You rarely hear someone being happy about having slugs in their garden.

DSC_0020

We’ve not had the nicest of weathers since yesterday afternoon. Strong winds, heavy rainfalls and high humidity and nor forgetting low temperatures. I know it was just the same during the night because I woke up and went downstairs. All the dogs were farting badly and just as I opened the door I realised Orvar also had a really bad stomach, we all noticed that when he farted on his way out. My kitchen still smell like chlorine this morning πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

 

We didn’t get out on a walk until way after 8am because of the bad weather but now I can see that the clouds are getting thinner and I almost saw the sun there for a while. They say we’ll get sunshine this afternoon and it will last for the rest of the week. I wouldn’t be surprised if the first frost comes next week if the sky is clear during the night, it would normally have come here this week but it has just been too cloudy during the nights to allow that to happen.

 

I saw two Ketrels playing in the air on our walk and they flew to the pasture just outside my cottage.
I saw two Kestrels playing in the air on our walk and they flew to the pasture just outside my cottage.

DSC_0038

A bit blurry I'm afraid.
A bit blurry I’m afraid.

As You all know by now I almost never buy plants in fear of getting the Spanish slug to this area. That slug has no natural enemies here so it spreads like crazy and eat everything it reaches. Some people kill over 1000 every day in their gardens (and they become pretty big those slugs), otherwise they would have very little left in their gardens at all. There is however one slug that injures them and often also kill them, the Leopard slug (we call it the Panther slug), Limax maximus.Β I can happily now tell You that I have loads of the Leopard slug in my garden πŸ™‚ It seems they like my warm compost and have multiplied there in big numbers πŸ™‚ I did think I had unusually few slugs at all this summer πŸ™‚

 

Too bad it refused to turn around so I could see its head.
Too bad it refused to turn around so I could see its head.

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

They only eat decaying plant parts so I will take care of these slugs as if they were my own children πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Even if the Spanish one would try to get in to my garden it will most likely not be especially successful and that makes me happy πŸ™‚ I guess that these slugs can be a reason the badgers like my garden so much that they visit it every night, they just love a juicy slug πŸ™‚ It isn’t often one hear anyone being happy because they have lots of slugs in their garden πŸ™‚

 

A few photos from yesterday.
A few photos from yesterday.

DSC_0053

Just follow the yellow brick road, sorry yellow flower road I should say. I think it might be buttercups growing where the old road once was.
Just follow the yellow brick road, sorry yellow flower road I should say. I think it might be buttercups growing where the old road once was.

It is time to do the laundry and after that I’ll have a pot of tea and a small nap in front of the tv πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0048

DSC_0064

DSC_0056

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Well that sounded like a wonderful way to wake up. Not. πŸ˜›

    Follow the buttercup road. I hope it doesn’t lead to the field of poppies that makes you sleep forever. πŸ™‚

    Lovely sequence of the kestrels playing. I used to watch the Marsh Hawks doing that out on Plum Island. No camera back then but it was so cool to watch the play fights or whatever they were doing. They looked like young hawks.

    We just got back from our first walk. It’s cool but I can tell that the day is going to be much warmer than the last couple have been.
    The floating feather was still there, the camera with working battery were with me, the sun was almost right. In the process Rocky’s leash knocked the grass stem down but it was alright. Picture still not right. I’ll keep trying though I’m not sure now what I’m looking for besides perfection. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    September 6, 2015 at 1:27 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think he was as surprised as I was πŸ™‚ Thankfully it wasn’t much and very easy to clean up πŸ™‚

      Who knows what that old forgotten roads lead to πŸ™‚ I don’t think I would like to sleep forever but it would be nice to do it through winter πŸ™‚ I think I’ll check it out as soon as I know there are no cows walking around in that huge pasture πŸ™‚

      It was fun to see them play but that didn’t mean they took their eyes of the ground, one of them dived fast towrds the ground at one time but missed what ever it was supposed to catch. Really impressive birds! I think this is the couple who nests here every year but as You say they could be misstaken for young ones.

