We waited absolutely still.

DSC_0027

No frost last night but I’m pretty sure we’ll get it tonight. They are predicting 4C (39F) and here in little Siberia that usually means below 0C (32F) and frost. The night will be clear too so a thick layer of frost on my car tomorrow won’t be a surprise to me. I was a bit surprised this morning however, I opened the kitchen door to let Sune out for a while and in to the garden jumped a doe.

 

There she stood eating berries :-)
There she stood eating berries πŸ™‚ The photos of her was taken through the window.
She then went to thge apples lying on the ground. I guess she needed something sweet after those nasty Aronia berries.
She then went to thge apples lying on the ground. I guess she needed something sweet after those nasty Aronia berries.

DSC_0024

She didn’t care about Sune at all and he couldn’t care less of her. I closed the door as soon as he came in and she started eating the berries on the Aronia bush. I’ve always thought it was the birds that ate them πŸ™‚ The berries are, kindly said, nasty tart πŸ™‚ and I can’t understand how they have become popular to have in juice and jams. The health freaks eat lots of them too because they are fully packed with vitamines and anti oxidants but they just taste nasty πŸ™‚ I suddenly remembered that I needed socks while she was eating those berries and went outside, she was gone within a second πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0028

I forgot to tell You yesterday what I saw on my way to work. I pass a huge stable where a trotting trainer have all his horses. Every morning they tale them out to the paddocks and it does happen that those rather nervous horses take their chance to run away while they are walking to the paddock so I always drive slow until I passed the place. Yesterday I saw one horse running like crazy in a small grove of trees. It ran fast but it looked a bit odd. I can’t say what it was but something wasn’t right.

 

DSC_0029

Common Buzzard. It seems I always see them from behind :-)
Common Buzzard. It seems I always see them from behind πŸ™‚

DSC_0031

I drove so slow that I almost stood still with the car when I saw the horse standing in a ditch. It was then I also sawΒ a person hanging to the bridle πŸ™‚ From what I can understand by seeing this the man had never let go of the bridle and just been forced to hold on for his life πŸ™‚ The poor man looked a bit shaken to put it mildly and his clothes Β had seen better days. All cars that now had arrived to the place stood absolutely still, first we wanted to see if the man could walk at all and that he could but he did limp badly. Then we stood still until he had come so far away that the sound from our cars wouldn’t stress the horse to do something similar again. I guess that man still doesn’t feel too well and I do hope he loves horses otherwise I doubt he still works there πŸ™‚

 

These three are from the folder For a rainy day.
These three are from the folder For a rainy day.

Att spara 4 (6)

Att spara 4 (7)

It is time for something to eat and to check that the radiators are on, the night will be a tad chilly I think πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I bet that man does work there and has done for some time. Anyone with less experience and less love for horses would have let go much sooner always assuming he wasn’t tangled up in the lead ropes. πŸ™‚
    The barn I first worked in was right next to a heavily used state route. The opening to the barn parking lot was about four car lengths from the highway. It would take just about 30 seconds for a running horse to get there. Maybe less. If you had a hold on anything attached to that animal and you were still conscious, you did not let go. The carnage would have been ugly.

    I love that first spider web photo. The spider looks like thistledown. She seems to have too many legs. πŸ™‚

    No danger of frost or need for radiators today. It’s 94ΒΊF at the moment. Storms on Thursday might relieve us. I hope so.

    Enjoy the evening.

    September 8, 2015 at 7:23 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes I’m sure he does and I’m sure You’re right about that. Another reason might be that the horse might be worth millions πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ This is a placve where one of the biggest trotting trainers has his stables πŸ™‚ It is always exiting driving there, my work friend once met a horse when it still was dark. He breaked as hard as he could and so did the horse, so much that my work friend could see sparkles from the horse’s shoes πŸ™‚ Both came out of that experince very stressed but unharmed πŸ™‚

      This road is heavily trafficed twice a day, when we all are going to or from work and that is of course the same time they bring out the horses to the paddocks.

      I did actually not see that spider until I read what You wrote πŸ™‚ It looks a bit dead, doesn’t it?

      Really cold here this morning and I had to scrape the car windows.

