A long walk this morning.

This is a nice weather in the early morning.

This is a nice weather in the early morning.

I’ve just woken up from a nap and the weather is just fantastic! It was cold and foggy when I woke up at  am and it stayed that way until after I drove away to the garage to leave my car for some repairs. I could have left it after work yesterday but since I don’t know when the bus leaves and I still need to walk for at least 45 minutes before I reach my home I thought I better wait until this morning. I knew we would get sunshine and pretty nice temperatures today.

 

DSC_0038

DSC_0040

DSC_0042

DSC_0039

It's just a few seconds between this and the previous photo and what a difference!

It’s just a few seconds between this and the previous photo and what a difference!

It was around 5C (41F) when I left and I did wonder if I should bring a sweater but I thought I would be warm enough by walking from the bust station if I was lucky to get to the bust stop and the bus would arrive soon enough. Sometimes it’s just better to keep on walking if I’ve just missed it since it only goes once every hour. I left a note in the car that if he would find anything else that needed to be fixed right now I wanted him to call me and left my phone number too. I was lucky at the bust stop so I jumped on the bus and only had to walk those 45 minutes, well it took a bit longer since I stopped to photograph every now and again.

 

Leaving the village.

Leaving the village.

DSC_0047

Gudhem hostel.

Gudhem hostel.

DSC_0049

The sign says: Drive slow, wild kids! :-)

The sign says: Drive slow, wild kids! 🙂

 

I was right about the sweater, it would have been way to warm wearing one while walking because even if the wind blew quite chilly I still felt very warm since the sun shone in my back all the way home. The fly season os definitely over now because not even when I walked between two cow pastures where all the cows stood beside the fences and I was in the middle very few flies annoyed me. You would most likely feel there were plenty but then again You know by now how bad it can be here 🙂

View from the bust stop. The fog lies heavy over the bog here at home. The wind power plant in the middle stand just outside the village where I work. It isn't at all as close as it looks, the tele-photo lens make it look much closer than it is.

View from the bust stop. The fog lies heavy over the bog here at home. The wind power plant in the middle stand just outside the village where I work. It isn’t at all as close as it looks, the tele-photo lens make it look much closer than it is.

The lake.

The lake.

DSC_0055

Gudhem church and the abbey ruins.

Gudhem church and the abbey ruins.

The lake and lots of fog.

The lake and lots of fog.

The dogs and cats didn’t mind me coming home so fast again 🙂 but they were all sleeping when I arrived and opened the door to the dog house. It’s always fun to surprise them like that because at first they react as if I was an intruder and makes an awful lot of noise but as soon as they realise it’s me they get deadly silent 🙂 We took a walk as soon as I came home and for a second I actually was thinking about mowing the lawn today but luckily for me that idea died fast 🙂 We’ll have this weather for at least the rest of the week so I’ll have time enough to do it anyway 🙂

 

I went to the lake after jumping of the bus.

I went to the lake after jumping of the bus.

DSC_0063

Bjurum castle.

Bjurum castle.

DSC_0070

DSC_0073

Instead I did some laundry, watched some tv and took that small nap. I still feel like I should sleep a few hours but I doubt that would be good for my night sleep 🙂 Instead I’ll make some lunch, fries and hotdogs I think because I won’t have to use my brain doing that 🙂 Long time since I had that anyway. The last time I ate fries must be over a year ago on a hamburger place. The hamburger was so so but the fries were just fantastic 🙂

 

These four are from the Hasselblad camera.

These four are from the Hasselblad camera.

A101177_9

A101177_10

A101177_11

It is time to do that lunch and perhaps the dogs will get a few fries too, I’m not sure they ever have had that. Today I have over 150 photos to show, some from the Hasselblad, some from my Minolta and lots from this morning. I can’t show them all and I still haven’t decided which ones to show either. It’ll be just as a big surprise for me as it will for You 🙂

 

The six last photos are from the Minolta XGM.

The six last photos are from the Minolta XGM.

A101209_23 A101209_24

A101209_25

A101209_28

 

Have a great day!

 

A101209_20

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! What fantastic photos from today! The village is so charming and lovely – you live in a very picturesque place! Your lunch sounded good, I hope the fries were nice! Nothing beats good fries from a place who knows how to cook them properly! I just love the picture of the row of trees. Those are some mighty trees!! I am heading into vacation starting tomorrow so I will be checking in as much as I can but will be off the grid most of the time. I hope your evening is good and will catch up again soon!

