Did You know that?

DSC_0041

I woke up in the early morning by the sound of rain hitting my cottage really hard, I can’t remember any of the weather reports mentioning rain during the night so I have to admit that I was a bit surprised. They have actually been rather accurate in their predictions lately so I had forgotten how often they actually are wrong :-)Otherwise it seems as if the weather will continue in the same manner as yesterday, some rain, some sun but so far no more rain.

 

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

It wasn’t that cold this morning to be honest but the high humidity made it feel like it was, so I wore a fleece sweater on our walk. I could see mist rising up on the mountain as soon as the sun showed itself and even some by one of the swampy fields here near my home but not much. It was all quiet when we were out walking but the sounds started as soon as we came home. I think I heard the motor of my neighbors latest car and I also heard a tractor or two.

 

DSC_0047

DSC_0048

Smoke from the Bog Ladies fires :-9
Smoke from the Bog Ladies fires 🙂
Much more up on the mountain, I wonder if they are called Moutain Ladies?
Much more up on the mountain, I wonder if they are called Mountain Ladies?

Our airforce have been out flying a lot above us lately, I guess they’ve gotten lots of more money now when the Russians behave like they do. Back in the days if a child didn’t behave as its parents wanted they always were threatened with ” You better behave or the Russians will come and get You”, I have a feeling that might make a comeback 🙂

 

DSC_0055

DSC_0057

DSC_0058

DSC_0059

Did You know that Sweden once upon a time actually was a super power here in Europe? The Baltic Sea was actually more or less completely inside the Swedish territories. Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, northern Poland and northern Germany was actually all Swedish at the same time for a while. It didn’t last very long though and eventually the Russians took Finland from us. Later on we got Norway, much to their surprise since they actually was on their way to break free from Denmark.

DSC_0061

DSC_0062

DSC_0063

DSC_0065  

We “got” Norway since we had helped to bring down Napoleon, Denmark was on Napoleons side and Copenhagen was heavily bombed bt the Britain navy because of the fear that Napoleon would use their ships against Great Britain. Norway was allowed to have their own constitution and allowed to have their own official language, something they hadn’t been allowed  to under Danish rule. The united kingdom of Sweden-Norway lasted almost 100 years but the Norwegians wanted to be independent which I fully understand and broke free. Thankfully we had a king, Oscar the second, who understood that a war never would solve anything so he did let them go peacefully. Besides, we had tried to take Norway by war before and never managed to do so, “we” even killed our own king (Carl the twelfth) to stop one of those useless wars.

 

The rest of the photos show flowers in bloom in my garden right now. This is how Broccoli looks like when it flowers, butterflies loves them.
The rest of the photos show flowers in bloom in my garden right now. This is how Broccoli looks like when it flowers, butterflies loves them.
Flowering Maple, it has the same name in Swedish. This one will grow inside during winter though.
Flowering Maple, it has the same name in Swedish. This one will grow inside during winter though.
Calceolaria mexicana, an annual I always want in my garden. Very easy to grow and it looks like slugs doesn't eat it.
Calceolaria mexicana, an annual I always want in my garden. Very easy to grow and it looks like slugs doesn’t eat it.
Dasiphora fruticosa, Golden Hardhack.
Dasiphora fruticosa, Golden Hardhack.

It is time for a pot of tea and after that I’ll do the laundry.

Have a great day!

 

 

Rosa rugosa.
Rosa rugosa.
Astilbe chinensis var. pumila. It only grows up to 25cm (10 inches) high.
Astilbe chinensis var. pumila. It only grows up to 25cm (10 inches) high.
Astilbe chinensis, this one is almost a meter (a yard) high. Two favorites of mine.
Astilbe chinensis, this one is almost a meter (a yard) high. Two favorites of mine.
This is the sunflower I got at the plant swapping day. I don't know which one it is though. Perennial sunflowers can be truly weedy and spread like crazy! Needs lots of sun.
This is the sunflower I got at the plant swapping day. I don’t know which one it is though. Perennial sunflowers can be truly weedy and spread like crazy! Needs lots of sun.
This was sown as Maxililians sunflower but I doubt it is. Maximilian should grow up to three meters high but this one is just slightkly higher than a meter (a yard). I also have Jerusalem artichoke which also is a sunflower but it still only have buds. Spreads happily and the roots are quite tasty.
This was sown as Maximilian’s sunflower but I doubt it is. Maximilian should grow up to three meters high but this one is just slightly higher than a meter (a yard). This one doesn’t spread at all without help. I also have Jerusalem artichoke which also is a sunflower but it still only have buds. Spreads happily and the roots are quite tasty.
10 responses

