Just as they predicted.

DSC_0083

The sun has fought a long time now and finally it has done its job on the chilly, wonderful fog we had here all morning. I woke up to a frosty morning as well and I must say I enjoyed it a lot. I do prefer warm summer days but since I can’t stop colder weather from coming here I might as well just enjoy mornings like this πŸ™‚ I guess I’ll be happy for as long as we don’t get any snow πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0085

DSC_0086

DSC_0087

DSC_0089

We walked down to the creek but I didn’t hope to see any hogs in the fog, the castles cattle was walking in the fields close to the forest and I’ve noticed that very few wild animals seems to like cattle or tame animals and tend to stay away when those are out in the fields. We were a lot down by the fields beside the creek yesterday too, I had brought my old Hasselblad camera and without noticing it I dropped the light meter. Not the best places to do that I’m afraid.

 

DSC_0092

DSC_0093

DSC_0094

DSC_0095

I had of course not watched how or where I was walking around in that field but I knew I didn’t go especially close to the creek. If Orvar still would have been around this would not have been any problem, he was a master of finding dropped things. Nova and Sune however is rather lousy in doing that πŸ™‚ Orvar was a natural so I only gave him something to smell and then told him to find it. Nova smelled on the little bag where the light meter used to be in and ran away and Sune tried to chew on it πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0096

DSC_0097

DSC_0098

DSC_0100

I walked around in that field for an hour and just couldn’t find it. The grass is semi long so anything that sort of slid beneath the grass would be hidden for the rest of the time. So we went home and I found another lightmeter on our eBay (called Tradera) and was quite annoyed that I had been so sloppy and dropped it. We went back there in the afternoon and after a while I started to walk perhaps 5 meters (much the same in yards) closer to the creek ands I found it πŸ™‚ Pure luck because I was close to kick on it before I finally saw it πŸ™‚ So I rushed home and went in on Tradera to reduce the size of my bid. Guess if I was glad not to win that light meter πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0104

DSC_0106

DSC_0108

DSC_0109

It is time to make a big pot of tea, I’ve already fallen asleep in front of the tv twice this morning πŸ™‚ so perhaps it would be better to make a big pot of coffee instead πŸ™‚ I think they show NCIS Los Angeles soon and I guess that is a good as anything they show this morning. They tend to find way too many muslim terrorists though πŸ™‚ It may look like something else in the beginning but it always turns out that way. At least Hetty is an interesting person in that show πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0118

DSC_0121

DSC_0124

DSC_0127

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Wow, what a day you have had. Good thing you found your light meter. That would have annoyed me too. I laughed when I read about Nova and Sune – that sounds like something ours would do. Today is a bright, sunny slightly cool day but not as cold as yesterday morning. We are to get strong south winds again today. I guess that’s Mother Nature’s way of getting the leaves all off the trees. Don’t mind the south winds as its a warmer wind. Soon enough though the winds will come from the north and that’s when we stay inside. But if El Nino comes this year, maybe we won’t have such a bad winter. The last couple were brutal. I made baked oatmeal with blueberries, almonds and walnuts for breakfast. A good stick to your ribs so we won’t be hungry breakfast! Have a good evening!

    October 18, 2015 at 3:32 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m so glad too because this light meter has no moving parts so it doesn’t break that easily. It’s just a tiny light that starts to shine when the light is right.

      Nova and Sune will never be search dogs πŸ™‚

      We got a really nice day here today, even with temperatures reaching 11C πŸ™‚ No wind either so it has been so pleasant to walk around. We’ll get south eastern winds from tomorrow so I doubt we’ll get any moire frost for a while.

      I think El niΓ±o already is going on and that might be the reason for Your warm weather and ours slightly cool one. I hope that doesn’t mean we’ll get another really cold winter, I’ve gotten used to these mild ones πŸ™‚

      It’s time to start making porridge here too I think and oatmmeal is the easiest one to make but I’ll just boil mine πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 18, 2015 at 4:01 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Cows in the mist. Hogs in the fog. Light meter lost in the murk. Interesting day.

