A rather nice morning.

I always like to see a foggy morning.

I always like to see a foggy morning.

Once again I slept for unusually long and thought that I’ve missed the beat part of the day, when the sun rise but there was no sun to see, instead we had fog and that might even be better πŸ™‚ It stayed for quite some time and that’s something it doesn’t do as long as it is summer. I won’t say that autumn has arrived but it is close now.

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

This was one of those mornings when I wouldn’t be surprised if I was the only human left on the planet. Thick fog and not a sound to be heard, it was so quiet that the only thing that could be heard was my shoes on the gravel road, not even the magpies made a sound and all the cows mostly ate or looked at us while we were passing them. It is still very quiet here but the magpies have decided to stay in my garden again telling all the world that they aren’t afraid of dogs, humans or cats πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

They should fear cats though because Bertil almost took one the other day and it was pure luck that the young magpie managed to escape. The rest of that evening the magpies complained like crazy in my apple tree, I could scare them away for a minute or two but then they returned and continued to complain πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I wonder why they choose this garden where dogs and cats can try to take them all the time when there are places so much safer to stay at?

 

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

We always have lots of seagull on the roof at my work and most people complain a lot about them since they tend to poop on our cars πŸ™‚ (I love them though but then again I don’t own a brand new car πŸ™‚ ). They’ve tried almost everything to scare them away without any bigger success, not until someone bought a kite! They are now selling kites that are attached to a fishing rod, You know the kind they have when angling for fish. They attached the rod to the roof it only takes a very weak wind to make this kite fly, the seagulls vanished withinΒ minutes and haven’t come back for over a month! By the way, do You know that the Swedish name for kites are “drakar” which is the same name we use forΒ dragons?

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

DSC_0040

Most of the fog is gone now but the sky will remain cloudy for most of the day according to predictions, I don’t mind if only the humidity will sink a lot because it’s sky-high now. I’ll mow the lawn later today if the grass dries up some, otherwise I’ll mow it tomorrow when we according to predictions will have a warm and sunny day. I’ll believe it if it happens πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0045

10 responses

  1. jaz

    hi christer! i love the foggy photos. it’s still hot and dry hear but i can feel fall in the air. i don’t want to rush it because then it will be gone. so i am trying to savor these days. especially the weekend when there are no workmen here!!!

    August 8, 2015 at 2:02 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I was surprised to see this thick fog since it was quite warm, that doesn’t happen often during summer.

      We both want to savor these days but for different reasons, I want the summer feeling to stay and You the autumn feeling πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 8, 2015 at 3:12 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Obviously there is something in your yard that the magpies find even more attractive than safety. Maybe they like the adrenaline rush they get from having to avoid the resident predators. πŸ™‚

    I love the curious cows. It was a foggy day there for sure. The poppies stand out brilliantly.

    My morning started out well but now I have browser issues on my mac. Safari was loading as slow as molasses running up hill in January. Facebook took 2 minutes to load and it was just list view with no images. I did a restart. Nothing. I did cookie clean. Nothing. I did reset Safari. Better. My other websites loaded normally (except for Nat Geo, of course). Facebook is just white with blue text. I can’t even log it off because there is no log off button. All other wireless devices are working perfectly on all websites so not the service or the router.

    On the upside, I got my first troll spindle photo this morning. An autumn meadowhawk, I think, although it’s early for them. I took several good photos and then the battery in the camera died. Having nothing else to do, I put my finger out to the dragonfly and it happily sat on it for a few seconds before troll spindling off.

    Enjoy the day.

    August 8, 2015 at 3:59 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Magpies are slightly insane so I’ll go for the adrenaline rush πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The day turned out quite nice with lots of sunshine and a wind that helped keeping the remaining flies away.

      I’m not sure You have a browser issue, both Facebook and NG is known for being slow and sometimes not download right. I often see complains about how slow facebook is when I’m logged in there. I’ve been lucky though but have other sites I sometimes just can’t reach.

