It wasn’t as bad as it sounded.

My Hollyhocks.

My Hollyhocks.

It did feel like I worked an extra day when I had to keep working to two pm instead of going home at noon as I always do on Fridays ๐Ÿ™‚ It wasn’t so much that I had to work but because it is a hot and awfully humid day. That is Scandinavian hot so itย has beenย around 28C (82,4 F). The heat is easy to take but not the humidity, it feels like walking in a steam bath. But I will not complain, we’ve had such a chilly summer so any day with warm weather is welcome ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0021

Rosa rugosa.

Rosa rugosa.

My Lime tree has been flowering all summer.

My Lime tree has been flowering all summer.

We went out to the bog when I came home and a weak wind did its best to keep us a bit cooler but the most surprising thing was that as soon as we came out to the bog the flies vanished. There were some annoying us on the way but out there they were gone ๐Ÿ™‚ If I now only can get the flies in my cottage to go outside to die too I would be happy ๐Ÿ™‚ Not a single bird sings now, instead the grasshoppers and katydids have taken over. It is amazing how these small insects can sound so much ๐Ÿ™‚ I like it a lot though and I’ll fall asleep to the sound tonight since the katydids sit in the big lilacs just outside my bedroom window.

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

DSC_0030

Yesterday morning when I almost had reached my work place I could hear a strange sound from the back of my car. I couldn’t figure out what it was so I didn’t care about it too much. On my way home however it sounded much more and even if the sound didn’t fit I thought it might be a wheel bearing that slowly was giving up. It sounded really bad from time to time but that was nothing to how it sounded when I started driving on the gravel road here in the village. Wheel bearings usually takes its time before it gives up so the sound can be heard for a long time so I was surprised that it was giving up that fast.

 

Life is wonderful when chewing a stick after bathing in the bog :-)

Life is wonderful when chewing a stick after bathing in the bog ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

So I started to wonder if I prehaps had driven over something that had been caught and was dragged along with the car. It turns out that it is a plastic belt that holds the petrol tank in place. Well to be honest, it is one of the things that holds it in place. I tried to move it both yesterday and this morning but it was impossible, thankfully ๐Ÿ™‚ So I called the garage and they’ll take my car next Thursday. They’ll also fix some other small things before I need to go to the annual vehicle inspection in September (and check if there’s anything else that needs to be fixed). It’s only one person there because they too have vacation this time of year ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

 

My closest boss didn’t work this week and the factory owner was on vacation too so I just put a big note up on the factory owners desk telling him that I must stay at home Thursday and Friday next week since they aren’t sure that my car will be ready to leave the garage already on Thursday afternoon, it isn’t easy to estimate how long time all the other jobs will take when it’s only one person working.

 

In my garden now: I sowed over 30 seeds of this low growing sunflower, one plant is the result :-)

In my garden now: I sowed over 30 seeds of this low growing sunflower, one plant is the result ๐Ÿ™‚

Illiamna remota.

Illiamna remota.

Berkheya purpurea.

Berkheya purpurea.

The last flower on the wild rose the birds refuse to eat the hips during winter. It has flowered for over a month now.

The last flower on the wild rose the birds refuse to eat the hips during winter. It has flowered for over a month now.

It’s time to drink something cool and perhaps have a chocolate covered Dinosaur cookie or two ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. jaz

    hi christer! your hollyhocks are wonderful. i can’t get them to grow here. i don’t have enough sun. my gardens are so strange. i was out front this morning. that is the highest point on this mountain. it was so windy it blew the door out of my hand and i thought it might blow teddy away. i went out the back door and not a leaf was moving. the back is a bit lower and behind the house so there was no wind at all. you have so many beautiful flowers. i planted sunflowers and they are just about to produce flowers. hope everything gets fixed easily on your car! joyce

    August 7, 2015 at 7:23 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do like my hollyhocks :-9 and yes they do need lots of sun and after a few years different funguses attack them so they look miserable :-9

      It’s fantastic that it can be such a difference with the wind. I live in a hollow so most wind flies above my home but my closest neighbors cottage is placed higher and is hit by all winds. Thankfully it takes most storms so my home is wind free ๐Ÿ™‚

      It is so strange, even if we haven’t had many warm days this summer even the most fragile flowers flower this year ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess our warmer nights have helped them to flower this year. I have however very few sunflowers thi summer, last year I had almost twenty this year I think I have two ๐Ÿ™‚

      It shouldn’t be any problems fixing those car problems, as long as he doesn’t find any more ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 7, 2015 at 8:36 pm

