Might as well bake a bread.

I took some photos of the night sky yesterday. ISO 4000 and the shutter open for 30 seconds.
I took some photos of the night sky yesterday. ISO 4000 and the shutter open for 30 seconds. So many stars shows so it is hard to see that this is the Ursa Major.

We’re having a grey and dull here with the occasional dripping from the sky. Not especially bad to be honest but not nice enough to want me to go outside. We did have sunshine this morning for around ten minutes and I guess that’ll be all we get today.

 

i THINK THAT vIRGO CAN BE SEEN SOMEWHERE IN ALL THESE STARS :-)
I think Virgo can be seen in all these stars πŸ™‚
I made this photo brighter and even more stars can be seen. Well both stars and galaxies but I would need a fantastic and expensive lens to see the differense :-)
I made this photo brighter and even more stars can be seen. Well both stars and galaxies but I would need a fantastic and expensive lens to see the difference πŸ™‚

DSC_0026 (3)

DSC_0027 (3)

I thought it would be nice to take a small nap after the walk and slept for over three hours πŸ™‚ I guess I really need it since I’ve now had this cold for four weeks. I do feel a bit better though so I hope it’ll be all over after this weekend.

 

This is taken towards west, can't say much more about the night sky I'm afraid :-) I do have maps but the camera just shows too many stars :-) I'm hoping that tomorrow early morning will be clear so I can take a photo of Mars and Jupiter and Orion's belt.
I think this might show Virgo again but I’m not sure. Β I do have maps but the camera just shows too many stars πŸ™‚ I’m hoping that tomorrow early morning will be clear so I can take a photo of Mars and Jupiter and Orion’s belt.
There were a few more gaps in the sky to let the sunshine in but now it is all gery up there.
There were a few more gaps in the sky to let the sunshine in but now it is all grey up there.

DSC_0039 (2)

DSC_0047 (1)

Tomorrow we’ll go back to normal time again and we’ll also stop working those earlier hours at work as we’ve had for three weeks now. I can’t say I like either change because now it’ll be dark when I drive to work and dark when I come home again. More and more people are protesting about the daylight savings time and we all want to have British time all year round instead. Naturally the politicians refuse to do anything like that even though they now know lots of people die of heart attacks just because of the time change.

 

These four photos were taken earlier in the week.
These four photos were taken earlier in the week.

DSC_0032 (1)

DSC_0038 (1)
DSC_0039

I’m baking rye bread right now and today I’m making it with the left over vanilla/ apple yoghurt, rosemary and some honey. Smells rather nice now when it is rising and I’m pretty sure it will taste good too πŸ™‚ I never follow any recipe, I just toss in what I think might taste good, the only thing I always have the same is the amount of fluid I’ll have in it so I know how much flour I’ll need.

 

These four are taken with the Edixa with the Jupiter lens.
These four are taken with the Edixa with the Jupiter lens.

A102244_9

A102244_10

A102244_15

It is time to take out the bread and knead it some more before the second rising and then in to the oven.

 

These might be taken with the Minolta 5000 :-) I do get the feeling that all these photos taken with the older camneras are from the 1950's and I like that a lot :-)
These might be taken with the Minolta 5000 πŸ™‚ I do get the feeling that all these photos taken with the older cameras are from the 1950’s and I like that a lot πŸ™‚

A102245_3

A102245_4

A102245_36

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. This is quite a lovely assortment you have of the open sky at night and open country in the day time. It is an amazingly rich experience and I’m sure you feel incredibly lucky to be able to capture it. I appreciate the hints for ISO and shutter speeds. I would like to try it very soon. Warm wishes x SB

    October 24, 2015 at 3:22 pm

    • Hi Sabiscuit and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      I feel lucky to be able to live here and to be able to walk around in this surrounding every day πŸ™‚ I do see lots of stars here at night but these photos shows even more than I normally can πŸ™‚

      I know lots of people wants to take photos of the night sky but just don’t know how to adjust the camera, so I normally tell what settings I’ve used when taking photos like these.

      Have a great day and welcome back πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      October 24, 2015 at 3:30 pm

      • I am happy I found your blog. I’ve got a lot to learn and this post has been a gift. Thank you. x

        October 24, 2015 at 3:37 pm

      • I’m glad You came here πŸ™‚
        Christer.

        October 24, 2015 at 3:50 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I love the night photos especially the one with the barn and the trees. How did you do that? What’s making the light spots on the barn? It looks like an old tobacco shed where the walls of the building have huge spaces in between so that the tobacco leaves can hang and dry. I don’t recall you showing any photos of that type of barn, though.
    Now I feel like unearthing my tripod and standing outside in the cold and the dark to see what I can do.
    Probably not much because of the sulfur yellow klieg light that is supposed to be illuminating the street but actually illuminates quite a bit of the back swamp instead. It turns all my night photos into brassy yellow visions from Hell. :0

    I use the Stellarium app on my Kindle Fire. It shows a lot of the stars and galaxies. You can get it for your phone, too. I have another one called The Night Sky which is used by pointing the device at whatever part of the sky you’re interested in. It has a red-light feature so you don’t mess up your night vision and it also identifies satellites that might be flying overhead. I prefer Stellarium because I can look at any portion of the sky at any time and I don’t have to be outside to do it. They both have their uses. They’re free apps on Amazon US but might not be where you are. Although I found Stellarium through an open online course which had international students and they all got it for free, too.