    Whenever I lose something and can’t find it after much looking (and swearing and tossing of stuff out of the way), I buy another one of it. Guaranteed that I will find the lost one as soon as the new one comes in the door. I’m not lucky enough to find things before I’ve received the replacement.
    Fortunately, if I drop something, one or both dogs will zero in on it immediately. It might be food. πŸ™‚

    Your wild animals have the luxury of space to avoid domestic animals. Here they do not. There were always coyotes around the sheep and cow pastures. Mostly the sheep. The cows were a bit feral and aggressive and the donkey that lived with them was really mean. Deer didn’t mind grazing in with them. I have noticed that the wild things stay away from Us. Except coyotes. Coyotes don’t care. They give us a look and if we don’t have a gun, they just sort of saunter off a bit and look back to see if we’re following.

    Today is very cold for the time of year. It’s only 39ΒΊF right now and the sun is shining brightly. Yeah. Cold. I wore a heavy sweater AND my felted wool weird hat for the morning walk. I was comfortable except that my hands were freezing. No mittens. I refuse to wear mittens in October. It’s unreasonably unseasonable. πŸ™‚
    There was a dusting of snow in the towns to the west of me and six inches of snow in the more northerly areas. I chuckled this morning because the weather guy was complaining that his wife wouldn’t let him turn on the heat. He explained that it’s not going to be as cold a winter and oil is 33% cheaper right now so they could splurge a bit and turn on the heat. Apparently she didn’t buy that. I’d like to know how he knows that the winter is not going to be as cold as last year when everyone else is saying that it’s going to be as bad or worse.

    Enjoy the day.

    October 18, 2015 at 4:01 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I was really lucky this time πŸ™‚ especially since I had to lower my bid so I didn’t get that other light meter πŸ™‚ I guess the mighty powers thought tat was luck enough for me because I didn’t have many numbers right in the lottery πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Both dogs were running elswhere otherwise they would have done like Yours πŸ™‚

      I wonder if they would like the domestic animals better if we had the big predators here, as it is now they really only have to fear the hunters and the occasional lynx passing by. The wolves aren’t around any more I think.

      We actually reached above F today, we have had sunshine all afternoon and no wind at all. I did however wear my jacket just in case
      He is either brave or stupid to predict that the winter will be less cold πŸ™‚ So far I haven’t heard anything about winter predictions here, I guess they failed so badly two years in a row that they rather keep quiet πŸ™‚ Here it doesn’t matter if the oil is cheaper, they just raise the taxes so we don’t get used to lower prices. I do hope the winter will be very mild again though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 18, 2015 at 4:11 pm

      • Caryn

        I guess I didn’t understand what you meant by wild animals avoiding domestic animals. In your part of the world there is enough space for the wild animals to live without having to interact with humans or our animals. In my part of the world we have built up a lot of the places that wild animals used to have to themselves. We have not been harvesting them in the high numbers that we used to either. There are more of them and there is less wild space for them to live on. The deer would not be in our yards if there weren’t so many of them having to share limited wild space. The big predators would not be in our yards if the deer were somewhere else. They have learned to live with us but we are not learning to live with them.
        On my town’s Facebook page there was a long discussion about how to stop skunks from digging up the lawn. Conclusion was to use poisons to kill the grubs in the lawn so the skunks would not have that food source. An argument began about finding some more natural way to get rid of the grubs in the lawn and nobody pointed out that skunks were about as natural a grub remover as one could get. Well, I did, of course because I’m a brat. But we can’t have grubs in the lawn because it’s unAmerican and we can’t have skunks remove the grubs organically (and for free!) because they’re dangerous, smelly, wild animals full of diseases and they leave unsightly divots in the lawn. How very unprofessional of them. So we poison the lawn with a “natural” grub killer chemical and call the exterminator to remove (meaning kill) the skunks and then we claim to be organic and green.
        People are so odd. πŸ™‚

        October 18, 2015 at 5:37 pm

      • Still, lots of wild animals move in to the towns and cities even if there are plenty of space oustide them. They have understood that hunters really can’t hunt in there abnd therefore the animals are mose safe πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Here it’s the badgers and moles who eat the grub and here they put up mole traps but mostly people are happy that the badgers come as long as theyt don’t dig up too much of the lawn πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        It is an odd thing that they call it organic when they poison the grub and kill the skunks πŸ™‚

        October 18, 2015 at 7:10 pm

  3. jaz

    hi christer1 glad you found your light meter. teddy would never find something for me. she doesn’t care about stuff like that. it snowed here today. not much but i loved it. it is going to be in the mid 20’s tonight and then up to 70 by wednesday. weird weather. i have been so buy it’s unreal. summer drags and then this time of year flies by and i have no extra time at all.

