Almost a summers day.

A bit hazy on the mountain.
A bit hazy on the mountain.

We’re having a really nice day, almost summer warm, no clouds in the sky but very windy. A big storm is passing north of here (Norway will be hit the worst I’ve read) and some of the wind reach us too. The forest takes the most of it so I can mostly just hear it here but my car was tossed here and there on my way home. First I went to the vet station to get Orvar back home and after that I drove to the garage to get a rubber gasket because one was broken on my car and some oil dropped out on the hot engine. Not much but the smell wasn’t nice πŸ™‚

 

The trees are now changing colors and the best colors will always show on the maples. Soon these maples will shine in golden yeallow.
The trees are now changing colors and the best colors will always show on the maples. Soon these maples will shine in golden yeallow.

DSC_0021

DSC_0024

I have now had three days without waking up because I was coughing so I think it is safe to say that the cold now has passed away. I still have a hoarse voice but that’s nothing compared to coughing πŸ™‚ I hope that this was the cold I got this year but I’m afraid it wasn’t πŸ™‚ People at work who has small children tend to bring everything their children gets to work with them and no one seems to be smart enough to stay at home when they start feeling that the cold has hit them.

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

It is hard to see but the air was filled with lots of dry Birch leafs.
It is hard to see but the air was filled with lots of dry Birch leafs.

I’ll get new working hours for the three coming weeks. We have so much to do so it isn’t enough that people work overtime any longer, so from Monday I’ll start and stop Β working an hour earlier Monday to Thursday but have the same hours on Friday. When I go home in the afternoon a new shift starts and they’ll be working way into the night. I wouldn’t mind to continue to have these hours after these three weeks either, it won’t be long until it is dark when I leave home and dark when I leave work. If I could stop working an hour earlier I would get at least half an hour with daylight when I stop working.

 

DSC_0022

The Raspberry leafs are amazing now.
The Raspberry leafs are amazing now.

DSC_0033

I am however not sure that those who start working an hour before me wants to continue with that, 5:30 am is awfully early to start working and they would have to get up at least an hour earlier than that if they want to get to work in time πŸ™‚ I start working an hour later than them because it takes about an hour for the material that I’ll paint to reach the paint box, it has to pass a huge washing machine and a drier before I can paint it.

 

DSC_0034

These rose-hips will stay all winter long. I don't know why but the birds won't eat them unless they really are starving.
These rose-hips will stay all winter long. I don’t know why but the birds won’t eat them unless they really are starving.
These won't last long though, they grow on my Rosa glauca.
These won’t last long though, they grow on my Rosa glauca.

It is time to make some food both for the dogs and me. After that we’ll probably take another walk. I would like to take a walk in the forest but the moose flies are a bit nasty now. I’ll go there tomorrow morning if it is chilly enough.

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Cars again. It’s always something.

    It appears to be raining birch leaves over there. Cool.
    Sometimes it rains black walnut leaves here. It rains walnuts, too. The spawns of Satan get mad that I’m out there and drop them on me. Sometimes I’ve had to wear my horse riding helmet to protect my head while working out there. Evil things. πŸ™‚

    It was only 59ΒΊF in the house when I woke up this morning. Too cold. I pulled the AC unit out of the window, shut all windows and turned on the heat for one cycle. It’s grey and raw outside. Even the dogs didn’t want to stay out long. The house was nice and warm when we got back. My hands were so cold from being outside that the tap water felt warm. Summer’s gone, I think.

    The swamp maples in the back are turning. Otherwise not much is happening yet. The trees are that tired green color that shows they’re almost done for the season. They’ll start turning soon.

    It’s good to know that Orvar is home again and resting with his brother Hector.

    Enjoy the day.

    October 2, 2015 at 3:52 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      This was however known since a few days back but it took a day or so to get the parts to the garage.

      The air was filled with leafs but I was a bit too far away to get a good photo of it. I’m longing for the day it rains walnuts here, even if it should be by the help of spqwns πŸ™‚ but I think ours are way to shy to get this far from the forest to get them, no matter how much they would like them. Jays would be the biggest threat here and those too are really shy here πŸ™‚

      59 is a bit too chilly indoors! It is quite ok outside though and I would have loved it here but it was even warmer here today πŸ™‚ We almost reached 68 πŸ™‚ It must have been bad since not even the dogs liked it πŸ™‚

      Lots of trees are now leaf less here but most are changing colors now and some are still green. I guess that all trees will be bare within two weeks from now though.