      Orvar is in a very bad shape today, he refuses to eat so I went home early. I managed to get him out on a walk and he did eat a few treats but still refuse to eat any food. I’ll see if he’s better tonight, if not I must take the hard decision.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 9, 2015 at 1:26 pm

      • Caryn

        I’m sad to hear that about Orvar and I hope his condition is temporary.

        September 9, 2015 at 9:08 pm

      • I’m sad to say it didn’t.

        September 10, 2015 at 11:21 am

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! I am happy to say that today is a beautiful 15 degrees and I think that will be the high. So exciting!!!!!! Can you tell this makes me happy? We will go down to 5 tonight. I came home this afternoon as I have a late meeting at work so I go back for about 4 and will be there till about 7 tonight. My boss is kind enough for me to rest my back so I am not sitting all day then sitting all evening. Plus I had to come home to let the puppy go outside. She was so very happy to see me. Apparently my neighbor told me she cried for 2 hours this morning! Not sure why – at night in her crate she is absolutely still. Oh boy…I hope that doesn’t last. That poor man on the horse. I have had a similar experience but this was on a winter sleigh with 2 massive percherons who decided to take off as we were trying to lead them through a tricky area…..with my son who was much much younger still on the sleigh. Luckily the sleigh was not enclosed and he was able to jump off. I have been kicked, thrown. Never bitten thankfully. Horses are tricky sometimes! πŸ™‚ but I love them. I am sure he was rather shaken. Thats some ride!! Have a good evening!

    September 8, 2015 at 8:02 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes I think I can tell that πŸ™‚ really cold here this morning and I had to scrape the car windows before I left for work.

      But You are all at home at night and she knows the difference. I hope she can relax and stay calm soon!

      That’s a reason to why I’m not that fond of horses πŸ™‚ Big, easily scared and so strong. I once looked after a neighbors horses and one of them hated humans, well except for my neighbor then. It did however hate the rest of his family and injured people as good as she could and she was good at it πŸ™‚ None of us, except for my neighbor of course, were sad when she wasn’t around any more but my neighbor was heart broken for months after she had passed away.

      So did Your son get scared or did he think it was exiting πŸ™‚

      Orvar is in a very bad shape today so I’m not sure if he will be around for much longer. He refuses to eat any food but I have managed to make him eat a few treats. I’ll decide later tonight about what to do.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 9, 2015 at 1:35 pm

  3. Christer,
    I’m glad both the man and the horse are both okay. Your frost is a far cry with our weather-my AC is on right now. It will be the same tomorrow so I’ll leave it on for another day.

    I’ll have to go out tomorrow-errand day, but I’ll have the car AC blowing. The dump is on my list but I’ll have to sneak out the trash as Gracie will expect to go, but the weather is too hot to leave her in the car.

    Stay warm!!

    September 8, 2015 at 11:11 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes, thankfully all drivers realised that it was time to take it easy and just wait. Not all drivers understand how bad things can become when horses are stressed like that.

      I had to scrape the car windows this morning but the sun shone so it didn’t feel that cold. No need for any AC unit here πŸ™‚

      I hope Gracie didn’t understand that You were about to go to the dump! She wouldn’t last long in such a hot car.

      Orvar is in a very bad shape and I’m not sure he’s around after tomorrow. He refuses to eat any food but I have managed to bring him out on a walk and he did eat a few treats so I’ll take the decision latyer tonight.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 9, 2015 at 1:39 pm

  4. jaz

    chiily? frost? these are words i do not know! it was 95 degrees here today and hotter tomorrow. i live in hell. i used to train race horses and i had days like that!

    September 9, 2015 at 12:47 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      You would have loved this morning, below 32 and I had to scrape the car windows before leaving for work. I’ve always pictured my hell as nasty cold though πŸ™‚

      That’s one reason I don’t like horses that much. Too big and too strong and way to easily scared.

      Orvar is in a very bad shape so I’m not sure he’s around much longer. He won’t eat any food but I did manage to get him out on a walk and to eat some treats. I’ll take the decision later tonight.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 9, 2015 at 1:41 pm

  5. beautiful beautiful photos!1 That was a lucky man to be alive!! frost here maybe tonight, yuk!!!

    September 10, 2015 at 1:21 am

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m glad You like them.

      Yes it could have been much worse, as it looked now he only got badly bruised.

      SFrost here every morning now.

      Christer.

      September 10, 2015 at 11:22 am

Leave a Reply

