Almost balmy this morning.

DSC_0067

This morning was balmy compared to yesterday’s morning, 5C (41F). Lots more fog as well but it evaporated so much faster because it was as warm as it was. Lots more sounds around as well but no man-made thankfully. Even a few birds were singing which is rather unusual this time of year. Normally they just fly around eating as much as they can before the move south and those staying the winter are usually quite busy feeding the last younglings for the year.

 

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

DSC_0056

Yesterday morning there were hunters out by the bog so we couldn’t go there to take any foggy photos, today no hunters were out but the fog had already left when we arrived. I love walking there anyway but it is a bit annoying that I can’t walk everywhere when ever I feel like it. Well I better get used to it because the hunting season will continue until late February and to be honest, these hunters do think about us walking around too, they could have been out there every day if they wanted to and they do think about what’s best for the wildlife, not just to shoot anything that moves around.

 

DSC_0058

DSC_0061
An island in a lake of mist.

DSC_0062

DSC_0063

I did the same with the old Kodak camera as I did with the Rolleicord camera. I placed the little flashlight inside it and closed it. I couldn’t find any leaks at all and that confused me a lot. I handled the camera in the worst ways just to see if any light could be seen but no but then I realised what might be wrong! There’s a little round window, with red see through plastic on the back side of the camera. It is there so I can see how far I must advance the film so I can take another photo. It is the only way that I can see how many photos I’ve taken as well so it must be uncovered.

 

DSC_0064

DSC_0065

DSC_0066

DSC_0069

The problem is that it isn’t that red any longer, it’s sort of yellowish Β instead and it looks like it fits to where the light damages are in the photo. So now I must find a relatively Β dark red see through tape to place over the old one and I think it might be best to also cover the little window in between shots as well just to be sure. So where to find that dark red see through tape? I doubt a toy store can help me this time but perhaps a hobby store can? I’ll see if I can find one on the net that has it. Otherwise I’ll try normal see through tape and color it red myself.

 

DSC_0071

DSC_0073

DSC_0074

DSC_0075

As soon as that’s done I’ll order some film and try the old camera again, the black and white film isn’t especially expensive so I can continue trying lots of times until I’ve fixed the problem πŸ™‚ I do like black and white photos but to be honest it’s much more difficult to get good photos, especially when one doesn’t know the result until the film is developed πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0077

DSC_0079

DSC_0084

DSC_0092

It’s time for a pot of tea and some breakfast I think. Nova is a bit cranky because I had to clean her ear again and put medicine in it as well, now she only accepts the tastiest of treats, the rest she just spits out again πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0095

DSC_0096

DSC_0099

DSC_0100

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Christer, you are so innovative and resourceful about figuring out how to fix the light gaps on your cameras! Last December I erroneously purchased plastic wrap (the kind used to cover food in the refrigerator) that was red-tinted instead of clear. It was manufactured that way for the holiday season. When I use it to cover food, it is really more pink than red. I was thinking that several layers of that might turn out red. Also, there is a type of plastic called Mylar that graphic artists have used, at least in the past, before the time of computer graphics. Maybe you could find some of that in red, perhaps online. But it would be a shame to have to purchase a whole sheet of Mylar just to cut out a tiny piece of it to cover the little window on your camera that shows the number of the frame you’re on. Wishing you the best, I know you’ll figure something out!

    August 23, 2015 at 12:07 pm

    • Hi Adele!

      Only when I’m forced to be though πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I’m afraid pink never becomes red no matter how many layers one put together, it might be darkr enough to not let in any light though.

      Yes mylar would probably be a good thing to find, I wonder if I can find that in a hobby store? I better check that. I don’t think it matter what kind of thing I’ll get, I will have to buy lots more than I need πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’ve been thinking about if a permanent marker will give a deep wnough red color to keep the light out of the camera? That will be my backup plan πŸ™‚

      Have a grerat day!
      Christer.

