Kind of useless fog.

DSC_0021 (6)

We didn’t get any frost last night and the fog we got was sort of a waste to be honest. It was more like a bit thicker haze and only made everything look grey and dull, all colors were dampened. The hunters arrived early too so we couldn’t take a walk in the forest either which annoyed me a bit.

 

Todays fog was kind of useless, it just dampened all the colors.
Todays fog was kind of useless, it just dampened all the colors.

DSC_0024 (4)

DSC_0025 (5)

DSC_0027 (4)

I tried to take photos of the night sky last night and scared my neighbor when I suddenly started to talk to her when she went out into her garden, I had turned of all my lights so she couldn’t see me and I thought it would be a good idea to tell her I was out there πŸ™‚ I think it was better to do that than that she would start to wonder what was moving around in my garden making quiet but odd sounds πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0028 (4)

DSC_0029 (5)

DSC_0030 (5)

DSC_0031 (5)

But all photos came out rather blurry, the tele-photo lens is heavy enough for both my tripods to start moving slightly, I had the shutter open for 30 seconds. So tonight I’ll go outside again but with a much smaller lens and try it again and hope for the best.

 

DSC_0034 (5)

Trumpet swans flying south.
Trumpet swans flying south.

DSC_0038 (2)

Iron age graves and a twentieth century house.
Iron age graves and a twentieth century house.

It looks like the sun finally is breaking through the clouds and they have predicted a sunny afternoon so I hope they’re right for once. I really need to vacuum this place and to scrub the floors too but that can wait until tomorrow, I just don’t have the energy to do it now even if I have had a rather nice nap πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0044 (2)

Cranes flying south.
Cranes flying south. The fog was much thicker higher up in the air.

DSC_0049

DSC_0050 (1)

I could of course go outside to the wood shed to chop some fire wood but I think I rather make some tea and see if there’s anything on tv or take another walk with the dogs πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0054 (1)

DSC_0055 (1)

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Looks good, the fog has added the mystic factor.

    October 17, 2015 at 12:39 pm

    • Hi Mukul Chand!

      It was a bit too dull for me but I think we’ll get better fog tomorrow morning πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 17, 2015 at 6:53 pm

      • In India specially in Delhi, the sun blazes eight months of the year. Fog and mist is thus much sought after. Much like winters in Delhi means good weather. Perspectives change I guess.

        October 17, 2015 at 6:57 pm

      • πŸ™‚ I’m not sure I would like eight months of blazing sun even if it sounds nice when the summer has been so chilly and wet as it has here πŸ™‚ Yes perspectives do change when we live in such different climates, I am a tiny bit jelaous of Your warm climate, at least when it is winter here πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        October 17, 2015 at 7:02 pm

      • grass always greener on other side.Summers are not great here.

        October 17, 2015 at 7:04 pm

      • πŸ™‚

        October 17, 2015 at 7:34 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It does look sort of dull there. The brightest thing is the warning flag on the tractor.

    I thought the hunters were done for whatever animal was in season. Is it a new animal hunting season?

    It started out cloudy and cool. I had to wear a heavy sweater for the morning walk. I should have added a scarf and hat. The wind was brisk and the dogs were taking their sweet old time about getting down to business. It must have been good sniffing conditions because that’s what they spent most of the time doing. They completely forgot that breakfast was waiting for them in the house. All poured into the dishes and mixed with goat milk and everything. They forgot until we turned into the dirt road that goes to my house and then it was all hurry, hurry, pull, pull. πŸ™‚

    The sun is out now and the front porch is warming up nicely so the door will be open for Rocky to lie in the sun. Piki Dog doesn’t like the open door policy this year. I don’t know why. Too bad. He’s outvoted. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    October 17, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was but the day got better and we had full sunshine in the afternoon πŸ™‚ The haze was building up rather rapidly so I think we’ll have thick fog tomorrow morning πŸ™‚

      I thought so too but it turns out they’ve had a lousy week. They have one moose calf to shoot but have just seen giant moose bull and cows. This week they only hunt for the moose and teh red deer so when another animal, like a hog runs by they leave it alone. They have seen plenty of hogs this week πŸ™‚ The reason the wasn’t here was that they moved to another part of thei area, I was told this by the hunting leader. So I hope they will be in that othger place tomorrow morning πŸ™‚

      We must have had plenty of animals running around in panic when all those hunters went out this week because the dogs have behaved insanely πŸ™‚ Almost impossible to keep leashed when we walk between houses so it has been nicer than normal to let them run around when we’ve walked out to the fields again so I didn’t have to try to follow them πŸ™‚

      I’ll see if I can take some photos of the night sky again, but with a smaller lens this time πŸ™‚

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 17, 2015 at 7:00 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We woke up today to -7 (our by our airport), here in the suburbs was -5. Still chilly! I had the fireplace working for its keep! πŸ™‚ I cleaned today, took me almost 2 hours. Which is usual for a Saturday. Also did some laundry and then we took Karma to the puppy park. Her first time. She did well. A bit overwhelmed at first. Of course her first meet was a big Newfoundland dog called Angus. He was super chilled which helped alot. She was really nervous but settled. And over and over we met dogs – 99% were really good. One was quite in her face and she didn’t like that. But we plan on taking her over and over until she gets used to dogs. We were really pleased with her behavior all in all. We are out tonight for supper – my husband had a birthday on the 5th and we couldn’t celebrate it then, so tonight we are out! What a treat for me not having to cook! πŸ™‚ We shall enjoy it I am sure. Tomorrow I am going to bake a banana loaf. And tidy up my garden. Love your photos today. The fog makes it look like it was raining or misty out. Still nice, I like gray days! πŸ™‚ Hope your evening went well!

    October 17, 2015 at 9:52 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yesterday morning was rather warm here and today it’s just below 0 and it looks like it is foffy too, hard to see when it still is pitch black outside πŸ™‚

      I’m glad it worked so good with Karma at the dog park πŸ™‚ That’s such a good place to learn how other dogs behave too! Too bad we don’t have anything like that even remotely close to here, Sune and Nova would have loved it πŸ™‚

      I hope the dinner was great πŸ™‚

      I’ll do very little today, the laundry but that’s it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 18, 2015 at 5:47 am

  4. Christer,
    It is a good night. I think it the coldest so far. Today wasn’t very warm and tomorrow will be the same. Not cold enough for frost yet though northern New England saw a bit of snow today. My cousin in New Hampshire was complaining about it.

    I’ll have one more day of staying home then I have a few errands on Tuesday. It is time to fill the larder which is quite empty. I have a list as I have friends coming later in the week.

    I am so tired of being sick.

    Have a good day tomorrow.

    October 19, 2015 at 2:27 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Last night wasn’t the coldest but all the fog made the ice on the car strong as concrete πŸ™‚ As soon as the fog vanished the sun heated up the air pretty good so the day was most likely pleasant. No snow here yet and I do hope it will stay away until Christmas πŸ™‚

      I’m so tired of this cold now, it just refuses to leave me.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 19, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Leave a Reply

