We were lucky not to meet any of them.

Todays photos are a mix from yesterday and today.
Todays photos are a mix from yesterday and today.

The hunters were out in the forest today again and will most likely be out there the entire week. Most hunters take a week’s vacation when the moose hunting season starts so even if they already might have shot what they are allowed to they have nothing else to do so they’ll most likely go out there anyway πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0022 (1)

DSC_0023 (2) 4DSC_0025 (2)

We walked in to the village yesterday and I really didn’t want to walk there again, so instead of walking on the road where they had put up signs we walked in the big cow pasture beside it. The problem was that I had no idea if the cows might be in that part of the pasture or not πŸ™‚ It is not a good Β thing to meet a cow with a calf if one is walking there with dogs.

 

DSC_0026 (2)

Lots of photos showing those trees, they do shine brtight here in the village.
Lots of photos showing those trees, they do shine bright here in the village.

DSC_0028 (1)

But I figured that if we would see any cows and calves I would have time to toss the dogs over to the pasture on the other side of the fence, the cows would have no interest in me so I would be able to walk on one side of the fence and the dogs on the other. The cows know very well how the electric fence works so they would understand that the dogs would be no threat to their calves.

 

DSC_0031 (2)

DSC_0032 (1)

DSC_0033 (2)

We were however lucky and didn’t meet any animal until we were on Β our way out of the pasture and the one we met was a calf without its mother hanging around. It has been a nice day today but now deep grey clouds hang above our heads. There’s no rain predicted but even I can see that the nature now need rain, it is so dry that even the mushroom dries out and dwindles.

 

It was easiest to walk where the cows walks mostly. That also meant that I walked in lots of cow dung :-)
It was easiest to walk where the cows walks mostly. That also meant that I walked in lots of cow dung πŸ™‚

DSC_0021 (3)

This was the only one we met.
This was the only one we met.

It is time for something to eat and a pot of cocoa. No need for a fire in the stove today and by looking at the predictions it won’t be necessary for some days more.

 

DSC_0025 (3)

She must feel comfortable when we come close, last time she peed while I was photographing her, today she pooped :-)
She must feel comfortable when we come close, last time she peed while I was photographing her, today she pooped πŸ™‚

DSC_0028 (2)

Have a great day!

 

The tree of many colors :-)
The tree of many colors πŸ™‚

DSC_0032 (2)

DSC_0036 (2)

12 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! So many beautiful colors on those trees!!! We are mostly yellow and orange – wish we had more red leafed trees come autumn! Isn’t it just terrible when you have to change your walking course? I get annoyed when I do! πŸ™‚ With Karma now she’s still really unsure of other dogs so she sounds not too friendly when we approach others which makes walking tough some days, which is why I get annoyed at having to change my walking course! πŸ™‚ I hope this is just a stage for her – hard knowing what her life was like for the first little bit. I know it wasn’t good as she was brought in with a massive bite to her ear. You can still see the scar today when her ears lift in a funny way. Poor thing. But she sure is cute! Just like your deer that you can come so very close too!! This weekend we were at the cottage and no wolf sightings but we heard on the news yesterday that they caught and killed 2. They have sent away for their DNA as they think they might be a cross between a coyote and a wolf which is becoming more common here (not in this province but next door to us in Ontario). It will be interesting to see what the DNA shows. I am glad they caught some. If its not bears it wolves! Have a good evening!!

    October 13, 2015 at 8:40 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Some really have beautiful colors and I think those You can see in this post are the ones we have πŸ™‚ Most other trees are just plain yellow or brown. We definetaly need more red trees in autumn too πŸ™‚

      Normally I don’t mind taking other roads, my dogs love it. But I tend to want to walk on roads I can’t walk on at the moment πŸ™‚ But it seems they now stop hunting before I come home so now I at least can walk on some of the roads I want to walk on. I think the best thing You can do for Karma is to one of those courses where an expert can help You so she starts to enjoy meeting new dogs. It can be a growing problem otherwise I’m afraid.

      No one has seen any tracks from the wolves in quite some time now, too bad I don’t mind them at all. Just as long as I know they are around so I keep my dogs close to me and can bring something that will scare the wolves if they come too close. No bears this far south even though one or two occasionally takes a long stroll south which happens sometimes πŸ™‚

      Yes wolves mix with coyotes when there are too few wolves around and those hybrids have shown to be very dangerous, I know they have killed at least two people in eastern Canada. So if it was hybrids I’m glad they are shot.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 14, 2015 at 4:51 pm

  2. jaz

    your trees are glorious! i especially love the one that still has some green left. what a wonderful time of year!

