I’ve bought myself a present, well two actually :-)

I was going to show photos from our walk after work today but I just don't have the energy to reduce them in size. So here are more Minolta photos. This is Bjurum Castle.
I was going to show photos from our walk after work today but I just don’t have the energy to reduce them in size. So here are more Minolta photos. This is Bjurum Castle.

The rain poured down all night and continued for a long time during the day too, well I won’t complain because it looks like I’ve washed my car 🙂 I am however glad the wind has calmed down, I do like to fall asleep to the sound of a strong wind but it is no fun in driving around in it. Much better now days though since the SAAB is quite heavy. My little Mazda that I had before got tossed around in the most nasty ways sometimes and I don’t miss that at all 🙂

 

A101892_0A

A few photos got this red line in the middle of them. It must be a light leak but I'm not sure why it only shows in a few photos.
A few photos got this red line in the middle of them. It must be a light leak but I’m not sure why it only shows in a few photos.

A101892_2A

It is my birthday today and I usually don’t celebrate it but I tend to have it as an excuse to buy me something that I want. Last year I bought myself the Hasselblad camera and two lenses, this year is cheaper thankfully but yes one of the things is a camera and I’ll tell You more about it when it arrives. The second thing was something I didn’t expect to get. I saw this telephoto lens on the pawn shops auction site. It is the same I already have but the auto focus doesn’t work on that one I already have.

 

All these photos were taken when I was walking to the bust stop to get to the garage where my car just had been repaired.
All these photos were taken when I was walking to the bust stop to get to the garage where my car just had been repaired.

A101892_4A
A101892_5A

It was less than an hour before the auction would end and the price was only half of what it would cost as new, so I placed a bid and forgot about it. No one else placed another bid, which is odd because this is a good lens and many usually wants it so now it’s on its way here. I guess I’ll have it before the weekend arrives. Pawn shops used to be a good place to get rid of stolen things but not so any more, the one selling an item, private or a business, must know it isn’t stolen. If they would sell a stolen thing and get caught they would go down for receiving and selling stolen goods. They write down serial numbers and anything else so it is easy to check it oneself.

 

A101892_7A

This is the creek I so often take photos of up here by the village. It is a bit bigger down by the lake :-)
This is the creek I so often take photos of up here by the village. It is a bit bigger down by the lake 🙂

A101892_13A

It is time to make something to eat and to watch the news.

Have a great day!

18 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    What’s a birthday good for if it isn’t to buy yourself stuff you want? Especially if the opportunity arises to score a good lens at a really good price. Happy Birthday, indeed. 🙂

    It was windy and relatively cold last night. I sleep next to a window and the curtain kept blowing in all night long. It bothered Piki Dog a lot so he was up and flitting around which woke me up as well. It seemed quite late but when I looked at the clock it was only 2AM. Grrr. Finally I put him next to Rocky and behind me so he was almost pinned between me and the wall. He stayed put after that. He was still alive in the morning so no harm. 🙂

    I hope your energy comes back quickly. Have a lovely birthday and enjoy the day.

    September 15, 2015 at 7:06 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      So true 🙂 and thank You 🙂

      I would have been exhausted after a night like that 🙂 I’m glad Piki Dog still is alive 🙂

      Today has been a calm, cloudy, high humidity day and it felt warmer than it actually was. Slow as melasses and the energy is still not back 🙂 We are several at work now with stuffed noses and sour throats and I guess that it will hit just after work on Friday 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 16, 2015 at 6:09 pm

  2. Christer,

    September 15, 2015 at 7:22 pm

    • 🙂 Thank You 🙂

      September 16, 2015 at 6:05 pm

  3. Christer,
    I think that part of a birthday celebration should be buying something you really want. I’m glad you treated yourself.

    I loved today’s pictures. They just seem to look as if they come from a different time, an earlier time. They are also views I haven’t seen before this.

    Enjoy your day! Have a wonderful birthday, my friend!!

    September 15, 2015 at 7:25 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m glad I got that lens even if I hadn’t been thinking of buying it to be honest 🙂

      I do like how film photos give us that old time feeling 🙂 There are more rolls with film takjen outside the village but I won’t send them to be developed until I have four rolls, so far I have three 🙂

      Thank You! My birthday was as wonderful as it can be on a working day 🙂 I’ll make myself something really unhealthy but delicious this weekend 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 16, 2015 at 6:12 pm

  4. happy happy birthday!!!!! Sounds like you found perfect for you gifts!!

