Did You know?

DSC_0021

Did You know that almost all swans in the Uk is owned by the royal family? This is what can be learned by watching tv at 5 am in the morning πŸ™‚ A king long ago decided all swans were owned by the royal family, not only because they are beautiful but because they wanted to eat them and not share them with the common people. They have been marking the birds since then so they know exactly how many there are in the wild.

 

These odd things on the rose are made by Gallflies.
These odd things on the rose are made by Gallflies.

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

 

I also learned that they actually taste rather bad but was seen as a delicatessen since the only the royals were allowed to eat them πŸ™‚ I also learned that princess Diana didn’t like pets at all, especially horses since she as a young girls was badly bitten by one, Shew was however against hunting and refused to participate when the family went up to Scotland to hunt. A good thing I turned on the tv at that hour, otherwise You would most likely never know these important things πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

Hare tail grass.
Hare tail grass.

 

4C (39,2F) here this morning and I could see some ground fog and was thinking about bringing the camera so I could take some photos by the tiny lake I pass every morning on my way to work. It vanished early though so I didn’t bring the camera, too bad because it was lots of it on the way and especially by the lake πŸ™‚ You should only know what photos You missed today πŸ™‚ I’m not sure if I can say that we’re having drought here but it sure is dry here now. I normally don’t water any plants but those I really want to have here but today I did water more than just the potted plants.

 

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

My walnut however looks better than most other trees and plants here, some trees are so dry now that the leafs are turning yellow and falling off. Too bad this didn’t happen during our vacations πŸ™‚ I wonder if this will kill off any fly larvae and perhaps even the coming moose flies, I sure hope so!

 

In my garden right now.
In my garden right now.

DSC_0048
DSC_0049

DSC_0052

DSC_0054

It is time for something to eat and then some tv time before bed.

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Even if you bring the camera, sometimes it’s all for naught. The other day when I took the dogs to the lake I debated about changing lenses to the 200mm. I decided against it because I’m not tall enough to use it for close ups which is what I normally shoot. Anyway, a young hawk swooped out of the tall trees and landed in a short gnarly crab apple tree right in front of and eye level to me. He was close enough that my normal lens would have been fine but I was not in a good position to frame him well. I did get a photo of the hawk but you can hardly tell him apart from the bark on the tree. He eyed my dogs and me for a second and flew off. Art Wolfe has nothing to worry about from me. πŸ™‚

    I did know that about the swans in England. Every time I hear it mentioned the first thing that comes to mind is a song from Carmina Burana. It’s supposed to be a swan singing about how he used to swim on a lake and now he’s all blackened and being carried to table on a platter. All he sees around him are gnashing teeth. Very upbeat. :/

    I have been watering things here, too. I’m also watering the grass in the back part of the house though I’m not sure it’s helping. It’s tough trying to grow grass back there. I may have to settle for some kind of ground cover that doesn’t mind being walked on. What that would be besides grass, I don’t know.

    Today is sunny, warm and sticky. There’s a slight breeze. The temperature is supposed to stay around 80F for the next several days. Much better than 90’s.

    Enjoy the day.

    August 20, 2015 at 7:30 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      So true πŸ™‚ It’s easier with my mm since it also has a macro setting, I can go as close as 95 cm (which would be around slightly more than 4 inches from a yard. That’s why I almost always use that lens. It is so typical though, no matter what we do we do wrong πŸ™‚ I saw a Common Buzzard take a prey today but naturally it took it behind some high bushes and I couldn’t focus on it when it lifted. It was so heavy it had problems rising at first so it must have been a hare.

      I’ll see if I can learn something new then next time I watch tv at that hour πŸ™‚ We have a similar sad song about a wild goose πŸ™‚ She’s shot and she’s hiding in the reed but her loved ones are dead. People got so upset when hearing that song in the ‘s that hunters had a hard time for years πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I knoiw a lot of plants that doesn’t mind being walked on but they want sunshine πŸ™‚ I’ll see if I can find something for You!

      A really nice day here today but not even close to 80, more like lower 70’s.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 21, 2015 at 2:53 pm

  2. jaz

    i’ve been bitten by horses a number of times and you sure don’t forget it. wow…39 degrees…i am so jealous! the rain missed us AGAIN! it’s ok though because they had all the windows out on one side of my house and the approaching storm was making me very nervous. so i guess i should smile while i am watering yet again!

    August 20, 2015 at 8:32 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      My old neighbor was also badly bitten by a horse and that horse also kicked on her knee so bad that she had to use crutches for a long time. Horses aren’t my favorite animals to be honest πŸ™‚

      It was rather nice having it that cold at the same time as the sun shone πŸ™‚ it does feel much warmer than it is then.

      I think You should be happy about the rain missing You, at least this time. I can imagine what troubles You could have gotten if it had arrived.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 21, 2015 at 3:05 pm

  3. Christer,
    My lawn and flower garden get watered six times a week from my irrigation system. I water the flowers on the deck myself. They need to be watered right now as everything is so dry. We haven’t had rain in a very long time.

    The afternoon got very hot so I had to turn on my AC. The house is just now getting comfortable again.

    July was the hottest month ever but I swear August is worse. I don’t remember so many days in the high 80’s as this year. I was hoping today would stay nice but the sun just got hotter.

    I too hope your flies disappear!

    August 20, 2015 at 9:31 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Irrigation systems are rare here, we usually never need it since it rains almost always πŸ™‚ I don’t think however that it has rained here since I wentr back to work πŸ™‚ I do hope this kills of lots of future flies πŸ™‚

      It’s just nice here, sunshine all day and in the lower 70’s and they say it will stay this way for at least ten days. I daren’t believe it though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 21, 2015 at 3:09 pm

  4. gosh, its chilly for you,, those are some facts I never knew,

    August 20, 2015 at 11:19 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Only in the mornings though but I can feel autumn in te air now.

      I must look at tv at those hours again, who knows what I will learn in the future πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 21, 2015 at 3:10 pm

  5. LOL, Christer, I love the way you express things! I will have to watch TV more often at 5 in the morning! And, no, I didn’t know those facts about swans in the UK and Princess Diana not liking pets. Every August, our air gets thick with ragweed pollen, and I had suffered for weeks with allergies, but now the pollen is gone, thanks to some extraordinarily heavy rain we had the day before yesterday. It has been in the high 80’s F during the daytime, but today it is supposed to be only in the low 80’s. Our Barn Swallows left about a week ago for their long journey south to Central and South America. In retrospect, I’ve finally figured out where they nested and hatched their babies — in a pipe on the building that I live in! I wrote it up in my blog at http://barnswallowfriends.blogspot.com/2015/08/the-barn-swallows-had-me-fooled-this.html

    Best wishes to you for these remaining days of “summer”!

    Adele

    August 21, 2015 at 8:40 am

    • Hi Adele!

      Yes whop knows what I will learn in the future πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We have actually problems with ragweed too now! The seeds follow the seeds we give to the birds and at first they thought the ragweed wouldn’t be able to produce any seeds here because of our long winters but oh how wrong they were. The long warm summers we’ve had lately fits them perfect. No rain here to help those suffering from allergies because of it and no rain in sight they say.

      I’ll pop over to Your blog later to read what has happened.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 21, 2015 at 3:16 pm

  6. Beautiful photo close-ups today, Christer.

    August 21, 2015 at 1:30 pm

    • Hi Hermit’s Sis!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 21, 2015 at 3:16 pm

Leave a Reply