    October 13, 2015 at 10:46 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I think I caught all strongly colored trees we have here πŸ™‚ Most are just plain yellow or brown here. It is too bad that the bright colored leafs don’t stay longer on the trees because it is truly beautiful now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 14, 2015 at 4:52 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Those trees are really bright. They look like sugar maples. Do you know what kind of tree they are?

    I laughed when I read the caption under the deer photo. It answered my question from the previous day. πŸ™‚

    The shaggy ponies are looking very good. That’s a new part of the pasture that I haven’t seen them in yet.

    I think if I were a hunter who had already bagged my limit and still had several days of holiday left, I’d go someplace nice to celebrate my haul. Someplace with heated pools, massage therapists and room service. Beats slogging around in the cold dark forest with nothing to do but be a scout for luckless hunting buddies. Maybe they consider that fun, though. IDK. πŸ™‚

    Today was a complete slappardag for me. Even the dogs slept late. By the time I motivated myself to go into town to do my two errands it was already practically evening. We took our evening walk when I got home, ate supper and now we are all back on the couch being slackers again. Somedays you just need to do zip. πŸ™‚

    There’s a giant puff ball growing at the far end of my side lawn. I can see it from the sidewalk at night by the sulfurous yellow light of the streetlamp. I’ve never had a puff ball in my yard. I think I will put a little fence around it so the lawn guys won’t run over it before it’s ripe.

    It’s warm and damp here now but cold weather will be in by the end of the week.

    Enjoy the evening.

    October 13, 2015 at 10:51 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      They are some kind of Populus but I think only the multi colored one is an indiginous species. The bright orange ones are another species.

      πŸ™‚ She did it again but this time I didn’t take a photo when she did it, instead she pooped and I didn’t see that until I reduced the size of the photo πŸ™‚

      Here they devide the meat amongst them all when they shoot something as big as a moose or a red deer and it looks like all hunters stay out in the forest even if they have shot what they are allowed to when it comes to moose and red deer. I think they do the sdame with big wild hogs too but smaller animals like roe deers is never shared. So even if they have shot what they went out for they still might get a chanse on a hog or two so out they go every day πŸ™‚

      I love slappardagar like that πŸ™‚ at least as long as I’ve had my mnorning walk and then fallen asleep again when we have come home πŸ™‚

      I don’t feel that way about puff balls πŸ™‚ If I find one in my garden I pick it, as long as it still is white and fry it in my pan. They are really nice mushrooms on a sandwich πŸ™‚ The bigger variety the better πŸ™‚

      Cloudy but warmish and as long as the clouds cover the sky we won’t get it either warmer or colder πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 14, 2015 at 5:02 pm

      • Caryn

        This puff ball is not white. I tapped it gently today and it sounds ready o puff.
        I would never eat any mushroom found outside of a package in the supermarket. πŸ™‚

        October 14, 2015 at 8:45 pm

      • Too late to eat it then πŸ™‚

        You miss a lot but it’s better to buy than to eat an poisonous one πŸ™‚

        October 15, 2015 at 5:19 pm

  4. Christer,
    That multi-colored red is gorgeous. Your trees are ahead of ours. The season is slow this year due to the heat and the lack of rain. They are predicting color on the cape at then end of the month.

    They are considering a turkey season here due to the number of wild turkeys. There were none left, and they introduced 14 in one place and 12 in another. Now the turkeys are everywhere including the city as there are plenty of trees and parks for them. There are also many bears now even some finding their way to the city.

    I’d worry if Gracie saw deer as she’d be off like a shot. She is the first dog I’ve had that I can’t trust off her leash.

    I hope yours is a great evening!

    October 14, 2015 at 12:52 am

    • Hi Kat!

      That is my favorite tree here, too bad it is just the one that get all those colors. I’m not sure we have any leafs left at the end of the month πŸ™‚ More and more trees are without leafs now.

      For me as a Swede it sounds a bit sad that they’ll have a season on turkeys but I guess that if they were everywhere here too I perhaps wouldn’t mind that much πŸ™‚ Here hunters wants to have a season on cranes but saying that is like cursing in church πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So I doubt that will happen anytime as long as live πŸ™‚

      Both Sune and Nova just stand and look on the deers, I’m so glad they are because that makes it so much easier to get close to them for a photo or two πŸ™‚ Hares and squirrels however is a totrally different thing, they are evil and must die πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 14, 2015 at 5:07 pm

  5. it looks like Vermont!
    Love the one of the cow! LOL!

    October 16, 2015 at 2:12 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’ve heard that before πŸ™‚

      It just stood there watching us not knowing what to do πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 16, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Leave a Reply

