Image

I’ll get more chances to get ice cream.

I took this photo from the window upstairs just before the sun was rising above the tree line.
I took this photo from the window upstairs just before the sun was rising above the tree line.

I woke up to a rather cold morning today, only 2,8C (37F) when we were out walking. I have to say that even if I had to wear a fleece jacket the morning still was pretty wonderful. It was so quiet that the sounds my shoes made towards the gravel sounded so loud they would wake up the world. Not a single fly disturbed me and life just felt pretty good πŸ™‚

 

This one too.
This one too.

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

DSC_0048

I had planned to go to FalkΓΆping to pick up Orvar’s medicine early this morning and I wanted to bring one of my older but not too heavy cameras with me. The problem is that they tend to leak in light so the film got more or less destroyed. But how to find those leaks I wondered for a long while until two days ago. I asked a work friend who knows a lot about everything if he knew if there was some kind of flashlight that was so small it would fit into a camera.

 

DSC_0050

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

He was thinking for a long time until he smiled and said that I should go to a toy store, He knew they sold key chains that also worked as a tiny flashlight. So the first thing I did yesterday when I went to FalkΓΆping was to go to the only toy store I know they have thereΒ and yes they did have such a key chain πŸ™‚ The good thing is that the batteries in it are solar-powered! So if the lights get weak I just put it in the sunlight for a while and then it works perfectly again πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0054

DSC_0055

DSC_0057

DSC_0058

So last night when it was dark I put the tiny flashlight in my Rolleicord and voila! I found where it leaked in light. It is the lid that actually fits good but it doesn’t take much to make it loosen its grip just enough to let in light. So I loaded the camera with a roll of black and white film, taped black soft tape (we call that kind of tape for electric tape because it’s perfect to use when connecting two electric cables and keep that connection water proof) over the edges of the lid. I’m pretty sure it didn’t leak any light this morning.

 

DSC_0059

DSC_0061

DSC_0063

DSC_0064

I drove to FalkΓΆping so I would be there around 9Β and realised that they wouldn’t open the pharmacy until 9:30 πŸ™‚ So I started to walk around the town square taking photos. I had already taken one at home and double exposed it πŸ™‚ and did the same with the first one I took in the town πŸ™‚ I sort of had forgotten how it works πŸ™‚ The rest eleven photos should be ok though. They were opening a small market this morning and people never mind if one takes photos with one of these old cameras so I could walk around quite undisturbed the entire time πŸ™‚ I won’t send in this roll of film until I have four rolls of film ready to be developed, this was the third one. I can say that I wish I had brought more film and the electric tape because twelve photos was just too few.

 

DSC_0065

DSC_0066

DSC_0068

DSC_0069

Now I’ll do the same with my almost 100-year-old Kodak, it too leaks light and even if I did tape it almost everywhere the last time I tried it, it still leaked in light somewhere. That camera however will only allow me to take 8 photos because the negatives will be so much bigger. I was amazed however how sharp photos I got from that old camera!

 

DSC_0071

DSC_0072

DSC_0075

This and the following photos comes from the Rolleicord camera. They were originally color photographs with ugly red injuries from light leaks (You'll see that in the next photo). But I could make them look much better by making them look old in my editing program.
This and the following photos comes from the Rolleicord camera. They were originally color photographs with ugly red injuries from light leaks (You’ll see that in the next photo). But I could make them look much better by making them look old in my editing program.

It is time for a pot of tea and perhaps something to eat. I never got any ice cream this morning, I just didn’t want to stay in the town after taking all photos and getting the medicine because the coffee and tea shop wouldn’t open for another half hour when I left the pharmacy. Well, Orvar will need more medicine in 40 days so I’ll get the chance again πŸ™‚

 

This is how almost all photos looked like before the editing. I do hope I found all leaks now!

This is how almost all photos looked like before the editing. I do hope I found all leaks now!

 

This is Varnhem's Abbey church. The abbey was demolished but the church was saved.
This is Varnhem’s Abbey church. The abbey was demolished but the church was saved.

A100792-00008

A100792-00009

Have a great day!

 

A100792-00010
This is a cafe just beside the church. The church is a huge tourist attraction now days.

A100792-00011

A100792-00012

14 responses

  1. Wow, what a solution to use that tiny flashlight to find the air leak inside the camera! We call that type of black tape electric tape, too, or “electrical tape”. I just used some a couple of days ago to repair a power cable that was beginning to fray. Your photos are fabulous!

    August 22, 2015 at 12:02 pm

    • Hi Adele!

      I thought that must be the way to go since I figured the light must show somewhere if it is totally dark since the camera let the light in, so it must let it out too πŸ™‚

      I do like it when things have the same name all over the world πŸ™‚ It’s just great since one can turn it a lot and it still doesn’t wrinkle!

      I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 22, 2015 at 3:33 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Lots of lovely photographs of light today.
    I love the Rolliegraph photos done in sepia. I think I’d do all of them that way just because it looks so good.
    Electrician’s tape and a toy LED. A very MacGyver solution. πŸ™‚
    There you are talking about early autumn and here I am in late summer. It’s overcast and muggy. It looks like it wants to rain but apparently it isn’t going to. It’s just going to be swampy and uncomfortable for a few days more.
    Definitely a day that requires ice cream.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    August 22, 2015 at 1:56 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It makes it so easy to photograph when the weather helps that good πŸ™‚

      I did a lot to the Rolleicord photos to make tem look old and to hide those leaks as good as possible πŸ™‚ It is amazing what one can do with a failrly cheap editing program. I rarely use anything but resising in that program otherwise πŸ™‚

      Yes! Just imagine what I know can do with a chewing gum, a paper clip and two elastic bands πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The mornings scream autumn but the afternoons says hot summer day πŸ™‚ No wind here so it feels much warmer than it is but thankfully the humidity is low now. It would have been nasty here if it hadn’t.

