That doesn’t happen often!

Looking towards the lake and church on my way to work.
Looking towards the lake and church on my way to work.

I went to work this morning, by my own free will ๐Ÿ™‚ That is something that rarely happens to be honest butย I didn’t go there to paint anything, I went there to wash the painting box. I do that with distilled water every Friday morning but every sixth months or so I need stronger stuff to get it clean. I need to wash it several times so it isn’t anything one can do on a normal working day because it would just take too long to get the painting box dry again.

 

I think I've told You that my work place is on the Vรคstgรถtaslรคtten (West Gota plains) and that is is farm country.
I think I’ve told You that my work place is on the Vรคstgรถtaslรคtten (West Gota plains) and that it is farm country.
These photos were taken when I brought out the dogs do they could do their businesses.
These photos were taken when I brought out the dogs do they could do their businesses.

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

The powder contains some wax and that stuck to the walls and needs to be removed, if not the powder paint just moves slightly on the walls and is almost impossible to get rid of. Until one tries to remove the next paint we’re using and then some of it mixes with the other color and after that I’ll never have any clean color again ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Silos like this one can be found everywhere here. It isn't many miles between them here.
Silos like this one can be found everywhere here. It isn’t many miles between them here.
On my way to my old home.
On my way to my old home.
I parked the car in a small spot in the forest.
I parked the car in a small spot in the forest.

DSC_0036

The best thing to use is thinner but then there must be at least one more person there and both of us must have proper breathing equipment or our brains will start to melt away. Another problem is that I’m not sure if all the fumes will have disappeared until we start painting again so it isn’t a good thing to use. I can also use methylated spirits and even if it stinks something bad it still doesn’t melt my brain ๐Ÿ™‚

 

The closer one lives to the castle the higher status one has :-)
The closer one lives to the castle the higher status one has ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0038

They had animals in here back in the days, now it's a storage for all sorts of things.
They had animals in here back in the days, now it’s a storage for all sorts of things.
Bjertorp Castle. It is a luxury hotel now days.
Bjertorp Castle. It is a luxury hotel now days.

So I brought Sune and Nova with me and went to the factory. No one else showed up while I was there and that was a relief since no one should be there. One time when I was working on a Saturday there also was at least one burglar there too ๐Ÿ™‚ Ok, I had four 100 pond dogs with me so I wasn’t especially worried ๐Ÿ™‚ Nova and Sune however are much smaller but dogs always scare people if they don’t know them and if they are burglars ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0044

All land is now owned by the University of Uppsala and they work together with Weibulls to get new plant varieties. Unfortunately those varieties are things like rapeseeds and cerals and not apples and berries as I hoped when I heard about it :-) :-) This house however must have been the home of someone very important employee back in the days.
All land is now owned by the University of Uppsala and they work together with Weibulls to get new plant varieties. Unfortunately those varieties are things like rapeseed and cereals and not apples and berries as I hoped when I heard about it ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ This house however must have been the home of someone very important employee back in the days.

DSC_0047

This is a memorial stone plowing VM 1976. I guess it is important for farmers :-)
This is a memorial stone plowing VM 1976. I guess it is important for farmers ๐Ÿ™‚

We went to where I lived before I moved here to the village at the outskirts of the world. I had planned to walk in the forest with them but hunters were out hunting so we stayed on the roads by the fields and to the castle that once was built there. It is the youngest castle in Sweden and is just slightly older than 100 years. It has a somewhat interesting history but I’ll tell You more about that when the film rolls from the old cameras are developed. I might have destroyed the film I had in the Hasselblad camera because I dropped it when I was going to tape it together. Light must have leaked in and most likely on the photos I took by the castle. I also had the digital camera with me and the Rolleicord.

 

There's a golf course just beside the castle and this is the club house. I missed taking a photo of the golf course :-)
There’s a golf course just beside the castle and this is the club house. I missed taking a photo of the golf course ๐Ÿ™‚
It was always easy to explain to people where I lived. Just turn where the big barn is :-)
It was always easy to explain to people where I lived. Just turn in to the tiny gravel road where the big barn is ๐Ÿ™‚
A beautiful place to have tractors in.
A beautiful place to have tractors in.
This is the promised land for wind power plants. I think I read that this county produce more electricity by wind power than the entire county use in one year.
This is the promised land for wind power plants. I think I read that this county produce more electricity by wind power than the entire county use in one year.

Trees have grown big since I moved away fifteen years ago so I couldn’t see the cottage I lived in from where we walked but to be honest, it looks much the same as the cottage I live in now ๐Ÿ™‚ It is time to make a pot of tea and after that I think I’ll take a nap.

 

DSC_0053

DSC_0055

DSC_0056

Walking back to the car again.
Walking back to the car again.

Have a great day!

 

The stones You can see to the left are parts of a bronze age grave. There are severalothers close to it.
The stones You can see to the left are parts of a bronze age grave. There are several otherย gravesย close to it.
7 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Very neat farm country you have. Hardly a weathered looking barn to be seen. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am really impressed by the mortar work on that stone building. It looks like they piped it on with a cake decorating tool. ๐Ÿ™‚ When you said it used to house animals I assumed that now it was someone’s quite nicely done barn conversion house. The lamps in the window match each other and
    co-ordinate so well with the green trim paint on the windows. Then I thought I saw ladders behind each lamp but now I think those must be windows.
    And I have all kinds of ideas what one might do with interior window ledges that wide. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’s nice to know there is at least one European castle that is as young as, if not younger than, my house. ๐Ÿ™‚

    The weather here is lovely at the moment but it’s going to get warmer again. Still no rain in sight and we do need some.

    Enjoy the day.

    September 19, 2015 at 1:58 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      They do take care of the barns in that area, at least the outside ๐Ÿ™‚ They would die of shame if anyone thought anything they own look weathered ๐Ÿ™‚

      You might be right about them using a cake decorating tool ๐Ÿ™‚ It sure looks like it ๐Ÿ™‚ They’ve had the Swedish championships too when I lived in the area and later too but I guess that wasn’t worth a stone ๐Ÿ™‚

      They have all sorts of crap in that old building and I guess it is Weibulls who use the building that just throw in stuff they don’t use any more. It is surprising that they have those matching lamps there though.

      There’s one more castle in this country that is around the same age so there are two younger than Your houyse ๐Ÿ™‚ The one in Bjertorp is built in Jugen style or Art Noveau style.

      We’re having a really nice weather here today, lots of sunshine between the clouds ad rather warm, I do hope the rain stays away now because I’m pretty tired of it now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 19, 2015 at 2:45 pm

    • The castle is actually 101 years old now, three years younger than my cottage ๐Ÿ™‚

      September 19, 2015 at 2:46 pm

      • Caryn

        My house is either 107 or 115. We should get fancy plaques for our “historic” houses. ๐Ÿ™‚

        September 19, 2015 at 3:33 pm

      • Yes and they should be carved out from granite ๐Ÿ™‚

        September 19, 2015 at 4:54 pm

  2. jaz

    my house is 141 years old! such beautiful photos. i really enjoyed seeing the whole area!

    September 19, 2015 at 6:26 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      So it is much older than our two youngest castles ๐Ÿ™‚

      I loved living there but the owner, the University of Uppsala, wanted just too much money for that cottage. They couldn’t sell it for over three years and then they had to sell it for less than I offered to buy it for ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 19, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

