The mushrooms like it.

This maple looks like this every autumn :-)
This maple looks like this every autumn πŸ™‚

I’m not sure what to write about today, nothing much has happened. The cold is still there just waiting for a chance to break out and the energy is still on low. I must admit that the day has passed rather quickly though, I haven’t had much time to look at the clock on the wall at work.

 

DSC_0028

False chantrelle. Edible but nothing more.
False chanterelle. Edible but nothing more.
This is how the road looks like now.
This is how the road looks like now.
Red toadstool. The white spots usually falls off when it rains and the color isn't water proof either :-)
Red toadstool. The white spots usually falls off when it rains and the color isn’t water proof either πŸ™‚

The weather could have been funnier, sometimes it rains and sometimes it doesn’t. No sunshine at all and fairly windy most of the time. Rather warm though so I have had the kitchen door open for a while now after work. We’ll get lots of more rain tonight and I guess the mushrooms are happy about it because they are now popping up everywhere.

 

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0038

I met my neighbor when we went out for our walk after work and he told me the wild hogs now have started to destroy the forest road, or the clean road as I cal it since grass covers most of it and the only thing the dogs get is wet when walking there on rainy days. He was right, so far they’ve only dug it up in small patches but they’ll soon rip it up totally. I’m not sure what the hunters will do about it but they have decided to do something about it because the hogs are now only a few yards away from the nearest house.

 

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

DSC_0045

This is how the red toadstool looks like after a shower.

This is how the red toadstool looks like after a shower.

TOmorrow I’ll go to the store in Gudhem to get my new tele-photo lens but I’m still waiting for the camera. The camera has a pretty long way to go until it comes to me so I guess I won’t get it until next week sometime. It is time to get something to eat and then I’ll watch the news on tv.

 

The four last Rolleicord photos from this roll of film.
The four last Rolleicord photos from this roll of film.

8

9

10

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It is kind of an uneventful week. Probably a good thing since events tend to be not all that wonderful most of the time. πŸ™‚

    I like that Torgboden photo. All those lines in the foreground are cool. What was happening there?

    The weather here is warm and sunny. Hot, actually. But nighttime is cool and I don’t need the AC. Fine with me. I hate trying to sleep with that thing growling in the window.

    Do you think the hunters will organize a boar hunt to cull some of them? Can they bring in extra hunters or do the rules prevent that?
    I’m not sure I’d like boars in the garden. Apart from the smell, they dig up the turf really badly. I’ve seen what Mama pig and her many babies can do to the forest floor in a short period of time. There are many states south and west of me where feral hogs are a problem now.
    I’d rather have the coyotes and deer. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    September 17, 2015 at 6:21 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it is and I think I needed an uneventful week after the last one. The only thing is that time usually never flies unevenful weeks πŸ™‚

      I stood behind an outdoor seeting for a cafe and was looking at the small market they had there that morning. So the lines are tables and chairs. The fun trhing is that I can’t for my life remember what kind of store Torgboden is πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Torgboden= Town square shop (or shed but I think shop is the best translation hgere πŸ™‚ )

      They can bring in other hunters if they like to but if they will hunt them I think they want to do it themselves. It is a bad place to hunt though since the closest cottage is perhaps just 50-100 yards away (I live 200 yards away from that place). They will however warn us before any hog hunting starts so we can stay indoors just in case. They sure can turn the ground those hogs! Some fields are almost impossible to walk on now since they’ve dug holes almost half a yard deep and grass hide the holes pretty well, that is until one falls down into one of them πŸ™‚ We need wolves here to keep controll of the hogs! The two we had last winter seems to be gone unfortunately.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 17, 2015 at 6:35 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Wow – that maple tree is bizarre!! So are those mushrooms! Looks like tiny little bites have been taken out of that last red one! I think those are poisonous right? Our weather has been weird too – but not good weird! πŸ™‚ So hot Sunday, with pleasant temps in between. This morning we had rain, then sun, now its cloudy. Ugh. I wish autumn would find us and no more heat. So yucky. Hope your cold decides to just leave and not rear its ugly head! πŸ™‚ Those hogs sound like trouble, especially so close to people! The pictures of the town are fantastic – really good shots!! Have a good evening!

    September 17, 2015 at 8:49 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It’s so fun seeing this maple every autumn, those branches always get red long before the rest of the tree does πŸ™‚

      Yes almost all troadstools are poisonous but slugs just don’t seem to understand that πŸ™‚ Some are also filled with some kind of larvae and I guess they collect the poison and use it as full grown insects. Birds have almost certainly learned that through the ages and avoid them.

      Steadily cloudy and windy here with some rain every now and again andf it will continue like that for some time.

      So far my cold stays calm and I’m quite happy about that. My work friends who have gotten it have had up to 40 degrees in fever! So I’m just content with stuffed nose, headache and sour throat πŸ™‚

      Normally the hogs run away if they hear people coming so I usually talk loud with the dogs so we don’t have another encounter with them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      September 18, 2015 at 1:50 pm

  3. Christer,
    I had a few mushrooms on the edge of my lawn, quite unusual. I think it had to do with the days of heavy rain pretty much all in a row. They are small, white capped.

    I have a small spot under the trees where I had day lilies planted, and the guys put mulch down. Indian pipes grew there. I love that plant and seldom see any. There were three good clumps of them (http://www.fcps.edu/islandcreekes/ecology/indian_pipe.htm).

    Nothing much going on here. All is quiet now that the kids are in school. Gracie is sometimes the only noise when she barks at a talk or a walker.

    Have a great Friday!

    September 17, 2015 at 11:51 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I guess there are some dead wood inthe ground where those mushrooms grow, they’ll show for a few years until they have eaten all what they can from the dead wood. What we see are the “flowers” and I guess the rain made it great for the mushroom to let them grow up this year. It is always rainy here so we have them all the time πŸ™‚

      I like Indian pipes and they are truly interesting. They have no chlorophyll and instead steal all nutrisions they need from other plants. They are usually connected to one or two species of trees like pine. We have relaties to them here but I’ve never seen any in my garden unfortunately.

      It is a greay and quiet day here too, the wind makes a lot of noise though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 18, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Leave a Reply