      I’ll buy another ice cream when I get to a store again. I really wanted the kind they sell in that coffee and tea shop but wasn’t prepared to walk around for over 25 minutes to get it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 22, 2015 at 3:42 pm

  3. Those last photos, of the church, are spooky!
    40 days without ice cream?!?!
    I don’t think I could do it.

    August 22, 2015 at 2:39 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      They do look a bit spooky but that’s only because they have that sepia color, they weren’t at all spooky when the photo still had all the other colors in it πŸ™‚

      It is a specialbrand they sell in a coffee and tea shop, I’ll buy the normal kind as soon as I get to a store again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 22, 2015 at 3:45 pm

  4. Hi Christer, thanks for the anniversary wishes. We are celebrating with a long weekend trip to Cape Cod, MA and have lots of toursist here as well. The best times to travel to areas like this is off season but we had never been here before and now know better. Enjoyed the early morning sunrise and fog photos, and the spider webs, always. My favorites today were the last group with the old church. I have also used electrical taoe for repairs and my only complaint is that once it has stuck to itself, it is difficult to pull apart . If you succeeed, there is a lot of stickiness left behind. Glad it seemed to solve your light leak problems.

    August 22, 2015 at 8:39 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Yes I can imagine there still are lots of people in Cape Cod, Kat who has left a comment here lives there πŸ™‚

      It looks like we’re having morning fog here every morning now but it evaporates as soon as the sun has risen enough warming up the ground. It does help me find all these webs too πŸ™‚

      I do like the Rolleicord photos but would have preferred them as they were but without the light leak damages πŸ™‚ I do like the old time feeling they give though.

      The electrical tape would just have been too good tomexcist if it hadn’t been sticky after removing it πŸ™‚ Thankfully I can remove it as soon as I have taken the roll of film, so nothing got stuck this time. I must see if I can fix this problem without the tape.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 23, 2015 at 7:08 am

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I am finally managing to get onto my email….would you believe it I have been sick for the whole of the first week of my vacation!!!!! I am not sure what I have – flu I think. I even went to a walk in clinic today because I had such a bad night last night. She thinks its likely viral. Its taking its sweet time leaving this body host!!! So achy, fever, chills. No cough though which is good. But my ears feel weird. And what’s really strange is one finger is very swollen and very sore. I am wondering if I have an autoimmune condition? If I am still bad this week (my last week of vacation) I will call my proper doctor. No fun to have 2 weeks flat on your back. 😦 The picture of the abbey is amazing!!!! Good thing you got to see where the light leak is – and what a clever idea…a toy flashlight!!!! πŸ™‚ We are stormy here today – I think last week was pleasant for weather – I was in my bed for all of it so cannot really comment! We are due for more heavy rain overnight and tomorrow and then the heat returns! I tell you, I can’t wait for cooler days. Have a good Sunday!

    August 22, 2015 at 10:19 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Isn’t that typical!!! I do hope You’ll get better fast now! It is always worse to get anything when it is warm but why does it have to hit us during vacation? If we get sick here during vacation we can actually call in to the work place and take sick leave, of course one must have a medical certificate. When doing that we save our vacation days for later. I did that when I had my first hip implant, so I was at home all summer and could take my vacation during Christmas and way in to January πŸ™‚

      I do hope it isn’t anything autoimmune! It could be some kind of rheumatism if it is, not a fun thing to have, I know I have two different kinds.

      I knew I had to get some kind of light in there but without any cord that would let out light from where it would enter the camera. I’m glad I have work friends who know a lot about things like that πŸ™‚

      We’re having the prefect weather here now, cold at night but sunny and warm during the day πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 23, 2015 at 7:15 am

  6. Great photos . Thanks for getting up early.

    August 22, 2015 at 10:36 pm

    • Hi hethersettbirding and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      Well I do what I can to give You nice photos πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back!

      Christer.

      August 23, 2015 at 7:17 am

  7. Christer,
    The sepia pictures are wonderful. They look so old but are distinct and clear. I love old pictures and often buy some at antique stores or even on line. They are usually quite inexpensive.

    I want your mornings. We have been stuck in heat and humidity. The air feels so very heavy. I turn off the AC but by afternoon usually need to turn it on again. I just turned it off as we had our first rain in weeks and the air is cooler. No movies tonight because of the rain-we’ll do movie night tomorrow.

    I loved today’s pictures.

    Kat

    August 23, 2015 at 12:14 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I do like them too but must admit that I would have preferred them as they were but without the light leak damages πŸ™‚

      I have lots of old post cards that was left by my father when he died and some are sepia colored. I like them all. There are also some very old christmas, new year and easter cards that I really like, some of them are hand colored πŸ™‚

      We’re having the perfect weather here now, cold at night and in the mornings but sunny and around the 70’s during the day πŸ™‚ I do hope You can have the movie night today instead!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 23, 2015 at 7:21 am

Leave a Reply

