The first one for the season.

It was so dark outside this morning even after the sun had risen that I needed to use ISO 4000 and still the photos got bthis dark.
It was so dark outside this morning even after the sun had risen that I needed to use ISO 4000 and still the photos got this dark.

Yesterday it happened, I started the first fire in the stove for this season and for once I didn’t get a back draft. Normally I fill the entire cottage with smoke, the fire alarm starts shouting and I open the doors and shout to my neighbor that there’s no fire in my home πŸ™‚ I guess that could be a good thing if my home had been filled with bed bugs πŸ™‚ but it isn’t and the smoke smell stays in the walls for weeks. Not this year though πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0023 (1)

Lots of flocks with geese in the air this morning, all heading south.
Lots of flocks with geese in the air this morning, all heading south.

DSC_0030 (1)

DSC_0033 (1)

I became even warmer when I was chopping the fire wood though. The handle of one of my old axes had broken and the ax itself was buried deep down into a big piece of fire wood. I couldn’t remove it so I had to get my big sledge-hammer and knock it down bit by bit. Naturally it was a piece of apple tree and there’s nothing as tough to chop as old apple tree. I was prepared to skip the fire when I finally managed to split it apart. I think I’ll go out to the wood shed to get some more fire wood today even if it at the moment feels rather warm outside.

 

DSC_0034 (1)

DSC_0035 (1)

DSC_0044

DSC_0045 (1)

It has been cloudy all morning here but the predictions says the clouds will open up and that the afternoon will be rather sunny. The night will be cold though and both the big weather sites say more or less the same thing so I guess this might be predictions fairly close to the truth. I’ll need to be very alert on my way to work tomorrow since the moose hunting season starts and lots of people will be walking around in the dark in the forest stressing all animals and lots of them will be running out on the roads just around the time I’ll be driving to work.

 

I have thankfully some more sunny photographs from yesterday to show too.
I have thankfully some more sunny photographs from yesterday to show too.

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0031

Lots of cars have been driving around on the small roads here too today and it is of course hunters preparing for tomorrow. They told me that they are allowed to hunt one moose calf this year and also a Red deer and something more I can’t remember and of course wild hogs but they can be hunted all year round as long as there aren’t any piglets around. I hope they’ll get what they want fast so I can have the forest to myself as soon as possible πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

It is time to take a walk with the dogs again, then the laundry and after that some wood chopping, I’ll be so tried after the wood chopping that I won’t need the extra heat from the stove to feel warm πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

It is hard to come close to a Jay.
It is hard to come close to a Jay.

DSC_0056

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0058
Passion fruit flower in my kitchen right now, not the one that we eat the fruit from though.
8 responses

  1. Christer, you really got some great shots this time..of course you always do but I love the one of the bird and all the berries on the bush. Also the one of the passion fruit flower was great.. Of course your pic’s of your dogs and the cats are always fun to see.
    Hunters. I grew up in a hunting family..but..why would they let them shoot a baby moose?? AND why would anyone want to. I don’t have the heart of a hunter, that’s for sure.
    No Autumn here, it’s been at least a 100 degree’s every day. Disgusting! The leaves on my trees are not even falling yet..nor do they show any sign of turning gold an falling. Very frustrating. πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful day and be careful during these hunting days.

    October 12, 2015 at 12:55 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚

      there is no country on earth with more moose than sweden, still we have fewer than normal right now. So there are so many now that they must shoot a lot of them, 70 000 this year. They get a quota each year to how many they are allowed to shoot and to make sure we have a healthy gang of moose they must shoot both the old ones and the young ones. I don’t think it is a calf born this year but a rather big that was born last year they are allowed to shot this time. I don’t mind eating them but I can’t shot anyone of them, I would melt inside if they looked at me πŸ™‚

      I’m glad we don’t have 100F πŸ™‚ but I wouldn’t mind if it was a bit warmer here after all even if it actually is quite warm for the season right now.

      We walked in the village today, the hunters had put up signs everywhere so there wouldn’t be a risk that anyone missed that they were out there today and for the rest of the week.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 12, 2015 at 4:55 pm

      • Like Caryn, I hope they get what they want and go away! Sometimes hunters get trigger happy and shoot before they are sure. When there was more hunting years ago, there would be hunting accidents every single year. They wore red and all that and still shot one another or an innocent by stander. BE CAREFUL! From what I know of you I’m sure you are careful and keep a close eye on the dogs. How is Bertil?

        October 13, 2015 at 3:46 am

      • Hi Mona!

        I can only hope! They were out there today as well and I think most, if not all have taken a week vacation so they might be out there the entire week anyway πŸ™‚

        It used to be that bad here just twenty years ago and hunters got so bad reputation that they had to do something about it. So now they behave and don’t shoot until they clearely can see what it is that moves around in the forest. We’ll stay away until they tell me it is ok to go in there again.

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

        October 13, 2015 at 4:55 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I read this earlier and meant to comment but got sidetracked with other stuff.

    Did you surprise that deer while she was taking care of personal business? It looks like it. πŸ™‚

    The blue on your blue jay is the color of our blue jays. It is especially vivid on Blue Jay Days when the sky is a clear, cloudless, raw blue. It’s because the feathers really have no color in them at all but reflect the blue of the sky. On grey days they aren’t anywhere near blue. More like grey blue. People with blue eyes are sort of like that, too. It depends on other things as well.

    I hope the hunting groups get their limit fast so you can have the forest to yourself and the dogs again.

    Enjoy the day.

    October 13, 2015 at 3:05 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      You were one of the few that found Your way here on Sunday πŸ™‚ I was a bit busy yesterday so I thought I would do like last week, saved me a lot of time and a few more came here to read this post πŸ™‚

      She actually surprised me πŸ™‚ I guess they feel rather comfortable around us when they take their time to pee πŸ™‚ She did the same today and pooped too πŸ™‚

      I wish we had Blue jays here, they do look so beautiful but I guess I only seen pohotos taken in sunshine πŸ™‚ Ours are very beautiful too but very shy, it is so hard to get close to them, so this year I’ll start putting out hazel nuts by my feeders, I did that last winter and suddenly they came here pretty often but only when they couldn’t see me πŸ™‚

      I hope so too but some, if not all have most likely taken a week vacation now so I fear they might sit out there the entire week anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 13, 2015 at 4:48 pm

  3. Christer,
    Your pictures always amaze me. You are in the same area for your walks but the pictures have a different slant. The sun is always so lovely.

    It was really warm today and will be again tomorrow. Rain is predicted for tonight. We are still below our normal rainfall so every bit is welcomed.

    By the end of this week, it will be in the 30’s at night, and we might have our first frost. I think that it may be more in the higher elevations but we’ll be cold regardless. I have the front store door upstairs so it will go in before the end of the week. I just have to wash it then put it in. It is the last straw, the end of the warm season.

    last week was a busy one but this week won’t be. I think I’m going to go see The Martian.

    Have a great evening!

    Kat

    October 13, 2015 at 3:44 am

    • Hi Kat!

      The problem is that I take so many photos that I delete after a post is written and I never remember if I’ve shown them or not. I do try to show them a bit different anyway πŸ™‚

      It isn’t often I say this but we do need rain now too, it is so dry that the mushrooms dry out now. I like it but I guess nature needs a good soaking now.

      I wish I could see it with You! I’ve heard it’s reallyu good! I’ll wait till it comes on dvd.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 13, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