  2. Underbara bilder som vanligt – och kul att ditt Lime Tree har blommat sรฅ mycket. Blir det nรฅgra frukter…..!?
    KRAM
    Susie

    August 7, 2015 at 8:21 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Lite tidigt att veta om det blir nรฅgra frukter, mรฅnga kart finns det men det brukar falla av massor nรคr jag plockar in den fรถr vintern igen.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      August 7, 2015 at 8:37 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    You’re one sunflower ahead of me. I sowed a whole packet along the end of my driveway and put a temporary fence at one side to remind me they were there. They were about 5 inches tall when the lawn crew weed whacked them. I can’t blame them too much because I didn’t make an actual flower bed. I just dug up a space and planted things in it. It looked a lot like weedy grass.

    A chocolate covered dinosaur cookie? You went shopping. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Car inspection comes around so fast. I thought you had just had one. I just had one back in May and I’m already thinking the next one is awfully close. It’s a fall and winter away. Too soon! : I hope they have all the things you need and that there isn’t anything additional to be fixed.

    Today was another perfect day here. Sunny, warm but not too warm, a light breeze and low humidity. I would love for summer to be like this every day.

    Enjoy the day and the dino cookie.

    August 7, 2015 at 9:51 pm

    • hI cARYN!

      The lawn crew doesn’t seem to know a lot about plants ๐Ÿ™‚ A 5 inches high sunflowers is after all easy to see what it is ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I did spread a lot of the sunflower seeds I give to the birds every winter and they tend to grow good but not this year. I thought a mild winter would make it even easier for them to germinate!

      Yes I bought them on my way home ๐Ÿ™‚ There were other dinosaur cookies without chocolate but why would I want those when there are those with chocolate ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes time just flies by! A year has passed by the last of September and that’s the same date I have this year. I usually don’t think about it again until they send out the notice and that’s usually in early spring. Even if they don’t build SAAB any longer it stillis one of the most common cars here so there are lots of spare parts so that is no problem, I just hope they can’t find anything more ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 8, 2015 at 7:45 am

  4. Hi Christer,

    I had the same tank strap problem with my little Fiat Uno a few years ago.The garage man fitted two new straps.The flapping strap kept slapping against the tank which was annoying,not to mention the possibility of the second strap breaking. I no longer have my Uno,it lasted for twenty seven years after having a new gear box and younger son passed his driving test in it. It was a family member,almost:)

    I have pink hollyhocks flowering at the moment,yours are looking good.I grow them because they remind me of my late father in law who in his later years kept mistaking his foxgloves for hollyhocks.

    Hope you have a great weekend.
    Love your canine photos by the way,which of your companions is it,I get confused:)

    Lesley

    August 7, 2015 at 9:52 pm

    • Hi Lesley!

      Fiat isn’t know for making cars with a high quality but those Unos were just fantastic! I know several that had one and they just kept on going. My mother had one and the only reason it didn’t keep on going was because she crashed it, not because the car broke down by itself ๐Ÿ™‚
      It was a very annoying sound ๐Ÿ™‚ and I just couldn’t figure out what it was ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      My grandmother (on my mother’s side) always grew holly hocks but she wanted the red filled ones :-)They unfortunately get attacked by funguses too easily here by the bog but I like all hollyhocks ๐Ÿ™‚

      That is Sune in those photos, he’s the only one that loves to take a bath ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 8, 2015 at 7:50 am

  5. Christer,
    I hate it when something goes wrong with my car. I am completely lost and have little idea what happened.

    My hollyhocks are also in bloom, and they are beautiful. I also have several other plants about to open. I have no idea what they are, just that they are tall. My day lilies still have some flowers but most are gone. My black-eyed Susans are also in bloom. They were one of my mother’s favorite flowers.

    We were the coolest place in the state today by about 5 degrees. I don’t mind at all. Tonight will be cool, always good for sleeping. The rest of the week should be nice, in the 70’s.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    August 7, 2015 at 11:23 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I’ve built cars from scratch so to speak and I still have no clue to what is happening when something breaks ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m in between flowering season here now. The last of the summer flowering flowers are at their end now but the autumn flowering ones still have some time before they open up. The Hollyhocks will continue to the bitter end though ๐Ÿ™‚ I always used to have Black-eyed Susan but not since I moved here, spring comes so late here so they would have to grow indoors for a too long time before I could plant them outside.

      The night wasn’t cool but it wasn’t warm either, I guess it was just right because I slept like a baby all night ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 8, 2015 at 7:56 am

Leave a Reply