      We have very few troll spindles this year and the ones we have rarely sit still more than a few seconds at a time. I’ve tried to find the ones who are covered in dew so they won’t move but very little luck so far. I’ve never managed to get one to stop on my finger!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 8, 2015 at 7:09 pm

      • Caryn

        FB has been giving me a problem for a bit of time now. But this morning even my mail program was showing no images. It fixed itself. The other sites are operating fine. Only Facebook. NatGeo might be wonky. I haven’t checked.

        The troll spindle was flitting around but kept coming back to the same perch. My technique is to keep shooting and slowly move in. There are a few wasted shots but it’s digital so no worries. Eventually it just sat there and I got some nice shots. Might have gotten a very good shot if the battery hadn’t died. πŸ™‚ So I put my finger down near the dragonfly and it hopped right on. Just like a parakeet. πŸ™‚ Surprised me, too.

        August 8, 2015 at 9:18 pm

      • I have actually had some problems with my mail too but it is slow in both my phone and computer, I think it’s ovberloaded though.

        I’m a bit jealous, I too want a troll spindle sitting on my finger πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        August 9, 2015 at 8:29 am

  3. Hi Christer,

    Your spiderweb photos are awesome! The first spiderweb photo looks like there is a bird inside the spiderweb, but then, I always seem to be seeing birds, even when there aren’t any there.

    It was interesting to read Caryn’s comments because my computer was extremely slow last night. Web pages were taking extraordinarily long to load, so I knew something was wrong. I thought it might have been because I had just downloaded a Firefox update.

    So first I ran my anti-malware software, and it found 40 Potentially Unwanted Programs (PUPS) and quarantined them. But that didn’t help; my computer was still slow. So did a scan with my antivirus software (Avira), and it found a virus called TR/Trash.Gen. I don’t know how I picked it up, but perhaps it was from browsing a lot of news sites the other night. At any rate, Avira quarantined the files, and now my computer runs like normal. Just to be safe, though, tonight before I go to bed, I will set Avira to scan my system again to make sure the virus is still gone. It takes about 4 hours, so I don’t plan to stay up.

    Wishing you a wonderful August!

    Adele

    August 9, 2015 at 5:38 am

    • Hi Adele!

      Thankfully we don’t have big enough spiders to make web big enough to catch birds πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Updating always give problems πŸ™‚ When everything finally works as it should it’s time for a new update πŸ™‚ But I have read that the internet actually soon will be overloaded and stop working especially good. I wonder how people will manage that since most people now days are more or less dependent on a working internet. I mean some even let their homes being run by the net now days, the fridge tells You what You need to buy for insteance!!!Thankfully my home is old fashioned and I’m old enough to have lived without the net so I’ll know how to survive πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I check my computer at least once a week but mostly it takes the viruses before they go in to my computer. I also have two different so nothing will be missed (well that’s the idea anyway πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ). I do hope You got rid of it already the first time! Those viruses are everywhere now, back in the days one had to open a mail with a virus or visit more, let’s say adult sites to get it. Now it’s enough to check a photo in any site to get a virus! Just imagine what these people who create the viruses could do if they put their energy in to doing good things instead!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 9, 2015 at 8:37 am

  4. either the Magpies are very stupid or very smart, always thought they were very smart,
    I have watched many of those tv shows, there are a lot of episodes, my husband watched them this past winter when nothing was to choose.
    I enjoyed your photos so much today, beautiful,
    it looks like Fall is approaching in your area,,

    August 9, 2015 at 4:46 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      They are very smart so there must be a reason to why they let btheir young ones stay in my garden. I just can’t figure it out though πŸ™‚

      Psych is bad but very funny at the same time πŸ™‚ One can see thet the actors have lots of fun too so I guess that’s why I like to watch it πŸ™‚

      Yes autumn is on its way but it has halted for a while now because now we’re gettiung summer temperatures! πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 9, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Leave a Reply

