I could see where fairy tales come from.

DSC_0020

I’ve slept with my head in a strange angle so this morning has been dominated with a real bad headache, finally after four hours, three cups of strong coffee and some relaxing in front of the tv watching a bad but in a fun way tv series called Psych. Nova and Sune slept beside me in the sofa and I had to scratch them the entire time otherwise they wouldn’t stay still πŸ™‚ I’ve never allowed any of my dogs up in the sofa but since they all are up in itΒ some time during the night I just gave up that idea πŸ™‚

 

The bog ladies had just put out their fires :-)

The bog ladies had just put out their fires πŸ™‚

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

The early morning was chilly and fly free. As soon as the sun rose so did the ground mist, I wish I had brought one of the old cameras but it didn’t look like we would get any mist so I left it at home. Well I guess we’ll get more of it soon enough anyway and I am waiting for the four film rolls they will develop this coming week. I put them in the mailbox a few weeks ago but I later found out that they wouldn’t develop anything again until week 33.

DSC_0026

Suddenly she just stood there. She wasn't stressed at all as You can see and we came as close as 5 meters (much the same in yards).

Suddenly she just stood there. She wasn’t stressed at all as You can see and we came as close as 5 meters (much the same in yards).

Still no signs of being afraid of us. She then took two leaps in to the field, stopped and watched us walk away.

Still no signs of being afraid of us. She then took two leaps in to the field, stopped and watched us walk away.

I got really surprised when we were out walking because birds started to sing as the sun rose, it has been quiet here for some time now but I guess a few days with warm and nice weather made them think it might be summer after all πŸ™‚ I’ve realised that magpies aren’t early birds, they didn’t start making any noisy until just now but no one seems to care about them, not even the cats who are asleep here in the kitchen.

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

Today I’ll do the laundry and it is a good day to do the laundry because it will dry quickly since the sun is shining, it’s warm and a weak wind is blowing so it’ll dry fast. I’ll also mow the lawn and I hope that wind will grow some in strength so no flies (there are still some left) will start to annoy me. I’ll be annoyed enough since I most likely must dig out grass from the mower several times, it’s so long now that it really can’t dry completely. I really can’t complain since it’s my own fault for not mowing in a long time πŸ™‚

 

We even got to see some mist out on the bog. It was totally quiet and I can understand where fairy tales come from when seeing this.

We even got to see some mist out on the bog. It was totally quiet and I can understand where fairy tales come from when seeing this.

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

I’ve put in a few more photos in my National Geographic album since the last time, so if You want to see them click on this link: National Geographic. A new window should open up when You click there.

DSC_0053

DSC_0055

DSC_0059

It is time to do the laundry but first I’ll have another cup of strong coffee just to be sure the headache stays away, the mowing can wait a few more hours I think πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. jaz

    the bog does look magical. i love the spider webs. i had a perfect one on the back of my car yesterday. it is so dry here my grass isn’t even growing. tonight is the first football game so fall is on the way!

    August 9, 2015 at 11:35 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      It does when that mist starts to rise!

      I have to say that we sems to have very few round ones like these this summer, normally I won’t have to walk far to see them but this year is very different.

      I wish I could say my grass won’t grow πŸ™‚ Even where the sun fried the ground it still was so wet in the grass that the mower barely managed to work at all.

      Yes autumn is on its way even if it seems summer starts here now πŸ™‚ We’ll have sunshine all week and hot temperatures later next week.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 9, 2015 at 12:43 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Beautiful photos. The bog is a magical place. Probably why they took people there for sacrifice. πŸ™‚

    You should tell folks to count to 60 before giving up on the NatGeo link. It’s soooo slooooow to load. Or maybe it’s just me. I put up two photos yesterday and it took forever.
    Which reminds me of something that mystifies me about that site. I put up a photo and before I’ve even had time to go back to my page to see it, people have favorited it. How do they know so fast? I haven’t found a setting that notifies me if new photos post.

    I hate when I sleep wrong. I don’t get a headache, though. I get a stiff neck that hurts and usually develops into a stiff shoulder as well. Hot shower on stinging hard setting helps some. Biofreeze sprayed on it helps, too. Smells like mint taken to critical mass for about an half hour but it goes away and so does my discomfort. πŸ™‚

    It’s mostly cloudy here but still a lovely, perfect day.