    August 13, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m afraid that all houses You can see in todays post are spread over a big area.

      It was a really nice lunch and the fries turned out as good as can be expected when they are oven baked. The hotdogs however could have been better but I’ll survive 🙂

      That avenue of trees leads to the hostel butb this photo is taken towards the big road where the bust stop.

      Have a really nice vacation!

      Christer.

      August 13, 2015 at 5:22 pm

  2. jaz

    fabulous photos. that is a nice walk! we have one cool day here and then back up in the 90’s with high humidity ans i won’t be happy. at least it is good weather to have the house painted so i shouldn’t complain.

    August 13, 2015 at 3:47 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It was since the weather was so nice this morning. I’ll do much the same walk tomorrow when I’ll go to get my car again. I would not have liked to do that walk if it was 90F! I would have been fried on the asphalt 🙂 Thankfully the humidity is low again here, humidity can really destroy an otherwise nice day!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 13, 2015 at 5:25 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Love the vild barn sign. 🙂
    The photos of the lake are wonderful with the fog hanging over it. What a lovely walk from the bust stop. The last two photos are spectacular for the light. Good job with the Minolta.

    It’s funny when you surprise the pets. I did that once to my horse. I got to the barn at 7AM and found him in the sternal sleeping position in his stall. I called his name and he jerked his head up with a snort and an expression on his horse face that looked very much like someone who had been poked out of slumber. Then he stared at me as if to say, ‘What are you doing here at this time of the day?’. I normally didn’t show up until 4PM after I got out of work. We were going on a road trip in the big horse van. He was not pleased.

    Today is lovely here. Warm, sunny, no humidity. Tonight is a barbecue in a big barn. That’ll be interesting. I think. I’m sure there will be hot dogs.

    Enjoy the day.

    August 13, 2015 at 6:23 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      There were more signs that I’ll photograph tomorrow 🙂 I called the garage in the afternoon and he hadn’t started to work with my car yet. He sounded stressed so I told him that since I had taken tomorrow off as well he could relax, I’ll be at the garage around 10 am to 11 am to pick it up. It is better that he is relaxed while fixing my car than him stressing to get it done in time and perhaps miss something 🙂 I do hope it will be foggy in the early morning though since I most likely will wake up at that time anyway 🙂

      I’m a bit uneven when it comes to photograph with those old cameras, some turns out really god and some are just crap 🙂 🙂 🙂 I have fun though and that’s the only important thing 🙂

      Yes it is 🙂 They look so surprised and unsure until they figure out it’s me 🙂
      Not only did You surprise Your horse in that ungodly hour, You took him for a ride too 🙂 🙂 Of course he wasn’t pleased 🙂

      We’ve had a rather wonderful day here and it will stay much like this until the end of the weekend 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 13, 2015 at 6:31 pm

  4. Christer,
    I love the village pictures. The one with the red house on the rock foundation is my favorite. You can only see a corner of the house but it looks wonderful. An old farm still used and preserved here has those shaggy cattle as well. That farm has an historical designation so the town maintains it.

    There was so much to see in today’s picture I think they are among my favorites.

    August 14, 2015 at 1:47 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It isn’t any village at all actually, it’s a strech of over five miles in total where these houses stand. That big old barn with the rock foundation is magnificent, I was going to photograph it from another direction but a few cars drove by and I forgot it 🙂 There are lots of highland cattle here, they breed them and sell them to farmers that wants to keep fields from becoming forests again. They refuse to sell them for slaughter 🙂 The old castle owner have really made a big difference in this area, both good and sometimes less good but never bad 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 14, 2015 at 5:22 am

  5. Underbara bilder över sjön! Ja, dom andra med förstås!!
    Här var det 15 grader inatt , så jag frös lite när jag skulle lägga mig. Rolle hade satt på den lilla AC´n i sovrummet, hade inte alls behövts! 😦
    KRAM
    Susie

    August 14, 2015 at 10:00 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Visst var det vackert med dimman över sjön, tyvärr var det ingen dimma idag men man kan ju inte få allt 🙂

      grader ute inatt men bra mycket varmare inne trots att sovrumsfönstret var öppet 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      August 14, 2015 at 11:30 am

Leave a Reply

