Just in time.

Anotyher Kestrel. This one usually sit on my neighbors old tv antenna.
Another Kestrel. This one usually sit on my neighbors old tv antenna.

I thought Β it wouldn’t arrive in time this year but it did on the last day of the first seven days in september. I’m talking about the frost. To be honest, it did feel cold but not that cold and the thermometer didn’t show that it was below 0C (32F). But I realised it had arrived when there was a thick layer of ice on my car πŸ™‚ It was parked outside the garage just where the bog starts a bit lower than where my cottage stand.

 

DSC_0023

Raspberry leafs usually gives the most fantastic autumn colors.
Raspberry leafs usually gives the most fantastic autumn colors.

DSC_0025

I looked t the thermometer when I came home and it had dropped to 0,8C (33,4F) after I had left for work. The day was rather pretty today, sunny and almost warm but as soon as I stopped working the clouds arrived and if they stay during the night we won’t have frost again. I wouldn’t mind if we had though, there were considerable less flies out flying when we were out walking after work. Not that there were so extremely many before either but I could notice a big difference.

 

A few Minolta photos.
A few Minolta photos.

A24

A101209_5

 

Nothing much else has happened today, it has been slow and sometimes it felt like the day never would pass at all but like always it did πŸ™‚ I bought a big cheese cake on my way home, the Swedish variety. It is so big that I won’t be able to eat it all today πŸ™‚ I hope I have some raspberry jam to have with it but I’m not sure. I do know I have gooseberry jam so that’ll have to do if I don’t have any raspberry.

 

A101210_1

A101210_2

A101210_3

It is time to put it in the oven and then I’ll eat half of it in front of the tv πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    The Minolta does a good job. I like the picture of the thistledown in the web with the tiny spider.
    I agree about the raspberry leaves. Lovely shot. Here it is poison ivy, cherry leaves and Virginia creeper that give spectacular early fall colors. They are starting to turn now. No danger of frost here for quite some time, I think.

    Rocky is feeling ill. I don’t know what’s wrong as all systems are operating normally. He just looks hangdog. He keeps asking to go outside but all he does is lie down in the hot dry grass and look hangdog. He’s on boiled rice for now and I’ll observe.

    Today is hot. Up in the 90’s and will be for the next few days. I didn’t turn on the AC today as the humidity is not bad and the house was reasonably cool for most of the day. I might give up, though as it’s getting warmer in here by the minute.

    Enjoy the evening.

    September 7, 2015 at 10:51 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It does but I need it to take a bit darker photos so I’ll under expose them a lot from now on πŸ™‚ I think the light meter together with ISO 400 is more than it can cope with πŸ™‚

      Cherry leafs usually get an odd orangey color that shines when the light is a bit weak and the maples of course, they shine like gold when the sun goes down. Thankfully we don’t have poison ivy here πŸ™‚

      As long as they eat and keep it down I normally just do like You, boil a lot of rice. I hope he’s better by now! Orvar’s stomach is still very wobbly so no dog food mixed in the boiled minced meat and lots of rice from now on.

      I think I would have given up πŸ™‚ 90’s is way to high even without the humidity! The house will never cool down enough for the night either so turn it on πŸ™‚ They predict 39F here during the night so that means below 32 and frost here in little Siberia πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 8, 2015 at 6:09 pm

  2. Christer,
    I liked the Minolta pictures. They have a lovely quality of color.

    Some days seem to last for weeks.The clock moves so slowly it doesn’t seem to change. We’ve all suffered through days like those. When I worked, I hate those days. Now I don’t care at all.

    We had a nice day today, and the breeze disappeared then reappeared. Even now the chimes outside are tinkling. The breeze is from the north, unusual this time of year. Most times it means a storm is coming, but there isn’t one in the forecast for tomorrow.

    I hope you had a great evening!

    September 8, 2015 at 2:21 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I think those photos give a feel of how photos looked at the 50’s πŸ™‚ I’ve changed film and ISo now so I think they will get a more modern color to them πŸ™‚

      Today was one of those days, it went by so slow and I even fell asleep during my lunch break πŸ™‚ I do hope tomorrow will be better, after all it will be Wednesday πŸ™‚

      My neighbor told me it has been sunny and fairly warm here today but the winds were very strong. It was different in the village I work in, it was mostly cloudy there. Northern winds and that’s how it usually is now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 8, 2015 at 6:13 pm

  3. jaz

    frost! wow! we are still in the 70’s at night. we are a long way off from a frost i am afraid.

    September 8, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      That’s normal here and it looks like we’ll get frost again tonight. They predict 39F during the night here and that usually means we’ll get below 32 and frost here in little Siberia πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 8, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Leave a Reply