      August 23, 2015 at 3:38 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Amazon has transparent red film with an adhesive backing. It’s used for fixing tail lights on cars. See if you can find something similar. Here’s the link. http://smile.amazon.com/Transparent-Adhesive-Tinted-Plastic-Sticker/dp/B012Y4UUCM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1440338528&sr=8-2&keywords=transparent+red+tape
    You could also go to an automotive supply store and look for transparent red tape that would be used for temporary repair of broken tail light covers. You might have to use a double layer of either of those since they may not be dark enough.
    The other thing you could check out is if you can get that little red plastic piece out of the camera and replace it with a new red plastic thing.

    The sun came out momentarily late yesterday afternoon. This morning is cloudy and cool with a heavy mist. It was like walking through a clear cloud. I guess I won’t be mowing the lawn today. Oh, darn. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    August 23, 2015 at 3:11 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ll ask my workfriend who is in to fixing cars if he knows where I might get something like that tape to fix the tail lights. My back up plan is to use a permanent marker, perhaps a combination of both is good enough?

      I’ve checked ifit is possible tochange that little plastic piece and it looks like it would be possible, the problem is that it would be very hard to make anything sit there unless it’s a perfect match. I’ll see if there actually are spare parts for this camera out on the net, if there is I doubt it will be here in Sweden so it would cost a fortune to get it here πŸ™‚

      WeΓ€ve had a wonderful day here, just enough warm, sunshine and a steady wind cooling us down πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 23, 2015 at 3:50 pm

      • Caryn

        You’d need permanent translucent highlighter pen or permanent translucent ink of some kind. Permanent markers, like Sharpie pens, are opaque.

        I decided to take the dogs up to Plum Island, about a 30 minute drive north and east of me. The mist here was rain there. We got soaked. On the way home I had to turn on the heat in the jeep because we were wet and cold. I had to chuckle. Practically two weeks in constant AC and now I was running the heater in the jeep. πŸ™‚

        August 23, 2015 at 11:06 pm

      • You are so right! I remember once having red ink that would have been perfect now but it is so long ago that I can’t remember what it was called πŸ™‚

        I always like the first minutes in the rain after a long period of warm weather, too bad I get tired of it so fast πŸ™‚ I do understand the need for heat on the way home πŸ™‚

        August 24, 2015 at 5:14 pm

  3. beautiful photos and I learned somethings about photography here today!!!1
    It never ceases to amaze me how spiteful our loving dogs can be!
    They hold a grudge but not for long, lol,

    August 23, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      She’s back to normal again, my little lady πŸ™‚ Still I think she does understand that I actually am helping her, she just won’t admit it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 23, 2015 at 3:57 pm

  4. Birgit

    Dear non-smoker,
    I don’t know how Swedish tobacco packs look like but mine are sealed with a small red tape. Maybe other food seals in the supermarket? Apart from that I would ask in a stationery store. If solid red plastic helps just destroy a cheap red-transparent fire lighter. Please don’t ask why I think of tobacco and lighters πŸ˜‰
    I hope you can fix it, I’m curious to see more photos πŸ™‚
    Great fog photos!

    August 23, 2015 at 4:34 pm

    • Hi Birgit!

      πŸ™‚ I think ours have a very thin red tape so I would need plenty to cover that little window πŸ™‚ but they actually have the right deepness ion the color! Even the ones in other packages are just a few millimeter wide I’m afraid. It would be a problem to get the piece from the lighter into the right shape, if it gets too thick I might tear it off when using the camera but I will have that in the back of my mind if I can’t find anything else.

      Sooner or later there will be more photos from that old camera πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 23, 2015 at 6:04 pm

  5. jaz

    hi christer! somehow, when i have to do anything with teddy’s ears, she makes them close. i don’t know how she does it but is is hard work to open one up. we still haven’t had any rain here. i can’t remember being this dry before.

    August 24, 2015 at 3:45 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      My first dog was like that πŸ™‚ I woonder if dogs who can do like that have some extra muscles or if they just figured out how to use the ones they have πŸ™‚

      We did get some rain here, like a drop in the ocean but more is on its way they say and possibly thunder as well.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 24, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Leave a Reply

