Not a good combination.

I guess we'll have plenty of Gold Finches here this winter, they just love thistle seeds.
I guess we’ll have plenty of Gold Finches here this winter, they just love thistle seeds.

We’ve had a really nice summer day again here, nature doesn’t seem to understand that autumn should slowly have arrived now. I can feel autumn in the air when I go to work in the mornings though, it sort of smells like it now. Leafs have started to turn yellow and the autumn berries are all more or less ripe now. But it is so dry now that the mushrooms have stopped growing and they are now drying up and becoming fewer again, it’s only the corpse mushroom (they smell like rotten flesh) that still grows as if it is raining like it has all summer πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

Nova is a bit grumpy when it comes to her food now, nothing is good enough for her in the morning, she sniffs at it some and then leaves. I just put it in the fridge as the stone hearted man I am but always put something extra in it in the afternoon when she gets it again πŸ™‚ She’s just the same when it comes to treats, only the best and most expensive is good enough for her πŸ™‚ It usually lasts for a week or two and then she’s back to normal again πŸ™‚

 

Fire weed.
Fire weed.Β 

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

DSC_0034
Heather is making a comeback in the forest.

I worked in the neighbor factory today so time just flew by, I was a bit stressed since it was my turn to buy the buns and cookies for our weekly meeting. I managed to arrive just a bit late thankfully πŸ™‚ After work I drove to the pharmacy in FalkΓΆping to get Orvar’s medicine and as always they didn’t have it but I ordered it so it will arrive tomorrow and I’ll drive there to get it in the morning, FalkΓΆping isn’t that fun to be honest so I’ll try to make it a short visit πŸ™‚ I might make a stop at the Tea and Coffee shop though, I want some cherry tea and they do sell the most delicious ice cream too πŸ™‚ Nasty expensive to be honest but as I said, it is delicious πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

DSC_0038

A bit hazy up on the mountain today.
A bit hazy up on the mountain today.

No need to mow the lawn this week πŸ™‚ It is so dry now that lots of lawns are turning yellow. Mine isn’t but at least it looks like it has stopped growing πŸ™‚ One of my apple trees have delicious apples ready to be eaten now, they are no good for storage so I just pick them from the tree and start eating. I could of course make an apple pie with them so I better check what I have here at home, I think I need custard or perhaps I should make my own this time but then I need other things, like vanilla.

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

A few photos from the Minolta.
A few photos from the Minolta.

A101209_14

It is time to have some dinner, today I’ll have sausages and french fries, I’ve just put it all in the oven. I never deep fry the fries myself, hot oil and happy dogs is a bad combination to be honest πŸ™‚

 

A101209_5

A101209_21

A101209_26

A101209_28

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. jaz

    it is really starting to look like autumn here too. my hydrangeas are brown and my tree peony pods are opening. it’s so dry here i’m not sure what kind of color we will have for fall. most of my leaves have just turned brown.

    August 21, 2015 at 5:59 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      There wouldn’t be much leafs left here in my garden if I didn’t water, it’s only sand in the ground here so it dries out fast but it is getting dryer by the bog too now. It’s not even close to how bad it is where You live though. Still some time until the pods open up here though.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 21, 2015 at 9:57 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    No sign of fall here except the late summer plants are starting to go to seed. The thistle by my house is fluffy. Something pulls all the fluff off it during the night or in the very early morning hours. Not goldfinches. They do their work during the day.

    It rained hard this morning and part of the afternoon. I took the dogs for a quick walk in the morning between the rain storms. After breakfast I did some stuff on the computer for awhile but I wasn’t feeling too good. I laid down on the couch and slept the rest of the day. Woke up around 4PM, took the dogs for another walk, fed them and I’m back on the couch. Summer bug or something, I guess. It was a good day to sleep in.

    Only Rocky is particular about food. He demands that the pieces of food are small so he doesn’t have to work to eat them. I’m sure he was Emperor of China in a previous life.

    Enjoy the day.

    August 21, 2015 at 11:55 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Could be small mice that eat the seeds. We have a really tiny mouse here, the Dwarf mouse that is so small (weighs only 7 grams as most) that it can climb up on grass straws whithout bending them. I don’t think there is any more cute mouse to be honest πŸ™‚

      No rain here but rather cold and with ground fog this morning. It sounds as if it was a good day to sleep in! Summer bugs can be nasty so I hope it doesn’t get any worse!

      πŸ™‚ I sometimes must break down the pieces in my dogs food because they don’t always chew and more than one time big parts hve gotten stuck on the way down πŸ™‚ No previous lives as emperors here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 22, 2015 at 6:14 am

      • Caryn

        Rocky does not know what to do with “big” food. He wanders around with it in his mouth, whimpering, because he can’t find a place to hide it. He knows he doesn’t want to eat it but he doesn’t want anyone else to eat it either. It’s very frustrating for him (and a bit annoying for me). The only “big” food he will eat is chunks of watermelon which he loves. Watermelon is the only food that Rocky eats faster than Piki Dog.

        August 22, 2015 at 2:01 pm

      • Poor Rocky πŸ™‚

        I’ve never tried water melon but all dogs here love persimmons πŸ™‚ They never behave as good as they do when they know I have some persimmons at home πŸ™‚

        August 22, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Leave a Reply