    We’re having the same weather except here it is not actually dripping yet and it’s not supposed to. It’s very damp and cold and the breeze makes it worse. I really should have worn a jacket, mittens and a hat but I’m trying to toughen myself up for winter. πŸ™‚

    I may bake bread in solidarity with you but I will be doing it with a bread machine. I have no counter space for things like kneading. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day and the bread.

    October 24, 2015 at 3:47 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Light and shadows trick You here πŸ™‚ It is actually my garage You’re seeing and the trees glows like that and it looks like there are gaps so tobacco can dry because my neighbor had lights on outside the cottage and their garage πŸ™‚

      I did turn of all lights in and around my cottage and on the garage/ dogyard though but there was still much light around.I have to say that brassy yellow visions from hell do sound interesting πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I got loads of star maps from Joyce but I forgot to look at them before taking these photos and it was impossible to figure out what the sky showed me when all these other stars shows too πŸ™‚ But I’ll see if I can find any of those apps You mention here too!

      It’s more damp and warmish here and the occasional dripping but it isn’t noticiable on the ground. I do wer my winter jacket all the time now though even when the sun shines because it is usually rather chilly in the shadows πŸ™‚

      I’ve been thinking about buying a bread baking machine, mostly to use in summer since I normally have the fire heated stove burning all winter. Today however is too warm so I’m actually using the oven in my electric oven. I’m not used to do that so I do hope the bread will turn out good anyway.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 24, 2015 at 3:59 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Oh those photos of the night sky are AMAZING!!!!! I will show my son once I finish typing. He will be impressed. He’s started a NatGeo page, but has yet to upload any pics! Kids these days!!! πŸ™‚ I have a chicken stew in my crockpot and some olive ciabatta bread as well. That’s dinner sorted. Today I washed all my floors with Murphy’s Oil Soap – it smelled so good in here. Then I washed all my leather furniture. Took forever but its a fall cleaning that’s needed. We were going to go to the corn maze tonight but since all the rain yesterday won’t make for a fun evening. So, we will likely watch a movie instead. We are sunny today but cool. Tonight we are to go down to -6. I took up the last of my carrots from my veg trug. That’s the garden done for the year! We go to daylight savings in a couple weeks. I don’t like it either. Let’s just stay at one and be done with it!! Have a good evening. Hope your bread was delicious!

    October 24, 2015 at 9:52 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do like them but I’ll go closer to the forest next time so I’ll get even less light pollution, who knows how many stars and galaxies I’ll be able to see then πŸ™‚

      I’m looking forward to his first photos then!

      We don’t have Murphy’s oil soap here so I have no idea how it smells but I guess it migyt smell like ours with pine needle oil in it, one of the best smells I know of anf I always wash my floors with it πŸ™‚

      Almost 10C here during the night, almost warmer than our summer nights this year πŸ™‚ I still have some red onions to pick but the carrots are long gone, Orvar and I ate them all πŸ™‚

      I really dislike the time change, especially up here it’s useless since we have daylight almost all the day during summer πŸ™‚

      The bread actually was quite delicious πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 25, 2015 at 4:52 am

  4. jaz

    the sky photos are wonderful. that is a long lasting cold! a troll spindle flew in my house today. it made an awful noise and i freaked out and started screaming troll spindle, troll spindle. i was on the phone with my daughter at the time and she thought i lost my mind. i think i scared the crap out of it and it flew back out to both our relief!

    October 24, 2015 at 10:45 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I had to laugh while reading this πŸ™‚ I guess Your daughter didn’t knbow that that’s what we call dragonflies πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      They do sound off those troll spindles, a rattling kind of sound. I guess that one never will come close to Your home again πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 25, 2015 at 4:55 am

  5. Your star photos are amazing! Yes I did see Ursa Major in the first photo … even before I read that that’s what it was. Excellent work, Christer, shooting photos like those is no easy task. The very best to you.

    October 25, 2015 at 6:45 am

    • Hi Adele!

      Thankfully I had some idea of what stars would show up when I took that photo but so many more showed up than I expected πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 25, 2015 at 3:24 pm

  6. the star galaxy photos are beautiful,, amazing what goes on right above our heads is such silent beauty! Hope that cold is gone soon,, four weeks is a long time!

    October 25, 2015 at 12:46 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      There are so many stars and galaxies out there! They say at least 100 billion galaxies and each galaxy will have at least 100 billion stares in it πŸ™‚

      Yes four weeks is a long time and now I’m so tired of it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 25, 2015 at 3:26 pm

  7. Hi Christer, I enjoyed your night sky photos, but have never tried any myself. While, I have done some night shots of our holiday decorations on our VA home and of the Christmas tree lights, the results were never as good as anticipated.

    We tried a couple of bread baking machines that were bought at thrift stores and while they were not costly and worked well enough, we got rid of them when we moved. We also prefer oven baking but as we are on a weight loss regime now, bread has been off limits for awhile. What other ingredients do you use for your baking…what tyle of flour and yeast? Rye bread and wheat bread are our favorites and we plan to return to baking them again.

    October 26, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It is difficult to photograph christmas decorations, the lights tend to ne too bright and the colors doesn’t show well at all. Don’t know how the professionals do it.

      I almost only use a ready made rye and wheat mix flour. I think it is 60% rye and the rest is wheat. You have all kinds of different yeasts that I’ve never heard of here but I normally have a dry yeast or the live one that we find in the milk deparetment. I always put in some honey to feed the yeast, it gives some taste but otherwise nothing remains of the sugar part since the yeast has eaten it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 26, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Leave a Reply

