Three little pigs but no big bad wolf.

My latest camera.
My latest camera.

Well to be honest it wasn’t three little pigs, it was three herds of wild hogs 🙂 I was a bit annoyed at myself since we went out a bit too early before the sun rose this morning. We would come home almost at the same time the sun had risen above the mountains up north. So instead of walking home the usual road I decided that we should go to the creek and follow it upstream till we came to the forest road.

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0026

I wasn’t to happy about walking in the field before the creek went in to the forest because the grass is pretty high and we had so much dew here this morning that it dripped from the roofs, it actually looked as if it just had stopped raining. I knew we would be soaking wet before we reached the more dry forest. I didn’t say much to the dogs while we were walking there, I was more occupied by looking where the grass were as shortest.

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

I could see that the dogs were a bit exited and took a look across the creek and there they were, the first of the three herds of wild hogs this morning. They did walk away from the creek but both they and I knew that creek would be too much to cross to reach each other, so they were in no hurry. I just stood there watching them until I realised it would be a good idea to take a few photos too so I could show them here. We continued upstream when I once again realised that both Nova and Sune was a bit too exited, we had another group of them in front of us 🙂

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0034

They ran away quickly so I never got a chance to take any photos of them. This is not the time to leash the dogs because if the hogs would attack the dogs would have no chance at all to escape but it is a very good idea to have good control of them anyway 🙂 We came out to the forest road and I kept talking loud since I knew we had one group of hogs behind us and one beside us, so I have to say that I was a bit surprised when we suddenly saw a third group of them. This time it was two sows and two rather old piglets. I kept the dogs very close to me since I didn’t know if there was a boar nearby. So I stopped being annoyed at myself since I actually had gone out just exactly when I should have 🙂

 

This boar is much smaller than the one we met in the forest last year.
This boar is much smaller than the one we met in the forest last year.

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

 

I got my camera yesterday as You know and it is a Zeiss Ikon Super Ikonta 531 and this one was built in Germany just before WW2 started. I didn’t think much about what year it was built until I realised from where it was being shipped to me. It turns out the seller lives in Ukraine! I’m not sure I would have bought it if I knew that since Ukraine hasn’t been the calmest of countries lately. Well anyway, I started to wonder how a WW2 camera ended up in former Soviet Union. The likelihood that someone would have bought it and imported it to the Soviet Union at that time was slim to none, so how did it end up there?

 

DSC_0035

DSC_0045

There’s probably a boring reason but my imagination started to work on high speed 🙂 Was it a German soldier who brought it when Germany attacked Soviet? Back in the days this was a fairly expensive camera so I doubt it would be anyone at the front line, perhaps someone coming just behind? Was this camera at the west front when Germany marched in to Paris? and why did it stay in Ukraine? Did the owner freeze to death like so many other soldiers when nothing went their way when winter arrived? Just imagine what stories this camera could teall if it only could speak 🙂

 

DSC_0048

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

The bellow had a rip in it but that was easily fixed and it has passed the flash light test. The shutter works fine when it comes to high speeds but not so good when it comes to sow speeds. I guess it really would need some new greas, the old kind they used to use has a tendensy to dry up. I’ll see if that is something I can do myself, otherwise I’ll just use the camera on bright sunny days 🙂

 

DSC_0053

DSC_0055

DSC_0058

It is time for tea with ginger. I slept a few more hours last night so I guess I’m going in the right direction 🙂

 

DSC_0062

Two sows and two piglets but where is the boar?
Two sows and two piglets but where is the boar?

DSC_0064

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0066

The Bog Ladies had just put out there fires.
The Bog Ladies had just put out there fires.

DSC_0069

16 responses

  1. Jisses! Jag skulle inte vilja möta sådana svin på promenaderna…… Skönt att du börjar bli bättre, helgvädret ska ju bli fint så då kanske det hjälper till med tillfrisknandet 😎
    Ha´t himla gôrgôtt i sola
    Nina

    September 26, 2015 at 9:47 am

    • Tjänare Nina!

      De första och största var ju på andra sidan bäcken så det var bara trevligt att få se dem. De andra flydde ju från oss så de var inte skrämmande heller.

      Just nu känner jag mig faktiskt sämre, men jag hoppas det är sista innan det vänder.