      So everything was almost right today πŸ™‚ Just remember the sun changes angle a bit every day now, that has destroyed several good photos I’ve wated to take πŸ™‚ I’m just about to go out with the dogs again and this time I’ll bring the fully automatic Minolta 5000 AF (think it is called Minolta Maxxum 5000 in the US). I bought a lens just so I could try it. The seller wrote that it didn’t work properly because the zzom didn’t work on automatic mode. Well it isn’t supposed to so I bought a perfectly good lens for less than $ 6 US πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It will normally cost at least 18 πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 6, 2015 at 2:19 pm

      • Caryn

        It’s because it is a down feather and I can’t get the focus right. The lens wants to focus on things behind it. I’ll have to go out without the dogs so I can concentrate.
        But I took a photo of a stupendously huge pokeweed plant for you because I remembered that you said people in Sweden try to grow them. They’re weeds here.I’ll put it on FB. Piki Dog is in there for scale. He’s about 10 inches tall. Yeah, he’s really a cat in a dog suit. πŸ™‚

        September 6, 2015 at 3:28 pm

      • It is a bit strange that they still haven’t made the auto focus better on the cameras. I just came in from a walk and took the Minolta with me, it too rather focused on things far away than the thing I wanted it to focus on πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        I’ll go there directly to watch it!

        September 6, 2015 at 3:49 pm

  2. I agree, its not often we are happy with slugs but in this instance its a win win for you and the badger!!!!

    September 6, 2015 at 1:55 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes both I and the badgers are happy about this πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 6, 2015 at 2:20 pm

  3. jaz

    it’s bad enough to have 1 farting dog let alone a whole pack! i have been trying to grow a special mexican herb here all summer and as soon as the plant starts to look good, the slugs attack it. i put pennies around it the other day but i’m not sure that they are even made of copper anymore so they might not work.

    September 6, 2015 at 3:55 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it does smell something nasty bad πŸ™‚

      I think You must have copper wire to be sure they won’t get to Your herbs. Place two copper wires around the herbs with a distance of inche between them. Short slugs will still reach both wires and it is so painful for them that they bturn around and soimetimes even die. I wonder if there’s any copper in coins now days πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 6, 2015 at 4:45 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Congratulations on the right kind of slugs! πŸ™‚ We have slugs here, but they are tiny and I could not name them if I tried. I know last year they really liked my hostas, this year not as bad which I am glad. We had heavy rain last night, today is misty, foggy, cool and humid. Kind of gross really. We are to go down to 9 degrees tonight so we will see what tomorrow brings. Today is puppy training – this will be ongoing for awhile I am sure πŸ™‚ All I know is I am glad that its a long weekend….and pretty soon I will be going for a nap too, in front of the TV even! πŸ™‚ Have a good evening!

    September 6, 2015 at 4:22 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is nice to be lucky for once πŸ™‚

      We too have several tiny slugs and I tend to call them all field slugs πŸ™‚ It has been just too hot and dry where You live so most slugs have buried themselves in the ground until it gets cooler and wetter. Hot and dry isn’t always a bad thing πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I can’t say I envy You the puppy training πŸ™‚ I love to have puppies around but it is soo nice when the basic things works good πŸ™‚

      have a great day and nap πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      September 6, 2015 at 4:49 pm

  5. Hmmm..I’m wondering if this is what is going on with Mele’. I even took her to the Vet and had her checked. She was fine. Had her teeth cleaned thought that might be the problem..but it wasn’t..sweet breath but I’m sometimes driving crazy and make her go in the other room. NOW I’m beginning to get suspicious! LOL Thank for the pic of Bertil!!! πŸ™‚

    September 7, 2015 at 5:13 am

    • Hi Mona!

      Do You mean the heat and Mele? It most likely is if there’s nothing the vet can find.

      Orvar has a breath that can kill a bison πŸ™‚ I always try to avoid letting him breathe towards my face πŸ™‚

      Well I thought it was time to give You a photo of Bertil again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 7, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Leave a Reply