    September 15, 2015 at 7:48 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thank You!

      I think they are and I do look forward to the arrival of the camera.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 16, 2015 at 6:13 pm

  5. Dianna

    Happy Birthday Christer! 🙂 What a nice present(s) to yourself! Can’t wait to hear about it when it arrives! Lucky you for having all day and night rain – I love it when it does that. Makes for messy paws on the floors of the house, but that’s ok by me! 🙂 Just look at how big that creek is!! I like the little one more – its more magical I think. 🙂 Hope your birthday day was pleasant enough! 🙂

    September 15, 2015 at 8:04 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Thank You!

      I’m glad I got the lens so cheap 🙂 I’m still a bit surprised no one placed a higher bid 🙂 I do look forward to the camera, it must have an interesting history!

      I’m not so sure I see myself as lucky with all that rain 🙂 I let out the dog through the kitchen door and grass grows just outside it so I don’t get especially many muddy paw prints when they come in again 🙂

      It gets even bigger the close it comes to the lake and I too prefer it up here when it is a bit smaller.

      My birthday was as pleasant as it can be on a working day 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 16, 2015 at 6:17 pm

  6. jaz

    happy birthday christer!!!! sometimes the best presents are the ones we buy for ourselves. at least we know what we like!

    September 15, 2015 at 10:45 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Thank You!

      They usuakky are the best since they are what we want 🙂 But it’s never wrong to be surprised by getting something one didn’t know one wanted either 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 16, 2015 at 6:18 pm

  7. Birgit

    Happy belated birthday, Christer! (Yup, past midnight, late again.)

    I’m very sorry to hear about Orvar, always a painful decision but you sure know what is the best for your dogs. He’s had a good life.
    I’ve only had quite a few vacation pets, you just love them, and it was always hard when they left and the house was quiet and kind of dead again but it must be terrible when a member of your family like Hector and Orvar dies. Take your time.
    I hope you’ve had a nice birthday nevertheless and that your presents arrive soon.
    Oh, I forgot, thanks for one of your sheep 🙂 It beautifies my computer desktop at the moment.

    September 16, 2015 at 2:14 am

    • Hi Birgit!

      Thank You! I wouldn’t have known if You were late since I didn’t read this until this morning 🙂

      Yes it was hard loosing him but I would have been awfulif I’ve decided to let himhang on for some time more. Every time I must take this decision I wonder how many more times I can take it without breaking inside, it gets harder and harder.

      The birthday was as gooid as one can hope on a working day, I’ll make myself something really unhealthy but delicious this weekend 🙂

      I’m glad You like the sheep 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 16, 2015 at 6:21 pm

  8. Happy, Happy Birthday, Christer! Have fun with your new gifts!

    September 16, 2015 at 8:51 am

    • Hi Adele!

      Thank You 🙂

      I will as soon as they arrive 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 16, 2015 at 6:22 pm

  9. Det är helt klart att dom bästa presenterna får man av sig själv! Sen är det så att jag får aldrig några, gubben är urusel på att ge presenter eller julklappar – och så måste man ju ge sig själv nåt!! 🙂 Fast samtidigt så älskar jag att få överraskningspresenter av mina väninnor, små eller stora – det spelar ingen roll, och när gubben nån gång vart 5-10 år ger mig nåt så blir jag överlycklig! 🙂 🙂
    Här har vädret varit väldigt blåsigt men framförallt blött. Visserligen har vi haft enormt torrt så regnet behövdes, men nu får det räcka. Det måste torka upp så vi kan klippa gräset på innertomten innan lördagens stora begivenhet; Perennlunchen! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    September 16, 2015 at 10:50 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jo så är det, m,an vet ju vad man vill ha 🙂 Vi slutade ge varandra presenter för länge sedan så jag är van vid att köpa något till mig själv 🙂

      Idag har det varit väldigt lugnt här, nästan inget regn men mulet och hyfsat varmt. Har inte kunnat klippa gräset på länge nu så jag behöver en vecka med torrt väder, innan denna helgen skulle det vara omöjligt, det skulle bara bli grönt most av det 🙂

      Hoppas perenna lunchen blir lyckad!

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      September 16, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Leave a Reply

