Who should I believe :-)

DSC_0030

I’m looking at weather predictions, the biggest Swedish one says clear night and morning but cloudy afternoon and the biggest Norwegian says cloudy night and morning but sunny evening πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I do hope the Swedish one is right this time because I want to see the sunrise when we’re out walking tomorrow morning. So far we managed to stay away from the really cold nights that they’ve had further north but it’s just a matter of time till it happens here too.

 

A leaf on my Sorbus domestica, a Rowan species.
A leaf on my Sorbus domestica, a Rowan species.

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

I went to the garage after work to pay my bill and to get the new rubber hose that never was put in to my car last time I was there and today I explained how the car behaves when it behaves very odd. The engine works fine on idle running and if I push down the gas pedal without having a gear on but as soon as I put in a gear the engine wants to die when I try to drive. It jumps badly for almost 200 meters (much the same in yards) but then suddenly works like a clock and continues to do so for several days.

 

Our oaks usually turns yellow and brown at the same time.
Our oaks usually turns yellow and brown at the same time.

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

So I’ll call the garage on Monday so they can order the failing part and fix what we think is the last thing to fix, knock on wood! If I understood things right it is some kind of valve that doesn’t work properly. It is also time to buy new winter tires but after that I shouldn’t have to pay that much to be able to use my car πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0032

The Fire weed does get fiery red in autumn. But it got its name because it is usually one of the first to start growing where fire has hit the forest.
The Fire weed does get fiery red in autumn. But it got its name because it is usually one of the first to start growing where fire has hit the forest.

DSC_0035

DSC_0038

I’m downloading Windows 10 right now, I got a message that I could do it for free now so why not. I know it still has some glitches and ideas that makes the computer work odd but I hope they have solved most of those problems by now. I really don’t like upgrades because I won’t be able to find anything as soon as I start the computer again but Windows 8:1 as I have now isn’t perfect at all either. I still need to unplug the modem every now and again to get anΒ internet connection. The only thing I can do now is to hope for the best and if I don’t return for a while You all will know why πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

I went down to that very old tree stump where the tree funguses are so old that moss grows on them and it looks just fine.
I went down to that very old tree stump where the tree funguses are so old that moss grows on them and it looks just fine.

DSC_0043

It is time for something to eat and it is a bit chilly today (even if the thermometer says otherwise) so I’ll make a big pot of cocoa too.

 

DSC_0044

It looks just fine until one look at the back side of it. Wild hogs have had a party with it.
It looks just fine until one look at the back side of it. Wild hogs have had a party with it.

DSC_0047

DSC_0048

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

14 responses

  1. Caryn

    HI Christer,
    Believe the worst parts of both weather reports but hope for the best. How can there be a sunny evening? The sun is gone.

    So many times when you show photos of what’s in your garden I see things that used to be in mine and need to be back again. Turk’s Cap lilies are it today. The problem is that when the proper time to plant comes around, I will have forgotten about them again. :/ Probably I should make a note on my computer calendar with an alarm to tell me when to do it. Riiight. πŸ™‚

    The weather here is cloudy. There was a bit of sun earlier which warmed the ground and made everything smell so wonderful. Almost like spring. I can still smell it even in the house. Rain showers are forecast for the rest of the day along with some strong wind gusts. Guess I won’t be finishing up that garden bench that’s been hanging around partly assembled for about a month. I might get it done by winter. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    October 9, 2015 at 3:13 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ll do that and I should of course have ritten late aftrenoon since the sun now goes down around 6:16pm. It would have been right in the middle of summer though, when the sun won’t go down until after 10pm πŸ™‚

      I have actually never written down anything in my computer calendar but I have it in my phone calendar and I never hear when it sounds to remind me of what I once wrote there πŸ™‚ I was surprised to see that lily in bloom now, I thought the frost would have taken it by now. The good thing with that lily is that it makes tiny bulbs by every leaf it has on the stem and they grow fine as soon as they fall down on the ground πŸ™‚ I’ve understood that this lily is popular to fry and eat but I’ve never tried that myself.

      No spring smell here, only autumn smell but that’s nice too. Cloudy at the moment and depending on what prediction is right it may or may not stay that way all night πŸ™‚

      Never hurry when assembling anything, do it too fast and somnething will go wrong so I think it sounds good if You will have it done by winter πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 9, 2015 at 3:23 pm

  2. beautiful photos,,, Fall leaves are lovely! I really like the old stumps and the moss, I had never known that about Fire weed, we have another plant here in Canada we call Fire weed, maybe its a slang term, I’m not sure,, we have received the message about windows 10 as well but have not yet taken them up on the offer,, soon I think but I also fore see troubles,, I’m not the sharpest tack in the in drawer with techy stuff,, any more, lol,

    October 9, 2015 at 4:14 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Too bad these brightky colored leafs falloff so quickly, we do need those bright colors for as long as possible now when it is getting darker.