  1. Underbara bilder som vanligt.
    Jisses vad mycket historia du kan. Visst har jag läst den men minnet är bra men kort, så lite repetion skadade inte. Har inte tänkt på hur stort Sverige var en gång i tiden. Nog tur att vi inte är det längre. Det var nog tur att det var Oskar som var kung 1905, har hört att sonen Gustav inte ville släppa Norge.
    Här regnade det lite igår kväll men inget i natt. Höstarna brukar vara blöta här. Vi har nederbördsrekordet för Götaland i december med nästan 350 mm. Det är tur att somrarna brukar vara lite torrare. Fast i år har det regnat mer än vanligt tycker man men om man tittar på vad som är normalt här på sommaren så har sommarregnen inte varit så onormala som man vill tro.
    Ha en bra dag och njut av dagen.

    August 30, 2015 at 11:07 am

    • Hejsan Vittran!

      Det var en historielektion light 🙂 Historia var ett av mina favoritämnen i skolan och det sitter i verkar det som 🙂

      Visst är det tur att vi inte är så stora längre, tänk bara på hur fort vi hade dragits in i andra världskriget! Ja Oscar var en smart kung, inte många av dem var det är jag rädd 🙂 Dessutom förtjänade ju norrmännen att få ha sitt eget land, de blev ju inte direkt positivt överraskade av att plötsligt vara en del av Sverige 🙂 🙂 Gustav den femte var en idiot om vi skall vara ärliga.

      Vi har fått mycket regn här de senaste dagarna så jag tycker det räcker nu 🙂 Sommardagarna var kyliga här men nätterna varma så det är nog därför vi trots allt hade en varmare Juli än normalt. Vi fick mest enstaka skurar nästan varje dag här under min semester, tyvärr skapade det ett paradis för flugorna. Nästa år hoppas jag på en rejäl torka på våren så de fördömda fluglarverna dör!

      Ha det så gott!

      Christer.

      August 30, 2015 at 12:35 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I did actually know about Sweden owning the Baltic Sea and most things around it and being a world power because of that military genius and expansionist king, Gustavus Adolphus. After that I’m fuzzy on Swedish history. Somewhere down the line there was a King Charles XI who did something important but I don’t know what. Sorry. I’m a typical American that way. It’s all about us. 🙂
    I didn’t know “you” offed one of your kings, though. Thanks for the history lesson.

    The combination of the broccoli flowers and whatever the purple flowers are is a lovely color mix. Did you intend for the broccoli to go to flower or is it a happy accident?
    The mint that I haven’t killed yet is in flower. It hasn’t spread very much more than the original size. Since I’m not a huge fan of weeding, it’s anyone’s guess what’s going to win in that spot. The contestants are mint, oxalis, grass, phlox and aquilegia. I pull out the pyracantha shoots because I hate it and want it all to die.

    Its sunny and cool at the moment but it’s early morning. The temperatures are heading for the upper 80’s F today and into the 90’s for next week. But it’s not humid. It won’t be as bad as it sounds. It will be like opening an oven door but no steam bath. 🙂 Good thing, my chore for today is to stain some lumber and I’d hate be doing it in sticky weather.

    Enjoy the day.

    August 30, 2015 at 12:19 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m impressed, I doubt many in Europe knows much about that 🙂 Yes that king was a genious when it came to warfare. Charles XI was rather smart too, he took the army and walked on the frosen sea from the south and surprised the Danes by taking their capital 🙂 It could have gone terribly wrong, normally the ice would not have been thick enough to carry them all.