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      September 26, 2015 at 10:56 am

  2. Usch vad läskigt! Jag är verkligen rädd för vildsvin sen jag sett dom på nära håll (inhägnade). Dom är jättestora och jätteaggresiva. IAF om man kommer mellan dom och ungarna! 😦
    KRAM
    Susie

    September 26, 2015 at 10:30 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Alla dessa vildsvinen ville ju bara bort från oss och eftersom de inte hade några problem med det fanns ingen aggressivitet alls. Det var bara kul att få se dem.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      September 26, 2015 at 10:57 am

  3. such beautiful photos!! Th wild pigs are amazing ,, is there a special season to hunt them? I have heard how dangerous they are, we don’t have them in this part of Canada but they do in the western provinces, southerly parts, when I see them it makes me think of an episode of Midsomer Murders where they tied a man to a tree and the wild pigs ate him,, wow, that was disturbing!
    I’m glad you are feeling better,,

    September 26, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thank You 🙂

      They can hunt the boar all year long but no sows if there are piglets around. They can be dangerous but it is rare that they attack. As long as they aren’t cornered or You walk between the sow and her piglets they rather run away, like they did today here.

      I remember that episode 🙂 and yes it is disturbing 🙂

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 26, 2015 at 2:25 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Looks like you went out at just the perfect time. The wild hog photos are wonderful but the early morning light on the creek is magical. Those are my favorites.

    When I read the bit about three herds of hogs I thought at first you meant that wild hogs were like wild burros. If you have three burros together, you might conclude that you have one herd of three burros but you would be wrong. You have three herds of one burro each. Further on I saw that you did indeed have three herds of hogs. I googled just now to see if hogs have a special English word for their groups and they do. It’s called a sounder of wild pigs. Unless you are in Texas where it is 14 cuts and sausages available on request. Trufax. 😀

    The new camera looks interesting. It’s probable that the camera was “liberated” by a Russian soldier during the invasion of Germany at the end of WWII. He may have emigrated to the Ukraine later on as some Russians did or he may have sold it or passed it on to another Russian who later moved to the Ukraine. Still, the camera moved around a lot and it’s story is probably going to remain a mystery. Of course you could always contact the seller and ask if he knows. It’s more fun to make stuff up, though. 😉

    It sounds like your lungs have returned home and you are on the mend. Mojo for continued and rapid improvement. Coughing is tiring and annoying.

    Enjoy the day.

    September 26, 2015 at 2:22 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes who knows if I had seen them if I had gone out a few minutes later, if I had I most likely would have walked elsewhere as well.

      A sounder! You should know how much I tried to find the right word for it 🙂 Google and Bing were no help at all, they just repetead the different swedish words I tried 🙂 I’ll most likely forget it again but now at least I know there is a special word. We say a flock of hogs which is odd because flock is usually used when it comes to birds 🙂 The Texas name for it is rather good 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Yes that’s the most likely answer to why the camera ended up in Soviet Union. No matter what the camera must have had an interesting story 🙂 I’m pretty sure he who sold it to me drives around in Ukraine and buy stuff from flea markets and things like that, he sell lots of old soviet stuff 🙂 and it is as You say much more fun to imagine things 🙂

      The camera is interesting in that it is a rangefinder camera but there are several seekers on it and one can be used as we use our slr’s 🙂 Very odd!

      Yes coughing is tiering and annoying and now it’s painful as well 🙂 It feels like I’ve broken some ribs 🙂

      Havew a great day!

      Christer.

      September 26, 2015 at 2:35 pm

  5. Wow, that’s scary.
    If those pigs turned on you!
    ok, more than scary!
    I know what you mean about the camera’s story.
    I often think about the history of old stuff I find at estate sales and such.
    Especially my furniture. Who sat on it? what was happening in their lives?
    Who used my dresser? what was stored in it’s drawers?
    I now have an old desk and a little pencil was way back in one of the drawers.
    Who used it? what did they write? What is that story?
    Yeah, wouldn’t it be cool to know?
    Great post!
    🙂

    September 26, 2015 at 2:28 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      They rarely do attack humans or other animals, only if they are cornered or a sow gets separated from her piglets. Normally they just tries to run away.

