complaining about this weather – I love it! We are supposed to get storms tomorrow. We shall see about that! πŸ™‚ I have never grown broccoli so I can’t say whether or not you can eat the leaves, I know you can eat the stalks as in chinese cooking…but not sure about leaves. Hopefully someone knows…My hours of work are 7-3 every day….by Friday it feels to me like I have worked twice that amount!! πŸ™‚ Your photos are lovely this post! My son is slowly getting a handle on his new camera, he bought a tripod and we were hoping to go out last night after the cottage and get some good photos of the moon, but sadly she was rising at almost 11 p.m…..way too late for me to be up for sure! We will try for next month….you should have seen him Friday night trying for pictures. He had a patio chair set up on our deck, as he stood on that he had the tripod on our recycling wheelie bin for stability. I am sure if the neighbors looked out they would have wondered what this kid was doing. It was funny. Have a good evening!!

    August 4, 2015 at 6:16 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      If at least the temperatures didn’t jump up and down like this πŸ™‚ I must admit that I’m looking forward to the more cool weather tomorrow πŸ™‚

      I grow broccoli every now and again and it always worls best on cooler summers, they tend to start to flower if it is hot. I saw that Caryn had info about how to use the leafs so I think I might try it since I’ll use most of the rest of the plant πŸ™‚

      I stop working at 12 every fridy so it will feel as if the day never ends thius friday but then again, I’m home one hour earlier than normal the rest of the week πŸ™‚

      Tripods are so helpful when taking photos at night πŸ™‚ I tried to use all kinds of things to lean the camera towards what part of the sky I was interested in before I got my tripods, with a very unsure outcome πŸ™‚ The first tripod I got is too weak but this second one I just bought is just perfect, steady and heavy so perhaps a bit much if just going out for a walk but it needs a big storm to move it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 4, 2015 at 8:11 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Yes the leaves of broccoli are edible. Here’s some more information; http://gardenmentors.com/garden-help/grow-your-own-food/how-to-harvest-eat-your-broccoli-leaves-recipe/

    Raspberries here went by a few weeks ago but there will be another smaller crop later on. Not on the wild ones but on the cultivated ones. The wild ones don’t go by so much as they get eaten by everything that finds them. πŸ™‚

    There were thunderstorms early this morning but none came close to me. Just some rain. It didn’t cool anything off. I went out at 6:30AM with the dogs and it was very humid. I had to take them out again a couple of hours later because Piki Dog didn’t get all his stuff done. The sun had come out from behind the storm clouds by then and it was nasty hot and humid. We were out for a long while because I stopped to chat with a neighbor. Just being outside doing nothing made me sweat like a horse. So happy to get back in the AC and this is where I shall stay. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the evening.

    August 4, 2015 at 6:43 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Thanks for the link! I’ve read it and I’ll use the leafs when ever I want some broccoli taste in my food.

      I haven’t checked my garden raspberries yet, some started to ripen before the weekend so I might have some there too πŸ™‚ Everything is late here so it isn’t until now the wild ones are ripe too. My blueberries still need a week or two before I can pick them.

      I checked the real time lightning map this morning and saw that Kat had a really bad thunderstorm where she lives but I wasn’t sure exactly where You live, can’t find Your town on that map. But I thought that since there were so much thunder around You too must have some too πŸ™‚ Hot and humid is the worst of weathers! so I can understand how it felt coming in to the cool air in Your home again πŸ™‚ Now You know how I have it at work πŸ™‚ Hot from the huge ovens and washing machine and lots of humidity from the washing machine πŸ™‚ It’s nice during winter but now in an even cool summer it’s quite nasty πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 4, 2015 at 8:19 pm

      • Caryn

        I’m about 13 miles north of Boston Massachusetts and a lot farther north and west of Kat. A few thunderstorm cells passed through but nothing very bad. There was a brief period of some very strong winds and rain. My tv went out but not the internet service. It all comes through the same wires so I don’t know what happened. It’s fine now. Someone photographed rotational movement in clouds overhead and there was a microburst in Kat’s old hometown which borders my town. That’s about it. The severe weather watch will be coming off in a few minutes. I need to take the dogs out for the last evening walk.

        August 5, 2015 at 12:58 am

      • NOw I know where to look at when storms arrive next time πŸ™‚ I did look west though but too much south I guess.

        The thunder never arrived here and I don’t think we got especially much rain either

        Bertil almost took a magpie right now and the magpies are so angry now πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        August 5, 2015 at 4:44 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    I left the windows and doors opened today just to air out the house. Luckily there was a nice breeze so it didn’t get too hot. Tonight, though, I’ll have to turn on the air in my bedroom.

    The storms today did not hit the Cape but Boston and the area around had a terrible storm with so many lightning strikes, huge balls of hail, golf ball size, and 2 inches of rain in less than an hour. There were even tornado warnings. We got dark and grey but didn’t get rain.

    Tomorrow will be warm but after that the days will be in the 70’s. I’m looking forward to that.

    Have a great evening!

    August 4, 2015 at 10:59 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It has been a rather nice day here but not even close to how nice they predicted it to be. I don’t mind though since I’m working again πŸ™‚

      The thunder missed us totally last night, none at work had heard or seen anything so I slept like a baby until the alarm woke me up this morning.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 5, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Leave a Reply