      Yes we have a tendency to do that it seems 🙂 A few kings have been killed, one prime minister and one foreign minister have been killed by ourselves. Charles XII (or Carl XII as we say) was shot by someone in the Swedish lines, the murderer used a big button as a bullet. We have always blamed the Norwegians but the latest studies shows clearly that the shot came from us and not the Norwegians. Thousands of soildiers died on their way home to Sweden after that, they froze to death.

      I thought that was a good combination too 🙂 The broccoli started to flower as soon as the warm weather came after my return to work, so it wasn’t intentional. Now the Cabbage butterflies have laid eggs on the plants and I’ll let them have them. I like the butterflies and I can’t use the broccoli anyway 🙂

      You do have a special gift when it comes to mint 🙂 🙂 normally they spread so fast that You can’t stop it 🙂 Pyracantha isn’t hardy enough to grow here, well one variety might but then again it is the ugliest of them 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Not even near to opening a stove heat here 🙂 the predictions show that some days might just reach 57F as warmest and that is after all a bit better than oven hot 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 30, 2015 at 12:46 pm

      • Caryn

        Poor Carl XII. Who knew “buttonholing” someone had a lethal side to it.

        Sorry, I couldn’t resist the pun. I hang my head (but snicker just the same). 🙂

        August 30, 2015 at 5:44 pm

      • I come from Gothenburg, puns are what we’re doing there 🙂

        August 30, 2015 at 6:40 pm

  3. Your flowers look amazing!
    I’m jealous. they are so beautiful.
    You certainly know your history.
    I’m afraid I barely know ours.
    As a child we weren’t threatened by the Russians coming to get us.
    But rather them bombing us into nothingness.
    I awoke to fog this morning.
    The weather people didn’t mention that here either.

    August 30, 2015 at 2:33 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’m used to them so I don’tr see it 🙂 But I do like the flowering broccoli 🙂

      History was a favorite subject in school and I do remember more than I thought, this was just a bhistiry lesson light 🙂

      We never thought they would bomb us but we all knew we would die anyway because of all the radiation. At least we would be good looking corpses 🙂 🙂 🙂

      The day has turned out quite nicely but we got caught in a heavy shower when we were out walking 🙂 🙂 🙂

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      August 30, 2015 at 3:20 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Nothing like waking up and hearing rain – one of the best sounds in my opinion! 🙂 We woke to everything dripping with dew and high humidity moisture. I had to go out and squeegee the kitchen windows as I could not see out!! Now the skies are clearing and we are to hit around 41 with the humidity today. Can you say yuck? This has been such an odd summer – more hazy from the forest fires than not, which in turn makes the sky look gray and weird instead of blue, we’ve had more humidity than any normal person should ever experience and its lingering. I will moan when winter comes to be sure, but this summer has been ridiculous. So many people can’t venture outside due to the smoke in the air….I hope it goes quickly. We couldn’t go find the moon rising last night due to the smoke. But when we did see her higher in the sky, she was blood red. It was creepy. That is interesting about Sweden being a super power. My grandmother came to Canada from Latvia when she was in her late 20’s – but on her birth certificate it says she was Polish because it was under Poland’s rule then. Latvia has changed hands so many times so to hear about Sweden was not surprising but interesting!! Love all the flower pictures today! Flowering broccoli – how neat is that!!!!! 🙂 I hope your evening is going well! 🙂

    August 30, 2015 at 5:26 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I prefer to fall asleep to the sound of rain but both are good as long as it doesn’t rain when I’m going outside 🙂
      I don’t think we reached 20 today but it was nice enough to keep the kitchen door open most parts of the day.

      We’ve had a few good days during our summer but mostly it has been a bit too cool here and lots of rain. Summer really didn’t start until after our vacations were over 🙂

      Smoky air can seriously damage our lungs so I hope You have some breathing protection if it’s a bad day, I can’t even imagine how bad it must be for people with breathing problems.

      I wonder if we had a blood moon yesterday or if it is thge smoke that gave You that red moon? Personally I love it when the moon get that red color 🙂

      I’ve heard that those years the baltic states belonged to sweden still are called the good years so I guess we weren’t especially bad towards them. Yes the baltic countries have had it difficult many times

      The broccoli does look good when flowering and I do hope I’ll get seeds from them so I can sow those nect year 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 30, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Leave a Reply

