I think their season is at its end now.

Taken from my window upstairs this morning.

Taken from my window upstairs this morning.

It has been a rather warm and nice day again, I’m not surprised after all I am working all day now 🙂 But the good thing is that the weekend will be rather nice too and that means I need to mow the lawn even if I really don’t want to. The only reason I do it is because there will be less tics in the garden if I do. We have plenty around as it is anyway 🙂

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

There are less flies around now 🙂 We still have plenty enough anyway but just knowing that their season is coming to its end makes us all happy here. We need a long dry period in spring so most fly larvae dies to get a reasonable fly free summer, still You would probably think it would be nasty to be here anyway 🙂

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0043

I met the hunters when we were out walking this afternoon and they told me that there will be even more signs by the roads when they start hunting again and it seems they mostly have been thinking of me! They know that I’m always out there somewhere so now there will be no risk what so ever that I’ll walk in to any area they will be hunting in. I told them that the risk was very little anyway since I’m up and out walking long before they even get close to the forest 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

I ate my first big carrot yesterday 🙂 I’ve sown orange, red and white ones and this was an orange one and very tasty. I also harvested the first broccoli yesterday, just a few (what Do You call it? bouquets?) but that will make them want to produce more. I’ve already harvested some of the red onions last week but there will be more this weekend. I’ve also had many of my tomatoes on my sandwiches and I can’t remember when I could pick tomatoes this early before.

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

It is time to make one or two of those sandwiches now and I think there are a few tomatoes I can have today too 🙂

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We are under cloud and mist today. We had such a good rain yesterday, I hope what’s left in my gardens appreciated it! I fear we will start to see more cooler temps come our way too, which makes me happy and I hope it will get rid of some of our flies too. I think you call the bunches of broccoli that are harvested florets. That’s what the stores here call them….or crowns. Either or I am sure people would know what you mean. I have injured one of my fingers so its rather hard to type. I will sign off hoping your evening is lovely. Love the mushroom pics today!

    August 6, 2015 at 6:07 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It feels like I’m walking in a steam bath today but I refuse to complain 🙂 The flies ahev calmed down here so I do hope they will over at Yours too!

      Bunches sounds right and I think I might have heard that before but I’m not sure, I’ll use that in the future anyway 🙂

      One never really understand how much one need all fingers until one is injured 🙂 I do hope You’ll get better soon!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 7, 2015 at 5:00 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Glad to hear that fly season is almost over for you. Mosquito season is still in full force here. Nasty buggers. 🙂

    I love the combination of orange butterflies on purple fuzzy plants. I saw my first butterfly that looked like a butterfly yesterday. It was something that tries to look like a monarch butterfly. American Lady or Queen or Viceroy. There have been butterfly-like things flitting around but they were probably winter moths or gypsy moths. They don’t light long enough to see. 🙂

    You should encourage the hunters for putting up more signs. Train them in the way they should go. Like children and puppies and horses. 🙂

    Today is beautiful. Just warm enough, lots of sun, a light breeze and little humidity. Perfect.

    Enjoy your day.

    August 6, 2015 at 6:25 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      There’s still plenty to spare but it is a big difference now, only small clouds around us today 🙂 We’ve had very few mosquitoes here and I hope it will stay that way and I do hope the summer has been too caold for the moose fly larvae. We’ve had lots of butterflies since early spring, the early ones were the ones that hibernated during winter though.

      I’m just happy that the new hunters in this group actually have started to put up signs at all, they never did that before. These seems easy to train since they even put up more signs than I could have hoped 🙂

      Hot and humid here today, not nice at all but I refuse to complain 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 7, 2015 at 5:05 pm

  3. jaz

    i don’t remember you ever having this much of a harvest before. the painters are still here painting. well, they will be for almost 2 more months. teddy has finally figured it out and when she wants to go out my husband puts her leash on and she heads straight to the garden at the other house. it is working out nicely if that is possible. i love the mushroom photos!

    August 6, 2015 at 7:15 pm

    • HI Joyce!

      You’re right, this is probably the best year so far here. The place I lived in before had a much better climate zone so I always got big and early harvests there.

      Two more months! I would go crazy if I had painters around my home for such a long time 🙂

      I’m glad it works fine with Teddy! Mydogs would probably just try to spend as much time as possible with the painters, just in case they would get a treat 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 7, 2015 at 5:08 pm

  4. Christer,
    I have a panini machine, and I love tomatoes and cheese sandwiches melted by the machine. Our local tomatoes will be here soon. Mine are already finished but they were cherry tomatoes.

    Today was glorious, and the weather is supposed to be as good for the rest of the week. The nights will be in the 60’s. The humidity has disappeared, much like your flies. I was happy to see it go.

    I’m glad you’ll all be safe from the hunters.

    Have a great evening!

    August 6, 2015 at 11:18 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I have a too small one myself so I don’t use mine that much but I have an old electric grill that works fine even if it isn’t the same. I don’t think they have any local tomatoes here, the closest tomato growers is several miles away and those tomatoes won’t reach this part of the region I’m afraid. So I hope my plants will give me lots to enjoy 🙂

      Hot and humid here today, not nice at all but I refuse to complain 🙂 Still lots of flies around but still so much fewer than it was before. I can honestly say I don’t miss anyone of them 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 7, 2015 at 5:12 pm

  5. Det låter så mysigt med dina odlingar! Här har jag endast en jättekruka med 3 tomatplantor, alla körsbärstomater fast i olika färg; röda, svarta och orange. Har lyckats hitta 3 pyttesmå orange….. 😦
    Vädret är otroligt varmt och fuktigt just nu, men det blir nog torrare framåt dagen – hoppas jag. för mig är det enormt jobbigt med värme beroende på mina läckande hål i magen. 😦 😦
    Annars gillar jag värmen! 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    August 7, 2015 at 7:51 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det går ovanligt bra med mina grönsaker i år, allt är mycket tidigare än normalt trots att det inte direkt varit toppenväder 🙂

      Jag har funderat på hur du skulle klara varmt och fuktigt väder, antar att denna relativt kyliga sommar har varit bra för dig med tanke på läckaget. Jag hoppas verkligen läkningen sätter fart snart!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      August 7, 2015 at 5:15 pm

  6. Glad to hear your flies are almost done, Christer. Still hot here and getting hotter. Will be over 100 F, with “feels like” temps of 110 or so for the next 2 weeks. And nice that the hunters are watching out for you and yours. Sounds like good neighbors to me.
    Enjoy your coolness …

    August 7, 2015 at 1:25 pm

    • Hi Hemit’s Sis!

      I am too 🙂 but we still have those nasty moose flies to expect but I’m hoping that it has been a bit too chilly for those larvae to survive and become flies. Hope is tha last thing to leave as You know 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Hot and humid here today, Scandinavian hot that is 🙂 You would most likely think it’s a cool summers day here 🙂 🙂 I’m not sure I would survive You temperatures to be honest 🙂

      Yes it is nice that they think of us living close to where they hunt! I live in the best of neighborhoods 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 7, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Leave a Reply

