It would be possible.

DSC_0039

This could be the reason I didn’t sleep especially long last night.

I woke up at 4 am today and it was just impossible to go back to sleep again even if it now is pitch black at that time, well not entirely pitch black because of the full moon. So I went outside in the rather cool temperature and tried to get a good photo of it. It was just impossible to get a clear shot of it though, I blame the atmosphere πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0042
Lots of fog outside the village.

DSC_0044

 

I’m feeling robbed of the morning mist, I could see it everywhere but in our village. It was cool enough and the sun rose so there should have been som here too. There was however lots of dew this morning so it was easy to see all the webs this morning. I’m surprised that we have this many flies in this area considering how many spiders we have πŸ™‚ and also counting all insect-eating birds and bats this should be a fly free zone to be honest πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0045

DSC_0046
I was talking to a neighbor some time ago, he sighed and said we’ve bought another car again. So I said isn’t it tractors You tend to buy a lot of? and he said, yeah, that too πŸ™‚ Today I saw this car so I guess he bought one more πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
DSC_0048
They have loads of tractors πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The last time I heard about it they had eleven πŸ™‚

The moose flies have started to hatch further south so it’s just a matter of time until they start flying here too. No more forest walks for a while unless we’re having really cold mornings that forces even those devils to stay calm. I rarely say I hate anything but I do hate those flies! They almost didn’t exist in this country thirty years ago and I guess it is the warmer climate that helps them spread northwards. I really don’t like saying this but I think we need a really cold winter without any snow so the ground freeze way down and kill most of them.

 

DSC_0049
Here’s two more of them πŸ™‚ I’m so glad I only go nuts over cheap cameras πŸ™‚

DSC_0050

DSC_0056

When I paint in the neighbor factory I’m all alone the entire time and have lots of time to let my mind wander of in its own paths πŸ™‚ Last week I started to think about if we didn’t have the internet, would it still be possible to write a sort of blog anyway? I think it would but it would be time-consuming and pretty expensive in the long run πŸ™‚ First we have the problem of finding each other. It could start by just being two persons writing to each other and one of them would invite a third person. So if I would like people in another country to read my letter blog I would have to know a second person in another country.

 

DSC_0051

DSC_0053
I couldn’t see the Deerstalker this morning but the doe was there and she followed us just like he usually does πŸ™‚

DSC_0055

So I would write something like I already do and then mail a letter, including photographs to the persons reading my blog. They would then respond by writing a comment to me that. I would then have to answer all comments I’ve gotten in one new letter that I then would send to everyone reading my blog πŸ™‚ If a new comment would be sent to me I would have to do it all again but I think I would skip all photos after the first mail I had sent away to everyone πŸ™‚ It would be even more lettersΒ if we, like we made a comment to one of the other followers who then most likely would answer to that comment πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It actually could work πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0057

DSC_0058

DSC_0059

So if the internet one day collapses we will still be able to keep this up if we wanted to πŸ™‚ It would take time though so perhaps we could be happy if there came a new blog once a week? πŸ™‚ It’s time for a pot of tea and then to fall asleep in front of the tv πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0060

DSC_0061
I could see several hundreds of spider webs in just one tiny field today so I can’t understand that we can have this many flies every year!

DSC_0062

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0063

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Beautiful light in the photographs this morning. I love the single spider web suspended among the tree trunks.

    If the spiders are making the webs in the field, they are probably catching a lot of low flying flies. The birds and bats get the high flyers. What’s left are the flies that take the middle way where you’re walking around. πŸ™‚

    In the old days a blog was a newspaper column. You started by volunteering to write for the local paper. If your stuff was good enough to get a steady following, they might even decide to pay you or you could get hired away by a slightly larger, regional publication and then a national one. You could be famous like Dave Barry. πŸ™‚

    Years and years ago, I participated in something that was a bit like what you described above. Different, usually well-known, people wrote opinion pieces and sent them out as letters. I could respond to the author, if I wanted to, and that correspondence could go on. It was during the Vietnam war so there was quite a bit of that subject, pro and con, and there were some interesting people involved. I still have some of the letters up in Scary Room 2. If the mice haven’t chewed them, that is. πŸ™‚
    Searching a blog archive is much easier and cleaner.

    Today is lovely, so far, but it’s still early morning. It’s 57ΒΊF now but heading for the mid 80’s. The sun is shining. No clouds. No breeze. Another heat wave predicted for the coming week.

    Enjoy the day.

    August 29, 2015 at 1:24 pm

    • Hi caryn!

      I’m glad I got the light now when I didn’t get the fog πŸ™‚

      Yes that’s the problem! There are very few spider webs in the hight of my head πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Too bad the swallows never seems to get how many flies there are in that hight above the ground πŸ™‚

      Yes a column is sort of a blog but all the comments and answers to the comments are never published though πŸ™‚ Unfortunately Dave Barry isn’t known here but we have our own columnists, more before the internet era started though. I have a hard time following the ones on the net, too many and too bad πŸ™‚

      The second thing You write about is more what I think of, I think πŸ™‚ andI can imagine how much letters were written during that time! You are absolutely right, it is so much easier to search through the blog archives πŸ™‚

      It has been a so so day here. Warm and nice when the sun shines, bitter cold when the clouds covered it and some drizzle now and again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 29, 2015 at 4:03 pm

  2. I so thankful for the Internet.
    My letter would get written but then it would lay on the desk waiting for a stamp that I would keep forgetting to buy and sadly, it would never be mailed.