    October 19, 2015 at 12:03 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m so glad too and I’m even heppier that I had time to change my bid on the other one πŸ™‚

      Orvar was a natural so I didn’t have high hopes when it came to Nova and Sune πŸ™‚

      It has snowed in the mowt northern parts of Sweden, thankfully far away from here. I’m happy if it snows some on Christmas but I don’t feel I need it any other time of the year πŸ™‚

      You’ve had this unusually long and warm summer while we had a rather cool and short one, lets switch next year πŸ™‚

      I should have been busy but have mostly been hit with this cold instead, so I’ve slept a lot instead πŸ™‚

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 19, 2015 at 5:23 pm

  4. Christer,
    The Cape still has several spots with trees and lots undergrowth. Towns have set aside conservation lands on which no one can build. It gives the wild animals a place to hunt and to live. I do see lots of turkeys, some foxes and a few coyotes. There used to be deer hunting here but no more.

    The cold is here. It will be in the 30’s tonight. My irrigation system was blown clean of water so it wouldn’t freeze with the cold weather coming.

    I’m giving my cold one more day before I go out and about to shop. I have company coming on Wednesday so I’d better will completely cured.

    Stay warm and sleep long!!

    October 19, 2015 at 1:19 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Most of our cities have huge parks where lots of wild animals live, especially my old home town Gothenburg. There grows an entire forest more or less surrounded by Gothenburg and the neighbor city MΓΆlndal. So it does happen that moose and deer run around in the cities every now and again πŸ™‚

      They say that from now on we’ll have a bit warmer weather but mostly at nights. I like that since it was so hard to scrape of the thick ice from the car this morning πŸ™‚

      I think this cold has tried to kill me πŸ™‚ It just won’t give up! If I’m not better by next Monday I’ll call the doctor, this is just too much.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      October 19, 2015 at 5:27 pm

  5. Hi Christer, No snow here in this part of NH (yet) but we have had some chilly nights, especially this weekend. So now we are putting away the summer wear and getting ready for long sleeves and sweatshirts once again, which makes me very happy! Glad you found the light meter and it’s always the same way with me. I misplace something and get so mad and then take time out and suddenly either remember where I put it or I find it when I am not looking so hard.

    October 19, 2015 at 1:25 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      No snow here either, thankfully but they have gotten snow in the most nortern parts of Sweden. I do hope it will stay away until Christmas πŸ™‚ We’ve had plenty of frost nights now though and it looks like most moose flies have frozen to death, that I do like πŸ™‚

      I’m so glad that I found it too πŸ™‚ It isn’t common and rarely breaks since there are no moveable parts in it. It would have annoyed me a lot if I had bought the other one and then found this one again πŸ™‚

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 19, 2015 at 5:31 pm

  6. I am pleased you found your meter, Christer! I’ve done things like that and ended up of two of the same item. Like you, I blast myself for what I’ve lost. I usually find things in the strangest places. The spider web flowers are amazing! Spiders are great craftsmen! Wish we had some of your cool weather.. I envy everyone with cooler weather.
    Enjoy your week!

    October 19, 2015 at 1:55 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      I’m so glad too πŸ™‚ I would have gone crazy if I had bought the other one and then found this one again πŸ™‚

      The roads had these frozen webs on both sides the entire walk, they sparkjeled like diamonds when the sun hit them. So beautiful!

      I can send some of our cool weather if You send some of Your warmer πŸ™‚ Luke warm weather sounds rather nice, doesn’t it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 19, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