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    August 9, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think You’re right about that, they must have thought bogs were places where the gods were as closest to them, especially on foggy summer days when all those strange sounds from the birds can be heard.

      I don’t have that problem with NG but I have another strange thing happening when I check my album via the mobile phone, I get chinese signs in front of the heart and speech bubble πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      I think the photo shows earlier on the site where others can see our photos than in our own albums, I can wait for almost half a minute before it shows there. They must be updating the most reasent photo sight constantly πŸ™‚ I don’t think there is such a setting to be honest.

      I have a too weak water pressure to get it to stinging πŸ™‚ and perhaps I should but that Biofreeze? I didn’t have any headache while being out walking in the chilly air. I’ll see if I can find it next time I go to the pharmacy. I don’t mind if it reaks of mint πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The day has been just perfect, unfortunately the wind stopped blowing while I mowed the lawn so there were some flies that did their best to annoy me πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 9, 2015 at 3:54 pm

      • Caryn

        Amazon has Biofreeze as one might expect because Amazon has everything. It’s my new corner store. πŸ™‚
        I use the spray one that can be sprayed upside down if you need to. Just be sure your eyes are not downwind of it when you do. Not only does it ease pain but the 10% menthol in the mix will clear out your sinuses. At least it will make you think your sinuses are clear.

        I haven’t tried to check NatGeo on my android devices. Now I am intrigued to see if I get Chinese on my Kindle Fire. πŸ™‚

        August 9, 2015 at 6:14 pm

      • We don’t have Amazon here in Sweden so I would have to go to the UK site and the postage is a bit too high to buy only that.

        It’s never wrong to have clean sinuses πŸ™‚

        I wonder why I get the chinese version on my phone? It’s a bit fun πŸ™‚

        August 10, 2015 at 6:08 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Morning headaches are the worst! That’s when I get mine, upon waking up. Mine usually reside in my neck, which then travels up to my head. Makes me feel sick when I get those! My finger is better, so I can type much more now! I hurt it last weekend at the cottage when I was doing some cleaning, a piece of metal slid under my nail….needless to say it was incredibly painful and I am still not sure if I will loose the nail or not. I hope not. I hope your headache has left now. We are having a good couple of days for weather, currently at 15 degrees but its early here (just past 0830). Then we start heating up again tomorrow which means I will have to put on the air conditioner. That makes me mad! I like my fresh air! I am going to show my son your NG page again…perhaps he will start one there with his new found interest in photography. Your forest pictures todays are incredible! I love the fog (and the thought of bog ladies!) πŸ™‚ We have been having a heck of a time with Willow and her allergies (pretty sure they are allergies). We have been trying different kinds of food over the past few months – nothing has brought relief. This last trial even bothered her stomach so she’s been getting rice and a bit of mince too. My brother has been happy, they haven’t had to buy their dog food for the past while though πŸ™‚ She’s always worse in the summer, but this summer is ridiculous. She nonstop scratches, I feel so bad for her. I am tempted to give her an antihistamine to see if it helps her. Can’t be comfortable for her. And of course she can’t tell us what’s bothering her….poor thing. So we bought her holistic dog food yesterday. We shall see if this helps. Have a good rest of your Sunday! One more week of work for me then 2 weeks of holidays! I can’t wait! πŸ™‚

    August 9, 2015 at 2:41 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I get headaches also when I drink too little water during summers, those are easily fixed though just by drinking lots of water, the ones I have while waking up is tougher, especially since I can’t take any headache pills any longer, so coffee it is and lots of it πŸ™‚

      That hurts so bad! I sometimes get splinters under the nailks when putting things in pallets and I hate it! It usually takes a few days before it stops hurting.

      The predictions here says anything from 20C to 29C next week, I do hope it stays closer to the lower πŸ™‚

      Yes, make him start an album there and give me a link to it!

