It isn’t fun when it is dry and it is even worse when it is wet.

DSC_0035

We’re having a strong wind again today (and it will last for a few days they say) that works like a giant hairdryer together with the sun so I had to water all my vegetables today and a few other potted plants as well. The wind didn’t do an especially good job with the grass though because it was soaking wet even if we haven’t had any rain in days. It’s boring to mow the lawn as it is and it is even much worse when it is wet.

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

 

It looks like the few remaining flies we have here now lives in my garden, I got bitten bad a few times while mowing and there were some forest flies that wanted to check out how it looks inside my ears, so I had to put in earplugs to keep them out πŸ™‚ I don’t have those problems anywhere else right now, not even by the bog.

 

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

Nothing much else has happened here today. The hunting season for deer buck starts tomorrow morning so I had a talk with the hunters. They’ll be out already at 4:30 am and will as they have said put out signs on every road. They have also been informed not to shoot my stalker πŸ™‚ so they will stay away from the areas he usually walk around in. No doe will be shot at all this year if I understood things right, these hunters are all for wildlife preservation and will do what is necessary to keep the wildlife healthy and strong.

 

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

It is time for a pot of tea even if it really is too late for that but I feel so tired that I doubt any tea will keep me up this night, I’ve just woken up from a nap and it feels like I should have stayed in bed πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

Have a great day!

 

I end today with four photos from the Hasselblad camera.

I end today with four photos from the Hasselblad camera.

A101177_3

A101177_4

A101177_5

4 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I deduced from the title that you had mowed the lawn. πŸ™‚
    A few days ago I did the little patch in the back that I won’t let the lawn guys do. I hadn’t done it for perhaps 5 weeks. The grass itself didn’t need to be done but the violets and pyracantha that grow there have to be whacked back. This full shade grass seems to grow to about 4 inches and stay there. I wish it would grow in full sun. I’d only have to mow once or twice a season and that would be for the weeds. πŸ™‚

    The other day I saw a hummingbird in the back so I decided to put up a hummingbird feeder. So far no hummers. The young wrens have been all over it to no avail. I put out seed for them. Now I will be inundated with every English sparrow in the neighborhood.

    Interesting purple mushrooms.

    I hope the hunters don’t get the Deerstalker.

    Lots of lovely photos today. The first and last Hasselblads are interesting. The first one looks like some mysterious alien forest that you are about to explore. I like the circle of the sun in the tree in the last one. Again, I love the effect of the low light on the grasses along the road in the 7th photo. It almost looks as though someone was holding a prism up and playing the rainbow colors over the landscape. Cool. Good capture.

    Enjoy the day.

    August 15, 2015 at 4:48 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I guess it wasn’t too hard to figure out what I was complaining about πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      That sounds like a grass I would love to have πŸ™‚ but the weedfs would most likekly suffocate it rather quickly πŸ™‚ Just imagine only having to use the mower twice every summer πŸ™‚

      I envy You Your humming birds! They don’t excist outside the American continents unfortunately. But I have been thinking of buying a butterfly feeder to get more of them to my garden. I’ve plenty of cabbage butterflies but they’ve just laid lots of eggs on my broccoli plants πŸ™‚ I want the big and beautiful ones here too πŸ™‚

      That mushroom can be either delicious or very deadly πŸ™‚ They look so much alike that I never dare picking any looking like that πŸ™‚

      No the deerstalker is untouchable for the hunters πŸ™‚ They know where he most likely will be and have promised the land owner not to shoot him πŸ™‚

      The first Hasselblad photo is taken in my garden towards the cow/ sheep pasture πŸ™‚ It turned out much better than I could have hoped for πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 15, 2015 at 6:33 pm

      • Caryn

        You have hummingbird hawk moths, though. They are almost as good. Maybe they will come to your feeder.
        We don’t have those. We have hummingbird moths. No hawks involved. πŸ™‚ Very strange-looking things. Another common name is flying lobster and that’s very descriptive though I’ve not heard that name.
        Someone I worked with was talking about a strange butterfly thing she had seen. When asked her if it looked like a combination bee and moth she was all excited that I knew. And oddly enough, when we googled bee moths, up came this very thing that we both had seen. They like to hang around the jewelweed in the back part of my yard.

        August 16, 2015 at 12:24 am

      • They aren’t that common here and has a less cool name as well πŸ™‚ I sometimes see them hovering around my honeysuckle.

        The biggest one we can find here look a bit creepy because one can see a pattern looking like a skull so it has that name too scull moth (Acherontia atropos) πŸ™‚

        August 16, 2015 at 7:52 am

Leave a Reply