    August 29, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes there are lots of great stuff on the internet! I would for instance never have known about Your existens at all if it wasn’t for the net!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 29, 2015 at 4:04 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Well – good thing you don’t have a penchant for cars or tractors…cameras are good, not too expensive. Can you imagine? Who needs 12 tractors? You can only drive one at a time unless you have farm hands that can help. I am glad my hobby of knitting doesn’t cost much! πŸ™‚ We are having a weird day. Its very hazy, cool but really humid. No rain in the forecast but the haze from the forest fires gives that all around eerie glow to everything. This has been a weird summer. Strange weather, strange haze. I will be glad when its gone. I checked my pumpkins today – I have 2 Jack Be LIttles growing and what looks like very small (size of a peanut!) Warty Goblin. πŸ™‚ I doubt I will get any good sized Goblins but its just the luck. We are hoping the skies will clear enough tonight so we can head out of the city to take pictures of the moon. My son is hoping that he can get some good ones tonight! I am watching Doc Martin now (one of my favorite shows) and just passing the time. πŸ™‚ My vacation ends tomorrow so I am just enjoying the day. Have a good evening!!

    August 29, 2015 at 6:42 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes that is sort of nice, especially when it comes to my economy πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      He just loves especially old tractors and he actually use them all. They have three big horses, the two black and one brown I often show here. As long as one doesn’t destroy ones economy I think it’s alright, so I do hope he’s rich πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      So You still have forest fires! I haven’t heard about Your fires in quite a while now so I thought they were over for this time. That smoky haze usually gives a sort of sickly yellow light.

      I have two tiny pumpkins that won’t become anything unless the frost stays away until late September and strangely enough I only have two squash’s, they usually produce so many that it is impossible to eat them all πŸ™‚

      I’m hoping the sky will be clear so I can take a few photos of the night sky soon but it doesn’t look promising. This time I was going to try to have the shutter open for around 30 seconds or so to get even more stars in the photo, the ones ity’s impossible to see without a telescope. But the sky seems to be evenly covered with clouds at the moment.

      I haven’t seen Doc Martin, I think they show that one on a channel we have to pay for and I refuse to do that πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 29, 2015 at 8:57 pm

  4. Reading your comments about blogging without the Internet made me think of the pen pal letter round robins I used to participate in. One of them the “host” was from New Zealand. She wrote the first letter and sent to someone in the states who added her news and comments and passed on to another person who did the same. A person could include photos etc if they wanted to. I think there were six or seven of us in the robin. The last person sent it to the host in NZ who took out her original letter and any photos or other enclosures and wrote a new letter to include. When the second person got it she took out her old letter and put in a new one, etc. That way everyone got to read every letter and comment on it if they desired. The last person on the list was the one who paid the most postage! This robin went on for quite awhile but didn’t come around too often due to going back and forth to NZ – usually by surface mail to keep costs down. In this way six or seven persons were connected. A newspaper column would reach more readers though all in one year unless it was “picked up” by other papers elsewhere.

    Enjoy your blog and your photos!

    August 29, 2015 at 7:21 pm

    • Hi Joyce F!

      That sounds more like what I was thinking about! It would take much longer than I thought at first though, so perhaps a new letter every month would be enough πŸ™‚

      I remember when I had a penpal in the US when I was a kid, it did cost some to send a normal letter so we always used that silky thin paper that almost weighed nothing. I can just imagine how much it would cost with heavy photos in it as well πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I miss writing letters, it was something special to get a letter from someone, especially if it came from across the ocean and since one never knew how the postal services worked one also never knew if the letter arrived πŸ™‚ So I do see the advantages with the e-mails πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 29, 2015 at 9:04 pm

  5. Last sentence of my comment should read area instead of year.

    August 29, 2015 at 7:23 pm

  6. Christer,
    I wrote these really long letters from Ghana which were a chronicle of my life and my days. They were sort of a blog. My family passed the letters along so everyone could know what I was doing.

    The internet is so much a part of my days I don’t know what I’d do without it. Finding information is the one of the best parts of having it. If I need to know something, my fingers do the hunting. I’d probably not have found you at all. I ‘m glad I did.

    Enjoy the evening!!

    August 30, 2015 at 12:30 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Many don’t answer comments in their blogs like You and I do, so yeas those letters were sort of a blog :-)I guess everyone read them with great interest since Your life in Africa was so different from the lives in the US.

      Yes internet does make life easier but then again, I was just reading a newspaper online yesterday when my compouter told me it had stopped a virus, that never heppens in letters πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 30, 2015 at 5:06 am

Leave a Reply