      Yes it is nice that he’s back home again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 2, 2015 at 5:50 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Glad to hear the cold has left and hopefully will not return! Its true, people who come to work sick make everyone around them sick too. We have it here all the time and its just a matter of time before I catch it. That makes me mad when they come in coughing and sniffling, sneezing. I wonder how they got to be doctors some of them! πŸ™‚ We are having pleasant days now. Highs of 18 or so, nights are cool and usually around 5. Really nice!!! I know very well the smell of oil on an engine. Gross!! One of the yuckiest smells around! Well, we had to take Karma back to the vets because we had noticed a skin “thing” with her. She actually was brought to the Humane Society with a “skin condition” which they said they treated with antibiotics. Imagine our surprise when the vet told us she has mange. I was so mad!!! Not only did they not test her properly to begin with, but she’s been growing this parasite under her skin for the whole time we have had her, and we didn’t know. I sent an email to the humane society telling them how unhappy I was. As the vet put it, a common enough skin condition in puppies and this should have been picked up. So mad!!!! Poor darling puppy. But in other news, she’s gained 4.5 pounds since her visit last week. She’s growing well and thriving! πŸ™‚ I am glad to hear Orvar his home now. His spirit will be happy! πŸ™‚ At least you will get to see some sun set with these new hours for a bit. I am glad I work 7-3 – in the winter its dark when I get in, but still is sunny when I leave. Unless I have overtime, then its dark all the time. 😦 Not a good thing for SAD. Hope your evening is peaceful!

    October 2, 2015 at 5:36 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Aren’t doctors the worst patients πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I just can’t understand how they can’t think one step longer and stay at home when the cold starts?! It is as if they thought we all should be punished with the cold just because they got it πŸ™‚

      We have just as nice days as You have now πŸ™‚ even the nights have been warm after the latest frost night.

      Poor Karma! I can imagine how awful it must have been for her having mange! We have the fox scabies or fox mange here and most dogs getting it scratch themselves so bad (fox scratch themselves so much that they go insane and die from infections they get in those scratch wounds) Some dogs however can carry fox scabies but not feel anything themselves. My first dog Sickan was like that so she walked around full of it without feeling a thing but giving it to other dogs instead. We only have a few shelters for homeless dogs here, most rescue groups place the dogs in foster homes directly and they always take them to a vet to be checked. Thankfully we have very few diseases like mange here. If they have skin problems here it’s usually an allergic reaction to the food they get. I do hope the mange will be gone soon! It is strange that they didn’t check that better!

      4,5 pounds in a week! Not bad πŸ™‚

      Yes oil on a hot engine does smell nasty πŸ™‚

      Yes it is nice to have him back home again πŸ™‚ I do miss those two brothers but Sune has taken up a habit that Hector had, he walks up the stairs to the upper floor and stops high enough so that I can come and hug him πŸ™‚

      Yes it is nice to have these earlier hours and I can only hope that it will continue, the owner would like it to anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      October 2, 2015 at 6:03 pm

  3. Christer,
    I’m glad that cough is finally gone. Just when you need a good night’s sleep you can’t get one. When I worked, I got bronchitis every fall but usually that was it. I think working with kids gave me an immunity.

    We have winter or at least the start of it. It is over 25˚ cooler than it was just a few days ago. I had to put the air on in my bedroom. This morning I ran the heat once cycle to warm the house. I’m wearing a sweatshirt and slippers.

    I have oak trees in my year, and their leaves turn a pretty color, but the Cape doesn’t have the variety of trees off cape has. We have the ocean, and I’ll take that!

    Have a good Saturday!

    October 3, 2015 at 1:40 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m so glad it is ovr now πŸ™‚ I fell asleep in front of the tv at 7pm last wednesday, when the coughing finally stopped and only woke up to go upstairs and then I continued to sleep all night long πŸ™‚

      I’ve had the radiators working for quite some time now but only on a low temperature. They have been working some on nights when we’ve had frost but stayed calm most of the rest of the time.I think it is five years ago winter started for real this date and it stayed well in to May the next year πŸ™‚ I know the climate change isn’t a good thing but I refuse to complain if it means warmer winters πŸ™‚

      Most of our oaks just get brown directly, a few become yellow for a very short whil though. That’s why I want an American Red Oak here in my garden πŸ™‚ I have one but it is only 6 inches high yet πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 3, 2015 at 4:53 am

Leave a Reply