      Yes I do like to imagine the history of old tings 🙂 This camera was there during WW2 so it must have had a very interesting story to tell if it could. Was it first stolen from a Jewish family and then by someone from Ukraine after the war was over? But sometimes it’s best not to know and to be honest, it is so much more fun to imagine it 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 26, 2015 at 2:39 pm

  6. Dianna

    Hi Christer! What fantastic photos of the wild hogs! I have never seen wild ones, only ones on a farm, in a stall. That would have been frightening to be sure. We have now wolves up at our cottage, being on our local news warning that they are killing dogs. That’s not good. We plan on going out for the day tomorrow and taking only the puppy. They are coming into yards to kill dogs so we will have to keep extra eyes on everything. If its not bears up there its now wolves. Makes me a bit nervous. Great looking “new” camera you got! I too have an imagination just like that. If we are in a place somewhere very old, I always wonder who has been before, what they did, what they said. 🙂 Good imaginations are a great thing! 🙂 I hope you are getting better day by day. I made ginger tea the other night as my son has his cold back, but its already better so its likely just another silly bug creeping around. Have a good day!!

    September 26, 2015 at 3:09 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’ve seen them before but usually just stand there looking at them and forgets to photograph them 🙂

      You can’t leave Your puppy alone for a second if there are wolves up there, they will kill her and there’s very little You can do to stop them. So keep her close all the time. Wolves see dogs as competing but rather stupid wolves and refuse to share any space with them. Every time wehave wolves around I keep my dogs close.

      Yes I do think that camera looks cool 🙂 It was very advanced for its time so I’m looking forward to try it 🙂

      Vivid imaginations are the best, it’s thank to my imagination I don’t go insane at work 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I can’t say I feel either better or worse but the coughing is calm at the moment. I do hope I’ll get some sleep tonight 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 26, 2015 at 4:51 pm

  7. Christer,
    I love seeing the hogs. Your timing was perfect to get those pictures. Gracie would have chased them so I’d have to use all my strength to keep her in check. Boxers are darn strong dogs, all muscle.

    The wet windshields and the ground fog are perfect to tell the time when you were out walking. I love the sun rising pictures.

    My guess is it either came back with a Russian soldier at the end of World War II or was left in the Ukraine when it was occupied by Germany. You’re right about wishing it could talk.

    Sleep is still what you need!

    September 26, 2015 at 11:24 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It actually was a perfect timing 🙂 To see one or perhaps two hogs isn’t that uncommon but to see three sounders (I need to use that word often now so that it sticks in my head 🙂 ) at the same time isn’t that common 🙂

      I’m so glad that both Nova and Sune only cares about hares and squirrels 🙂 Those hogs would have made minced meat of them if they had tried to chase them 🙂

      Yes I would love to know its story! The most boring story would be if someone from Ukraine went to Germany and bought it after the wall had fallen 🙂

      Frost here this morning!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 27, 2015 at 4:54 am

  8. Birgit

    Hi Christer,
    nice interesting camera! I hope to see photos 🙂
    Lots of old cameras and also lots of East-Europeans on our fleamarkets nowadays but I like your WW II story better. Sellers are glad when they can get a few Euros and it helps when it’s a Zeiss camera or lens, formerly expensive SLRs are nearly unsaleable. Just today I saw a Canon EOS 1000(?) for 5€. It hurts to see how carelessly these cameras are sometimes handled.
    I’m just waiting for the blood moon, ~90 more minutes and the sky is still clear but we might get fog. Waiting and hoping…
    Get well!

    September 28, 2015 at 1:51 am

    • Hi Birgit!

      I’m already using it 🙂 I have some difficulties knowing what I really photograph since it is a range finder camera but I think I’m fairly close to what I try to photograph 🙂

      Yes that’s the most likely explanation to why the camera ended up in Ukraine, I guess lots were sold as soon as the wall fell. But the camera would still gone through the war and it would be interesting to know its story. So since I nevervwill know it I’ll stay with my imagination 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Yes it helps if the camera is a Zeiss! They do get more money for them. I’ve realised that especially slightly old digital cameras are very cheap! I guess people believe that they won’t last for long unlike the old analog who seems to go on for ever. I bought my Nikon D5100 for half the price even if it wasn’t more than a year old!

      Cameras aren’t seen as an important thing any longer since they can be found in every mobile phone, people tend to see only to the megapixels and nothing else. I remember when I was a kid, tha camera was nothing one played with because it was an important thing to have.

      I saw the blood moon just before it started to get brighter again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 28, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Leave a Reply