      Poor Willow! It feels so bad when nothing one does helps. I do hope the antihistamine helps! I guess the best thing You can do is to make the food Yourself. Thankfully none of my dogs are allergic, the only time they scratch a lot is if they either get lots of horse fly bites or fox scabies πŸ™‚ I’m not sure how many times they have gotten shots for the scabies but it works good and doesn’t cost that much.

      I would love to have two more weeks vacation now when summer finally arrived πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 9, 2015 at 4:08 pm

  4. It hate headaches like that. When you feel like someone is pinching the side of your neck.
    But I love when sometimes I’m able to turn my head just so and it all pops into place.
    Your photos are indeed magical and fairy tale like but to me, they always are.
    Of course I love the deer ones but those spider webs! especially the one that dips down, wow.
    Amazing.
    I’m not a fan of mowing either.
    The other day I went and bought a weed-whacker.
    A good one this time.
    The last two I’ve purchased I’ve beat into the ground when the line wouldn’t feed and then threw into the garbage.
    (Sometimes I think “gardening” helps get out my stress and anger.)
    But this one works so well that I started whacking everything.
    I even stepped over into neighbors yard and did the edge along my yard.
    (Since their grass is so long it started draping over my flowerbeds.)
    I really like that whacker.

    August 9, 2015 at 3:22 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’ve never been able to pop my head like that πŸ™‚ I need coffee and lots of it πŸ™‚

      The dew really helps making those webs look amazing! and the sun must be in the right angle too, otherwise they’re just as difficult to see as they are when they are dry.

      Mowing is just a waist of time and I wouldn’t do it if it wasn’t for the ticks, they just love long grass. I need one of those too but I still haven’t found one I like. I want one made by Bosch and it looks like everyone else want that brand too πŸ™‚ I also need a hedge trimmer and it looks just the same there πŸ™‚ I hope the ones I find will make me feel the same πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 9, 2015 at 4:13 pm

  5. Hi Christer,
    I love morning ground fog. I remember once when I was on vacation in Pennsylvania. I woke early and went to Gettysburg. I had to wait a bit until it opened. When I got inside I was the only car. The ground fog covered the battlefields and I swear I could feel the souls who had been killed in that horrific battle.

    The morning fog over the river is my favorite. Everything along the banks disappears. It is as if the bridge is the only piece of land around.

    Movie night was chilly so no mosquitos. Part of the reason is the deck is so high but the cold nights help too.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    August 10, 2015 at 12:08 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I can’Γ€t think of another place where ground fog is perfect, I can imagine it would be easy to think of all the fallen men on that field when the fog is there!

      The morning fog on a lake or the ocean is called lake smoke here πŸ™‚ I can often see it on a small lake I pass on my weay to work. I always think I should bring my camera but always forget it πŸ™‚

      We have very few mosquitoes this year, I guess it is because it has been so chilly here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 10, 2015 at 6:11 pm

  6. I just put the coffee on and it smells delicious! Where better thing than an early morning cup of coffee? Or three or four? πŸ™‚ I am off to visit National Geographic, of course. Miserably dry here too! We are all hoping for a wet winter and some snow pack in our mountains. In my lifetime the weather has changed dramatically! Wonderful photo’s, Christer! I agree with you about the “Fairy Tales” The imagination can run wild in settings such as you photograph! Have a wonderful day!
    Mona

    August 10, 2015 at 2:03 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      I normally drink tea in the morning but I have to admit that the smell of coffee is the best!

      I’ve heard of the big fires in California but I figured out that You weren’t close to any of them thankfully. You sure need lots of rain now!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 10, 2015 at 6:13 pm

  7. Just returned from my visit to National Geographic and …of course…the photo’s of Bertil were my favorites…the one where he is showing a serious warning to someone or something…just made me laugh out loud. If he were all black that picture would have been perfect for Halloween…I loved it!
    The spider hanging on it’s invisable web was another favorite. You do a great job, Christer!

    August 10, 2015 at 2:14 pm

    • I’m sorry Mona but that’s not Bertil, it’s Salmiak! They look very much alike but Salmiak as brown eyes and Bertil greenish eyes.

      I liked how it was impossible to see the thred the spider was walking on πŸ™‚

      August 10, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Leave a Reply