      It is actually the same plant ( I checked so that it would have that name in Canada too) but this one never grew any higher and didn’t get any flowers.

      I’ve now had Windows 10 for around 10 minutes and so far so good πŸ™‚ I can’t pretend I’m the sharpest knife in the drawer when it comes to these things either πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 9, 2015 at 6:27 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Good luck with Windows 10…we did it here and everything was okay for us. I will keep my fingers crossed for you. We are heading into a long weekend here – its Thanksgiving. We will be heading to the cottage tonight and I can’t wait. We are to have a lovely Saturday and Sunday and that makes me happy! Nothing like being out there this time of year. Bliss! πŸ™‚ Good luck with the car fixings….those are never cheap. So expensive to drive a car nowadays….I hope your weather predictions are all good for the weekend! Maybe making up your own might be just the ticket! πŸ™‚ Have a good weekend – depending on the connections I am at their mercy! πŸ™‚

    October 9, 2015 at 5:02 pm

    • HI Dianna!

      So far soo good πŸ™‚

      I hope You’ll have a wonderful weekend at the cottage! We don’t celebrate Thanks Giving here so no long weekend for me.

      Yes it is awfully expensive and I really can’t take the bus to work, at least not if I want to keep my job πŸ™‚ I don’t think the bus goes early enough so I can be in time for when I start working in the morning πŸ™‚

      I’m planning on mostly napping this weekend but it is always nice if it doesn’t rain πŸ™‚

      Have a great weekend!

      Christer.

      October 9, 2015 at 6:31 pm

  4. Dianna

    P.S. Our Karma has very similar features to your Nova! The ears are almost identical with the fold and angle! πŸ™‚

    October 9, 2015 at 5:03 pm

    • πŸ™‚
      But I think she will be much bigger than my Nova.

      October 9, 2015 at 6:31 pm

  5. jaz

    i can’t listen to the weather here. how can they be so wrong. it was supposed to rain all day and it rained for about 20 minutes. it was supposed to be very fall like tomorrow and now it is supposed to be 70. we just can’t get any fall weather here this year.

    October 9, 2015 at 7:15 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is amazing how wrong they can be and have been this year!! I just woke up and checked both sites I wrote about and both are closer to each other now but both now says semi sunny all day πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I guess there’s a risk You’ll have this weather until winter comes since it refuses to change now, too bad we can’t switch πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 10, 2015 at 3:51 am

  6. Birgit

    Hi Christer,
    don’t forget to check the privacy settings in Win 10. With default settings this system sends home nearly all private data it can get, especially when Cortana is activated. You can’t get rid of all spying but you can reduce it and it will also reduce some unnecessary traffic. An internet search can help with appropriate settings, I’m just a lucky Linux freak πŸ™‚
    Good luck!

    October 10, 2015 at 2:15 am

    • Hi Birgit!

      Thank You! I knew there was something I had forgotten to do yesterday! I’ve done a quick change in the privacy settings right now but I’ll look deeper into it when I am more awake, I just woke up πŸ™‚

      I have been thinking of getting Linux for quite some time but didn’t know from where I could down load it. I think I’ll start doing that with my next computer. I will most likely mail You when that happens then because I have no idea how Linux works πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and thanks for reminding me πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      October 10, 2015 at 3:54 am

  7. Christer,
    I saw sun this morning and it was a warm day, but the weather report said rain. I was doubtful. Well, I was wrong. It rained tonight quite heavily; however, it is still warm: 64˚.

    Maddie is much better. She doesn’t even limb on her sore paw. I’m glad to have that taken care of. IN 16 years neither cat had to go to the vet now both have been there with problem paws. Fern’s was the ligament and Maddie the claws.

    I just downloaded the newest MAC operating system El Capitan. I haven’t looked t the explanation but it is supposed to be better than the last. I hope the new windows will be good as well.

    Have a great day!

    October 10, 2015 at 5:21 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Mostly cloudy here this morning but there are gaps in where I can see blue sky πŸ™‚ I did get a nice sunrise though and that was what I mostly wanted. Rather chilly but no frost.

      I’m glad she is! Cats rarely get sick to be honest but I guess it is more likey to happen when they get that old. Sio far I’ve been able to fix what is wrong with both Bertil and Teodoor, usually abcesses after big fights with other cats πŸ™‚

      I have very mixed feelings about Windows 10 right now but most things seems to work as they should. I think I’ll see if I can find a good used MAC on the internet auctions thge pawn shops have, I am a bit tired of windows to be honest.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 10, 2015 at 8:16 am

Leave a Reply

